SAR-IF: The Search and Rescue Interagency Frequency

Terms and Conditions: Access to Industry Canada’s National Simplex VHF Channel (149.080 MHz) by the Search and Rescue Community

Issue 1

Spectrum Management and Telecommunications

Posted on Industry Canada website: August 22, 2013
Note: Footnotes 1 and 2 added in May 2014

Note

The following outlines the amended terms and conditions, effective September 2, 2011, under which the National Search and Rescue Secretariat and affiliated agencies may share use of Industry Canada's national frequency 149.080 MHz. These terms and conditions do not replace the need for individual licences for radio stations used by various agencies or individuals involved in search and rescue activities.

For further information, please contact your local Industry Canada Spectrum Management office. A complete list of Industry Canada offices is provided in Radiocommunication Information Circular 66 (RIC-66), available at the following Internet web site: http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf01742.html

Table of Contents

  1. Part 1 – Introduction
  2. Part 2 – Authorization Process
  3. Part 3 – Licence Conditions
  4. Annex A
  5. Annex B

Part 1 – Introduction

The purpose of this document is to set out the terms and conditions under which organizations involved in search and rescue (SAR) operations in Canada may be authorized to share Industry Canada’s national simplex VHF radiocommunication channel (149.080 MHz). This channel will be referred to as the SAR-IF channel (Search and Rescue Interagency Frequency).

The use of this channel will be to facilitate interagency radiocommunications during SAR operations where no other practical means exist. The frequency may also be used for SAR exercises, with prior notice to Industry Canada. The channel is not, however, intended to create or replace existing radiocommunications networks used by agencies, teams, or units for internal communications. SAR organizations making use of this frequency should be aware that while Industry Canada will take measures to minimize potential interference to SAR operations on this frequency, Industry Canada cannot guarantee that interference will not occur during actual SAR operations or when exercises are being conducted. The SAR users will accept this possibility.

Part 2 – Authorization Process

SAR agencies or individuals seeking authority to use this channel will be required to apply to Industry Canada for a new licence, or to amend their existing licence by adding this frequency to their current complement of radio frequency channels. Additional fees are required when this frequency is added to a base station licence. No additional fees are applicable when adding this frequency to existing mobile licences. Footnote 1

  1. The departments/agencies listed at Annex “A” may apply directly to Industry Canada for use of the SAR-IF national simplex VHF radiocommunication channel (149.080 MHz), through the normal application process.
  2. Those organizations listed in Annex “B”, and any other entities not listed in either Annex, that are interested in applying to Industry Canada for use of the SAR-IF channel must first obtain a letter of endorsement from their respective sponsoring organization, certifying the need for access to the SAR-IF channel.

While this frequency may be deployed in maritime and aeronautical situations (see Part 3, Licence Conditions for conditions), agencies doing so must be aware that the authority for this frequency is not included with maritime and aeronautical authorizations associated with the vessel or aircraft. Additional land mobile licensing is required.

Applications should be submitted to the appropriate Industry Canada District Office.

Part 3 – Licence Conditions

Notification for SAR Exercises.

In the case of planned exercises by the SAR community that might involve use of 149.080 MHz by participants, particularly in areas where Industry Canada maintains active base stations operating on 149.080 MHz, the provincial/territorial Ground Search and Rescue Council of Canada (GSARCC) representative, or designate, must advise the appropriate Industry Canada District Office 48 hours in advance of such exercises.

Aeronautical Use Within the Canada/US Coordination Zone.

Use of this frequency in aircraft is permissible on an itinerant basis, subject to the normal constraints imposed by Transport Canada with respect to the approval of the installation of radiocommunication equipment on board aircraft. Within the Canada/US Coordination Zone, use by aircraft is restricted to those times when the aircraft is operating below 1000’ above ground level (AGL). Footnote 2 The Coordination Zone is broadly defined as those Canadian lands and waters lying within 120 km of the United States border.

Configuration, Interoperability and Encryption.

The SAR-IF should be configured for narrowband FM modulation (11K0F3EJN) as a standard practice; particularly within urban areas and the Canada/US Coordination Zone.

If, however, the provincial/territorial search and rescue authority determines that wideband FM modulation (16K0F3EJN) is more likely to facilitate interoperability within its jurisdiction, a wideband configuration is permitted for the SAR-IF. This decision should be communicated to all current and potential SAR-IF users in the jurisdiction. Prior consultation with the appropriate Industry Canada Regional Office is strongly advised.

Radios equipped with a Continuous Tone-Coded Squelch System (CTCSS) must be set to a CTCSS tone of 156.7 Hz when transmitting and receiving on the SAR-IF channel. The SAR-IF channel shall not be used in an encryption mode unless all authorized users during a particular operation are in possession of the required equipment to monitor the transmission.

Users are also reminded that the VHF simplex frequency 149.080 MHz is analog, and therefore transmissions are not secure. General radiotelephone operating procedures outlined in RIC-22 (noted below) must be followed by all users, including standard phraseology and calling procedures, and use of the phonetic alphabet.

Other Applicable Standards and Specifications.

Other applicable standards and specifications applicable to the use of the SAR-IF include, but are not necessarily limited to:


Annex A

The Departments/Agencies authorized to submit direct applications to Industry Canada for use of the SAR-IF (149.080 MHz) for SAR purposes only are:

FEDERAL departments

  • Department of National Defence (DND) / Canadian Forces (CF)
  • Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) / Canadian Coast Guard (CCG)
  • Parks Canada (PC)
  • Public Safety Canada (PSC)
  • Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP)
  • Transport Canada (TC)

PROVINCIAL/TERRITORIAL/MUNICIPAL departments and agencies

  • Any emergency medical service (EMS)
  • Any municipal fire department
  • Any municipal, provincial, territorial, or First Nation police department
  • Provincial/Territorial Emergency Measures Organizations (EMOs)
  • Provincial/Territorial Fire Commissioners departments

Annex B

The proposed users of the SAR-IF who must first obtain a letter of endorsement from a sponsoring organization (Annex A) in order to apply to Industry Canada for use of the SAR-IF (149.080 MHz) for SAR purposes only are:

Proposed user and Sponsoring Organization
Proposed user Sponsoring organization
Amateur Radio operators working in support of SAR operations Appropriate Provincial/Territorial GSAR Council of Canada representative, or designate
Canadian Coast Guard Auxiliary (CCGA) members Canadian Coast Guard
Civil Air Search and Rescue Association (CASARA) members Canadian Forces
Ground SAR volunteer teams or organizations Appropriate Provincial/Territorial GSAR Council of Canada representative, or designate
Any private or commercial air or marine operator chartered by or under the control of one of the departments or agencies noted in Annex “A”, for the purpose of SAR training and response. Appropriate Annex “A” department or agency.
Any other municipal, provincial, or territorial entities not listed in Annex “A” Appropriate Provincial/Territorial GSAR Council of Canada representative, or designate
Any other federal entities not listed in Annex “A” National Search and Rescue Secretariat

Sample Letter

[Sponsoring Department/Agency address or letterhead]

[Sponsoring Department/Agency unique reference or file number]

DD Month YYYY

Industry Canada – Spectrum
(Regional/District Office list & addresses)
Attn: Director

Dear Sir/Madam:

Re: Letter of Endorsement: Application for use of the SAR Interagency Frequency Industry Canada National VHF Simplex Frequency 149.080 MHz

With respect to the attached application for use of Industry Canada’s national simplex VHF radiocommunication channel (149.080 MHz), known as the SAR Interagency Frequency (SAR-IF), I wish to confirm that the organization or individual listed below:

Full Name of Organization:
(include Regional/National affiliation as well as local designation)
Contact Person & Title:
(should match name on licence application)
Base of Operations:
(City/Town, Prov/Terr)

is engaged in the provision of search and rescue services to the public, and therefore requires access to the frequency. The above-noted applicant has also received a copy of the SAR-IF Terms and Conditions issued by Industry Canada for use of frequency.

Thank you for your assistance in this regard.

Sincerely,

[Name]
[Title]
[Name of Sponsoring Department/Organization/Agency]
[Address, Contact Telephone, email address]


Date modified:

FI-RS : Fréquences interagences de recherche et de sauvetage

Modalités : Accès au canal VHF simplex national (149.080 MHz) d'Industrie Canada par la communauté de la recherche et de sauvetage

1re édition

Gestion du spectre et télécommunications

Affiché sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada : le 22 août 2013
Nota : Les notes en bas de page 1 et 2 ont été ajoutées en mai 2014

Note

La présente définit les modalités révisées, en vigueur depuis le 2 septembre 2011, en vertu desquelles le Secrétariat national de recherche et de sauvetage et les organismes affiliés peuvent utiliser la fréquence nationale 149.080 MHz d’Industrie Canada. Ces modalités ne remplacent pas la nécessité de licences individuelles pour les stations radio utilisées par les divers organismes ou particuliers qui prennent part aux activités de recherche et de sauvetage.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau local de gestion du spectre d’Industrie Canada. Une liste complète des bureaux d’Industrie Canada figure dans la circulaire d’information sur les radiocommunications 66 (CIR-66) disponible sur le site Internet suivant : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf01742.html.

Table des matières

  1. Partie 1 – Introduction
  2. Partie 2 – Processus d'autorisation
  3. Partie 3 – Conditions de la licence
  4. Annexe A
  5. Annexe B

Partie 1 – Introduction

Le but du présent document est d'établir les modalités en vertu desquelles les organisations qui participent aux opérations de recherche et de sauvetage (R-S) au Canada peuvent être autorisées à partager le canal de radiocommunication VHF simplex national (149.080 MHz) d'Industrie Canada. On se référera à ce canal sous l'appellation de canal Fréquence interagences de recherche et de sauvetage (FI-RS).

L'utilisation de ce canal servira à faciliter les radiocommunications entre les organismes durant les opérations de R-S lorsqu'il n'existe aucun autre moyen pratique de communication. La fréquence peut également être utilisée durant les exercices de R-S à la condition d'aviser Industrie Canada au préalable. Toutefois, ce canal n'est pas conçu pour créer ou remplacer les réseaux de radiocommunications existants utilisés par les organisations, les équipes ou les unités à des fins de communications internes. Les organisations de R-S qui utilisent cette fréquence devraient savoir que même si Industrie Canada adopte des mesures pour minimiser les interférences potentielles sur cette fréquence lors des opérations de R-S, le Ministère ne peut pas garantir qu'il n'y aura pas d'interférences durant les opérations réelles de R-S ou lors d'exercices. Les utilisateurs de la R-S accepteront cette possibilité.

Partie 2 – Processus d'autorisation

Les personnes ou les organisations de R-S qui demanderont l'autorisation d'utiliser ce canal devront faire une demande de nouvelle licence ou de modification de leur licence actuelle à Industrie Canada afin d'ajouter cette fréquence à leur gamme actuelle de canaux de radiofréquence. Des frais additionnels sont exigés lorsque cette fréquence est ajoutée à une licence de station de base. Il n'y a pas de frais additionnels qui s'appliquent lorsque cette fréquence est ajoutée à des licences mobiles.Note de bas de page 1

  1. Les ministères/organismes énumérés à l'annexe « A » peuvent faire une demande d'utilisation du canal de radiocommunication VHF simplex national (149.080 MHz) FI-RS directement à Industrie Canada au moyen d'un processus normal de demande.
  2. Les organisations énumérées à l'annexe « B » et toutes les autres entités non énoncées dans l'une ou l'autre annexe qui sont intéressées à faire une demande à Industrie Canada pour utiliser le canal FI-RS doivent d'abord obtenir une lettre d'autorisation de leur organisme parrain certifiant leur besoin d'avoir accès au canal FI-RS.

Bien que cette fréquence puisse être déployée dans des situations maritimes et aéronautiques (voir la Partie 3, Conditions de la licence, pour prendre connaissance des conditions qui s'appliquent), les organisations qui le feront doivent savoir que l'autorisation d'utiliser cette fréquence n'est pas incluse dans les autorisations maritimes et aéronautiques associées aux navires et aux aéronefs. Une licence mobile terrestre additionnelle est requise.

Les demandes devraient être transmises aux bureaux de district appropriés d'Industrie Canada.

Partie 3 – Conditions de la licence

Avis concernant les exercices de R-S

Dans le cas des exercices planifiés par la communauté de la R-S qui peut impliquer l'utilisation de la fréquence de 149.080 MHz par les participants, particulièrement dans les secteurs où Industrie Canada maintient des stations de base actives émettant sur la fréquence de 149.080 MHz, les représentants provinciaux/territoriaux officiels ou désignés du Conseil national de recherche et de sauvetage au sol du Canada (CNRSSC) doivent aviser le bureau de district approprié d'Industrie Canada 48 heures avant la tenue de tels exercices.

Utilisation aéronautique à l'intérieur des limites de la zone de coordination Canada/États-Unis.

L'utilisation de cette fréquence dans les aéronefs est permissible de façon occasionnelle, sous réserve de contraintes normales imposées par Transports Canada en ce qui a trait à l'approbation de l'installation d'équipement de radiocommunication à bord des aéronefs. À l'intérieur des limites de la zone de coordination Canada/États-Unis, l'utilisation par les aéronefs est restreinte aux périodes où l'aéronef vole à moins de 1 000 pieds au-dessus du sol (AGL).Note de bas de page 2 La zone de coordination est généralement définie comme étant les terres et les plans d'eau canadiens situés dans une zone limitrophe de 120 kilomètres des frontières américaines.

Configuration, interopérabilité et cryptage

La Fréquence interagences de recherche et de sauvetage (FI-RS) devrait normalement être configurée pour la modulation FM à bande étroite (11K0F3EJN); surtout dans les régions urbaines et la zone de coordination Canada/États-Unis.

Toutefois, si l’autorité provinciale ou territoriale chargée de la recherche et du sauvetage détermine que la modulation FM à large bande (16K0F3EJN) est mieux appropriée pour faciliter l’interopérabilité à l’intérieur de son territoire, une configuration à large bande est permise pour la FI-RS. Cette décision devrait être communiquée à tous les utilisateurs actuels et potentiels de la FI-RS dans ce territoire. On conseille fortement de consulter au préalable le bureau régional d’Industrie Canada concerné.

Les postes radio dotés d’un système de silencieux commandé par tonalité (SSCT) doivent être réglés sur une fréquence de 156,7 Hz du SSCT pendant l’émission et la réception sur le canal de la FI-RS. Ce canal ne doit pas être utilisé en mode cryptage à moins que tous les utilisateurs autorisés durant une opération particulière ne soient en possession de l’équipement nécessaire pour contrôler la transmission.

On rappelle également aux utilisateurs que la fréquence VHF simplex émettant sur 149,080 MHz est analogue et que les transmissions ne sont donc pas protégées. Les procédures générales d’exploitation en radiotéléphonie décrites dans la CIR-22 (indiquée ci-dessous) doivent être suivies par tous les utilisateurs, incluant la phraséologie et la marche à suivre standard pour communiquer ainsi que l’utilisation du code d’épellation.

Autres normes et spécifications applicables

Les autres normes et spécifications applicables à l'utilisation de la FI-RS incluent, sans y être nécessairement limitées, les suivantes :


Annexe A

Les ministères/organismes autorisés à soumettre une demande directement à Industrie Canada pour l'utilisation de la FI-RS (149.080 MHz) à des fins de R-S uniquement sont les suivants :

Ministères FÉDÉRAUX

  • Ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) / Forces canadiennes (FC)
  • Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) / Garde côtière canadienne (GCC)
  • Parcs Canada (PC)
  • Sécurité publique Canada (SPC)
  • Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC)
  • Transports Canada (TC)

Ministères et organismes PROVINCIAUX/TERRITORIAUX/MUNICIPAUX

  • Tout service médical d'urgence (SMU)
  • Tout service des incendies municipal
  • Tout service de police municipal, provincial, territorial ou des Premières Nations
  • Les organisations de mesures d'urgence (OMU) provinciales/territoriales
  • Les services des commissaires des incendies provinciaux/territoriaux

Annexe B

Les utilisateurs proposés de la FI-RS qui doivent d'abord obtenir une lettre d'autorisation d'un organisme parrain (annexe A) afin de faire une demande d'utilisation de la FI-RS (149.080 MHz) à Industrie Canada à des fins de R-S uniquement sont les suivants :

Utilisateur proposé et organisme parrain
Utilisateur proposé Organisme parrain
Les radioamateurs qui appuient les opérations de R-S Les représentants provinciaux/territoriaux officiels ou désignés appropriés du Conseil national de recherche et de sauvetage au sol du Canada
Les membres de la Garde côtière auxiliaire canadienne (CCGA) Garde côtière canadienne
Les membres de l'Association civile de recherche et sauvetage aériens (ACRSA) Forces canadiennes
Les organisations de bénévoles en R-S au sol Les représentants provinciaux/territoriaux officiels ou désignés appropriés du Conseil national de recherche et de sauvetage au sol du Canada
Tout exploitant aérien ou maritime, privé ou commercial, mandaté par l'un ou l'autre des ministères ou organismes notés dans l'Annexe « A » ou sous leur contrôle, à des fins de formation et d'intervention en R-S. Un ministère ou un organisme approprié de l'Annexe « A »
Toute autre entité municipale, provinciale ou territoriale non listée dans l'Annexe « A » Les représentants provinciaux/territoriaux officiels ou désignés appropriés du Conseil national de recherche et de sauvetage au sol du Canada
Toute autre entité fédérale non listée dans l'Annexe « A » Le Secrétariat national de recherche et de sauvetage

Modèle de lettre

[Adresse ou entête de lettre du ministère/organisme parrain]

[Référence ou numéro de dossier unique du ministère/organisme parrain]

JJ Mois AAAA

Industrie Canada - Spectre
(Liste et adresse des bureaux de district/régionaux)
Aux soins de : Directeur

Madame/Monsieur,

Objet : Lettre d'autorisation : Demande d'utilisation de la Fréquence interagences de recherche et de sauvetage, le canal de radiocommunication VHF simplex national émettant sur 149.080 MHz d'Industrie Canada

En ce qui a trait à la demande ci-jointe d'utiliser le canal de radiocommunication VHF simplex national (149.080 MHz) d'Industrie Canada, connu sous le nom de Fréquence interagences de R-S (FI-RS), je désire confirmer que l'organisation ou la personne nommée ci-dessous :

Nom complet de l'organisation :
(inclure l'affiliation régionale/nationale de même que la désignation locale)
Coordonnées de la personne-ressource et titre :
(devrait correspondre au nom indiqué dans la demande de licence)
Base des opérations :
(Ville/municipalité, province/territoire)

Participe à la prestation de services de recherche et de sauvetage au public et a donc besoin d'un accès à la fréquence. Le demandeur précité a également reçu une copie des modalités de la FI-RS émise par Industrie Canada pour l'utilisation de la fréquence.

Je vous remercie de votre aide à cet égard.

Veuillez agréer mes salutations distinguées,

[Nom]
[Titre]
[Nom du ministère/organisation/organisme parrain]
[Adresse, numéro de téléphone, adresse électronique]


Date de modification :