Gazette Notice SMSE-004-13

Department of Industry
Radiocommunication Act

Posted on Industry Canada website: June 28, 2013
Publication Date in Canada Gazette: June 29, 2013

Notice No. SMSE-004-13 — Consultation on Proposed Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations

The purpose of this notice is to announce the release of Industry Canada’s consultation paper entitled Proposed Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations (the Canadian Table) and to invite comments on the proposed revisions contained therein.

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) adopts the international Table of Frequency Allocations (the International Table) as part of the international Radio Regulations. This International Table allocates radio frequency spectrum to various combinations of radio services and is revised on a periodic basis, along with other parts of the Radio Regulations.

The Canadian Table is derived from the International Table adopted by the ITU. The Canadian Table identifies the radio services required to meet Canadian needs and specifies, by Canadian footnote, any additional provisions for use of those services in Canada. Industry Canada revises the Canadian Table on a periodic basis, normally following an ITU World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC). WRC‑12, which took place from January 23 to February 17, 2012, adopted several changes to the frequency allocations in the International Table. WRC‑12 dealt with issues concerning the amateur, fixed, mobile, broadcasting, radiolocation, navigation, space science, broadcasting‑satellite, mobile‑satellite and fixed‑satellite services. The resulting changes to the International Table require the consideration of several domestic issues. The above‑mentioned consultation paper presents these issues and proposed revisions to the Canadian Table. This consultation also addresses other domestic requirements that have emerged since the Canadian Table was last updated.

Submitting comments

Interested parties are invited to submit comments on the consultation paper. Comments must be submitted by September 27, 2013. Soon after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada’s Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in XHTML format to the following e‑mail address: spectrum.engineering@ic.gc.ca. Other electronic formats, such as Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF, will also be accepted, along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch (JETN, Room 1943B), Industry Canada, 235 Queen Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5. All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, the title and the notice reference number (SMSE-004-13).

Obtaining copies

Copies of this notice and of documents referred to herein are available electronically on Industry Canada’s Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official versions of Canada Gazette notices can be viewed at www.gazette.gc.ca/index-eng.html. Printed copies of the Canada Gazette can be ordered by telephoning the sales counter of Publishing and Depository Services at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

June 20, 2013

space to insert signature
MARC DUPUIS
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

Avis de la Gazette SMSE-004-13

Ministère de l’Industrie
Loi sur la radiocommunication

Affiché sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada : le 28 juin 2013 Date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada : le 29 juin 2013

Avis no SMSE-004-13 — Consultation sur les révisions proposées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences

Le présent avis a pour but d’annoncer la publication du document de consultation d’Industrie Canada intitulé Révisions proposées au Tableau canadien d’attribution des bandes de fréquences (le Tableau canadien). De plus, il invite les intéressés à présenter leurs observations sur les révisions qui y sont proposées.

L’Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT) adopte le Tableau d’attribution des bandes de fréquences (le Tableau international) dans le cadre de son Règlement des radiocommunications. Ce Tableau international attribue les fréquences radioélectriques à diverses combinaisons de services radio et est révisé périodiquement, en même temps que d'autres dispositions du Règlement des radiocommunications.

Le Tableau canadien s’inspire du Tableau international adopté par l’UIT. Le Tableau canadien identifie les services radio nécessaires pour répondre aux besoins canadiens et précise, au moyen de renvois canadiens, les dispositions additionnelles applicables à ces services au Canada. Industrie Canada révise périodiquement le Tableau canadien, normalement après la tenue d'une Conférence mondiale des radiocommunications (CMR) de l’UIT. Lors de la CMR‑12, qui s’est déroulée du 23 janvier au 17 février 2012, plusieurs modifications ont été apportées au Tableau international. Les travaux de la CMR portaient sur les services suivants : amateur, fixe, mobile, radiodiffusion, radiolocalisation, navigation, science spatiale, radiodiffusion par satellite, mobile par satellite et fixe par satellite. En conséquence, certains changements ont été apportés au Tableau international et ont entraîné la prise en compte de plusieurs enjeux liés à l’attribution des fréquences au Canada. Le document de consultation susmentionné énonce ces enjeux et propose des révisions à apporter au Tableau canadien. Cette consultation aborde également d'autres exigences nationales ayant surgi depuis la dernière mise à jour du Tableau canadien.

Présentation des commentaires

Industrie Canada invite les parties intéressées à lui faire part de leurs observations au sujet du document de consultation. Ces observations doivent être reçues au plus tard le 27 septembre 2013. Peu après la clôture de la période des commentaires, toutes les observations reçues seront affichées sur le site Web de Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d’Industrie Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Les intéressés sont invités à envoyer leurs commentaires en format XHTML à l’adresse courriel spectrum.engineering@ic.gc.ca. Les autres formats électroniques, tels que Microsoft Word ou, Adobe PDF, sont aussi acceptables et doivent être accompagnés d'une note précisant le logiciel, son numéro de version et le système d'exploitation utilisé.

Les commentaires sur papier doivent être adressés au Directeur général, Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes (JETN, bureau 1943B), Industrie Canada, 235, rue Queen, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0H5. Toutes les soumissions doivent citer la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l’avis (SMSE-004-13).

Pour obtenir des copies

Le présent avis ainsi que les documents cités sont affichés sur le site Web de Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut obtenir la version officielle des avis de la Gazette du Canada à l'adresse : www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html. On peut également se procurer un exemplaire de la Gazette du Canada en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions et Services de dépôt au 613-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Le 20 juin 2013

Le Directeur général
Direction générale du génie,
de la planification et des normes

Champ de saisie de la signature
MARC DUPUIS