Gazette Notice No.DGSO-002-12

Department of Industry
Radiocommunication Act

Posted on Industry Canada website: April 25, 2012
Publication Date in Canada Gazette: May 5, 2012

Notice No. DGSO-002-12Consultation on a Licensing Framework for Mobile Broadband Services (MBS) — 700 MHz Band

The intent of this notice is to announce the release of the above-mentioned consultation document on a licensing framework related to the upcoming auction for Mobile Broadband Services in the 700 MHz band. In particular, the consultation seeks comments related to the licensing process, auction format and conditions of licence applicable to the 700 MHz band.

This consultation follows the March 14, 2012 release of the document entitled Policy and Technical Framework: Mobile Broadband Services (MBS) – 700 MHz Band, Broadband Radio Service (BRS) – 2500 MHz Band, which set out Industry Canada's general policy decisions for both the band 698-806 MHz (known as the 700 MHz band) and the band 2500-2690 MHz (known as the 2500 MHz band).

Submitting comments

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF) to the following e-mail address: spectrum.auctions@ic.gc.ca.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Manager, Spectrum Auctions, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0C8.

To ensure consideration, parties should submit their comments no later than June 25, 2012. Soon after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

The Department will also provide interested parties with the opportunity to reply to comments from other parties. Reply comments will be accepted until July 25, 2012.

Following the initial comment period, the Department may, at its discretion, request additional information if needed to clarify significant positions or new proposals. In such a case, the reply comment deadline would be extended.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, the title and the notice reference number (DGSO-002-12).

Information session

In order to assist potential bidders in gaining a greater understanding of the proposed auction format and rules, Industry Canada will hold an information session on May 30, 2012. The session will provide an overview of the proposed auction format and rules for the 700 MHz auction, and may be of interest to potential bidders in the 2500 MHz auction.

Obtaining copies

Copies of this notice and of documents referred to herein are available electronically on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official versions of Canada Gazette notices can be viewed at http://www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html. Printed copies of the Canada Gazette can be ordered by telephoning the sales counter of Publishing and Depository Services at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

Original signed on April 19, 2012

space to insert signature
FIONA GILFILLAN
Director General
Spectrum Management Operations Branch

Avis de la Gazette No DGSO-002-11

Ministère de l'industrie
Loi sur la radiocommunication

Affiché sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada : le 25 avril 2012
Date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada : le 5 mai 2012

Avis No. DGSO-002-12Consultation sur un cadre de délivrance des licences pour services mobiles à large bande (SMLB) — bande de 700 MHz

Le présent avis a pour objet d'annoncer la publication du document susmentionné qui consiste en une consultation publique sur le cadre de délivrance des licences pour les enchères des SMLB dans la bande de 700 MHz. En particulier, le but de la consultation est de recueillir des commentaires sur le processus de la délivrance des licences, la structure des enchères ainsi que les conditions de licence applicables dans la bande de 700 MHz.

Cette consultation donne suite à la publication du document intitulé « Cadre politique et technique: Service mobile à large bande (SMLB) – bande de 700 MHz, Service radio à large bande (SRLB) – bande de 2 500 MHz » en date du 14 mars 2012, dans lequel sont présentées les décisions de politique générales d'Industrie Canada en ce qui concerne la bande 698-806 MHz (connue sous le nom de bande de 700 MHz) et la bande 2 500-2 690 MHz (connue sous le nom de bande de 2 500 MHz).

Présentation des commentaires

Les répondants sont invités à soumettre leurs observations sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word ou Adobe PDF) à l'adresse courriel suivante : encheres.spectre@ic.gc.ca.

Les commentaires sur papier doivent être adressés au Gestionnaire, Enchères du spectre, Industrie Canada, 300 rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8.

Pour garantir la prise en considération de leurs commentaires, les intéressés doivent les soumettre au plus tard le 25 juin 2012. Peu après la clôture de la période de commentaires, toutes les observations reçues seront affichées sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada, à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Le Ministère donnera la possibilité aux intéressés de répondre aux commentaires de tiers. Ces réponses seront acceptées jusqu'au 25 juillet 2012.

Il est à noter qu'après la période de commentaires initiale, s'il y a lieu de clarifier des positions importantes ou de nouvelles propositions, le Ministère peut demander des renseignements supplémentaires. Le cas échéant, le délai de réponse serait prolongé.

Toutes les soumissions doivent citer la Partie I de Gazette du Canada, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (DGSO-002-12).

Séance d'information

Pour aider les soumissionnaires potentiels à mieux comprendre le type d'enchères proposé et les règles connexes, Industrie Canada tiendra une séance d'information le 30 mai 2012. La séance visera à présenter un aperçu du type d'enchères proposé et des règles connexes pour la bande de 700 MHz. Elle pourrait aussi intéresser les soumissionnaires potentiels pour les enchères dans la bande de 2 500 MHz.

Pour obtenir des copies

Le présent avis ainsi que les documents cités sont affichés sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada, à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut obtenir la version officielle des avis de la Gazette du Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-fra.html. On peut également se procurer un exemplaire de la Gazette du Canada en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions et Services de dépôt au 613-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Original signé le 19 avril 2012

La directrice générale
Direction générale des opérations de la gestion du spectre

Champ de saisie de la signature
FIONA GILFILLAN