Radio Spectrum Inventory: A 2010 Snapshot — Canada

Chapter 7–Satellite Services

7.1 Background

7.1.1 Definition of Services

Satellite communications networks are radiocommunications networks where a communications link is facilitated between two earth stations by use of a satellite, which serves as an in-space signal repeater for the transmitting earth station.

A satellite communications link can be made in one of two directions: earth-to-space, known as the uplink; and space-to-earth, known as the downlink. There are also two link types, that characterize the flow of information across the satellite: the forward and reverse link. The forward link is the communications link that characterizes the flow of information from the service provider to the user, and the reverse link is the link that characterizes the flow of information from the user to the service provider. Figure 7.1 below gives a graphical depiction of this relationship.

Figure 7.1–Generic Satellite Communications Service
Figure 7.1–Generic Satellite Communications Service [Description of Figure 7.1 ]

There are several defined types of satellite service. These satellite services are typically given names based on the type of earth station utilized in delivering the service. These include broadly defined services such as broadcasting-satellite services (BSS), fixed-satellite services (FSS) and mobile-satellite services (MSS), as well as more precisely-defined services such as amateur-satellite service, aeronautical mobile-satellite services (AMSS), aeronautical radionavigation-satellite services, land-mobile-satellite services, maritime mobile-satellite services (MMSS), radiodetermination satellite services (RDSS), radiolocation-satellite services, radionavigation satellite services (RNSS), maritime radionavigation-satellite services, standard frequency and time signal-satellite service.

7.1.2 Broad Description of Types of Services and Applications

The following gives the ITU definition of each satellite service, followed by the different applications that are typically deployed using each service, where applicable.

7.1.2.1 Broadly-defined Satellite Services
Broadcasting-satellite services (BSS):
A radiocommunication service in which signals transmitted or retransmitted by space stations are intended for direct reception by the general public.
Applications:
Examples of BSS applications are satellite direct-to-home (DTH) for services such as satellite televisions, as well as satellite radio.
Fixed-satellite services (FSS):
A radiocommunication service between earth stations at given positions, when one or more satellites are used; the given position may be a specified point or any fixed point within specified areas; in some cases, this service includes satellite-to-satellite links, which may also be operated in the inter-satellite service; the fixed-satellite service may also include feeder links for other space radiocommunication services.
Applications:
There are several FSS applications, including broadband Internet over satellite, information gathering, videoconferencing, distance learning and backhaul. Additionally, FSS are used as feeder links for other types of satellite services (e.g. transmission of broadcast television to the satellite and feeder links for MSS).
Mobile-satellite services (MSS):
A radiocommunication service between mobile earth stations and one or more space stations, or between space stations used by this service; or between mobile earth stations by means of one or more space stations. This service may also include feeder links necessary for its operation.
Applications:
Typical applications for MSS are satellite phones capable of voice and data. Another example of an MSS application is the Broadband Global Area Network (BGAN), operated by Inmarsat. BGAN uses small mobile terminals the size of a laptop to provide broadband Internet access via satellite. AMSS, land mobile-satellite services and MMSS are also examples of services that have MSS applications.
7.1.2.2 Precisely-defined Satellite Services
Amateur-satellite services:
A radiocommunication service for the purpose of self-training, intercommunication and technical investigations carried out by amateurs, that is, by duly authorized persons interested in radio technique solely with a personal aim and without pecuniary interest. This service is specifically carried out using space stations on earth satellites.
Aeronautical mobile-satellite services (AMSS):
A mobile-satellite service in which mobile earth stations are located on board aircraft; survival craft stations and emergency position-indicating radiobeacon stations may also participate in this service.
Aeronautical radionavigation-satellite service:
A radionavigation-satellite service in which earth stations are located on board aircraft.
Land mobile-satellite service:
A mobile-satellite service in which mobile earth stations are located on land.
Maritime mobile-satellite service (MMSS):
A mobile-satellite service in which mobile earth stations are located on board ships; survival craft stations and emergency position-indicating radiobeacon stations may also participate in this service.
Maritime radionavigation-satellite service:
A radionavigation-satellite service in which earth stations are located on board ships.
Radiodetermination-satellite services (RDSS):
The determination of position, velocity and/or other characteristics of an object, or the obtaining of information relating to these parameters by means of the propagation properties of radio waves through the use of one of more space stations.
Radiolocation-satellite services:
A radiodetermination-satellite service used for the purpose of radiolocation, where radiolocation is a radiodetermination service used for the purpose of radionavigation.
Applications:
One example of a radiolocation-satellite service is satellite RADAR.
Radionavigation-satellite services (RNSS):
A radiodetermination-satellite service used for the purpose of radionavigation.
Applications:
One example of a RNSS is GPS.
Standard frequency and time signal-satellite service:
A radiocommunication service using space stations on earth satellites for the same purposes as those of the standard frequency and time signal service.

7.1.3 Licensing Satellite Services

The procedure for licensing satellite services in Canada depends on the type of licence to be issued. There are two types of licences that can be obtained: a spectrum licence and a radio licence. The former allows the deployment of several ground stations in order to use the portion of spectrum (authorized in the licence) in specific areas. The latter licenses the apparatus used for communications at particular locations. Since 1995, Industry Canada has transitioned from licensing satellite services using solely radio licensing, to issuing spectrum licences, where applicable. In general, radio licences are typically issued for the satellite and earth stations in the fixed-satellite service. Spectrum licences are issued for the flexible deployment of a satellite network, implemented by issuing an individual licence for all radio equipment. This type of deployment is more typical for MSS service providers, where a large number of user terminals are deployed.

The issuance process for licences for the operation of satellite differs depending on whether the satellite will operate in a geostationary orbit (GSO). Non-GSO satellites are licensed using a first-come, first-served (FCFS) policy, no matter the type of service (e.g. FSS, BSS or MSS). However, the process differs for GSO satellites depending upon the type of service being licensed. In the past, an FCFS policy was used to license satellites for FSS. More recently, FSS have been licensed through a comparative process, as exampled by the 2006 Call for Applications to License Satellite Orbital Positions.Footnote 13 BSS licensing is currently done through comparative process, also exampled by the 2006 Call. There are currently no Canadian MSS satellite operators, but there are several service providers licensed with spectrum licences to deliver services from satellites licensed by other administrations. It should be noted that no licence is require for a BSS VSAT (Very Small Aperture Terminal), as they are classified as licence-exempt.

The studies conducted in Section 7.3 using information derived from Industry Canada's licensing database are limited for certain classes of satellite service. This is because the database does not keep track of spectrum licences or the number of licence-exempt terminals deployed. This means that any study done using solely the database, will fail to fully capture the true utilization in bands deploying BSS. However, as is discussed in Section 7.3, the database information is also augmented using public information regarding the number of spectrum and radio licences issued in a band.

top of page

7.2 Current Allocations and Utilizations

7.2.1 List of Allocated Bands

There are several bands allocated to and utilized for the implementation of satellite services. Table 7.1 lists all bands with licensed satellite services and the respective services implemented in each particular band. Note that Table 7.1 also specifies the direction of the link (↑ for uplink and ↓ for downlink) which can be used in the band of interest.

Table 7.1: Allocated spectrum currently used for satellite services
Band (MHz) Services Implemented Direction Band Size (MHz)
137-138 MSS 1
148-149.9 MSS 1.9
161.9625-161.9875 MMSS ↑↓ 0.025
162.0125-162.0375 MMSS ↑↓ 0.025
225-332 GOVFootnote 14 ↑↓ 107
399.9-400.05 MSS 0.15
400.15-401 MSS 0.85
406-406.1 GOV ↑↓ 0.1
432-438 Telemetry/Telecommand ↑↓ 6
460-470 Experimental ↑↓ 10
Band (GHz) Services Implemented Direction Band Size (MHz)
1.525-1.530 MSS 5
1.530-1.535 MSS 5
1.535-1.559 MSS 24
1.6265-1.6605 MSS 34
2.000-2.020 MSS 20
2.180-2.200 MSS 20
2.310-2.360 BSS 50
2.700-2.900 GOV ↑↓ 200
3.500-3.650 FSS 150
3.650-3.700 FSS 50
3.700-4.200 FSS 500
4.400-4.490 GOV ↑↓ 90
4.835-4.950 GOV ↑↓ 115
5.091-5.150 FSSFootnote 15 59
5.850-5.925 FSS 75
5.925-6.700 FSSFootnote 16 775
6.700-7.075 FSS 375
7.250-7.300 GOV ↑↓ 50
7.300-7.450 GOV ↑↓ 150
7.450-7.550 GOV ↑↓ 100
7.975-8.025 GOV ↑↓ 50
8.025-8.175 GOV ↑↓ 150
8.175-8.215 GOV ↑↓ 40
10.70-11.70 FSS 1000
11.70-12.20 FSS/AMSS 500
12.20-12.70 BSS 500
12.75-13.25 FSS 500
13.75-14.00 FSS 250
14.00-14.47 FSS/AMSS 470
14.47-14.50 FSS/AMSS 30
14.50-14.66 GOV ↑↓ 160
14.820-15.135 GOV ↑↓ 315
17.30-17.70 BSS ↑↓ 400
17.70-17.80 BSS ↑↓ 100
17.80-18.10 FSS 300
18.10-18.40 FSS 300
18.40-18.60 FSS 200
18.60-18.80 FSS 200
19.30-19.70 FSS 400
19.70-20.20 FSS 500
27.50-28.50 FSS 1000
28.50-29.10 FSS 600
29.10-29.50 FSS 400
29.50-29.90 FSS 400
29.90-30.00 FSS 100
Satellite Service use from 52 MHz to 38GHz (for additional information, refer to Annex 1):
Satellite Service use from 52 GHz (for additional information, refer to Annex 1): [Description of Figure]

Footnotes

  1. 13 back to footnote reference 13 For more information, please refer to: http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/h_sf08522.html.
  2. 14 back to footnote reference 14 Where GOV is an abbreviation used to represent a service that is for the Government of Canada.
  3. 15 back to footnote reference 15 The band 5091-5150 MSS.
  4. 16 back to footnote reference 16 In the band 6425-7075 MHz portion of the band.
Date modified:

Inventaire des fréquences radioélectriques : Aperçu 2010 — Canada

Chapitre 7 – Services par satellite

7.1 Contexte

7.1.1 Définition des services

Les réseaux de communication par satellite sont des réseaux de radiocommunications où la liaison de télécommunications est facilitée entre deux stations terrestres au moyen de l'utilisation d'un satellite, qui sert de répéteur dans l'espace pour la station terrestre qui émet.

Une liaison de télécommunications par satellite peut être effectuée dans une ou l'autre de deux directions : Terre-satellite, appelée liaison montante, et satellite-Terre, appelée liaison descendante. Il y a également deux types de liaisons, qui caractérisent le flot d'information à travers le satellite : la liaison aval et la liaison amont. La liaison aval est la liaison de télécommunications qui est caractérisée par le flot d'information allant du fournisseur de services jusqu'à l'utilisateur et la liaison amont est la liaison de télécommunications caractérisée par le flot d'information allant de l'utilisateur vers le fournisseur de services. La Figure 7.1 ci-dessous illustre ces relations.

Figure 7.1 – Service générique de communications par satellite
Figure 7.1 [Description de la figure 7.1]

Il existe plusieurs définitions des types de services par satellite. Ces services par satellite sont généralement nommés selon le type de station terrestre qui est utilisée pour la prestation du service. Parmi ces définitions, on compte les services définis de façon générale, comme les services de radiodiffusion par satellite (SRS), les services fixes par satellite (SFS) et les services mobiles par satellite (SMS), ainsi que les services définis de façon plus précise comme les services d'amateur par satellite, les services mobiles aéronautiques par satellite (SMAS), les services de radionavigation aéronautique par satellite, les services mobiles terrestres par satellite, les services mobiles maritimes par satellite (SMMS), les services de radiorepérage par satellite (SRRS), les services de radionavigation par satellite (SRNS), les services de radionavigation maritime par satellite et le service des fréquences étalons et des signaux horaires par satellite.

7.1.2 Description générale des types de services et des applications

L'information qui suit donne la définition de l'UIT pour chaque service par satellite et différentes applications qui sont généralement déployées pour chacun des services, s'il y a lieu.

7.1.2.1 Services par satellite définis de façon générale
Services de radiodiffusion par satellite (SRS) :
service de radiocommunication par lequel les signaux sont émis ou réémis par les stations spatiales et sont destinés à une réception générale par le public.
Applications :
la diffusion directe par satellite (DTH) pour les services comme la télévision par satellite, ainsi que la radio par satellite sont des exemples d'applications SRS.
Services fixes par satellite (SFS) :
service de radiocommunication entre les stations terrestres à des positions déterminées, lorsqu'un ou plusieurs satellites sont utilisés. La position déterminée peut être un point précis ou tout point de la région désignée et, dans certains cas, ce service peut inclure des liaisons de satellite à satellite qui peuvent être effectuées par le service inter-satellites. Le service fixe par satellite peut également comprendre des liaisons de connexion pour d'autres services de radiocommunication spatiale.
Applications :
il existe plusieurs applications SFS, y compris l'Internet à large bande par satellite, la collecte d'information, la vidéoconférence, l'apprentissage à distance et les liaisons terrestres. En outre, les SFS sont utilisés comme liaisons de connexion pour d'autres types de services par satellite ( p. ex. la transmission d'émissions de télévision au satellite et aux liaisons de connexion pour les SMS).
Services mobiles par satellite (SMS) :
service de radiocommunication entre les stations mobiles terrestres et une ou plusieurs stations spatiales, ou entre les stations spatiales utilisées par ce service, ou encore entre les stations mobiles terrestres au moyen d'une ou plusieurs stations spatiales. Ce service peut également comprendre les liaisons de connexion nécessaires à son fonctionnement.
Applications :
les applications du SMS consistent généralement en téléphones satellites capables de transmettre la voix et les données. Un autre exemple d'une application SMS est le réseau mondial à large bande (BGAN) exploité par Inmarsat. Le BGAN utilise des petits terminaux qui sont de la taille d'un ordinateur portable pour fournir des services d'accès à l'Internet à large bande par satellite. Les SMAS, les services mobiles terrestres par satellite et les SMMS sont également des exemples de services ayant des applications SMS.
7.1.2.2 Services par satellite définis de façon précise
Services d'amateur par satellite :
service de radiocommunication ayant pour objet l'instruction individuelle, l'intercommunication et les études techniques, effectuées par des amateurs, c'est-à-dire par des personnes dûment autorisées, s'intéressant à la technique de la radioélectricité à titre uniquement personnel et sans intérêt pécuniaire. Ce service fonctionne spécifiquement en utilisant des stations spatiales sur les satellites de la Terre.
Services mobiles aéronautiques par satellite (SMAS) :
service mobile par satellite dans lequel les stations mobiles terrestres sont situées à bord d'aéronefs. Les stations d'engins de sauvetage et les stations de radiophares avec indicateur de position d'urgence peuvent également utiliser ce service.
Service de radionavigation aéronautique par satellite :
service de radionavigation par satellite dans lequel les stations terrestres sont situées à bord des aéronefs.
Service mobile terrestre par satellite :
service mobile par satellite dans lequel les stations mobiles sont situées sur la terre ferme.
Service mobile maritime par satellite (SMMS) :
service mobile par satellite dans lequel les stations mobiles terrestres sont situées à bord des navires. Les stations d'engins de sauvetage et les stations de radiophares avec indicateur de position d'urgence peuvent également utiliser ce service.
Service maritime de radionavigation par satellite :
service de radionavigation par satellite dans lequel les stations terrestres sont situées à bord des navires.
Services de radiorepérage par satellite (SRRS):
détermination de la position, de la vélocité et/ou des autres caractéristiques d'un objet, ou obtention de l'information relative à ces paramètres au moyen des propriétés de propagation des ondes radio en utilisant une ou plusieurs stations spatiales.
Services de radiolocalisation par satellite :
service de radiorepérage par satellite utilisé aux fins de la radiolocalisation, où la radiolocalisation est un service de radiorepérage utilisé aux fins de la radionavigation.
Applications :
un exemple de radiolocalisation par satellite est le radar de détection de satellites.
Services de radionavigation par satellite (SRNS) :
service de radiorepérage par satellite utilisé aux fins de la radionavigation.
Applications :
Un bon exemple du SRNS est le GPS.
Service des fréquences étalons et des signaux horaires par satellite :
service de radiocommunication qui utilise les stations spatiales sur les satellites terrestres aux mêmes fins que le service des fréquences étalons et le service des signaux horaires.

7.1.3 Délivrance de licences pour les services par satellite

La procédure de délivrance de licences pour les services par satellite au Canada dépend du type de licence à délivrer. Il existe deux types de licences qui peuvent être obtenues : une licence de spectre et une licence radio. La première permet le déploiement de plusieurs stations terrestres en vue de l'utilisation de la partie du spectre (autorisée par la licence) dans des régions précises. La deuxième est une licence délivrée pour les appareils de télécommunications à des endroits précis. Depuis 1995, Industrie Canada est en transition entre la délivrance des licences pour les services par satellite en utilisant uniquement des licences radio, vers la délivrance de licences de spectre, lorsque c'est pertinent. En règle générale, les licences radio sont délivrées pour le satellite et les stations terrestres du service fixe par satellite. Les licences de spectre sont délivrées pour le déploiement souple d'un réseau de satellites, mis en place par la délivrance d'une licence et des droits généraux. Ce type de déploiement est typique des fournisseurs de SMS où un grand nombre de terminaux d'utilisateurs sont déployés.

Le processus de délivrance de licences pour l'exploitation d'un satellite diffère selon que le satellite sera placé dans une orbite géostationnaire (GEO) ou non. Les satellites sans GEO reçoivent des licences selon le principe du premier arrivé premier servi (PAPS), peu importe le type de service (p. ex. SFS, SRS ou SMS). Toutefois, le processus est différent pour les satellites avec GEO selon le type de service qui fait l'objet de la demande de licence. Dans le passé, une politique PAPS était utilisée pour la délivrance des licences pour les SFS. Cependant, les SFS ont plus récemment reçu leurs licences selon un processus comparatif, comme démontré dans l'Appel de demandes de licences relatives à des positions orbitales de satellite de 2006Footnote 13. La délivrance des licences SRS est présentement effectuée au moyen d'un processus comparatif, également démontré dans l'Appel de 2006. Il n'existe présentement aucun exploitant canadien de satellite SMS, mais plusieurs fournisseurs de services détiennent des licences de spectre leur permettant de fournir des services à l'aide de satellites pour lesquels d'autres entités détiennent des licences. Il est à noter qu'aucune licence n'est requise pour les petits terminaux à antennes à très petite ouverture SRS (VSAT), puisqu'ils sont exempts de licence.

Les études effectuées à la section 7.3 à l'aide de l'information provenant de la base de données des licences d'Industrie Canada sont imitées pour certaines classes de services par satellite. Ceci est dû au fait que la base de données ne tient pas compte des licences de spectre, ni du nombre de terminaux exempts de licence qui sont déployés. Cela signifie que toute étude effectuée en utilisant seulement la base de données ne comprend pas la véritable utilisation des bandes qui comportent des SMS et des SRS. Toutefois, tel que discuté à la section 7.3, l'information provenant de la base de données est complétée par l'information publique du nombre de licences de spectre et de radio qui sont délivrées pour une bande.

haut de la page

7.2 Attributions et utilisations actuelles

7.2.1 Liste des bandes attribuées

Plusieurs bandes sont attribuées et utilisées pour la mise en place des services par satellite. Le Tableau 7.1 énumère toutes les bandes qui comportent des licences de services par satellite, ainsi que les services respectifs mis en place pour chaque bande en particulier. Notez que le Tableau 7.1 précise également la direction de la liaison (↑ pour liaison montante et ↓ pour liaison descendante) qui peut être utilisée dans la bande présentant un intérêt.

Tableau 7.1 : Spectre attribué présentement utilisé pour les services par satellite
Bande (MHz) Services mis en place Direction Largeur de bande (MHz)
137-138 SMS 1
148-149.9 SMS 1,9
161,9625-161,9875 SMMS ↑↓ 0,025
162,0125-162.0375 SMMS ↑↓ 0,025
225-332 GOUVNote 14 ↑↓ 107
399,9-400,05 SMS 0,15
400,15-401 SMS 0.85
406-406,1 GOUV ↑↓ 0,1
432-438 Télémesure/Télécommande ↑↓ 6
460-470 Expérimentale ↑↓ 10
Bande (GHz) Services mis en place Direction Largeur de bande (MHz)
1,525-1,530 SMS 5
1,530-1,535 SMS 5
1,535-1,559 SMS 24
1,6265-1,6605 SMS 34
2,000-2,020 SMS 20
2,180-2,200 SMS 20
2,310-2,360 SMS 50
2,700-2,900 GOV ↑↓ 200
3,500-3,650 SFS 150
3,650-3,700 SFS 50
3,700-4,200 SFS 500
4.400-4,490 GOUV ↑↓ 90
4,835-4,950 GOUV ↑↓ 115
5,091-5,150 SFS Note 15 59
5,850-5,925 SFS 75
5,925-6,700 SFS Note 16 775
6,700-7,075 SFS 375
7,250-7,300 GOUV ↑↓ 50
7,300-7,450 GOUV ↑↓ 150
7,450-7,550 GOUV ↑↓ 100
7,975-8,025 GOUV ↑↓ 50
8,025-8,175 GOUV ↑↓ 150
8,175-8,215 GOUV ↑↓ 40
10,70-11,70 SFS 1000
11,70-12,20 SFS /SMAS 500
12,20-12,70 SRS 500
12,75-13,25 SFS 500
13,75-14,00 SFS 250
14,00-14,47 SFS /SMAS 470
14,47-14,50 SFS /SMAS 30
14,50-14,66 GOV ↑↓ 160
14,820-15,135 GOV ↑↓ 315
17,30-17,70 SRS ↑↓ 400
17,70-17,80 SRS ↑↓ 100
17,80-18,10 SFS 300
18,10-18,40 SFS 300
18,40-18,60 SFS 200
18,60-18,80 SFS 200
19,30-19,70 SFS 400
19,70-20,20 SFS 500
27,50-28,50 SFS 1000
28,50-29,10 SFS 600
29,10-29,50 SFS 400
29,50-29,90 SFS 400
29,90-30,00 SFS 100
Utilisation des services par satellite entre 52 MHz et 38 GHz (pour de plus amples renseignements, reportez-vous à l'Annexe 1) :
Utilisation des services par satellite entre 52 MHz et 38 GHz (pour de plus amples renseignements, reportez-vous à l'Annexe 1) : [Description de la figure]

Notes de bas de page

  1. 13 retour à la référence de la note 13 Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf08669.html.
  2. 14 retour à la référence de la note 14 L'abréviation GOUV représente un service destiné au gouvernement du Canada.
  3. 15 retour à la référence de la note 15 La bande 5 091-5 150 MHz est attribuée aux SF à titre primaire. Cette attribution est limitée aux liaisons de connexion des satellites qui ne sont pas en orbite géostationnaire pour les SMS.
  4. 16 retour à la référence de la note 16 En ce qui a trait à la bande 6 425-7 075 MHz, les mesures de captage passif des hyperfréquences sont effectuées au-dessus des océans. L'UIT a demandé aux administrations de se rappeler les besoins des services d'exploration de la Terre par satellite (passifs) et de la recherche spatiale (passive) dans leurs futures planifications de cette bande. Par conséquent, la majorité des assignations SFS au Canada dans la bande 5 925-6 700 MHz se retrouve dans la portion 5 925-6 425 MHz de cette bande.
Date de modification :