SAB-001-13 — Public Safety Operations in the Band 775‑776 MHz

October 2013

Posted on Industry Canada website: October 4, 2013

In the revisions to the Standard Radio System Plan 511 (SRSP-511) for the bands 768-776 MHz and 798-806 MHz, released April 2010 (Issue 2), Industry Canada indicated that the band 775-776 MHz is to be used on the basis of a single (simplex) channelling plan. It further stated that until decisions are made for the adjacent spectrum, assignments be limited in the band 775-776 MHz due to the potential for interference from adjacent mobile broadband commercial services.

In March 2012, Industry Canada released SMSE-002-12, Policy and Technical Framework — Mobile Broadband Services (MBS) – 700 MHz Band - Broadband Radio Service (BRS) – 2500 MHz Band, in which the following band plan was adopted for the Upper 700 MHz band.

Figure 1 — Canadian Upper 700 MHz Band Plan
Canadian Upper 700 MHz Band Plan (the long description is located below the image)

Image Description

This chart shows the general band plan for the Upper 700 MHz band, also known as the band 746-806 MHz. The Upper 700 MHz band includes the paired commercial block C1 that consists of the bands 746-751 MHz and 776-781 MHz, the paired commercial block C2 that consists of the bands 751-756 MHz and 781-786 MHz, the paired PSBB block that consists of the bands 763-768 MHz and 793-798 MHz, the paired D block that consists of the bands 758-763 MHz and 788-793 MHz, and the paired PS NB/WB block that consists of the bands 768-776 MHz and 798-806 MHz. The Upper 700 MHz band also includes two 1 MHz blocks (the bands 756-757 MHz and 776-777 MHz) that are being held in reserve for future consideration, as well as two 1 MHz guardbands (the bands 757-758 MHz and 787-788 MHz).

Two Industry Canada documents, Radio Standards Specification 130 (RSS-130) and SRSP-518, were developed and published to address the technical requirements for commercial mobile broadband equipment operating in the bands 698-756 MHz and 777-787 MHz.

In the United States, the band edge for the 700 MHz public safety narrowband equipment is 775 MHz instead of 776 MHz. Given the potential for interference to public safety communications, the United States has established rules for commercial mobile broadband equipment, which include an out-of-band (OOB) emission limit to reduce the risks of interference to public safety stations operating in the bands 763-775 MHz and 793-806 MHz. This OOB emission limit is also supported by the 3GPP specifications and by existing commercial mobile broadband equipment.

The transmitter unwanted emission limits — as defined in Industry Canada’s Radio Standards Specification RSS-130, Mobile Broadband Service (MBS) Equipment Operating in the Frequency Bands 698-756 MHz and 777-787 MHz, — are harmonized with the OOB emission limits found in the United States’ rules. Unless 3GPP specifications are changed, public safety stations operating in the band 775-776 MHz will likely receive higher levels of OOB emissions from commercial mobile broadband stations than from narrowband public safety stations operating below 775 MHz. Furthermore, commercial equipment availability in Canada could be affected if a more stringent unwanted emission limit was mandated for the band 775-776 MHz.

Consequently, in Canada, public safety stations deployed in the band 775-776 MHz may experience an increased level of interference from commercial mobile broadband operations. Although licensed public safety mobile systems will be protected from each other, public safety stations deployed in the band 775-776 MHz will not be protected from mobile broadband systems operating in conformance with the transmitter unwanted emission limits defined in RSS-130 in the band 777-787 MHz.

Given the facts that a very limited number of public safety narrowband stations are currently deployed in the band 775-776 MHz and that commercial mobile broadband stations have not been deployed in the 700 MHz band yet, this decision will have little impact on existing operations.

Industry Canada will review and update SRSP-511 accordingly.

Issued under the authority
of the Radiocommunication Act

space to insert signature

Marc Dupuis
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

Date modified:

BCS-001-13 – Opérations de sécurité publique dans la bande 775‑776 MHz

Octobre 2013

Affiché sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada : le 4 octobre 2013

Parmi les révisions apportées au Plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens 511 (PNRH-511) pour les bandes 768-776 MHz et 798-806 MHz, publié en avril 2010 (2e édition), Industrie Canada a indiqué que la bande 775-776 MHz doit être utilisée sur la base d’un plan de répartition à fréquences uniques (simplex). Il a en outre signalé qu’en attendant la prise de décisions relatives au spectre adjacent, les assignations doivent être restreintes dans la bande 775-776 MHz en raison du brouillage possible causé par les services mobiles commerciaux à large bande exploités dans des bandes adjacentes.

En mars 2012, Industrie Canada a publié l’avis SMSE-002-12, Cadre politique et technique : Service mobile à large bande (SMLB) — bande de 700 MHz, Service radio à large bande (SRLB) — bande de 2 500 MHz, dans lequel le plan de répartition de la bande suivant a été adopté pour la partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz.

Figure 1 – Plan canadien de répartition pour la partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz
Figure 1 – Plan canadien de répartition pour la partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)

Ce graphique illustre le plan général de répartition des fréquences de la partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz, soit la bande 746-806 MHz. La partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz comprend le bloc commercial apparié C1 qui comporte les bandes 746-751 MHz and 776-781 MHz, le bloc commercial apparié C2 C1 qui comporte les bandes 751-756 MHz and 781-786 MHz, le bloc apparié SPLB qui comporte les bandes 763-768 MHz et 793-798 MHz, le bloc apparié D qui comporte les bandes 758-763 MHz et 788-793 MHz et le bloc apparié bande étroite/large bande sécurité publique qui comporte les bandes 768-776 MHz and 798-806 MHz. En outre, la partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz comprend deux blocs de 1 MHz, soient les bandes 756-757 MHz et 776-777 MHz, mis en réserve pour examen à une date ultérieure, ainsi que deux bandes de garde de 1 MHz dans les bandes 757-758 MHz et 787-788 MHz.

Deux documents d’Industrie Canada, le Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques 130 (CNR-130) et le PNRH-518 ont été élaborés et publiés pour examiner les exigences techniques relatives aux services mobiles commerciaux à large bande exploités dans les bandes 698-756 MHz et 777-787 MHz.

Aux États-Unis, la limite de la bande pour le matériel à bande étroite de sécurité publique dans la bande de 700 MHz est de 775 MHz au lieu de 776 MHz. Compte tenu du risque de brouillage à l’encontre des communications de la sécurité publique, les États-Unis ont établi des règles pour le matériel mobile commercial à large bande, qui comprend une limite d’émission hors bande (OOB) pour réduire les risques de brouillage possible à l’encontre des stations de sécurité publique exploitées dans les bandes 763-775 MHz et 793-806 MHz. Les spécifications du 3GPP et le matériel mobile commercial à large bande actuel respectent cette limite d’émission OOB.

Les limites de rayonnements non désirés de l’émetteur définies dans le CNR-130 d’Industrie  Canada, Matériel du service mobile à large bande (SMLB) fonctionnant dans les bandes 698-756 MHz et 777-787 MHz, sont harmonisées avec les limites d’émissions OOB énoncées dans les règles des États-Unis. À moins que les spécifications du 3GPP ne soient modifiées, il est probable que les stations de la sécurité publique qui opèrent dans la bande 775-776 MHz reçoivent un niveau plus élevé d’émissions OOB en provenance des stations mobiles commerciales à large bande que les stations à bande étroite de la sécurité publique qui opèrent en dessous de 775 MHz. De plus, la disponibilité du matériel commercial au Canada pourrait être touchée si une limite d’émission non désireé plus stricte était prescrite pour la bande 775-776 MHz.

En conséquence, au Canada, les stations de sécurité publique déployées dans la bande 775-776 MHz pourraient subir un niveau de brouillage accru causé par l’exploitation de services mobiles commerciaux à large bande. Même si les réseaux mobiles de sécurité publique sous licence sont protégés les uns des autres, les stations de la sécurité publique déployées dans la bande 775-776 MHz ne seront pas protégés contre les réseaux mobiles à large bande fonctionnant en conformité avec les limites de rayonnements non désirés définies dans le CNR-130 dans la bande 777-787 MHz.

Étant donné le nombre très limité de stations de la sécurité publique pour les services à bande étroite actuellement déployées dans la bande de 775-776 MHz et que des stations mobiles commerciales à large bande n’ont pas encore été déployées dans la bande de 700 MHz, cette décision aura peu de répercussions sur les opérations en cours.

Industrie Canada examinera et mettra à jour le PNRH-511 en conséquence.

Publié en vertu de
la Loi sur la radiocommunication

Le directeur général,
Direction générale du génie,
de la planification et des normes

Champ de saisie de la signature

MARC DUPUIS

Date de modification :