RSS-244 — Medical Devices Operating in the Band 413-457 MHz

Issue 1

Posted on Industry Canada website:

Preface

Radio Standards Specification 244, Issue 1, Medical Devices Operating in the Band 413-457 MHz, sets out the minimum requirements for the certification of transmitters and receivers used in radiocommunication systems that are part of Medical Micropower Networks (MMNs). MMNs operate in the bands 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz and 451-457 MHz. These devices are defined as Category I equipment as per RSS-Gen.

This document will be in force as of the publication date of Notice SMSE-001-13 in the Canada Gazette, Part I. Upon publication, the public has 120 days to submit comments. Comments received will be taken into account in the preparation of the next version of the document.

Issued under the authority of
the Minister of Industry


Marc Dupuis
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch



1. Scope

This Radio Standards Specification (RSS) sets out the minimum requirements for the certification of transmitters and receivers used in radiocommunication systems that are part of Medical Micropower Networks (MMNs). MMNs operate in the bands 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz and 451-457 MHz. These devices are defined as Category I equipment as per RSS-Gen.


2. General Information

RSS-244, Issue 1, must be used in conjunction with RSS-Gen, General Requirements and Information for the Certification of Radiocommunication Equipment, for general specifications and for information relevant to the equipment for which this standard applies.

Devices under the scope of this standard are classified as Category I equipment. A technical acceptance certificate (TAC) issued by the Certification and Engineering Bureau of Industry Canada or a certificate issued by a recognized Certification Body (CB) is required.

Devices covered by this standard produce very low emission levels such that they can coexist with the primary and secondary radio services within the bands 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz and 451-457 MHz.

Only medical devices that are part of an MMN shall be designed to operate in the frequency bands 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz and 451-457 MHz.

The medical devices subject to this standard operate on a “no-interference, no-protection” basis.

No antenna for a transmitter certified under this standard shall be configured for permanent outdoor use.

The antenna associated with any MMN transmitter must be supplied with the transmitter and shall be considered part of the transmitter subject to certification.

All medical devices falling under the scope of this standard are subject to the radio frequency (RF) exposure requirements specified in RSS-102, Radio Frequency (RF) Exposure Compliance of Radiocommunication Apparatus (All Frequency Bands).

2.1 Licensing Requirements

Medical radiocommunication systems covered by this standard are licence-exempt.

2.2 Definitions

The following terms and definitions apply to this standard:

Access protocol/ Protocole d’accès: is a specification for measuring natural and man-made ambient background levels for the purpose of providing a technique for spectrum access that reduces the potential for harmful interference to/from other users of the spectrum.

Listen Before Talk (LBT)/ Contrôle avant communication: is a performance requirement, usually in the form of a protocol, that requires a communications system to determine if the frequency band it intends to communicate in is occupied by another user, and selects from the available spectrum a frequency band for communication that reduces, to the extent possible, the potential for interference to/from another user of the spectrum.

MMN programmer/control transmitter/ Émetteur programmeur/contrôleur MMN: is a transceiver that is designed to monitor the frequency band(s) that the MMN system devices intend to occupy by selecting an authorized frequency band for a link to a medical implant, based on the use of the LBT access protocol and by transferring information to/from the MMN system devices after initiating the communications link.

Medical Micropower Network (MMN)/ Réseau de faible puissance à usage medical: An ultra-low power wideband network consisting of a MMN programmer/control transmitter and medical implant transmitters, all of which transmit or receive non-voice data or related device control commands for the purpose of facilitating functional electric stimulation, a technique using electric currents to activate and monitor nerves and muscles.

Monitoring system/ Système du surveillance: is the circuitry in a programmer/control transmitter that assures conformity with LBT spectrum access protocol requirements.

Threshold power level/ Niveau de seuil de puissance: is the ambient signal power level in a LBT system, as defined above, which is used by the monitoring system to determine if the spectrum is free and can be selected in a communication session.


3. Measurement Methods

3.1 References

In addition to the requirements of RSS-Gen, the following additional requirements apply:

Equipment intended to be implanted in or worn on the human body shall be tested in/on a simulated human torso in order to replicate operation of the device under actual operating conditions. For further information related to the simulated human torso, please refer to Annex A of the most recent version of ETSI EN 301 839-1, Electromagnetic Compatibility and Radio Spectrum Matters (ERM); Short Range Devices (SRD);Ultra Low Power Active Medical Implants (ULP-AMI) and Peripherals (ULP-AMI-P) operating in the frequency range 402 MHz to 405 MHz; Part 1: Technical characteristics and test methods, or to Annex A of the most recent version of ETSI EN 302 537-1, Electromagnetic compatibility and Radio Spectrum Matters (ERM); Short Range Devices (SRD); Ultra Low Power Medical Data Service Systems operating in the frequency range 401 MHz to 402 MHz and 405 MHz to 406 MHz; Part 1: Technical characteristics and test methods.

The tissue dielectric properties of the material (based on human muscle tissue) shall be suitable at 416 MHz, 429 MHz, 441 MHz and 454 MHz.Footnote 1 The tolerance of the relative permittivity and conductivity properties of the material shall be within ± 5%.

3.2 Occupied Bandwidth

The occupied bandwidth measurement method outlined in RSS-Gen shall be used.

3.3 Frequency Stability

The following temperatures and supply voltage ranges apply:

  1. For external devices:
    1. normally used outdoors: at temperatures of -30°C, +20°C and +50°C, and at the manufacturer’s rated supply voltage;
    2. normally used indoors: at temperatures of 0°C, +20°C and +50°C, and at the manufacturer’s rated supply voltage; and
    3. when the temperature is at +20°C: at ± 10% of the manufacturer’s rated supply voltage.
  2. For internal and body-worn medical devices:

    at temperatures of +25°C, +37°C and +45°C, and at the manufacturer’s rated operating voltage using a new battery only.

If the frequency stability limits are only met at a different temperature range from those specified in (a)(i) and (ii) or in (b), the frequency stability requirement will be deemed met if the transmitter is automatically inhibited from operating outside this different temperature range and if the published equipment operating characteristics are revised to reflect this different temperature range.

3.4 Equivalent Isotropically Radiated Power

The maximum equivalent isotropically radiated power (e.i.r.p.) shall be determined by measuring the radiated field at three metres and calculating the e.i.r.p. The maximum e.i.r.p. shall be measured using a peak detector when the transmission is continuous and at maximum power level. For transmitters intended to be implanted in or worn on the human body, the e.i.r.p. shall be measured using the simulated human torso per the ETSI standards outlined in Section 3.1.

3.5 Transmitter Unwanted Emissions

In addition to the requirements of RSS-Gen, unwanted emissions of transmitters intended to be implanted in or worn on the human body shall be measured using the simulated human torso as per the ETSI standards outlined in Section 3.1.

3.6 Receiver Spurious Emissions

In addition to the requirements of RSS-Gen, spurious emissions of receivers intended to be implanted in the human body or worn on the human body shall be measured using the simulated human torso as per the ETSI standards outlined in Section 3.1. As an alternative, the conducted measurement method may be used when the antenna is detachable. In such a case, the receiver spurious signal may be measured at the antenna port.

3.7 Monitoring System Measurements

Manufacturers of MMN shall share the spectrum on an equal basis in order to protect the health and safety of the patients who these systems are designed to serve. To accomplish this goal, the medical implant shall operate under the control of a programmer/control transmitter that incorporates a mechanism for monitoring all authorized frequency bands. The occupied frequency band selected for operation must have an ambient noise level below the threshold power level of the system.

The system must rely on a programmer/controller external to the body in order to schedule the implant transmissions. Multiple MMNs can exist within a patient. Each network can have multiple implanted devices with their own programmer/controller. In a case where an individual has two or more implanted devices, implant-to-implant communication is not permitted. The MMN programmer/controller transmitters and the medical implant transmitters cannot relay information in the bands 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz and 451-457 MHz to a receiver that is not part of the same MMN. However, programmer/controller-to-programmer/controller communication is allowed in order to facilitate sharing of the spectrum and to avoid interference between two MMNs.

The measurement methodsFootnote2 described in Section 10 of ETSI EN 301 839-1 shall be used to determine compliance with the monitoring requirements of the MMNs devices outlined in Section 4.7 of this standard.

Specifically, the following parameters shall be measured:

  1. system threshold power levels;Footnote3
  2. monitoring system bandwidth;Footnote4
  3. system scan time and minimum monitoring period;Footnote5
  4. frequency access;Footnote6 and
  5. discontinuation of a MMN session.Footnote7

4. Transmitter and Receiver Standard Specifications

4.1 Authorized Bandwidth

For MMNs operating in the frequency bands 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz and 451-457 MHz, the authorized bandwidth shall not exceed 6 MHz.

Each medical device that is part of an MMN must be capable of operating in each of these frequency bands: 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz and 451-457 MHz. All medical devices that are part of a single MMN must operate in the same frequency band.

4.2 Types of Modulation

Equipment certified under this standard shall use digital modulation. Transmission of digitized or analog voice communication is prohibited.

4.3 Frequency Stability

The carrier frequency shall not depart from the reference frequency in excess of ±100 parts per million.

4.4 Equivalent Isotropically Radiated Power

The peak e.i.r.p of a MMN programmer/controller transmitter and an implanted transmitter over the frequency bands 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz and 451-457 MHz shall not exceed 10 log B -7.782 dBm, where B is the 99% emission bandwidthFootnote8 in MHz. The peak power spectral density shall not exceed 800 microwatts per megahertz (μW/MHz) in any 1 megahertz (MHz) band.

4.5 Transmitter Unwanted Emissions

In addition to the requirements of RSS-Gen, the following transmitter unwanted emissions shall apply:

  1. In the first 2.5 MHz above or below any of the MMN bands (413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438 444 MHz and 451-457 MHz), the e.i.r.p level of any unwanted emission shall be attenuated by at least 20 dB below the maximum e.i.r.p within any 1 MHz of the fundamental emission. These measurements are performed using a peak detector with a resolution bandwidth of approximately 1.0% of the emission bandwidth of the device under measurement.
  2. Emissions from MMN devices more than 2.5 MHz outside of the MMN bands (413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz and 451-457 MHz) shall not exceed the transmitter spurious emission limits for licence-exempt devices, specified in RSS-Gen. At the band edges, the tighter limit applies.

4.6 Receiver Spurious Emissions

Receiver spurious emissions shall comply with the limits specified in RSS-Gen.

4.7 Monitoring System Specifications

MMN programmer/control transmitter shall incorporate a mechanism for monitoring the authorized bandwidth of the frequency bands which the MMN transmitter intends to occupy. The monitoring system antenna shall be the same antenna used by the programmer/control transmitter for a communication session.

4.7.1 System Threshold Power Levels

The system threshold power levels are defined as -60 dBm, as received by a 0 dBi gain antenna in any 12.5 kHz bandwidth within the MMN programmer/controller transmitter’s occupied bandwidth.

4.7.2 Monitoring System Bandwidth

The monitoring system bandwidth measured at its 20 dB down points shall be equal to, or greater than, the occupied bandwidth of the intended transmission.

4.7.3 Scan Cycle Time and Minimum Monitoring Period

A MMN programmer/control transmitter shall be capable of monitoring its occupied frequency band at least once every second (1 sec), and shall be capable of monitoring alternate frequency bands within two seconds (2 sec) prior to executing a change to the frequency band.

A MMN programmer/control transmitter shall be capable of monitoring the occupied frequency band and of determining whether either direction of the communications link is becoming degraded to the extent where the link will be lost for more than 45 milliseconds. Upon making such a determination, a MMN programmer/controller shall move to another frequency band.

4.7.4 Frequency Band Access

If the system threshold power levels are greater than -60 dBm as defined in Section 4.7.1 of this document, the MMN programmer/control transmitter shall move to another frequency band within one second of detecting a persistent signal (i.e. duration of more than 50 milliseconds).

4.7.5 Discontinuation of a MMN Session

MMN transmitters shall incorporate a programmable means to implement a system shutdown process in the event of communication failure, on command from the MMN programmer/controller transmitter, or when no frequency band is available. The shutdown process shall commence within 45 milliseconds after loss of the communication link occurs or after receipt of the shutdown command from the MMN programmer/controller transmitter.

4.8 Duty Cycle

For the purposes of this standard, the duty cycle is defined as the ratio, expressed as a percentage, of the maximum transmitter “on” time of one carrier frequency, relative to a one-hour period.

The duty cycle of all MMN programmer/control transmitters operating in the bands 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz and 451-457 MHz shall not be greater than 3%.


5. User Manual

The user manuals for all transmitters covered by this standard shall contain the following statement in a conspicuous location:

“This device may not interfere with stations that are authorized to operate on a primary basis in the bands 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz and 451-457 MHz, and it must accept any interference received, including interference that may cause undesired operation.”

Date modified:

CNR-244 — Dispositifs médicaux fonctionnant dans la bande de fréquences 413-457 MHz

1re édition

Affiché sur le site Web d'Industrie le

Préface

Le présent Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques 244 (CNR-244), 1re édition, Dispositifs médicaux fonctionnant dans la bande de fréquences 413-457 MHz, établit les exigences minimales de certification applicables aux émetteurs et aux récepteurs utilisés dans les systèmes de radiocommunication intégrés aux réseaux de faible puissance à usage médical (Medical Micropower Networks, MMN). Les réseaux MMN fonctionnent dans les bandes 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz et 451-457 MHz. Ces dispositifs font partie du matériel de catégorie I conformément au CNR-Gén.

Cette nouvelle version entrera en vigueur à la date de publication de l’avis SMSE-001-13 dans la Gazette du Canada, partie I. À compter de la date de publication, le public dispose de 120 jours pour présenter ses commentaires. Les commentaires reçus seront pris en considération dans la préparation de la prochaine version du document.

Publication autorisée
par le ministre de l’Industrie


Marc Dupuis
Directeur général
Direction générale du génie,
de la planification et des normes



1. Objet

Le présent Cahier des charges sur les normes établit les exigences minimales de certification applicables aux émetteurs et aux récepteurs utilisés dans les systèmes de radiocommunication intégrés aux réseaux de faible puissance à usage médical (MMN). Les réseaux MMN fonctionnent dans les bandes 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz et 451-457 MHz. Ces dispositifs font partie du matériel de catégorie I conformément au CNR-Gén.


2. Généralités

Le CNR-244, 1re édition, doit être utilisé conjointement avec le CNR-Gén, Exigences générales et information relatives à la certification du matériel de radiocommunication pour ce qui est des spécifications générales et de l’information relative au matériel visé par la présente norme.

Les dispositifs régis par la présente norme sont classés dans la catégorie I, et un certificat d’approbation technique (CAT) délivré par le Bureau d’homologation et de services techniques d’Industrie Canada, ou un certificat délivré par un organisme de certification (OC) reconnu est obligatoire.

Les dispositifs régis par la présente norme produisent un rayonnement de signaux de niveaux très faibles leur permettant de coexister avec les services radio autorisés à titre primaire et secondaire fonctionnant dans les bandes 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz et 451-457 MHz.

Seuls les dispositifs médicaux faisant partie des réseaux MMN doivent être conçus pour fonctionner dans les bandes de fréquences 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz et 451-457 MHz.

Les dispositifs médicaux assujettis à cette norme fonctionnent en régime de non-brouillage et de non protection.

Aucune antenne d’émetteur ayant une certification régie par la présente norme ne doit être configurée pour une utilisation permanente à l’extérieur.

L’antenne reliée à un émetteur MMN doit être fournie en même temps que l’émetteur en question et elle doit être considérée comme faisant partie intégrante de l’émetteur assujetti à l’exigence d’une certification.

Tous les dispositifs médicaux régis par la présente norme sont assujettis aux exigences relatives à l’exposition des fréquences radioélectriques énoncées dans le CNR-102 - Conformité des appareils de radiocommunication aux limites d'exposition humaine aux radiofréquences (toutes bandes de fréquences).

2.1 Exigences relatives à la délivrancede licences

Les systèmes médicaux de radiocommunication régis par la présente norme sont exempts de licence.

2.2 Définitions

Les termes et définitions ci après s’appliquent à cette norme :

Protocole d’accès/Access protocol : spécification relative à la mesure des niveaux de fond ambiant, naturels et artificiels, dans le but d’offrir une méthode d’accès au spectre qui diminue le potentiel de brouillage pouvant être subi ou généré par d’autres utilisateurs du spectre.

Contrôle avant communication/Listen Before Talk (LBT) : exigence de performance, habituellement sous la forme d’un protocole, qui exige d’un système de communication de déterminer si la bande de fréquences qu’il a l’intention d’utiliser est déjà occupée, et de sélectionner parmi les fréquences disponibles un canal de communication qui réduit, autant que possible, le brouillage probable qui pourrait être généré ou subi par d’autres utilisateurs.

Émetteur programmeur/contrôleur MMN /MMN programmer/control transmitter : émetteur-récepteur conçu pour surveiller la ou les bandes de fréquences que les dispositifs des réseaux de faible puissance à usage médical (MMN) ont l’intention d’occuper, en sélectionnant une bande de fréquences autorisée pour une liaison avec un émetteur d’implant médical selon l’utilisation du protocole d’accès LBT, et en transférant des données à destination ou en provenance des dispositifs MMN, une fois la liaison de communication établie.

Réseau de faible puissance à usage médical/Medical Micropower Network (MMN) : réseau large bande de très faible puissance consistant en un émetteur programmeur/contrôleur MMN et en des émetteurs d’implants médicaux, lesquels sont tous conçus pour émettre ou recevoir des données non vocales ou des commandes de contrôle de dispositifs connexes visant à faciliter la stimulation électrique fonctionnelle, une technique mettant en œuvre des courants électriques pour activer et surveiller des nerfs et des muscles.

Système de surveillance/Monitoring system : circuits de l’émetteur programmeur/contrôleur qui assure la conformité aux exigences du protocole d’accès au spectre LBT.

Niveau du seuil de puissance/Threshold power level : niveau de puissance du signal ambiant d’un système LBT, tel que défini ci dessus, et utilisé par le système de surveillance pour déterminer si le spectre est libre et s’il peut être sélectionné lors d’une session de communication.


3. Méthodes de mesure

3.1 Références

Les exigences ci après s’ajoutent à celles du CNR-Gén:

Le matériel destiné à être implanté dans ou porté sur le corps humain doit être testé avec un torse humain simulé afin de répliquer le fonctionnement du dispositif dans des conditions réelles. Pour de plus amples renseignements liés au torse humain simulé, veuillez consulter l’annexe A de la plus récente version de la norme ETSI EN 301 839-1 Questions relatives à la compatibilité électromagnétique et au spectre radioélectrique (CSR); dispositifs de faible portée (DFP); implants médicaux actifs de très faible puissance et leurs accessoires exploités dans la gamme de fréquences de 402 MHz à 405 MHz; partie 1 : caractéristiques techniques et méthodes d’essai, ou l’annexe A de la plus récente version de la norme ETSI EN 302 537-1 Questions relatives à la compatibilité électromagnétique et au spectre radioélectrique (CSR); systèmes de service de données médicales de très faible puissance exploités dans la gamme de fréquences de 401 MHz à 402 MHz et de 405 MHz à 406 MHz; partie 1 : caractéristiques techniques et méthodes d’essai. Les propriétés diélectriques des tissus du matériau (basés sur des tissus musculaires humains) doivent être compatibles avec les bandes de fréquences 416 MHz, 429 MHz, 441 MHz et 454 MHzNote de bas de page 1. La tolérance des propriétés de permittivité et de conductivité relatives du matériau doit être de ± 5 %.

3.2 Largeur de bande occupée

La méthode de mesure de la largeur de bande occupée définie dans le CNR-Gén sera utilisée.

3.3 Stabilité de fréquence

Les plages de températures et de tensions d’alimentation suivantes s’appliquent :

  1. Dispositifs externes :
    1. utilisés normalement à l’extérieur, à des températures de -30 °C, +20 °C et +50 °C, à la tension d’alimentation nominale indiquée par le fabricant;
    2. utilisés normalement à l’intérieur, à des températures de 0 °C, +20 °C et +50 °C, à la tension d’alimentation nominale indiquée par le fabricant;
    3. à une température de +20 °C, à ±10 % de la tension d’alimentation nominale indiquée par le fabricant.
  2. Dispositifs médicaux internes et portés sur soi :

    à des températures de +25 °C, +37 °C et +45 °C et à la tension nominale de fonctionnement indiquée par le fabricant en utilisant une pile neuve seulement.

Si la limite de stabilité de la fréquence est atteinte seulement à une gamme de températures différentes de celles indiquées en a) (i) et (ii) ou en b), la stabilité de fréquence requise est réputée atteinte si l’émetteur est automatiquement empêché de fonctionner à l’extérieur de cette gamme de températures différentes et que les modifications des caractéristiques de fonctionnement du matériel sont publiées afin de tenir compte de cette gamme de températures différentes.

3.4 Puissance isotrope rayonnée équivalente

La puissance isotrope rayonnée équivalente (p.i.r.e) maximale doit être déterminée en mesurant le champ rayonné à trois mètres et en calculant la p.i.r.e. La p.i.r.e maximale doit être mesurée en utilisant un détecteur de crête lorsque la transmission est continue et à un niveau de puissance maximal. Pour ce qui a trait au matériel destiné à être implanté dans le corps humain ou porté sur lui, la p.i.r.e. doit être mesurée avec le torse humain simulé, conformément aux normes ETSI mentionnées au paragraphe 3.1.

3.5 Rayonnements non désirés de l’émetteur

En plus des exigences du CNR-Gén, les rayonnements non désirés des émetteurs conçus pour être implantés dans le corps humain ou portés sur lui doivent être mesurés en utilisant le torse humain simulé, conformément aux normes ETSI mentionnées au paragraphe 3.1.

3.6 Rayonnements non essentiels du récepteur

En plus des exigences du CNR-Gén, les rayonnements non essentiels des récepteurs conçus pour être implantés dans le corps humain ou portés sur lui doivent être mesurés en utilisant le torse humain simulé, conformément aux normes ETSI mentionnées au paragraphe 3.1. L’utilisation de la méthode de mesure aux bornes d’antenne peut être une option de rechange si l’antenne est amovible. On pourra alors mesurer le signal non essentiel du récepteur au port d’antenne.

3.7 Mesures du système de surveillance

Les fabricants des dispositifs MMN doivent partager le spectre avec les autres fabricants de façon égale afin d’assurer la santé et la sécurité des patients qui utilisent ce système. Afin d’y parvenir, l’implant médical doit fonctionner sous la commande d’un émetteur programmeur/contrôleur intégrant un mécanisme de surveillance de toutes les bandes de fréquences autorisées. La bande de fréquences occupée sélectionnée doit avoir un niveau de bruit ambiant inférieur au seuil du système.

Le fonctionnement du système doit être basé sur un programmeur/contrôleur externe conçu pour programmer les transmissions de l’implant. Un patient peut avoir dans son corps plusieurs MMN. Chaque réseau peut comprendre plusieurs dispositifs implantés dotés de leur propre programmeur/contrôleur. Lorsqu’un individu est muni de deux implants ou plus, la communication entre implants n’est pas autorisée. Les émetteurs programmeurs/contrôleurs MMN et les émetteurs de l’implant médical ne peuvent pas retransmettre les données des bandes 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz et 451-457 MHz à un récepteur ne faisant pas partie du même réseau. Les communications entre programmeurs/contrôleurs sont cependant autorisées, le but étant de faciliter le partage du spectre et d’éviter tout brouillage entre deux réseaux MMN.

Les méthodes de mesureNote de bas de page 2 décrites à la section 10 de la norme ETSI EN 301 839-1 doivent être utilisées pour déterminer la conformité aux exigences de surveillance des dispositifs MMN énoncées à la section 4.7 de cette norme.

Les paramètres à mesurer sont plus précisément les suivants :

  1. seuils de puissance du systèmeNote de bas de page 3;
  2. largeur de bande du système de surveillanceNote de bas de page 4;
  3. temps de balayage du système et durée de surveillance minimaleNote de bas de page 5;
  4. accès aux fréquencesNote de bas de page 6
  5. interruption d’une session du réseau MMNNote de bas de page 7.

4. Spécifications générales des émetteurs et des récepteurs

4.1 Largeur de bande autorisée

La largeur de bande autorisée des réseaux MMN fonctionnant dans les bandes de fréquences 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz et 451-457 MHz ne doit pas dépasser 6 MHz.

Tout dispositif médical intégré à un MMN doit pouvoir fonctionner dans chacune des bandes de fréquences suivantes : 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz et 451-457 MHz. Tous les dispositifs médicaux intégrés à un seul MMN doivent fonctionner dans la même bande de fréquences.

4.2 Types de modulation

L’équipement certifié conformément au présent cahier des charges doit utiliser la modulation numérique. L’émission de communication phonique numérisée ou analogique est interdite.

4.3 Stabilité de fréquence

La fréquence porteuse ne doit pas s’écarter de la fréquence de référence de plus de ± 100 ppm.

4.4 Puissance isotrope rayonnée équivalente

La p.i.r.e. maximale d’un émetteur programmeur/contrôleur MMN et d’un émetteur implanté au delà des bandes de fréquences 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz et 451-457 MHz ne doit pas dépasser 10 log B -7.782 dBm, où B représente la largeur de bandeNote de bas de page 8 d’émission de 99 % en MHz. La densité spectrale de la puissance de crête ne doit pas dépasser 800 microwatts par mégahertz (μW/MHz) dans n’importe quelle bande de 1 mégahertz (MHz).

4.5 Rayonnements non désirés de l’émetteur

En plus des exigences du CNR-Gén, les rayonnements non désirés de l’émetteur suivants s’appliquent :

  1. Dans les 2,5 premiers MHz au dessus ou au dessous des bandes MMN (413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz et 451-457 MHz), le niveau de la p.i.r.e de tout rayonnement non désiré doit être atténué d’au moins 20 dB sous la p.i.r.e maximale, à 1 MHz près du rayonnement fondamental. Ces mesures sont réalisées en utilisant un détecteur de crête ayant une largeur de bande de résolution représentant environ 1,0 % de la largeur d’émission du dispositif en cours de mesure.
  2. Les émissions produites par les dispositifs MMN qui dépassent 2,5 MHz en dehors des bandes de fréquences MMN (413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz et 451-457 MHz) ne doivent pas dépasser les limites de rayonnements non essentiels de l’émetteur applicables aux dispositifs exempts de licence mentionnées dans le CNR-Gén. Aux limites de bande, la limite la plus stricte s’applique.

4.6 Rayonnements non essentiels du récepteur

Les rayonnements non essentiels du récepteur doivent être conformes aux limites énoncées dans le CNR-Gén.

4.7 Caractéristiques du système de surveillance

L’émetteur programmeur/contrôleur MMN doit intégrer un mécanisme conçu pour surveiller la largeur de bande autorisée des bandes de fréquences que l’émetteur MMN prévoit utiliser. L’antenne du système de surveillance doit être la même antenne que celle utilisée par l’émetteur programmeur/contrôleur lors d’une session de communication.

4.7.1 Seuils de puissance du système

Les seuils de puissance du système sont établis à -60 dBm, tels que reçus par une antenne de gain de 0 dBi dans n’importe quelle largeur de bande de 12,5 kHz à l’intérieur de la largeur de bande occupée par l’émetteur programmeur/contrôleur MMN.

4.7.2 Largeur de bande du système de surveillance

La largeur de bande du système de surveillance mesurée à son point bas de 20 dB doit être égale ou supérieure à la largeur de bande occupée de l’émission prévue.

4.7.3 Temps du cycle de balayage et durée de surveillance minimale

Un émetteur programmeur/contrôleur MMN doit pouvoir contrôler sa bande de fréquences occupée au moins une fois toutes les secondes, et il doit être capable de surveiller d’autres bandes de fréquences moins de deux secondes avant de modifier la bande de fréquences.

Un émetteur programmeur/contrôleur MMN doit pouvoir contrôler sa bande de fréquences occupée et déterminer si la liaison de communication est dégradée dans un sens au point d’être perdue pendant plus de 45 millisecondes. Si l’émetteur établit qu’un sens de liaison de communication est dégradé, il doit passer à une autre bande de fréquences.

4.7.4 Accès à la bande de fréquences

Si les seuils de puissance du système sont supérieurs à -60 dBm, tel que cela est indiqué au paragraphe 4.7.1, l’émetteur programmeur/contrôleur MMN doit passer à une autre bande de fréquences en moins d’une seconde à compter de la détection d’un signal persistant (autrement dit, une durée de plus de 50 millisecondes).

4.7.5 Interruption d'une session MMN

Les émetteurs MMN doivent comporter un dispositif programmable capable de déclencher un processus d’arrêt du système en cas de panne de communication, sur ordre de l’émetteur programmeur/contrôleur MMN ou lorsqu’aucune bande de fréquences n’est disponible. Le processus d’arrêt doit débuter dans un délai de moins de 45 millisecondes après la perte de la liaison de communication ou après la réception de l’ordre d’arrêt émis par l’émetteur programmeur/contrôleur MMN.

4.8 Cycle d’utilisation

Aux fins de la présente norme, le cycle d’utilisation est défini comme étant la durée maximale de marche de l’émetteur à une seule fréquence porteuse, dans une période d’une heure, exprimée en pourcentage.

Le cycle d’utilisation de tous les émetteurs programmeurs/contrôleurs MMN fonctionnant dans les bandes de fréquences 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz et 451-457 MHz ne doit pas dépasser 3 %.

5. Manuel de l’utilisateur

Le manuel de l’utilisateur des émetteurs régis par le présent CNR doit faire mention, à un endroit bien en vue, de l’énoncé suivant :

« Le présent dispositif ne doit pas causer de brouillage aux stations autorisées à titre primaire, fonctionnant dans les bandes de fréquences 413-419 MHz, 426-432 MHz, 438-444 MHz et 451-457 MHz, et il doit accepter tout brouillage reçu, y compris le brouillage pouvant entraîner un mauvais fonctionnement du dispositif. »

Date de modification :