Consultation on Renewal Process for 2300 MHz and 3500 MHz Licences

7. Renewal Options and Considerations

54. Currently, most licences in the 2300 MHz and 3500 MHz bands are nearing the end of the term. As stated in the conditions of licence,Footnote 24 licensees have an expectation of renewal unless a breach of licence condition has occurred, a fundamental reallocation of spectrum to a new service is required, or an overriding policy need arises.

55. The following two options are presented with the purpose of soliciting comments. Note that different renewal options may be chosen for each band.

7.1 Option 1: Extend Initial Licence Term

56. The first proposed option is to issue an extension for all licences. This extension would also apply to the revised deployment requirement.

57. This option, which would provide licensees in the 2300 MHz band additional time to meet the revised deployment requirement, recognizes the current lack of available equipment in that band.

58. This option would also provide licensees in the 3500 MHz band additional time to meet the deployment requirements and acknowledges the potential international changes in the band plan. Equipment (e.g., WiMAX) has been available in this band; however, some licensees have not yet deployed because they prefer to wait for LTE equipment, which is expected to be available in the near future.

59. Within Option 1, Industry Canada proposes a choice between two possible variations for the extension. The first variation would extend the current terms by three years for all licensees. The second variation would extend all licence terms to the same fixed date, i.e., December 2017. This variation acknowledges the staggered licence expiry dates (between March 2014 and September 2016), which were a result of the elapsed time between the first and second auction. Both of these variations on the extension would provide increased certainty pertaining to band changes and equipment availability. The current conditions of licenceFootnote 25 would remain in effect, with the exception of the deployment requirement (see Section 4.3.3), pending the decisions resulting from this consultation. The deadline for deployment would be extended for the same period (i.e., three years) if the current proposal is adopted.

60. Licensees would have to demonstrate compliance with the revised deployment requirements by the end of the proposed extended licence term.

61. For this option, fees would not be applicable, both because the initial term of the auctioned licences would be changed from 10 years to 13 years, and because the auction bid payment would still stand in lieu of licence fees.

7.2 Option 2: Issue Licences for New Term

62. Under the second proposed option, a new licence would be issued for a new term. This would be done through the renewal process, assuming that the licensee is in compliance with the conditions of licence—including the revised deployment requirementsFootnote 26—at the end of the initial term.

63. If this option is chosen, Industry Canada proposes that the new term will be for 10 years and advises licensees that the licence terms and conditions, including authorized frequencies, may change during that term. As stated in section 6.4, changes may include review of, and possibly revision to, the spectrum utilization policy, the band plan and the authorized frequencies.

64. For instances in which licensees can demonstrate that they have deployed infrastructure but coverage to the population or the number of links in the tier in question is less than the requirement, licensees could be permitted to apply for a new licence for the portion of the service area that has coverage. At the discretion of the Department, upon receipt of the application to modify the existing licences, new subdivided licences could be issued if coverage to the population meets or exceeds the deployment requirement within the reduced service area. The resulting unassigned subdivided licences would be returned to Industry Canada to be made available at a later date. Any reductions to service areas (in order to meet the deployment requirement) would be made at the discretion of the Department.

65. For instances in which licensees can submit plans demonstrating that they can achieve compliance in the near future, Industry Canada may consider issuing a one-year licence on a case by case basis.

66. For instances in which deployment is nil, licensees would not be eligible for a new licence under the renewal process.

67. If licensees meet their deployment requirement, no additional deployment requirement will apply to a new licence issued under the renewal process.

68. This option enforces the conditions of licence in place at the time of initial issuance (two extensions notwithstanding), and provides increased certainty, transparency and predictability for licensees. It also balances stakeholder interests by providing an opportunity for licensees to deploy, and it allows Industry Canada to reassign unused licences.

69. A licensing process would be established for all licences, other than those assigned through the renewal process.

70. In terms of the spectrum licence fees, the Framework for Spectrum Auctions in Canada (herein referred to as the Auction Framework) states: “For licences issued through a renewal process, licence fees that reflect some measure of market value will apply.”Footnote 27 Should new licences be issued under Option 2, a separate consultation will be launched to propose annual licence fees that would come into effect once established.


8. Proposed Changes to the Licence Term Condition of Licence

71. The licence term condition was updated in the Auction Framework (revised in March 2011)Footnote 28 in order to clarify that licensees have a high expectation of renewal. The rationale for this update can be found in section 3.3.2 of Decisions on the Revisions to the Framework for Spectrum Auctions in Canada and Other Related Issues.Footnote 29 The proposed wording of the updated condition of licence is as follows:

This licence will expire on the date indicated above, with a high expectation to renew licences for subsequent terms unless a breach of licence condition occurs; a fundamental reallocation of spectrum to a new service is required, or, an overriding policy need arises. (Note added emphasis.)

The process for issuing licences after this term and any issues relating to renewal will be determined by the Minister of Industry following a public consultation.

Industry Canada invites comments on the options for renewal in the 2300 MHz and 3500 MHz bands. Refer to the following questions (as well as Question 1, found on page 5 of this consultation) when submitting comments.

(2) For the 2300 MHz band, which of the two options is preferred?

(3) For the 3500 MHz band, which of the two options is preferred?

In responding to the following questions, provide supporting rationale for each band separately.

(4) For Option 1 (detailed in section 7.1 of this consultation):

  • A. Should licence terms be extended?
    • a. If so, should they be extended by the same length for all licensees?
      • i. Is three years an appropriate extension?
    • b. Or, should the licence terms be extended to a fixed date for all licensees?
      • i. Would December 2017 be an appropriate extension date?
  • B. Should the deployment requirement also be extended to the end of the proposed term?
  • C. In considering an extension of the licence term, do you expect equipment in the 2300 MHz band to become available soon enough to achieve the deployment requirements by December 2017?
  • D. In considering an extension of the licence term, do you expect LTE equipment in the 3500 MHz band to become available soon enough to achieve the deployment requirements by December 2017?
  • E. Are there any additional considerations that should be taken into account by Industry Canada?

(5) For Option 2 (detailed in section 7.2 of this consultation):

  • A. Given the potential upcoming changes, is 10 years an appropriate term for new licences issued through the renewal process?
  • B. Should deployment requirements apply to new licences under the renewal process? If so, what should the deployment requirements be?
  • C. Are there any additional matters that should be considered by Industry Canada when issuing a new licence for a new term?

(6) Are there any other options for the licence renewal process that Industry Canada should consider?

(7) Industry Canada invites comments on the proposed wording of the condition of licence related to the licence term (detailed in section 8 of this consultation).


9. Next Steps

72. Industry Canada will review the comments received and publish its decision.


10. Submitting Comments

73. Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF) to the following email address: ic.spectrumoperations-operationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca.

74. Written submissions should be addressed to Manager, Emerging Networks, DGSO, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

75. All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, the title and the notice reference number (DGSO-006-12). Parties should submit their comments no later than December 17, 2012, to ensure consideration. After the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada’s Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

76. Industry Canada will also provide interested parties with the opportunity to reply to comments from other parties. Reply comments will be accepted until January 30, 2013.

77. After the initial comment period, Industry Canada may, at its discretion, request additional information if needed to clarify significant positions or new proposals. Should additional information be requested, the reply comment deadline may be extended.


11. Obtaining Copies

78. All of the spectrum-related documents referred to in this consultation are available on Industry Canada’s Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

79. For further information concerning the process outlined in this document or any other related matters, contact:

Manager, Emerging Networks
Spectrum Management Operations Branch
Industry Canada
300 Slater Street, 15th floor
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0C8
Telephone: 613-998-9707
Fax: 613-991-3514
E-mail: ic.spectrumoperations-operationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

Date modified:

Consultation sur le processus de renouvellement des licences exploitées dans les bandes de 2 300 MHz et de 3 500 MHz

7. Options de renouvellement et éléments à prendre en considération

54. Actuellement, la plupart des licences dans les bandes de 2 300 MHz et de 3 500 MHz arrivent à la fin de leur période de validité. Comme les conditions de licenceNote de bas de page 24 le précisent, les titulaires de licence s’attendent à ce que leurs licences soient renouvelées, sauf s’il y a non respect d’une condition de licence, si une réattribution fondamentale du spectre à un nouveau service est nécessaire, ou si un besoin politique prioritaire survient.

55. Les deux options ci dessous sont proposées aux fins de commentaires. Il est à noter que différentes options de renouvellement peuvent être choisies pour chaque bande.

7.1 Première option : Prolongation de la durée initiale des licences

56. La première option vise à décréter la prolongation de toutes les licences. Cette prolongation s’appliquerait aussi aux exigences de déploiement révisées.

57. Cette option, qui donnerait plus de temps aux titulaires de licence dans la bande de 2 300 MHz pour satisfaire aux exigences de déploiement révisées, reconnaît le manque actuel de matériel disponible dans cette bande.

58. Elle donnerait aussi plus de temps aux titulaires de licence dans la bande de 3 500 MHz pour satisfaire aux exigences de déploiement tout en reconnaissant la possibilité que des modifications soient apportées à l’échelle internationale aux plans de répartition de la bande. On peut se procurer du matériel pour cette bande (comme le matériel WiMAX), mais certains titulaires de licence n’ont pas encore procédé au déploiement, car ils préfèrent attendre le matériel LTE, qui devrait bientôt être disponible.

59. À l’intérieur de la première option, Industrie Canada propose deux variantes pour la prolongation. La première variante consisterait à prolonger de trois ans la période de validité actuelle pour tous les titulaires de licence. La seconde prolongerait la durée de toutes les licences jusqu’à une même date fixe, soit en décembre 2017. Cette variante reconnaît l’échelonnement des dates d’expiration des licences (entre mars 2014 et septembre 2016), causé par le temps écoulé entre la première et la seconde vente aux enchères. Ces deux variantes de prolongation permettraient d’augmenter la certitude relative aux modifications dans la bande et à la disponibilité du matériel. Les conditions de licence actuellesNote de bas de page 25 resteraient en vigueur, à l’exception des exigences relatives au déploiement (voir la section 4.3.3), en attendant les décisions qui découleront des consultations. La date limite pour le déploiement serait également reportée pour la même période (p. ex. trois ans), si la présente proposition était adoptée.

60. Les titulaires de licence devraient prouver qu’ils respectent les exigences de déploiement révisées d’ici la fin de la période de validité des licences ayant été prorogée.

61. Aucuns droits ne seraient applicables pour cette option, car la durée initiale des licences délivrées passerait de 10 à 13 ans et le paiement des offres présentées dans le cadre d’enchères serait encore utilisé en guise de droits de licence.

7.2 Deuxième option : Délivrance de licences pour une nouvelle période

62. Selon la seconde option proposée, une nouvelle licence serait délivrée pour une nouvelle période, au moyen du processus de renouvellement, si le titulaire de licence respecte les conditions de licence, y compris les exigences de déploiement réviséesNote de bas de page 26, à la fin de la période de validité initiale.

63. Si cette option est retenue, Industrie Canada propose que la nouvelle durée soit de dix ans et informe les titulaires de licence que les conditions de licence, y compris les fréquences autorisées, pourront être modifiées pendant la période de validité. Comme l’indique la section 6.4, les modifications peuvent inclure un examen, et une révision possible, de la politique d’utilisation du spectre, du plan de répartition de la bande et des fréquences autorisées.

64. Dans les cas où les titulaires de licence pourraient prouver qu’ils ont déployé une infrastructure, mais que la couverture de la population ou le nombre de liaisons dans les zones de service du niveau concerné est inférieur aux exigences, ils pourraient avoir le droit de présenter une demande pour obtenir une nouvelle licence dans la partie de la zone de service qui est couverte. À la discrétion du Ministère, dès la réception de la demande de modification des licences existantes, de nouvelles licences subdivisées pourraient être délivrées si la couverture de la population satisfait à l’exigence de déploiement ou la dépasse à l’intérieur de la zone de service réduite. La licence subdivisée non attribuée qui en résulterait serait retournée à Industrie Canada, et serait disponible à une date ultérieure. Toute réduction de la zone de service pour satisfaire à l’exigence de déploiement serait apportée à la discrétion du Ministère.

65. Dans les cas où des titulaires de licence pourraient présenter un plan démontrant qu’ils seront conformes à court terme, Industrie Canada pourra envisager la possibilité de délivrer une licence provisoire d’une durée d’un an, au cas par cas.

66. Dans les cas où il n’y aurait aucun déploiement, les titulaires de licence ne seraient pas admissibles à recevoir une nouvelle licence dans le cadre du processus de renouvellement.

67. Si les titulaires de licence satisfont à leur exigence de déploiement, aucune exigence de déploiement supplémentaire ne s’appliquera à une nouvelle licence délivrée dans le cadre du processus de renouvellement.

68. Cette option assure le respect des conditions de licence en vigueur au moment de la délivrance initiale, sans faire obstacle aux deux prolongations, et procure aux titulaires de licence une certitude, une transparence et une prévisibilité accrues. Elle équilibre aussi l’intérêt des intervenants en donnant l’occasion aux titulaires de licence de déployer leur service et permet à Industrie Canada de réattribuer les licences non utilisées.

69. Un processus de délivrance de licences serait établi pour les licences autres que celles qui sont attribuées au moyen du processus de renouvellement.

70. Pour ce qui est des droits de licence de spectre, la Politique cadre sur la vente aux enchères du spectre au Canada (ci-après désignée sous le nom de Cadre de vente aux enchères) stipule que : « En ce qui concerne les licences délivrées dans le cadre d’un processus de renouvellement, des droits qui reflètent dans une certaine mesure la valeur marchande des licences s’appliqueront. »Note de bas de page 27 Si de nouvelles licences étaient délivrées, en utilisant la deuxième option, une consultation distincte serait lancée pour proposer des droits annuels de licence qui entreraient en vigueur après leur établissement.


8. Modifications proposées à la période de validité des licences - Conditions de licence

71. La condition de la période validité des licences a été actualisée dans le Cadre de vente aux enchères (révisée en mars 2011)Note de bas de page 28 pour préciser que les titulaires de licence ont une forte probabilité d’obtenir un renouvellement. L’explication de cette mise à jour est donnée à la section 3.3.2 des Décisions concernant les révisions à la politique cadre sur la vente aux enchères du spectre au Canada et autres questions connexesNote de bas de page 29. La formulation proposée pour la condition de licence actualisée est la suivante :

Cette licence expirera à la date susmentionnée; il y a une forte probabilité de renouveler les licences pour des périodes de validité subséquentes, à moins qu’il y ait eu non-respect aux conditions de licence; qu’une réattribution fondamentale des fréquences à un nouveau service soit nécessaire ou qu’un besoin politique prioritaire ne survienne. [Mise en évidence ajoutée]

Le processus de délivrance de licences après cette période et toutes les questions relatives au renouvellement seront déterminés par le ministre de l’Industrie après une consultation publique.

Industrie Canada sollicite des commentaires sur les options de renouvellement dans les bandes de 2 300 MHz et de 3 500 MHz. Veuillez vous reporter aux questions suivantes (également à la première question se trouvant à la page 5 de ce document de consultation) avant de soumettre vos commentaires.

2) Pour la bande de 2 300 MHz, laquelle des deux options est préférable?

3) Pour la bande de 3 500 MHz, laquelle des deux options est préférable?

Concernant les questions suivantes, veuillez justifier votre réponse séparément pour chaque bande.

4) Première option (détails à la section 7.1 de ce document de consultation) :

  • A. La période de validité des licences devrait-elle être prorogée?
    • a. Si oui, devrait-elle être prorogée d’une même durée pour toutes les licences?
      • i. Une prolongation de trois ans serait-elle adéquate?
    • b. La période de validité devrait-elle être prorogée jusqu’à une date fixe pour toutes les licences?
      • i. Est-ce que décembre 2017 serait une date de prolongation appropriée?
  • B. L’exigence de déploiement devrait elle être prolongée jusqu’à la fin de la période de validité proposée?
  • C. En envisageant la prolongation de la période de validité des licences, croyez-vous que le matériel dans la bande de 2 300 MHz sera disponible à temps pour permettre de satisfaire aux exigences de déploiement d’ici décembre 2017?
  • D. En envisageant la prolongation de la période de validité des licences, croyez-vous que le matériel LTE dans la bande de 3 500 MHz sera disponible à temps pour permettre de satisfaire aux exigences de déploiement d’ici décembre 2017?
  • E. Y-a-t-il d’autres éléments dont Industrie Canada devrait tenir compte?

5) Deuxième option (détails à la section 7.2 de ce document de consultation) :

  • A.Compte tenu des modifications possibles à venir, une durée de dix ans est-elle adéquate pour les nouvelles licences délivrées par le processus de renouvellement?
  • B. Des exigences de déploiements devraient elles être appliquées aux nouvelles licences attribuées dans le cadre du processus de renouvellement? Dans l’affirmative, quelles exigences devraient être appliquées?
  • C. Y-a-t-il d’autres éléments dont Industrie Canada devrait tenir compte au moment de délivrer une nouvelle licence d’une nouvelle durée?

6) Y-a-t-il d’autres options pour le processus de renouvellement de licence dont Industrie Canada devrait tenir compte?

7) Industrie Canada sollicite des commentaires sur la formulation proposée de la condition de licence relative à la période de validité des licences. (détails à la section 8 de ce document de consultation).


9. Prochaines étapes

72. Industrie Canada examinera les commentaires reçus et publiera sa décision.


10. Soumission de commentaires

73. On demande aux répondants d’envoyer leurs commentaires par voie électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word ou Adobe PDF) à l’adresse électronique suivante : ic.spectrumoperations-operationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca.

74. Les commentaires manuscrits doivent être envoyés à l’adresse suivante : Gestionnaire, Réseaux émergents, DGOGS, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8

75. Tous les commentaires doivent être accompagnés des renseignements qui suivent : Gazette du Canada, Partie I, date de la publication, titre et numéro de référence de l’avis (DGSO-006-12). Les intervenants doivent soumettre leurs commentaires au plus tard le 17 décembre 2012, faute de quoi ceux-ci ne seront pas pris en considération. Après la clôture de la période de commentaires, tous les commentaires reçus seront affichés sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d’Industrie Canada, à l’adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

76. Industrie Canada donnera aussi aux répondants la possibilité de réagir aux commentaires soumis par d’autres intervenants. Leurs réactions seront acceptées jusqu’au 30 janvier 2013.

77. À la suite de la période de commentaires initiale, Industrie Canada pourra, à sa discrétion, demander qu’on lui fournisse des renseignements supplémentaires, au besoin, afin de clarifier des positions importantes ou de nouvelles propositions. Si cela se produit, la date limite pour faire part de ses réactions aux commentaires pourra être repoussée.


11. Obtention de copies

78. Tous les documents relatifs au spectre dont il est fait mention dans le présent document de consultation sont disponibles sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d’Industrie Canada, à l’adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

79. Pour plus amples renseignements sur le processus décrit dans le présent document, ou pour toute question connexe, veuillez communiquer avec :

Gestionnaire, Réseaux émergents
Direction générale des opérations de la gestion du spectre
Industrie Canada
300, rue Slater, 15e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0C8
Téléphone : 613-998-9707
Télécopieur : 613-991-3514
Courriel : ic.spectrumoperations-operationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

Date de modification :