Radio Spectrum Inventory: A 2010 Snapshot — Canada

Chapter 10–Maritime Mobile Service

10.1 Background

10.1.1 Definitions

The Maritime Mobile Service is an internationally-allocated radio service providing for safety of life and property at sea and on inland waterways. It includes the MMS, the Maritime Mobile-Satellite Service, the Port Operations Service, the Ship Movement Service, the Maritime Fixed Service, and the Maritime Radiodetermination Service. These services classify the different types of marine radio communications, but they are less important for regulatory purposes than the two classifications of marine radio stations which are Maritime stations on land (Coast Station) and Maritime station on board ships or vessels (Ship Station);

Coast Station is defined as a fixed station that operates in the maritime service;

Ship Station is defined as a mobile station, including a hand-held radio that is installed or operates on board a ship or vessel.

10.1.2 Broad description of type of service/applications

Together, shipboard and land stations in the maritime services are meant to serve the needs of the entire maritime community. In Canada, Industry Canada regulates spectrum allocation, while Transport Canada, with the help of the Canadian Coast Guard, regulates operational requirements. As there are different types of vessels and different areas in which some may travel, (i.e. international waters or within the Canadian territory), different regulations are involved. These regulations make a distinction between compulsory fitted ships and non-compulsory fitted ships.

The MMS has evolved considerably from the earliest practical uses of radio back in 1900 when wireless radio devices installed on board vessels enabled them to receive storm warnings transmitted from stations on shore. Today however, with much more sophisticated systems, the same principles apply and both coastal and mobile stations are used to aid marine navigation, commerce and personal businesses, but such uses are secondary to safety, which is not only a national priority, but an international one as well.

10.2 Current Allocations and Utilization

10.2.1 List of Allocated Frequency Bands

The current frequency allocations and utilization is based on the ITU's international Radio Regulations. Maritime radiocommunications are carried out not only within Canada, but within international waters and near foreign ports. However, Canada is a sovereign country and, as such, and by generally following ITU-R Regulations, we have our domestic rules and regulations within our boundaries.

Table 10.1: List of Allocated Frequency Bands
Frequency bands (MHz)
.415-.525
2.000-2.495
2.505-2.850
4.000-4.438
5.73-5.90
6.200-6.525
8.100-8.815
12.230-13.200
16.36-17.41
18.78-18.90
19.68-19.80
22.000-22.855
25.07-25.21
26.100-26.175
216-220
2850-3100
5470-5650
8850-9000
9200-9500

Annex 6 contains tables detailing maritime frequency allocations and the way that these frequencies are used in Canada.

Maritime use from 52  MHz to 38GHz (for additional information, refer to Annex 1):
Maritime use from 52 GHz (for additional information, refer to Annex 1): [Description of Figure]

10.2.2 Type of Licence

Radio licences are issued for maritime coastal stations and vessels. However, due to the provision in section 15.2 of the Radiocommunication Regulations, radio apparatus on board a ship or vessel are exempt from licensing if certain criteria are met. This commenced in 1999 and as such, many owners of pleasure crafts ceased requesting licenses for their vessel. Because of this, attempting to quantify the number of frequency assignments on board vessels operating in Canada is not possible.

10.2.3 Comparison with the United States

With negotiations and international agreement under the ITU, the U.S. maritime mobile bands align with the Canadian maritime mobile bands.

top of page

10.3 Spectrum Inventory and Analysis

10.3.1 Major Users

Major users of the maritime mobile service are the Government of Canada, commercial vessels from Canada and from different parts of the world, as well as Canadian pleasure crafts.

10.3.2 Number of assignments and geographic information

Assignments are related to a form of authority such as a licence. As there are many vessels in Canada that do not hold a radio licence, it is difficult to assess the number of these vessels. However, based on the licensing database, the numbers of assignments are provided in the tables below for both coastal stations and vessels.

Table 10.2: Vessels in Canada with Radio Licences
Type Compulsory fitted vessels Non-Compulsory fitted vessels Total
Passenger 112 41 153
Cargo 67 12 79
Tug 107 51 158
Fishing 177 301 478
Pleasure 29 2,436 2,465
Barges (not self propelled) 9 8 17
Barges (self propelled) 7 10 17
Miscellaneous 63 87 150
Government 92 218 310
Total 3,827
Table 10.3: Coastal Stations in Canada with Radio Licences
Maritime Coastal Stations Quantity
Pacific Pilotage Authority Canada 2
Administration Portuaire Montréal 1
Public Works and Government Services Canada 1
The St. Lawrence Seaway Management 26
The Toronto Port Authority 2
Hamilton Port Authority 1
Nanaimo Port Authority 1
Thunder Bay Port Authority 1
Vancouver Fraser Port authority 1
Windsor Port Authority 1
Fisheries and Oceans Canada 164
Thunder Bay Terminals Limited 1
Canadian National Railway VN109925 1
Surrey Sailing Club 1
Cafferata Enterprises Ltd. 1
Emergency Measures Organization 6
Peter Semotiuk 1
Minor Bay Camps Inc. 1
Wollaston Lake Lodge Ltd. 1
Edmonton Yacht Club 1
Exxonmobil Canada Properties 5
Public Works and Government Services Canada 1
Encana Corporate 1
Sterling Marine Fuels 1
National Defence Headquarters 1
Total 224

10.3.3 Spectrum usage maps

The map of Canada below depicts the geographical locations of coastal stations that are authorized for maritime communications. Vessels, on the other hand, are not represented because there are no specific locations in which we assign or authorize the use of maritime mobile radios other than on water within Canada.

Figure 10.1–Authorized Coastal Stations in the Maritime Mobile Service
Figure 10.1–Authorized Coastal Stations in the Maritime Mobile Service [Description of Figure 10.1]

10.4 Trends

Due to the limited information on licences and assignments in Canada, spectrum trends based on the numbers of assignments are not representative to this type of service. The maritime community, with the involvement of several international organizations, has been implementing new digital technologies. However, the changes are slow as this is a worldwide endeavour.

Date modified:

Inventaire des fréquences radioélectriques : Aperçu 2010 — Canada

Chapitre 10 – Service mobile maritime

10.1 Contexte

10.1.1 Définitions

Le service mobile maritime est un service radio attribué de façon internationale et qui vise la sécurité de la vie et des biens en mer et sur les voies de navigation intérieures. Ce service comprend le SMM, le service mobile maritime par satellite, le service des opérations portuaires, le service du mouvement des navires, le service fixe maritime et le service maritime de radiorepérage. Ces services déterminent la classification des différents types de radiocommunications maritimes, mais sont moins importants aux fins de la réglementation que les deux classifications de stations radiomaritimes, qui sont les stations maritimes sur terre (stations côtières) et les stations à bord des navires ou des bateaux (stations de navires);

Une station côtière est définie comme étant une station fixe qui fonctionne dans le cadre le service maritime;

Une station de navire est définie comme étant une station mobile, y compris les postes radio portatifs qui sont installés ou fonctionnent à bord des navires ou des bateaux.

10.1.2 Description générale du type de service et des applications

Dans leur ensemble, les stations sur terre et à bord des navires du service maritime sont destinées à répondre aux besoins de la communauté maritime toute entière. Au Canada, le ministère de l'Industrie réglemente l'attribution du spectre, tandis que Transports Canada, secondé par la Garde côtière canadienne, réglemente les exigences opérationnelles. Étant donné qu'il existe plusieurs types de navires ainsi que plusieurs régions dans lesquelles ils peuvent voyager, que ce soit dans les eaux internationales ou à l'intérieur du territoire canadien, ces navires doivent se conformer à plusieurs règlements. Ces règlements établissent une distinction entre les navires qui sont tenus d'être équipés et ceux qui ne le sont pas.

Le SMM a évolué considérablement depuis les premières utilisations pratiques de la radio dans les années 1900, lorsque les appareils de radio sans fil installés à bord leur permettaient de recevoir des avertissements de tempêtes provenant des stations sur la terre ferme. Cependant, avec les systèmes plus sophistiqués qui sont maintenant disponibles, les mêmes principes s'appliquent et les deux types de stations, côtière et mobile, sont utilisés pour aider la navigation maritime, le commerce et les affaires personnelles. Ces utilisations demeurent toutefois secondaires aux utilisations portant sur la sécurité qui est non seulement une priorité nationale, mais également une priorité internationale.

10.2 Attributions et utilisations actuelles

10.2.1 Liste des bandes de fréquences attribuées

Les attributions de fréquences actuelles et leur utilisation sont basées sur le Règlement des radiocommunications en vigueur sur la scène internationale. Les radiocommunications maritimes sont effectuées non seulement au Canada, mais également dans les eaux internationales et près des ports étrangers. Toutefois, le Canada est un pays souverain et à ce titre, tout en suivant généralement les règlements de l'UIT-R, nous avons nos propres règlements nationaux à l'intérieur de nos frontières.

Tableau 10.1 : Liste des bandes de fréquences attribuées
Bandes de fréquence (MHz)
0,415-0,525
2,000-2,495
2,505-2,850
4,000-4,438
5,73-5,90
6,200-6,525
8,100-8,815
12,230-13,200
16,36-17,41
18,78-18,90
19,68-19,80
22,000-22,855
25,07-25,21
26,100-26,175
216-220
2 850-3 100
5 470-5 650
8 850-9 000
9 200-9 500

L'Annexe 6 contient les tableaux décrivant les attributions des fréquences maritimes et la façon dont ces fréquences sont utilisées au Canada.

Utilisation maritime entre 52 MHz et 38 GHz (pour de plus amples renseignements, reportez-vous à l'Annexe 1) :
Utilisation maritime entre 52 MHz et 38 GHz (pour de plus amples renseignements, reportez-vous à l'Annexe 1) : [Description de la figure]

10.2.2 Types de licences

Les types de licences émises sont des licences radio pour les stations maritimes côtières et les navires. Toutefois, étant donné la disposition du paragraphe 15.2 du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, les appareils radio à bord d'un navire ou d'un bateau sont exempts de licences s'ils répondent à certaines exigences. Cette situation a vu le jour en 1999, et c'est alors que plusieurs propriétaires de bateaux de plaisance ont cessé de demander des licences pour leurs bateaux. C'est pourquoi toute quantification du nombre d'attributions de fréquences à bord des bateaux canadiens est impossible.

10.2.3 Comparaison avec les États-Unis

Étant donné les négociations et l'entente internationale gouvernée par l'UIT, les bandes mobiles maritimes américaines sont alignées avec les bandes mobiles maritimes canadiennes.

haut de la page

10.3 Inventaire et analyse du spectre

10.3.1 Principaux utilisateurs

Les principaux utilisateurs du service mobile maritime sont le gouvernement du Canada, les bateaux commerciaux du Canada et de différentes parties du monde, ainsi que les bateaux de plaisance canadiens.

10.3.2 Nombre d'assignations et information géographique

Les assignations sont liées à une certaine forme d'autorité, comme les licences. Étant donné qu'il y a plusieurs bateaux au Canada qui ne détiennent pas de licence, il serait difficile d'évaluer le nombre de ces bateaux. Toutefois, on peut extraire de la base de données des licences le nombre d'assignations à des stations côtières et de navire qui sont montrées aux tableaux ci-dessous.

Tableau 10.2 : Bateaux du Canada détenant des licences radio
Type Navires tenus d'être équipés Navires non tenus d'être équipés Total
Passagers 112 41 153
Cargo 67 12 79
Remorqueurs 107 51 158
Pêche 177 301 478
Plaisance 29 2 436 2 465
Barges (sans moteur) 9 8 17
Barges (avec moteur) 7 10 17
Divers 63 87 150
Gouvernement 92 218 310
Total 3 827
Tableau 10.3 : Stations côtières du Canada détenant des licences radio
Stations côtières maritimes Quantité
Pacific Pilotage Authority Canada 2
Administration portuaire de Montréal 1
Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada 1
Gestion de la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent 26
Toronto Port Authority 2
Hamilton Port Authority 1
Nanaimo Port Authority 1
Thunder Bay Port Authority 1
Vancouver Fraser Port Authority 1
Windsor Port Authority 1
Pêches et Océans Canada 164
Thunder Bay Terminals Limited 1
Compagnie des Chemins de fer nationaux du Canada VN109925 1
Surrey Sailing Club 1
Cafferata Enterprises Ltd. 1
Organisation des Mesures d'urgence 6
Peter Semotiuk 1
Minor Bay Camps Inc. 1
Wollaston Lake Lodge Ltd. 1
Edmonton Yatcht Club 1
Exxonmobil Canada Properties 5
Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada 1
Encana Corporate 1
Sterling Marine Fuels 1
Quartiers généraux de la Défense nationale 1
Total 224

10.3.3 Cartes de l'utilisation du spectre

La carte du Canada représentée ci-dessous illustre les emplacements géographiques des stations côtières pour les communications maritimes. D'autre part, les bateaux ne sont pas illustrés puisqu'il n'y a aucun emplacement précis lié à l'utilisation des radios mobiles maritimes autre que les plans d'eau à l'intérieur du Canada.

Figure 10.1 – Stations côtières autorisées pour le service mobile maritime
Figure 10.1 [Description de la figure 10.1]

10.4 Tendances

Étant donné le peu d'information disponible sur les licences et attributions au Canada, les tendances relatives au spectre et portant sur le nombre d'assignations ne sont pas représentatives pour ce type de service. La communauté maritime, avec la participation de plusieurs organisations internationales, a mis en place de nouvelles technologies numériques. Toutefois, les changements sont lents, puisqu'il s'agit d'une initiative mondiale.

Date de modification :