SAB-001-12 — Low-power Licensed Radiocommunication Devices, Including Wireless Microphones, in the Band 698-806 MHz

June 2012

This spectrum advisory bulletin is addressed to radio equipment suppliers and users of low-power licensed radiocommunication devices, including wireless microphones, capable of operating in the frequency range 698-806 MHz. These devices are licensed on a no-protection, no-interference basis in accordance with Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-1-11, Low-power Licensed Radio Apparatus.

In January 2010, Industry Canada released Spectrum Advisory Bulletin SAB-001-10, which announced that the Department would no longer accept certification and authorization applications for low-power licensed radiocommunication devices operating in the 698-806 MHz range. SAB-001-10 also prohibited the usage and operation of low-power licensed radiocommunication devices in the public safety bands, 764-776 MHz and 794-806 MHz, beyond March 31, 2011, while those devices already licensed for operation in the remaining portion of the band (i.e. 698-764 MHz and 776-794 MHz) would be allowed to operate until a later specified date.

As indicated in SMSE-002-12, Policy and Technical Framework — Mobile Broadband Services (MBS) — 700 MHz Band — Broadband Radio Service (BRS) — 2500 MHz Band (published in March 2012), continued operation of low-power radiocommunication devices, including wireless microphones, currently licensed to operate in the bands 698-764 MHz and 776-794 MHz, will be permitted until March 31, 2013. After this date, the entire 698-806 MHz band will be used for mobile broadband systems and public safety. Consequently, licences for use of the above-noted devices will not be renewed beyond March 31, 2013.

As a result of decisions in SAB-001-10 and SMSE-002-12, further operation of these systems in the entire 698-806 MHz band will be prohibited beyond March 31, 2013. Manufacturers, importers, retailers and current users of low-power licensed radiocommunication devices, including wireless microphones, are asked to carefully note this impending prohibition and take appropriate transition measures.

It should be noted that there are other low-power radiocommunication devices for which a radio licence is not required. These devices are approved for use in Canada in accordance with technical specifications outlined in RSS-210, Licence-exempt Radio Apparatus (All Frequency Bands): Category I Equipment, or RSS-310, Licence-exempt Radio Apparatus (All Frequency Bands): Category II Equipment. This spectrum advisory bulletin does not apply to these licence-exempt devices.

Issued under the authority
of the Radiocommunication Act

space to insert signature of Director General
Marc Dupuis
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch
space to insert signature of Director General
Fiona Gilfillan
Director General
Spectrum Management Operations Branch
Date modified:

BCS-001-12 — Dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance autorisés par licence, y compris les microphones sans fil, exploités dans la bande 698-806 MHz

Juin 2012

Le présent bulletin consultatif sur le spectre s’adresse aux fournisseurs de matériel radio et aux utilisateurs de dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance autorisés par licence, y compris les microphones sans fil, qui peuvent exploiter la gamme de fréquences de 698-806 MHz. Ces dispositifs sont autorisés par licence en régime de non protection et de non brouillage, conformément à la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-1-11, Appareils radio de faible puissance autorisés sous licence.

En janvier 2010, Industrie Canada a publié le Bulletin consultatif sur le spectre BCS-001-10, dans lequel il annonçait que le Ministère n’accepterait plus de demandes de certification ni d’autorisation pour les dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance autorisés par licence dans la bande 698-806 MHz. Le BCS-001-10 interdisait également l’utilisation et l’exploitation de dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance autorisés par licence dans les bandes de sécurité publique, soit les bandes 764-776 MHz et 794-806 MHz, après le 31 mars 2011, tout en indiquant que les dispositifs déjà autorisés par une licence pour exploitation dans le reste de la bande (698-764 MHz et 776-794 MHz) pourraient continuer d’être exploités jusqu’à une date ultérieure.

Comme l’indique l’avis SMSE-002-12, Cadre Politique et technique : Service mobile à large bande (SMLB) — bande de 700 MHz, Service radio à large bande (SRLB) — bande de 2 500 MHz, (publié en mars 2012), le maintien de l’utilisation des dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance, y compris les microphones sans fil, actuellement autorisés par licence pour exploitation dans les bandes de 698-764 MHz et 776-794 MHz, sera permis jusqu’au 31 mars 2013. Après cette date, la bande entière 698-806 MHz sera utilisée pour les systèmes à large bande mobiles et la sécurité publique. En conséquence, les licences pour les systèmes de radiocommunication de faible puissance susmentionnés ne seront pas renouvelées au delà du 31 mars 2013.

En raison de décisions établies dans le BCS-001-10 et le SMSE-002-12, l’exploitation de ces systèmes sera interdite dans l’ensemble de la bande 698-806 MHz après le 31 mars 2013. Les fabricants, importateurs, détaillants et utilisateurs actuels de dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance autorisés par licence, y compris les microphones sans fil, sont priés de bien prendre note de ces dispositions d’interdiction et de prendre les mesures de transition appropriées.

Il faut noter qu’il existe d’autres dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance qui ne nécessitent pas de licence radio. Ces dispositifs sont approuvés aux fins d’utilisation au Canada en conformité avec les spécifications techniques énoncées dans le CNR-210, Appareils radio exempts de licence (pour toutes les bandes de fréquences) : matériel de catégorie I ou le CNR-310, Appareils radio exempts de licence (pour toutes les bandes de fréquences) : matériel de catégorie II. Le présent bulletin consultatif sur le spectre ne s’applique pas à ces dispositifs exempts de licence.

Publication autorisée en vertu de
la Loi sur la radiocommunication


Le directeur général,
Direction générale du génie,
de la planification et des normes

space to insert signature of Director General
Marc Dupuis

La directrice générale,
Direction générale des
opérations de gestion du spectre,

space to insert signature of Director General
Fiona Gilfillan
Date de modification :