Consultation on a Licensing Framework for Broadband Radio Service (BRS) — 2500 MHz Band

9. Bidder Training and Support

189. Qualified bidders will receive the necessary information to participate in the auction several weeks prior to the start of the auction. Information will include a user manual for the auction system, instructions and passwords to access the secure auction system, along with the schedules for training, mock auctions and the start of the bidding process.

190. A mock auction will be held, likely during the week prior to the start of the auction, in order to allow qualified bidders to better familiarize themselves with the auction system.

191. On May 30, 2012, Industry Canada held an auction design information session to assist potential 700 MHz and 2500 MHz auction participants in gaining a greater understanding of the proposed auction format and rules. DVDs of the information session are available by contacting:

Information Session, Spectrum Auctions
Spectrum Auction Branch
Industry Canada
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A  0C8
Telephone: 613-991-0179
Fax: 613-957-4076
E-mail: ic.spectrumauctions-encheresduspectre.ic@canada.ca


10. Post-auction Licensing Process for Unassigned Licences

192. Industry Canada will consider making unassigned licences available for licensing through an alternative process, which could include a subsequent auction at a later date following the close of the initial auction. The timing and form of such a process will depend on the demand for the available licences. Industry Canada may conduct a public consultation should it consider it necessary.


11. Licence Renewal Process

193. Following the end of the initial licence term, the licensee will have a high expectation that a new licence will be issued for a subsequent term through a renewal process unless a breach of licence condition has occurred, a fundamental reallocation of spectrum to a new service is required, or an overriding policy need arises.

194. As part of the licence renewal process, the Minister of Industry retains the power to fix and amend the terms and conditions of spectrum licences during the term of the licence and at the end of the term in accordance with subsection 5(1) of the Radiocommunication Act. As noted in the FSAC, licence fees that reflect some measure of market value will apply to licences issued through a renewal process. Accordingly, the renewal process will serve to determine whether new licences will be issued, the terms and conditions that will apply to the new licences and the applicable licence fees.

195. Generally, approximately two years prior to the end of the licence term, Industry Canada will review whether there is a need for a fundamental reallocation of the spectrum to a new service, or whether an overriding policy need has arisen. A review of the licensee’s continued compliance with the conditions of licence will also begin. Industry Canada will launch a public consultation to discuss whether or not, in light of the above-noted issues, new licences should be issued for a subsequent term. The consultation paper will also propose, and invite comments on, licence conditions and fees that would apply during the subsequent licence term.

196. It is proposed that the renewal process include a public consultation process that would commence approximately two years prior to the end of the licence term.

11-1 Industry Canada is seeking comments on the proposed renewal process for spectrum licences in the 2500 MHz band.


12. Clarification Questions Process

197. As done in previous auctions, following a decision on the questions raised in this consultation paper, Industry Canada will accept written questions soliciting clarification of the rules and policies set out in the decision paper for a limited period of time, which will be specified in the final licensing framework. Written questions, submitted by the deadline and Industry Canada’s responses will be made public on Industry Canada’s website.


13. Submitting Comments

198. Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF) to the following e-mail address: ic.spectrumauctions-encheresduspectre.ic@canada.ca.

199. Written submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Spectrum Auctions Branch, DGSA, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0C8.

200. All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, the title and the notice reference number (DGSO-004-12). Parties should submit their comments no later than November 19, 2012, to ensure consideration. Soon after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada’s Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

201. Industry Canada will also provide interested parties with the opportunity to reply to comments from other parties. Reply comments will be accepted until December 17, 2012.

202. Following the initial comment period, Industry Canada may, at its discretion, request additional information if needed to clarify significant positions or new proposals. In such a case, the reply comment deadline may be extended.


14. Related Information

203. All spectrum-related documents referred to in this paper are available on Industry Canada’s Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

204. For further information concerning the process outlined in this document or related matters, contact:

Manager, Spectrum Auction Policy
Spectrum Auction Branch
Industry Canada
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A  0C8
Telephone: 613-954-3323
Fax: 613-957-4076
E-mail: ic.spectrumauctions-encheresduspectre.ic@canada.ca

Date modified:

Consultation sur un cadre de délivrance des licences pour services radio à large bande (SRLB) — bande de 2 500 MHz

9. Formation des soumissionnaires et soutien à ces derniers

189. Les soumissionnaires qualifiés recevront les renseignements nécessaires pour participer aux enchères plusieurs semaines avant la date du début de celles- ci. Les renseignements fournis comprendront un guide de l’usager du système d’enchères, des instructions et des mots de passe pour accéder au système d’enchères sécurisé, ainsi que les calendriers de formation, de mises aux enchères fictives et de début du processus de présentation de soumissions.

190. Des enchères fictives seront tenues, probablement pendant la semaine précédant le début des enchères, afin de permettre aux soumissionnaires qualifiés de se familiariser davantage avec le système relatif aux enchères.

191. Le 30 mai 2012, Industrie Canada a tenu une séance d’information sur la conception des enchères pour aider les participants éventuels aux enchères dans les bandes de 700 MHz et de 2 500 MHz à mieux comprendre le format et les règles proposés pour les enchères. Les personnes intéressées peuvent se procurer un DVD de la séance d’information auprès de :

Séance d’information, Enchères du spectre
Direction générale des enchères du spectre
Industrie Canada
300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0C8

Téléphone : 613-991-0179
Télécopieur : 613-957-4076
Courriel : ic.spectrumauctions-encheresduspectre.ic@canada.ca


10. Processus d’octroi des licences non attribuées à la suite des enchères

192. Industrie Canada envisagera, une fois que les enchères auront pris fin, de procéder à l’octroi des licences non attribuées au moyen d’un autre processus, qui pourrait comprendre une deuxième mise aux enchères à une date ultérieure. Le moment auquel sera mené un tel processus ainsi que l’approche adoptée dépendront de la demande en ce qui concerne les licences disponibles. Industrie Canada pourra tenir une consultation publique s’il le juge nécessaire.


11. Processus de renouvellement des licences

193. Lorsque la période initiale de la licence prendra fin, le titulaire de licence peut s’attendre à une forte probabilité de renouvellement de sa licence par l’entremise d’un processus de renouvellement à moins qu’il y ait eu une infraction d’une condition de licence, qu’une réaffectation fondamentale de fréquences à un nouveau service soit nécessaire, ou qu’un besoin stratégique prioritaire ne se présente.

194. Dans le cadre du processus de renouvellement des licences, le ministre de l’Industrie conserve le pouvoir de corriger et de modifier les conditions des licences de spectre, à la fois pendant la période de validité des licences et à la fin de celles ci, conformément au paragraphe 5(1) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication. Tel qu’indiqué dans la Politique cadre sur la vente aux enchères du spectre au Canada, des droits de licence correspondant, dans une certaine mesure, à la valeur sur le marché s’appliqueront aux licences délivrées au moyen d’un processus de renouvellement. Par conséquent, le processus de renouvellement sera utilisé pour déterminer si de nouvelles licences seront délivrées, les conditions inhérentes à celles ci ainsi que les droits de licence applicables.

195. De manière générale, environ deux ans avant la fin de la période des licences, Industrie Canada examinera la situation afin de déterminer s’il est nécessaire de procéder à une réattribution fondamentale du spectre à un nouveau service ou si un besoin lié à une politique ayant préséance a fait son apparition. Un examen portant sur la conformité continue du titulaire de la licence aux conditions de la licence sera également entrepris. Industrie Canada lancera une consultation publique visant à déterminer s’il convient, à la lumière des questions susmentionnées, d’attribuer ou non de nouvelles licences pour une période subséquente. Le document de consultation proposera également des conditions et des droits qui s’appliqueraient aux licences pendant la période de licence subséquente, et inviterait les intervenants à faire part de leurs commentaires à ce sujet.

196. On propose que le processus de renouvellement comprenne une consultation publique qui débuterait environ deux ans avant la fin de la période de la licence.

11-1 Industrie Canada sollicite des commentaires sur le processus de renouvellement proposé pour les licences de spectre dans la bande de 2 500 MHz.


12. Processus relatif aux questions de clarification

197. Comme c’était le cas lors des enchères précédentes, lorsqu’une décision aura été rendue au sujet des questions soulevées dans le présent document de consultation, Industrie Canada acceptera, pendant une période limitée, les questions écrites demandant des éclaircissements au sujet des règles et des politiques énoncées dans le document faisant état de la décision. Cette période de temps sera mentionnée dans le cadre de délivrance de licences définitif. Les questions écrites, soumises avant la date limite, et les réponses données par Industrie Canada seront rendues publiques sur le site Web d’Industrie Canada.


13. Soumission des commentaires

198. On demande aux répondants d’envoyer leurs commentaires en format électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word ou Adobe PDF) à l’adresse de courriel suivante : ic.spectrumauctions-encheresduspectre.ic@canada.ca.

199. Les commentaires manuscrits doivent être envoyés à l’adresse suivante : Directrice générale des enchères du spectre, DGES, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0C8.

200. Tous les commentaires doivent être accompagnés des renseignements qui suivent : Gazette du Canada, Partie I, date de la publication, titre et numéro de référence de l’avis (DGSO-004-12). Les intervenants doivent soumettre leurs commentaires au plus tard le 19 novembre 2012, faute de quoi ceux-ci ne seront pas pris en considération. Peu de temps après la clôture de la période de commentaires, tous les commentaires reçus seront affichés sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d’Industrie Canada, à l’adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

201. Industrie Canada donnera aussi aux répondants la possibilité de répondre aux commentaires fournis par d’autres intervenants. Les réponses à des commentaires antérieurs seront acceptées jusqu’au 17 décembre 2012.

202. À la suite de la période de commentaires initiale, Industrie Canada pourra, à sa discrétion, demander qu’on lui fournisse des renseignements supplémentaires, au besoin, afin de clarifier des positions importantes ou de nouvelles propositions. Si cela se produit, la date limite pour la communication de réponses à des commentaires antérieurs pourra être repoussée.


14. Information connexe

203. Tous les documents relatifs au spectre dont il est fait mention dans le présent document sont disponibles sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d’Industrie Canada, à l’adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

204. Pour plus de renseignements sur le processus décrit dans le présent document, ou pour toute question connexe, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gestionnaire, Politiques enchères du spectre
Direction générale des enchères du spectre
Industrie Canada
300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0C8
Téléphone : 613-954-3323
Télécopieur : 613-957-4076
Courriel : ic.spectrumauctions-encheresduspectre.ic@canada.ca

Date de modification :