Framework for the Use of Certain Non-broadcasting Applications in the Television Broadcasting Bands Below 698 MHz

9. Low-Power Apparatus, Including Wireless Microphones

Industry Canada consulted on the use of LPA, including wireless microphones. More specifically, it consulted on:

  • the appropriate authorization mechanism, including options related to licensed or licence-exempt use;
  • whether Industry Canada should identify specific spectrum for use by LPA; if so, how much should be identified; and if the operation of licence-exempt LPA should be restricted to this spectrum;
  • the proposal to collect specific "time and location of use" data based on voluntary registration in order to obtain the necessary level of detail of information to provide protection from TVWS devices and on the proposal that eligibility to register for such protection be open to all users of LPA rather than to certain user communities only; and
  • the appropriate protection criteria to protect LPA from interference from TVWS devices.

9.1 Summary of Comments

  • Almost all respondents support allowing licence-exempt operation of LPA on a no-protection, no-interference basis, but with the option for users to apply for a licence in exchange for interference protection from TVWS devices.
  • Neul would prefer that separate rules for LPA be phased out, noting that TVWS devices can provide the same functionality currently provided by LPA. The RABC comments that the status quo, where all LPA users require licences, is untenable because most users do not apply for licences and Industry Canada has had no effective way of policing compliance. Shure urges Industry Canada to implement LPA reforms with a view to developing a licence framework for LPA that would streamline the licensing process.
  • Most respondents support exclusively allocating two TV broadcast channels in each market as "safe haven" channels for LPA in which no TVWS device operation is permitted.
  • Most TVWS proponents believe that the registration database could accommodate all options for LPA under discussion.
  • Axia NetMedia believes that the cost of collecting time and location of use data will be far more than the value of the data collected, and thus does not believe that it is required. RIM suggests that the time and location of use would need to be defined as part of the LPA operation registration and that devices operating outside the "safe haven" channels should be registered for the times and locations that will actually be used. RIM suggests that the registration be subject to a daily renewal.

9.2 Discussion

Respondents generally agree on the need for a change to the current situation in which a licence is required for use of any LPA. Almost all respondents prefer the option to allow LPA on a licence-exempt basis, but with the option to apply for a licence in cases where the operator determines that enhanced communication reliability is required (e.g. when recording TV programs). This would provide protection from harmful interference from TVWS devices by including such licensed LPA in the TVWS databases.

Although some comments suggest that LPA become TVWS devices themselves, the TVWS technology would not allow for cases where reliable LPA operation is needed.

Therefore, based on the comments received, Industry Canada will implement provisions for licence exemption of LPA while continuing to allow LPA operators to apply for a licence under the existing process where the operator determines that enhanced reliability is required.

Licence-exempt use of LPA will not be included in the TVWS database and will not receive protection from TVWS devices. This approach will introduce a small risk of interference; however, this risk will be compensated by the lack of fees and administrative process. Industry Canada anticipates that this option will be the favoured one for most of the LPA operators who are currently operating without a licence.

Industry Canada anticipates that most current LPA licensees will desire enhanced reliability and will therefore retain their licences. However, given that some LPA licensees receive broad geographic authority, or may only operate intermittently, more data than is currently collected during radio licensing may be needed in order to be able to protect these systems from TVWS device interference at the correct time and location. Therefore, licensed LPA operators will be asked to provide information on the exact timing and location of their operations with the TVWS databases. The details of how this will be done will be the subject of detailed rule development through Industry Canada’s established processes following the publication of this decision.

Database administrators will not be permitted to charge fees for registration of licensed LPA, and they will be required to share data on protected LPA to ensure interference protection from any TVWS devices, regardless of the TVWS database with which they are registering.

TVWS devices are not protected from LPA interference regardless of whether or not the LPA is licensed.

The consultation also suggested setting aside up to two TV channels in each market in order to provide a "safe haven" from TVWS devices for LPA operation. The set-aside approach, which was supported by almost all respondents, would have been harmonized with the United States. However, Industry Canada notes that legislation has since been passed in the United States mandating an incentive auction process for the possible repurposing of some of the UHF TV broadcast spectrum for mobile broadband systems.

Until such time that the spectrum environment within the United States in the frequency ranges below 698 MHz has stabilized, it would be premature to set aside channels for LPA in Canada, knowing that it may be necessary to make changes. In addition, Industry Canada notes that there is no eligibility restriction on the licensing of LPA in Canada, unlike in the United States. As a result of the easier availability of licensing as a protective measure from TVWS, there is not the same need in Canada to designate "safe haven" channels for LPA. Therefore, Industry Canada will not designate any "safe haven" channels for LPA at this time.

Decision related to the licensing option for LPA:

Industry Canada will allow LPA on both a voluntary licensed and licence-exempt basis. Operators of licensed LPA will be asked to register their operation with the TVWS databases in order to receive protection from harmful interference from TVWS devices.

Industry Canada will update its detailed rules for LPA through its established processes, including consulting with stakeholders.



10. Changes to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations

Allocating frequencies is an important step in developing spectrum utilization policies that foster the implementation of new radiocommunication services. Modifications to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations (CTFA) are intended to reflect the public interest by introducing new wireless services that benefit Canadians and that respond to marketplace demands.

In previous secons of this document, several decisions are presented in regard to the licensing of LPA, the introduction of licence-exempt TVWS devices and the continued use of RRBS.

Comments were sought on proposed changes to the CTFA to reflect the licensed use of RRBS and LPA.

10.1 Summary of Comments

  • Few respondents commented on the proposed allocation changes, but of those respondents who did so, most are comfortable with the proposed changes to the CTFA.
  • Some respondents suggest creating a mobile co-primary allocation in the band 470-698 MHz in order to lay the groundwork for possible future uses of this spectrum.
  • RIM suggests that the RRBS footnote be revised to indicate that only existing RRBS in operation will be protected and to specify that as of a certain date, no new RRBS will be authorized based upon the possibility of grandfathering RRBS.

10.2 Discussion

There is no need for an allocation in the CTFA to reflect the introduction of TVWS devices or to reflect any licence-exempt use, including licence-exempt LPA. Industry Canada also notes that footnotes 5.293 and 5.297 introduce primary allocations to both the mobile and fixed services in the bands 470-608 MHz and 614-698 MHz in Canada.

Because footnotes 5.293 and 5.297 already provide a fixed allocation for the spectrum used by RRBS, Industry Canada concludes that no changes are needed to the CFTA to reflect the existing use of RRBS.

In the case of LPA, Industry Canada notes that licensed LPA has been in operation under the existing allocations to the broadcasting service. Industry Canada therefore also concludes that no changes are needed to reflect the use of this spectrum by licensed LPA.

Decision related to the changes to the CTFA:

Industry Canada will not make any changes to the CTFA.



11. Next Steps

As a minimum, the following regulatory and technical documents will need to be developed or revised in light of the decisions:

TVWS devices and databases:

  • a new Radio Standard Specification (RSS) for certification of TVWS devices;
  • TVWS database requirements document; and
  • a procedure document for becoming a TVWS database administrator, including the associated agreement.

LPA:

Ongoing review and revisions are also planned for any related documents as experience is gained in Canada and in other countries. Industry Canada may relax or tighten the technical requirements based on this experience.

These documents will be developed or revised using Industry Canada’s established processes, including consultation with stakeholders, which typically takes place via the RABC.

The decisions in this paper authorizing the use of TVWS will not go into effect until the above steps are completed.Footnote 3

 

space for signature
Marc Dupuis
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

Footnotes

Footnote 3

Developmental licences are available in the interim; if interested, please contact Industry Canada. For contact information, see RIC-66, Addresses and Telephone Numbers of Regional and District Offices (http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf01742.html).

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Date modified:

Cadre visant l’utilisation de certaines applications autres que la radiodiffusion dans les bandes de télévision inférieures à 698 MHz

9. Dispositifs à faible puissance, y compris les microphones sans fil

Industrie Canada a recueilli des commentaires sur l’utilisation de DFP, y compris les microphones sans fil, mais plus particulièrement sur :

  • le mécanisme d’autorisation approprié, dont les options liées à la délivrance de licences ou à une utilisation exemptée de licence;
  • la nécessité de réserver un spectre précis pour l’utilisation des DFP et, le cas échéant, la quantité de spectre réservée, ainsi que le besoin de restreindre ou non l’exploitation de DFP exemptés de licence à ce spectre;
  • les propositions de recueillir de façon volontaire des données précises sur l’heure et la position de l’utilisation, afin d’obtenir le niveau de détails de données nécessaire pour fournir une protection contre le brouillage causé par les dispositifs TVWS et d’offrir à tous les utilisateurs de DFP, plutôt qu’à un certain nombre d’entre eux seulement, la possibilité de s’inscrire pour bénéficier d’une telle protection;
  • les critères de protection appropriés pour protéger les DFP contre le brouillage causé par des dispositifs TVWS.

9.1 Résumé des commentaires

  • Presque tous les répondants appuient l’exploitation exemptée de licence des DFP selon un régime de non-brouillage et de non-protection, mais en permettant à tout utilisateur de demander une licence en vue de bénéficier d’une protection contre le brouillage causé par des dispositifs TVWS.
  • L’entreprise Neul préférerait que les règlements distincts applicables aux DFP soient graduellement éliminés et souligne que les dispositifs TVWS peuvent offrir la même fonctionnalité actuellement fournie par les DFP. Le CCCR croit que le statu quo selon lequel tous les utilisateurs de DFP nécessitent des licences est indéfendable, puisque la majorité des utilisateurs ne demandent pas de licences et qu’Industrie Canada ne dispose d’aucun moyen efficace d’en vérifier la conformité. L’entreprise Shure encourage fortement IC, d’entreprendre une réforme en vue de l’élaboration d’un cadre de licence pour les DFP qui simplifierait le processus de délivrance des licences.
  • La plupart des répondants appuient l’attribution exclusive de deux canaux de télévision dans chaque marché en tant que « zones protégées » pour les DFP dans lesquels toute exploitation de dispositif TVWS est interdite.
  • La plupart des promoteurs de l’utilisation des TVWS croient que les bases de données d’enregistrement pourraient prendre en charge toutes les options liées aux DFP qui font l’objet de cette discussion.
  • L’entreprise Axia NetMedia ne croit pas nécessaire de recueillir des données sur l’heure et la position, puisque, d’après elle, les coûts impliqués seraient beaucoup plus élevés que la valeur des données recueillies. L’entreprise RIM propose que l’heure et la position de l’utilisation fassent partie de l’enregistrement des DFP et que les dispositifs exploités en dehors des canaux protégés soient enregistrés selon les heures et les positions réelles d’utilisation. L’entreprise RIM propose que l’enregistrement soit renouvelable quotidiennement.

9.2 Discussion

Les répondants s’accordent généralement pour dire qu’il faut changer la situation actuelle selon laquelle une licence est requise pour l’exploitation de n’importe quel DFP. Presque tous les répondants préfèrent l’option permettant l’utilisation de DFP selon un régime exempté de licence, mais avec le choix de demander une licence si l’exploitant de DFP détermine qu’une meilleure fiabilité de communication est nécessaire (p. ex. lors de l’enregistrement de programmes). Ceci offrirait une protection contre le brouillage préjudiciable provenant des dispositifs TVWS par l’incorporation de ces DFP autorisés sous licence aux bases de données TVWS.

Bien que certains des répondants aient proposé que les DFP deviennent eux-mêmes des dispositifs TVWS, la technologie de TVWS ne permettrait pas les cas nécessitant une exploitation fiable de DFP.

C’est pourquoi, en fonction des commentaires reçus, IC mettra en œuvre des dispositions pour des DFP exemptés de licence, mais en continuant à permettre aux exploitants de DFP de demander une licence dans le cadre du processus existant où l’exploitant détermine qu’une meilleure fiabilité de communication est nécessaire.

L’utilisation de DFP à titre exempté de licence ne sera pas incorporée aux bases de données TVWS et ne recevra pas de protection contre le brouillage des dispositifs TVWS. Ceci introduira un petit risque de brouillage, mais sera compensé par l’absence de frais et de processus administratif. Industrie Canada prévoit que cela sera l’option préférée de la majorité des exploitants de DFP qui fonctionnent actuellement sans licence.

Industrie Canada prévoit que la majorité des présents titulaires de licence de DFP souhaiteront une meilleure fiabilité et en conséquence garderont leurs licences. Toutefois, étant donné que certains titulaires de licence de DFP reçoivent une vaste autorisation géographique ou n’exploitent seulement des DFP que par intermittence, davantage de données que celles déjà recueillies lors de la délivrance de licence radio peuvent être nécessaires pour pouvoir protéger ces systèmes, à la bonne heure et à la bonne position, contre le brouillage causé par des dispositifs TVWS. C’est pourquoi les exploitants de DFP autorisés sous licence devront fournir des données sur l’heure et la position exactes de leurs systèmes lorsqu'ils utilisent les bases de données TVWS. Les détails sur la marche à suivre feront l’objet d’un développement de règlements détaillés dans le cadre des processus établis par Industrie Canada après la publication de la présente décision.

Il ne sera pas permis aux administrateurs de bases de données de facturer l’enregistrement de DFP autorisés sous licence. Ils devront donc échanger les données sur les DFP protégés, afin d’assurer une protection contre le brouillage causé par tout dispositif TVWS, sans égard à la base de donnée dans laquelle celui-ci est enregistré.

Les dispositifs TVWS ne sont pas protégés contre le brouillage des DFP, que ces derniers soient autorisés sous licence ou non.

Dans le cadre de la consultation, il a également été proposé de réserver aux DFP deux canaux de télévision dans chaque marché en vue d’offrir des canaux protégés contre le brouillage de dispositifs TVWS. Le choix des canaux devrait être harmonisé avec celui des États-Unis. Presque tous les répondants appuient cette approche. Toutefois, depuis la publication de la consultation, Industrie Canada signale qu’une loi adoptée aux États Unis oblige la réattribution possible d’une partie du spectre de télévision UHF aux systèmes à large bande mobiles par un processus d’enchères incitatives. En attendant une stabilisation du milieu du spectre touchant les fréquences inférieures à 698 MHz aux États-Unis, il serait prématuré de réserver des canaux aux DFP au Canada en sachant que des changements pourraient être nécessaires. De plus, Industrie Canada indique qu’il n’y a aucune restriction d’admissibilité quant à la délivrance de licences de DFP au Canada, contrairement aux États-Unis. Puisqu’il est plus facile de délivrer des licences en tant que mesure de protection contre le brouillage de dispositifs TVWS, il n’est pas nécessaire au Canada de réserver des canaux protégés aux DFP. C’est pourquoi, Industrie Canada ne désignera aucun canal protégé de DFP pour le moment.

Décision liée à l’option de délivrance de licences aux DFP

Industrie Canada permettra les DFP selon deux régimes; le premier exempté de licence et le second sous licence volontaire. Les exploitants de DFP autorisés sous licence devront enregistrer leurs activités dans les bases de données TVWS pour recevoir une protection contre le brouillage préjudiciable causé par les dispositifs TVWS.

Industrie Canada mettra à jour ses règlements détaillés sur les DFP au moyen des processus établis, y compris la consultation auprès des intervenants.



10. Modifications au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences

L'attribution des bandes de fréquences est une importante étape dans l'élaboration de politiques d'utilisation du spectre qui favorisent la mise en œuvre de nouveaux services de radiocommunication. Les modifications au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences visent à refléter l'intérêt public en offrant de nouveaux services sans fil dont les Canadiens peuvent profiter et qui répondent aux demandes du marché.

Les sections précédentes du présent document traitent de plusieurs décisions portant sur l'autorisation sous licence des DFP, sur l'arrivée sur le marché de dispositifs TVWS exemptés de licence et sur l'utilisation continue des SLBRRE.

Des commentaires ont été recueillis sur les modifications proposées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences en vue de refléter l’utilisation autorisée sous licence des SLBRRE et des DFP.

10.1 Résumé des commentaires

  • Peu de répondants ont soumis des commentaires sur les modifications d’attribution proposées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences, mais la plupart de ceux qui l’ont fait, étaient d’accord avec les modifications proposées.
  • Certains répondants proposent de créer une attribution mobile primaire conjointe dans la bande de 470 à 698 MHz, afin de préparer le terrain à d’éventuelles utilisations de ce spectre.
  • L’entreprise RIM propose que le renvoi sur les SLBRRE soit modifiée de façon à indiquer que seuls les SLBRRE actuellement en service seront protégés et qu’à partir d’une certaine date, aucun nouveau SLBRRE ne sera autorisé dans le cas où les SLBRRE feraient l’objet d’une clause de droits acquis.

10.2 Discussion

Une attribution au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences n’est pas nécessaire pour refléter l’arrivée des dispositifs TVWS ou toute utilisation exemptée de licence, y compris celle des DFP. Industrie Canada signale également que les renvois 5.293 et 5.297 présentent des attributions primaires visant aussi bien les services mobiles que les services fixes dans les bandes de 470 à 608 MHz et de 614 à 698 MHz au Canada.

Puisque les renvois 5.293 et 5.297 fournissent déjà une attribution fixe pour le spectre utilisé par les SLBRRE, Industrie Canada conclut qu’aucune modification au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences n’est nécessaire pour représenter l’utilisation existante des SLBRRE.

En ce qui a trait aux DFP, Industrie Canada signale que les DFP autorisés sous licence fonctionnent sous les attributions actuelles dans le service de diffusion et conclut alors qu’il n’est donc pas nécessaire de modifier le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences pour représenter l’utilisation du spectre par les DFP autorisés sous licence.

Décision liée aux modifications au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences

Industrie Canada ne modifiera pas le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences.



11. Prochaines étapes

À tout le moins, les documents réglementaires et techniques ci-dessous devront être rédigés ou révisés en fonction des décisions.

Dispositifs et bases de données de TVWS :

  • nouveau CNR de la certification des dispositifs TVWS;
  • document sur les exigences liées aux bases de données TVWS;
  • étapes à suivre pour devenir un administrateur de bases de données TVWS, y compris l’entente connexe.

DFP :

Des évaluations et des révisions continues sont également prévus pour tous les documents connexes à mesure que l’expérience sera acquise au Canada et dans d’autres pays. Industrie Canada assouplira ou resserrera possiblement les exigences techniques en fonction de cette expérience.

Ces documents seront élaborés ou révisés au moyen des processus établis d’Industrie Canada, y compris la consultation auprès des intervenants, généralement réalisée par le biais du CCCR.

Dans le présent document, les décisions autorisant l’utilisation des TVWS ne prendront effet qu’une fois les étapes susmentionnées terminéesNote 3.

Directeur général
Direction générale du génie,
de la planification et des normes

Champ de saisie de la signature
Marc Dupuis

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page 3

Dans l’intervalle, des licences temporaires sont disponibles. Si vous êtes intéressés, veuillez communiquer avec Industrie Canada. Consultez le CIR-66Adresses et numéros de téléphone des bureaux régionaux et des districts.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Date de modification :