Radio Spectrum Inventory: A 2010 Snapshot — Canada

Chapter 6 – Broadcasting

6.1 Background

6.1.1 Definition of service

Broadcasting is defined in the Radiocommunication Act as "any radiocommunication in which the transmissions are intended for direct reception by the general public." Most broadcasting operations in Canada require a broadcasting certificate from Industry Canada and a broadcasting licence from the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC).

6.1.2 Broad description of type of service/applications

Broadcasting has a long history in Canada. AM radio is one of the oldest forms of commercial broadcasting. The AM station CBK in Watrous, Saskatchewan, has been operating since July 29, 1939. AM radio operates in the medium frequency band between 525 and 1705 kHz, with 10 kHz channels.

FM radio was introduced several decades later and became more popular than AM, due to improved signal reception quality, especially in urban environments. FM radio operates in the VHF band (88-108 MHz with 200 kHz channels).

Over the air television operates in the VHF and UHF bands (54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz, 470-806 MHz) with 6 MHz channels. In the last decade, digital television operations have been introduced and will eventually replace the older analog television technology.

In the late 1990s, newer broadcasting services, such as the Multipoint Distribution Service (MDS) and digital radio broadcasting (DRB), were introduced in Canada. MDS operations involve using large blocks of 6 MHz channels to provide data and video transmission to subscribers in a wireless cable operation. In DRB, up to five broadcasting (i.e. an ensemble)/ancillary services can share a 1.536 MHz DRB channel in an area. DRB operates in a network of co-channel transmitters, called synchronized Single Frequency Network (SFN), which provide a multiplex service to a digital service area.

In many broadcasting services, stations are also classified as regular and low-power. Low-power operations are secondary to regular broadcasting systems and generally operate with smaller transmitter power and have smaller coverage areas (less than a 20 km radius).

6.2 Current Allocations and Utilization

6.2.1 List of allocated bands

  • AM: 525-1705 kHz
  • FM: 88-108 MHz
  • TV: 54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz, 470-806 MHz
  • MDS: 2596-2686 MHz
  • DRB: 1452-1492 MHz

6.2.2 Type of licence

Broadcasting stations in all of the previously mentioned bands are issued broadcasting certificates by Industry Canada. These authorizations are for specific sites, generally with a single high-powered transmitting antenna covering a large area. In some bands, operators have networks of stations to cover a larger area. Broadcasting stations often also require a broadcasting licence from the CRTC.

6.2.3 Comparison with the United States

Canada and the United States have similar AM and FM radio services. AM and FM receivers for analog radio services work in both countries. The United States has begun allowing hybrid digital operations (IBOC) in its AM and FM radio bands. Canada currently allows this digital technology in the FM band on an experimental basis.

For television, Canada and the United States have historically had similar broadcasting operations. The transition to digital television in the United States has been completed faster than the equivalent in Canada. While transition in the United States finished in June 2009, the Canadian transition is anticipated to be complete in major markets in August 2011, and will take longer outside the major markets. As part of the transition to digital, the television band in the United States has been truncated approximately 100 MHz, with the band 698-806 MHz being reallocated for other purposes. In Canada, a similar reallocation is planned for after August 2011, although details have not yet been officially announced.

DRB is not implemented in the United States as it is in Canada. The United States has allocated the band 1435-1525 MHz for its aeronautical telemetry operations and has authorized hybrid digital radio operations using In-Band On-Channel (IBOC) technology in the AM and FM radio bands.

MDS systems similar to those in Canada were introduced in the United States, but licences were awarded in auctions instead of on a first-come, first-served basis, as was done in Canada. In 2005, the United States transitioned its MDS allocations to BRS. Canada will be transitioning its MDS broadcasting certificates to BRS licences in 2011.

Link to Industry Canada's BRS Decisions.

Link to the BRS Information:
http://wireless.fcc.gov/services/index.htm?job=service_home&id=ebs_brs

Broadcast Service use from 52 MHz to 38GHz (for additional information, refer to Annex 1):
Broadcast Service use from 52 Megahertz to 38 Gigahertz [Description of Figure]

6.3 Spectrum Inventory and Analysis

AM radio (525-1705 kHz)

As of June 2010, there were 353 AM stations operating in Canada: 202 regular and 151 low-power.

Major users include CBC/Radio-Canada (143 stations), Astral Media (22 stations), Newcap (26 stations), and Golden West Broadcasting (13 stations). There were 95 unique AM broadcasting stations owners, 65 for regular stations only.

FM Radio (88-108 MHz)

As of June 2010, there were 2,349 FM stations operating in Canada: 1,456 regular and 893 low-power.

Major users include CBC/Radio-Canada (560 stations), Astral Media (62 stations), Rogers Broadcasting (60 stations), Native Communications (56 stations), Newcap (51 stations), and Northern Native Broadcasting (51 stations). There were 672 unique FM broadcasting station owners, 334 for regular stations only.

Television (54-72 MHz, 76-88  MHz, 174-216 MHz and 470-806 MHz)

As of June 2010, there were 2,079 analog TV stations in Canada: 732 regular and 1,347 low-power. There were also 25 digital TV stations in Canada, all regular.

Major users include CBC/Radio-Canada (668 stations), The Ontario Educational Communications Authority (TV Ontario) (267 stations), CTV Television (122 stations), Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (94 stations), and CanWest Television (89 stations). There were 183 unique TV broadcasting station owners, 37 for regular stations only.

MDS

As of June 2010, there were 47 MDS systems operating in Canada, all regular. Of these, 89% were approved for fifteen 6 MHz channels (90 MHz total).

Major users are Look Communications (26 systems) and YourLink Incorporated (10 systems). There were five unique MDS broadcasting owners.

top of page

6.4 Spectrum Trends

AM radio has seen a decrease in both regular and low-power operations within the last seven years (14.3% and 9.0% respectively). FM radio has seen increases in both regular and low-power operations during the same time period (26.3% and 19.7% respectively). This can be partially explained by a number of radio stations converting from AM to FM.

Television has seen increases in regular operations (2.2% analog and 700% digital) and decreases in low-power operations (9.4%) within the last seven years. The large increase in digital television stations is due to their very low initial numbers and the beginning of the DTV transition.

MDS systems have increased by 15.4% over the last seven years.

6.4.1 Spectrum Maps

(Regular power broadcasting stations only)

Figure 6.6 – AM Broadcasting in Canada (525-1705 kHz)
Figure 6.6 [Description of Figure 6.6]
Figure 6.7 – FM Broadcasting in Canada (88-108 MHz)
Figure 6.7 [Description of Figure 6.7]
Figure 6.8 – Television Broadcasting in Canada
(54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz, 470-806 MHz)
Figure 6.8 [Description of Figure 6.8]
Date modified:

Inventaire des fréquences radioélectriques : Aperçu 2010 — Canada

Chapitre 6 – Radiodiffusion

6.1 Contexte

6.1.1 Définition du service

La radiodiffusion est définie par la Loi sur la radiocommunication comme « toute radiocommunication dont les émissions sont destinées à être reçues directement par le public en général ». La plupart des opérations de radiodiffusion au Canada nécessitent un certificat de radiodiffusion émis par Industrie Canada et une licence de radiodiffusion émise par le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC).

6.1.2 Description générale du type de service et des applications

La radiodiffusion a une longue histoire au Canada. La radio AM est l'une des plus anciennes formes de radiodiffusion commerciale. La station AM CBK, à Watrous en Saskatchewan, est en fonction depuis le 29 juillet 1939. La radio AM fonctionne dans la bande moyenne des fréquences, entre 525 et 1 705 kHz, avec des canaux de 10 kHz.

La radio FM est apparue quelques décennies plus tard et est devenue plus populaire que la radio AM à cause de la meilleure qualité du signal, surtout dans les milieux urbains. La radio FM fonctionne dans la bande VHF (88-108 MHz avec des canaux de 200 kHz).

La télédiffusion fonctionne dans les bandes VHF et UHF (54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz et 470-806 MHz) avec des canaux de 6 MHz. La télévision numérique est apparue au cours de la dernière décennie et remplacera éventuellement l'ancienne technologie de télévision analogique.

Vers la fin des années 1990, des nouveaux services de radiodiffusion, comme le service de distribution multipoint (SDM) et la radiodiffusion audionumérique (RAN), sont apparus au Canada. Les opérations de SDM consistent à utiliser de larges blocs de canaux de 6 MHz pour effectuer une transmission de données et de vidéo aux abonnés de la câblodistribution sans fil. Quant à la RAN, jusqu'à 5 services auxiliaires de radiodiffusion (c'est-à-dire un ensemble) peuvent se partager un canal RAN de 1,536 MHz dans une région donnée. Les services de radiodiffusion audionumérique fonctionnent à l'intérieur d'un réseau d'émetteurs dans un même canal, appelé réseau mono-fréquence synchronisé, qui fournit un service multiplex à une zone de services numériques.

Pour plusieurs services de radiodiffusion, les stations sont également classifiées selon une puissance régulière ou faible. Les opérations à faible puissance sont secondaires aux systèmes de radiodiffusion réguliers et fonctionnent généralement avec des émetteurs à plus faible puissance pour couvrir des régions plus petites (rayon de moins de 20 km).

6.2 Attributions et utilisations actuelles

6.2.1 Liste des bandes attribuées

  • AM : 525-1 705 kHz
  • FM : 88-108 MHz
  • TV : 54-72 MHz, 76-88 MHz, 174-216 MHz, 470-806 MHz
  • SDM : 2 596-2 686 MHz
  • Radiodiffusion numérique : 1 452-1 492 MHz

6.2.2 Type de licence

Les stations de radiodiffusion fonctionnant dans les bandes précitées reçoivent des certificats de radiodiffusion émis par Industrie Canada. Ces autorisations concernent des sites précis qui sont généralement munis d'une antenne unique d'une haute puissance couvrant une large région. Dans certaines bandes, les exploitants ont des réseaux de stations pour couvrir une plus grande région. Les stations de radiodiffusion ont souvent également besoin d'une licence du CRTC.

6.2.3 Comparaison avec les États-Unis

Le Canada et les États-Unis ont des services radio AM et FM similaires. Les récepteurs AM et FM pour les services radio analogiques fonctionnent dans les deux pays. Les États-Unis ont commencé à permettre les opérations numériques hybrides (IBOC) dans leurs bandes radio AM et FM. Le Canada permet actuellement cette technologie numérique dans la bande FM, à titre expérimental.

En ce qui a trait à la télévision, les opérations de radiodiffusion du Canada et des États-Unis sont similaires depuis longtemps. La transition vers la télévision numérique aux États-Unis s'est faite plus rapidement que son équivalent au Canada. La transition américaine s'est terminée au mois de juin 2009, alors que la fin de la transition canadienne est prévue pour le mois d'août 2011 dans les principaux marchés et demandera plus de temps à l'extérieur de ces marchés. Lors de cette transition, la bande de la télévision a été réduite d'environ 100 MHz aux États-Unis et la bande 698-806 MHz a été réattribuée à d'autres utilisations. Au Canada, une réattribution similaire est planifiée après le mois d'août 2011, bien que les détails n'aient pas été officiellement annoncés.

La RAN n'est pas aussi bien implantée aux États-Unis qu'au Canada. Les États-Unis ont attribué la bande 1 435-1 525 MHz à leurs opérations de télémesure aéronautique et ont autorisé les opérations hybrides audionumériques qui utilisent la technologie « dans la même voie, dans la même bande » (IBOC) pour les bandes radio AM et FM.

Des SDM similaires aux systèmes canadiens sont apparus aux États-Unis mais les licences ont été accordées au moyen d'enchères, plutôt que selon le principe du premier arrivé premier servi, comme ce qui s'est fait au Canada. En 2005, les États-Unis ont effectué la transition de leurs attributions SDM vers le service radio à large bande (SRLB). Le Canada fera la transition de ses certificats de radiodiffusion SDM à des licences SLB en 2011.

Lien vers les décisions d'Industrie Canada relatives aux SRLB .

Lien vers l'information de la SRLB :
http://wireless.fcc.gov/services/index.htm?job=service_home&id=ebs_brs

Utilisation du service de radiodiffusion entre 52 MHz et 38 GHz (pour de plus amples renseignements, reportez-vous à l'Annexe 1) :
Utilisation du service de radiodiffusion entre 52 MHz et 38 GHz (pour de plus amples renseignements, reportez-vous à l'Annexe 1) [Description de la figure]

6.3 Inventaire et analyse du spectre

Radio AM (525-1 705 kHz)

En date du mois de juin 2010, il y avait 353 stations de radio AM en fonction au Canada, dont 202 stations de puissance régulière et 151 stations de faible puissance.

Parmi les principaux utilisateurs, on compte CBC/Radio-Canada (143 stations), Astral Media (22 stations), Newcap (26 stations) et Golden West Broadcasting (13 stations). Il y avait 95 propriétaires de stations de radiodiffusion AM uniques, tandis qu'il n'y en avait que 65 pour les stations régulières.

Radio FM (88-108 MHz)

En date du mois de juin 2010, il y avait 2 349 stations de radio FM en fonction au Canada, dont 1 456 stations de puissance régulière et 893 stations de faible puissance.

Parmi les principaux utilisateurs, on compte CBC/Radio-Canada (560 stations), Astral Media (62 stations), Rogers Broadcasting (60 stations), Native Communications (56 stations), Newcap (51 stations) et Northern Native Broadcasting (51 stations). Il y avait 672 propriétaires de stations de radiodiffusion FM uniques, tandis qu'il n'y en avait que 334 pour les stations régulières.

Télévision (54-72 MHz, 470-806 MHz)

En date du mois de juin 2010, il y avait 2 079 stations de télévision analogiques en fonction au Canada, dont 732 stations régulières et 1 347 stations de faible puissance. Il y avait également 25 stations de télévision numérique au Canada, toutes des stations régulières.

Parmi les principaux utilisateurs, on compte CBC/Radio-Canada (668 stations), l'Office de la télécommunication éducative de l'Ontario (TV Ontario) (267 stations), CTV Television (122 stations), Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (94 stations) et Canwest Television (89 stations). Il y avait 183 propriétaires uniques de stations de télédiffusion, tandis qu'il n'y en avait que 37 pour les stations régulières.

SDM

En date du mois de juin 2010, on comptait 47 systèmes MHz au total).

Les principaux utilisateurs sont Look Communications (26 systèmes) et Yourlink Incorporated (10 systèmes). Il y avait 5 propriétaires de systèmes de télédiffusion SDM uniques.

haut de la page

6.4 Tendances relatives au spectre

Au cours des 7 dernières années, la radio FM.

La télévision a connu une croissance de ses opérations régulières (2,2 % pour l'analogique et 700 % pour le numérique) et une décroissance de ses opérations à faible puissance (9,4%) au cours des 7 dernières années. L'augmentation importante des stations de télévision numérique est due au fait qu'il y avait très peu de ces stations au début de la transition vers la télévision numérique.

Les systèmes SDM ont augmenté de 15,4 % au cours des 7 dernières années.

6.4.1 Cartes du spectre

(Stations de radiodiffusion à puissance régulière seulement)

Figure 6.6 – Radio AM au Canada (525-1705 kHz)
Figure 6.6 [Description de la Figure 6.6]
Date de modification :