Consultation on a Policy and Technical Framework for the 700 MHz Band and Aspects Related to Commercial Mobile Spectrum—Long descriptions

Long description for Figure 4.1: Cellular Holdings

(a)

Description: Pie chart characterizing Cellular spectrum holdings based on percentage of total holdings (weighted by population). Rogers holds 50%, Bell holds, 33%, TELUS holds 12%, MTS holds 2%, SaskTel holds 2%, and other service providers hold 1% of all of the spectrum available in this band.

(b)

Description: Bar chart of Cellular spectrum holdings (weighted by population and rounded to the nearest MHz) by tier-2 region.

Figure 4.1 - Cellular spectrum holdings by tier-2 region
RogersBell TELUSMTSSaskTelOthers
Yukon, NWT&NT2525     -
British Columbia250 25   0
Alberta25  25    -
Saskatchewan25   25 -
Manitoba25  25  -
Northern Ontario2525   0
Southern Ontario2523   2
Northern Quebec2524   1
E Ont & Outaouais2523   2
Southern Quebec2525   0
Eastern Quebec25178  0
New Brunswick2525    -
Nova Scotia &PEI2525    -
NFLD & LAB2525     -

Back to Figure 4.1

Long description for Figure 4.2: PCS Holdings

(a)

Description: Pie chart characterizing PCS spectrum holdings based on percentage of total holdings (weighted by population). Rogers holds 45%, Bell holds 20%, TELUS holds 26%, MTS holds 1%, SaskTel holds 1%, and other service providers hold 7% of all of the spectrum available in this band.

(b)

Description: Bar chart of PCS spectrum holdings (weighted by population and rounded to the nearest MHz) by tier-2 region.

Figure 4.2 - PCS spectrum holdings by tier-2 region
RogersBell GroupTELUSSaskTelMTSOthers
Yukon, NWT&NT40030  50
British Columbia604020  10
Alberta60302010 20
Saskatchewan60 3040 40
Manitoba60 40 3030
Northern Ontario601430  25
Southern Ontario503040  10
Northern Quebec40930  13
E Ont & Outaouais602040  10
Southern Quebec602040  10
Eastern Quebec602927  11
New Brunswick602030  20
Nova Scotia &PEI602040  10
NFLD & LAB602030  10

Back to Figure 4.2

Long description for Figure 4.3 – AWS Holdings

(a)

Description: Pie chart characterizing AWS spectrum holdings based on percentage of total holdings (weighted by population). Rogers holds 23%, Bell holds 14%, TELUS holds 18%, MTS holds 1%, SaskTel holds 1%, Videotron holds 14%, Globalive holds 12%, Shaw holds 7%, Mobilicity holds 6%, Bragg holds 4%, and others hold 0.1 all of the spectrum available in this band.

(b)

Description: Bar chart of AWS spectrum holdings (weighted by population and rounded to the nearest MHz) by tier-2 region.

Figure 4.3 - AWS spectrum holdings by tier-2 region
RogersBell TELUSBraggGlobaliveMobilicityMTSSaskTelShawVideotronOthers
Yukon, NWT&NT202010 40      -
British Columbia201020 107  23 0
Alberta209201108  21 0
Saskatchewan20 20 10  3010  -
Manitoba20 20 10 20 20  -
Northern Ontario2020102510   5  -
Southern Ontario20191122012   60
Northern Quebec202010      40 -
E Ont & Outaouais201416 1010   200
Southern Quebec20920      41 -
Eastern Quebec201020      40 -
New Brunswick2020103010      -
Nova Scotia &PEI2020103010      -
NFLD & LAB2020103010         -

Back to Figure 4.3

Long description for Figure 4.4 – BRS Holdings

(a)

Description: Pie chart characterizing BRS spectrum holdings based on percentage of total holdings (weighted by population). Rogers holds 48%, Bell holds 48%, SaskTel holds 2%, Image holds 2%, and others hold 1% of all available BRS spectrum.

(b)

Description: Bar chart of BRS spectrum holdings (weighted by population and rounded to the nearest MHz) by tier-2 region.

Figure 4.4 - BRS spectrum holdings by tier-2 region
Rogers Bell SaskTel SSI Micro Image Cablevision Val Gagné
Yukon, NWT&NT 10 10   44      
British Columbia 55 55          
Alberta 32 32          
Saskatchewan 0 0 63   60    
Manitoba 30 30          
Northern Ontario 32 32         9
Southern Ontario 59 59          
Northern Quebec 32 32          
E Ont & Outaouais 50 50          
Southern Quebec 58 58          
Eastern Quebec 49 49       11  
New Brunswick 32 32          
Nova Scotia &PEI 32 32          
NFLD & LAB 32 32          

Back to Figure 4.4

Long description for Figure 4.5 – Summary of holdings

Description: Pie chart characterizing a summary of spectrum holdings for Cellular, PCS, AWS and BRS spectrum, based on percentage of total holdings (weighted by population). Rogers holds 41%, Bell holds 29%, TELUS holds 15%, MTS holds 1% , SaskTel holds 1%, Videotron holds 3%, Globalive holds 3%, Shaw holds 2%, Mobilicity holds 2%, Bragg holds 1%, and others hold 2%.

Back to Figure 4.5

Long description for Figure 4.6 – Summary of holdings and available 700 and 2500 MHz.

Description: Pie chart characterizing a summary of spectrum holdings for Cellular, PCS, AWS and BRS spectrum already allocated and available 700 MHz and BRS spectrum to be made available, based on percentage of total holdings (weighted by population). Rogers holds 29%, Bell holds 19%, TELUS holds 10%, MTS holds 1% , SaskTel holds 1%, Videotron holds 2%, Globalive holds 2%, Shaw holds 1%, Mobilicity holds 1%, Bragg holds 1%, and Others hold 2%. The 700 MHz and BRS spectrum to be auctioned, will each represent 16% of all available spectrum.

Back to Figure 4.6

Long description for Figure 5.1: U.S. Band plan for the 700 MHz band

Description: This figure shows the U.S. 700 MHz band plan. It is divided into the Lower 700 MHz (TV channels 52-59) and the Upper 700 MHz (TV channels 60-69). In the Lower 700 MHz, there are 3 paired blocks (2 X 6 MHz each), referred to as Block A (channel 52/57), B (channel 53/58), and C (channel 54/59). There are also two unpaired blocks, Blocks D (channel 55) and E (channel 56), each 6 MHz wide. In the Upper 700 MHz, there are five paired blocks: Block C (channel 60/65 and portions of channel 61/66) which is 2 X 11 MHz, Block A (within channel 61/66) is 2 X 1 MHz, Block D (lower portion of channel 62/67) is 2 X 5 MHz, a Public Safety block (cover channels 62,63,64/67,68,69) is 2 X 12 MHz and Block B (upper portion of channel 64/69) is 2 X 1 MHz.

The TV channels correspond to the following frequencies:

Figure 5.1 - U.S. band plan for the 700 MHz band
TV channelFrequency
52698-704 MHz
53704-710 MHz
54710-176 MHz
55716-722 MHz
56722-728 MHz
57728-734 MHz
58734-740 MHz
59740-746 MHz
60746-752 MHz
61752-758 MHz
62758-764 MHz
63764-770 MHz
64770-776 MHz
65776-782 MHz
66782-788 MHz
67788-794 MHz
68794-800 MHz
69800-806 MHz

Table 5.1: Licences available in the Option 1

Description: This table identifies the blocks available for commercial and public safety spectrum, as well as bands which can be used as guardbands. For commercial use, there are three paired licences of 6+6 MHz wide each (blocks A,B, C), and one paired licence (block C in the Upper 700) that is 11+11 MHz wide. Pending the decision on the spectrum used for broadband public safety, there may be an addition paired licence of 5+5 MHz (block D in the Upper 700) that will be available for commercial use. There are also two unpaired licences (blocks D and E in the Lower 700), each 6 MHz wide. The total spectrum available or commercial use will be either 68 MHz or 58 MHz.

For public safety, there will be either a 5+5 MHz or a 10+10 MHz licence available for broadband public safety use (pending decisions on public safety in Section 5.2) in addition to the 8+8 MHz and a narrowband channels already used by public safety services. Public safety service will have either 26 MHz or 36 MHz available for their use.

There will also be two licence that are 1+1 MHz each (or a total of 4 MHz) which will be used as guardbands.

Back to Figure 5.1

Long description for Figure 5.2: Comparison of U.S. band plan and 3GPP technical specification for equipment

Description: This figure shows two charts: the chart for the general band plan for 700 MHz spectrum and secondly, the 3GPP band plan to describe the technical specifications for equipment. Blocks A (channel 52/57), B (channel 53/58) and C (channel 54/59) in the Lower 700 MHz band and block C in the Upper 700 MHz are paired (channel 60,61/65, 66), whereas blocks D and E in the Lower 700 MHz band are unpaired (channels 55 and 56, respectively). Equipment built for these blocks must follow the technical specifications established by the 3GPP, which has identified these frequency ranges as Band 12, 13, 14, and 17. Band 12 aligns with Blocks A, B, C in the Lower 700 MHz band, while Band 13 aligns with Block C in the Upper 700 MHz. Band 17 covers blocks B and C (in the lower 700 MHz) and Band 14 covers Block D and the Public safety broadband spectrum in the Upper 700 MHz (that is, the range 758-768 MHz paired with 788-798 MHz).

Back to Figure 5.2

Long description for Figure 5.3: Potential interference issues between adjacent services

Description: This figure illustrates the different potential interference issues which may arrive between adjacent services. High power digital television (DTV) operations in TV channel 51 may cause interference to future commercial service operations in TV channel 52. As no guardbands are provided between the paired and unpaired operations in the Lower 700 MHz band, mutual harmful interference is possible between services adjacent to either the 716 MHz or 728 MHz frequencies. In the Upper 700 MHz band, there is potential risk of overload interference to broadband base receivers operating above 776 MHz from high power public safety narrowband transmissions immediately below 775 MHz.

Back to Figure 5.3

Long description for Figure 5.4: Option 2a band plan architecture

Description: This figure illustrates different bandwidths available in the 700 MHz band. In the Lower 700 MHz band, there are two paired bands available, 8+8 MHz (698-706/728-736 MHz) and 10+10 MHz (706-716/736-746 MHz), plus a single 12 MHz (716-728 MHz) licence. In the Upper 700 MHz band, there is a paired 11+11 MHz licence (746-757/776-787 MHz) and either one 10+10 (758-768/788-798 MHz), 5+5 MHz (758-763/788-793 MHz) or 0+0 MHz available (pending decisions on public safety broadband spectrum). Therefore a total of 78 MHz, or 68 MHz or 58 MHz will be available for commercial use.

For public safety there may be either 0+0 MHz, 5+5 MHz (763-768/793-798 MHz), or 10+10 MHz (758-768/788-798 MHz) available for broadband use, in addition to their narrowband and 8+8 MHz spectrum currently being use. As a result, pubic safety may have either 16 MHz, 26 MHz, or 36 MHz available for use.

There will also be two 1 MHz (757-758 MHz, 787-788 MHz) licences available for guardband use in the Upper 700 MHz band.

Back to Figure 5.4

Long description for Figure 5.5: Option 2b band plan architecture

Description: The figure illustrates different bandwidths available in the 700 MHz band. There are five, (701-706/731-736 MHz, 706-711/736-741 MHz, 711-716 MHz/741-746 MHz, 746-751/777-782 MHz, 751-756/782-787 MHz) six (as before plus, 759-763/788-793 MHz), or seven (including 763-768/793-798 MHz) paired bands of 5+5 MHz each available for commercial use in addition to one paired band of 3+3 MHz (698-701/728-731 MHz). Therefore, a total of 76 MHz, 66 MHz or 56 MHz available for commercial use. There are also two unpaired licence of 6+6 MHz each.

For public safety there may be 0+0 MHz, 5+5 MHz (763-768/793-798 MHz), or 10+10 MHz (758-768/788-798 MHz) available for broadband use, in addition to their narrowband and 8+8 MHz spectrum currently being use. As a result, pubic safety may have 16 MHz, 26 MHz, or 36 MHz available for use.

In the upper 700 MHz band, there will also be four guardbands, each 1 MHz wide.

Back to Figure 5.5

Long description for Figure 5.6: APT band plan for FDD operations in the 698-806 MHz range

Description: This figure describes the APT band plan in which the base receive operates in the 703-748 MHz and the base transmit operates in the 758-803 MHz ranges. This allows for 90 MHz of spectrum for commercial use. There are two guardbands: one in the range 698-703 MHz and another at 803-806 MHz (or a total of 18 MHz). There is also a centre gap between the base receive and transmit in the range 748-758 MHz.

Back to Figure 5.6

Long description for Figure 5.7: Canadian and U.S. Band Plan for Public Safety

Description: These charts show the U.S. and Canadian public safety band plans for the Upper 700 MHz band, i.e. the band 746-806 MHz.

Figure a) shows the existing Canadian band plan for the band 746-806 MHz. The Upper 700 MHz band includes analog TV channels 60, 61 and 62, the 746-764 MHz band, paired with analog TV channels 65, 66 and 67, the 776-794 MHz band. These paired bands have been designated as future commercial mobile spectrum. The Upper 700 MHz band also includes analog TV channels 63 and 64, the 764-776 MHz band, paired with analog TV channels 68 and 69, the 794-806 MHz band, designated for public safety use. Of this spectrum, 8+8 MHz, the paired bands 768-776 MHz and 798-806 MHz, is designated for public safety narrowband and wideband use while the band plan adopted in 2009 indicates that 4+4 MHz of this spectrum, the paired bands 764-768 MHz and 794-798 MHz, will be subject to a future consultation.

Figure b) shows the U.S. band plan for the band 746-806 MHz, consisting of analog TV channels 60 to 64, the 746-776 MHz band, paired with analog TV channels 65 to 69, the 776-806 MHz band. It includes the paired 11+11 MHz C block consisting of the 746-757 MHz and 776-787 MHz bands, the paired 5+5 MHz D block consisting of the 758-763 MHz and 788-793 MHz bands, the paired 5+5 public safety broadband (BB) block consisting of the 763‑-768 MHz and 793-798 MHz bands, the paired 6+6 MHz public safety narrowband (NB) block consisting of the 769-775 MHz and 799-805 MHz bands as well as six 1 MHz guardbands at 757-758 MHz, 768-769 MHz, 775-776 MHz, 787-788 MHz, 798-799 MHz and 805-806 MHz.

Back to Figure 5.7

Long description for Figure 5.8: 700 MHz Public Safety Spectrum - Option 1

Description: This chart shows the 700 MHz public safety band plan for Option 1. The band consists of analog TV channels 60 to 64, the 746-776 MHz band, paired with analog TV channels 65 to 69, the 776-806 MHz band. It includes the paired 12+12 MHz block of spectrum consisting of the 746-758 MHz and 776-788 MHz bands to be auctioned for commercial mobile use, the paired 5+5 MHz block consisting of the 758-763 MHz and 788-793 MHz bands, referred to as the D block, to be auctioned for commercial mobile use under Option 1, the paired 5+5 public safety broadband (BB) block consisting of the 763-768 MHz and 793-798 MHz bands to be designated for public safety broadband use under Option 1, as well as the paired 8+8 MHz public safety narrowband (NB) block consisting of the 768-776 MHz and 798-806 MHz bands.

Back to Figure 5.8

Long description for Figure 5.9: 700 MHz Public Safety Spectrum - Option 2

Description: This chart shows the 700 MHz public safety band plan for Option 2. The band consists of analog TV channels 60 to 64, the 746-776 MHz band, paired with analog TV channels 65 to 69, the 776-806 MHz band. It includes the paired 12+12 MHz block of spectrum consisting of the 746-758 MHz and 776-788 MHz bands to be auctioned for commercial mobile use, the paired 10+10 MHz block, including the D block, consisting of the 758-768 MHz and 788-798 MHz bands to be auctioned for commercial mobile use under Option 2, as well as the paired 8+8 MHz public safety narrowband (NB) block consisting of the 768-776 MHz and 798-806 MHz bands.

Back to Figure 5.9

Long description for Figure 5.10: 700 MHz Public Safety Spectrum - Option 3

Description: This chart shows the 700 MHz public safety band plan for Option 3. The band consists of analog TV channels 60 to 64, the 746-776 MHz band, paired with analog TV channels 65 to 69, the 776-806 MHz band. It includes the paired 12+12 MHz block of spectrum consisting of the 746-758 MHz and 776-788 MHz bands to be auctioned for commercial mobile use, the paired 10+10 MHz block consisting of the 758-768 MHz and 788-798 MHz bands to be designated for public safety broadband use under Option 3, as well as the paired 8+8 MHz public safety narrowband (NB) block consisting of the 768-776 MHz and 798-806 MHz bands.

Back to Figure 5.10

Date modified:

Consultation sur un cadre politique et technique visant la bande de 700  MHz et les aspects liés au spectre mobile commercial—Description détaillée

Description détaillée de la Figure 4.1 : Avoirs en fréquences de service cellulaire

a)

Description : Diagramme à secteurs représentant les avoirs en fréquences de service cellulaire selon le pourcentage du total des fréquences (pondéré en fonction de la population). Rogers détient 50 % des fréquences; Bell, 33 %; TELUS, 12 %; MTS, 2 %; SaskTel, 2 %; les autres fournisseurs de services détiennent 1 % de tout le spectre disponible dans cette bande.

b)

Description : Diagramme à barres représentant les avoirs en fréquences de service cellulaire (pondérés en fonction de la population et arrondis au MHz le plus proche) par région de niveau 2.

Figure 4.1 - Avoirs en fréquences de service cellulaire
RogersBell TELUSMTSSaskTelAutres
Yukon, T.N.-O. et TN2525 -
Colombie-Britannique25025  0
Alberta25 25   -
Saskatchewan25   25 -
Manitoba25  25  -
Nord de l’Ontario2525   0
Sud de l’Ontario2523   2
Nord du Québec2524   1
Est de l’Ontario et Outaouais2523   2
Sud du Québec2525   0
Est du Québec25178  0
Nouveau-Brunswick2525    -
Nouvelle-Écosse et Î.-P.-É.2525    -
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador2525 -

Retour à la Figure 4.1

Description détaillée de la Figure 4.2 : Avoirs en fréquences de SCP

a)

Description : Diagramme à secteurs représentant les avoirs en fréquences de SCP selon le pourcentage du total des fréquences (pondéré en fonction de la population). Rogers détient 45 % des fréquences; Bell, 20 %; TELUS, 26 %; MTS, 1 %; SaskTel, 1 %; les autres fournisseurs de services détiennent 7 % de tout le spectre disponible dans cette bande.

b)

Description : Diagramme à barres représentant les avoirs en fréquences de SCP (pondérés en fonction de la population et arrondis au MHz le plus proche) par région de niveau 2.

Figure 4.2 - Avoirs en fréquences de SCP
SCP + bloc G
  RogersGroupeBell TELUSSaskTel MTS Autres
Yukon, T.N.-O. et TN40030  50
Colombie-Britannique604020  10
Alberta60302010 20
Saskatchewan60 3040 40
Manitoba60 40 3030
Nord de l’Ontario601430  25
Sud de l’Ontario503040  10
Nord du Québec40930  13
Est de l’Ontario et Outaouais602040  10
Sud du Québec602040  10
Est du Québec602927  11
Nouveau-Brunswick602030  20
Nouvelle-Écosse et Î.-P.-É.602040  10
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador602030  10

Retour à la Figure 4.2

Description détaillée de la Figure 4.3  : Avoirs en fréquences de SSFE

a)

Description : Diagramme à secteurs représentant les avoirs en fréquences de SSFE selon le pourcentage du total des fréquences (pondéré en fonction de la population). Rogers détient 23 % des fréquences; Bell, 14 %; TELUS, 18 %; MTS, 1 %; SaskTel, 1 %; Videotron, 14 %; Globalive, 12 %; Shaw, 7 %; Mobilicity, 6 %; Bragg, 4 %; les autres fournisseurs de services détiennent 0,1 % de tout le spectre disponible dans cette bande.

b) Description : Diagramme à barres représentant les avoirs en fréquences de SSFE (pondérés en fonction de la population et arrondis au MHz le plus proche) par région de niveau 2.

Figure 4.3 - Avoirs en fréquences de SSFE
  RogersBell TELUSBraggGlobaliveMobilicityMTSSaskTelShawVideotronAutres
Yukon, T.N.-O. et TN202010 40      -
Colombie-Britannique201020 107  23 0
Alberta209201108  21 0
Saskatchewan20 20 10  3010  -
Manitoba20 20 10 20 20  -
Nord de l’Ontario2020102510   5  -
Sud de l’Ontario20191122012   60
Nord du Québec202010      40 -
Est de l’Ontario et Outaouais201416 1010   200
Sud du Québec20920      41 -
Est du Québec201020      40 -
Nouveau-Brunswick2020103010      -
Nouvelle-Écosse et Î.-P.-É.2020103010      -
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador2020103010 -

Retour à la Figure 4.3

Description détaillée de la Figure 4.4 : Avoirs en fréquences de SRLB

a)

Description : Diagramme à secteurs représentant les avoirs en fréquences de SRLB selon le pourcentage du total des fréquences (pondéré en fonction de la population). Rogers détient 48 % des fréquences; Bell, 48 %; SaskTel, 2 %; Image, 2 %; les autres fournisseurs de services détiennent 1 % de tout le spectre de SRLB disponible.

b)

Description : Diagramme à barres représentant les avoirs en fréquences de SRLB (pondérés en fonction de la population et arrondis au MHz le plus proche) par région de niveau 2.

Figure 4.1 - Avoirs en fréquences de SRLB
RogersBell SaskTelSSI MicroImageCablevisionVal Gagné
Yukon, T.N.-O. et TN1010 44   
Colombie-Britannique5555     
Alberta3232     
Saskatchewan0063 60  
Manitoba3030     
Nord de l’Ontario3232    9
Sud de l’Ontario5959     
Nord du Québec3232     
Est de l’Ontario et Outaouais5050     
Sud du Québec5858     
Est du Québec4949   11 
Nouveau-Brunswick3232     
Nouvelle-Écosse et Î.-P.-É.3232     
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador3232   

Retour à la Figure 4.4

Description détaillée de la Figure 4.5 : Sommaire des avoirs en fréquences

Description : Diagramme à secteurs représentant les avoirs en fréquences de service cellulaire, de SCP, de SSFE et de SRLB, selon le pourcentage du total des fréquences (pondéré en fonction de la population). Rogers détient 41 % des fréquences; Bell, 29 %; TELUS, 15 %; MTS, 1 %; SaskTel, 1 %; Videotron, 3 %; Globalive, 3 %; Shaw, 2 %; Mobilicity, 2 %; Bragg, 1 %; les autres fournisseurs de services détiennent 2 % de tout le spectre.

Retour à la Figure 4.5

Description détaillée de la Figure 4.6 : Sommaire des avoirs en fréquences pour les bandes 700 MHz et 2 500 MHz.

Description : Diagramme à secteurs représentant un sommaire des avoirs en fréquences de service cellulaire, de SCP, de SSFE et de SRLB déjà allouées et des bandes de fréquences de SRLB et de 700 MHz qui seront disponibles, selon le pourcentage du total des fréquences (pondéré en fonction de la population). Rogers détient 29 % des fréquences; Bell, 19 %; TELUS, 10 %; MTS, 1 %; SaskTel, 1 %; Videotron, 2 %; Globalive, 2 %; Shaw, 1 %; Mobilicity, 1 %; Bragg, 1 %; les autres fournisseurs de services détiennent 2 % de tout le spectre. Les bandes de fréquences de SRLB et de 700 MHz qui seront mises aux enchères représentent chacune 16 % de tout le spectre disponible.

Retour à la Figure 4.6

Description détaillée de la Figure 5.1 : Plan de répartition des États-Unis pour la bande de 700

Description : Cette figure illustre le plan de répartition des États-Unis de la bande de 700 MHz. Il est divisé entre la partie inférieure de la bande de 700 MHz (canaux 52 à 59) et la partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz (canaux 60 à 69). Dans la partie inférieure de la bande de 700 MHz, il y a trois blocs appariés (2 X 6 MHz chacun), appelés bloc A (canaux 52/57), B (canaux 53/58), et C (canaux 54/59). Il y a également deux blocs non appariés, soit le bloc D (canal 55) et le bloc E (canal 56), chacun de 6 MHz de largeur. Dans la partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz, il y a cinq blocs appariés : le bloc C (canaux 60/65 et des parties des canaux 61/66) qui représente 2 X 11 MHz, le bloc A (à l’intérieur des canaux 61/66) qui représente 2 X 1 MHz, le bloc D (partie inférieure des canaux 62/67) qui représente 2 X 5 MHz, un bloc destiné aux services de sécurité publique (couvre les canaux 62, 63, 64/67, 68, 69) qui représente 2 X 12 MHz et le bloc B (partie supérieure des canaux 64/69) qui représente 2 X 1 MHz.

Les canaux correspondent aux fréquences suivantes :

Figure 5.1 - Plan de répartition des états-Unis pour le bande de 700 MHz
CanalFréquence
52698-704 MHz
53704-710 MHz
54710-176 MHz
55716-722 MHz
56722-728 MHz
57728-734 MHz
58734-740 MHz
59740-746 MHz
60746-752 MHz
61752-758 MHz
62758-764 MHz
63764-770 MHz
64770-776 MHz
65776-782 MHz
66782-788 MHz
67788-794 MHz
68794-800 MHz
69800-806 MHz

Tableau 5.1 : Licences accessibles suivant l'option 1

Description : Ce tableau illustre les blocs qui sont accessibles pour le spectre commercial et le spectre de la sécurité publique, ainsi que les bandes qui peuvent servir de bandes de garde. Pour un usage commercial, il y a trois licences appariées de 6+6 MHz de largeur chacune (blocs A, B, C), et une licence appariée (bloc C dans la partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz) de 11+11 MHz de largeur. En attendant la décision sur l’utilisation du spectre pour les services de sécurité publique à large bande, une autre licence appariée de 5+5 MHz (bloc D dans la partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz) pourrait être accessible en vue d’un usage commercial. Il y a également deux licences non appariées (blocs D et E dans la partie inférieure de la bande de 700 MHz), chacune de 6 MHz de largeur. La largeur totale du spectre accessible ou destiné à un usage commercial sera de 68 MHz ou de 58 MHz.

Pour les services de sécurité publique, il y aura une licence 5+5 MHz ou une licence 10+10 MHz disponible pour les services de sécurité publique à large bande (en attente d’une décision sur les services de sécurité publique, voir section 5.2), en plus de la bande de 8+8 MHz et des canaux de la bande étroite déjà utilisés pour les services de sécurité publique. Les services de sécurité publique disposeront de 26 MHz ou de 36 MHz.

Il y aura aussi deux licences qui représentent 1+1 MHz chacune (ou un total de 4 MHz) qui serviront de bandes de garde.

Retour à la Figure 5.1

Description détaillée de la Figure 5.2 : Comparaison du plan de répartition des États-Unis et de la spécification technique du 3GPP visant le matériel

Description : Cette figure représente deux tableaux, soit le tableau du plan de répartition général pour la bande de 700 MHz et le plan de répartition du 3GPP qui décrit les spécifications techniques visant le matériel. Les blocs A (canaux 52/57), B (canaux 53/58) et C (canaux 54/59) dans la partie inférieure de la bande de 700 MHz et le bloc C dans la partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz sont appariés (canaux 60, 61/65, 66), alors que les blocs D et E dans la partie inférieure de la bande de 700 MHz sont non appariés (canaux 55 et 56, respectivement). Le matériel bâti pour ces blocs doit respecter les spécifications techniques établies pour le 3GPP, selon lesquelles ces gammes de fréquences sont identifiées comme les bandes 12, 13, 14 et 17. La bande 12 correspond aux blocs A, B, C dans la partie inférieure de la bande de 700 MHz, alors que la bande 13 correspond au bloc C dans la partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz. La bande 17 couvre les blocs B et C (dans la partie inférieure de la bande de 700 MHz) et la bande 14 couvre le bloc D et la bande des services de sécurité publique à large bande dans la partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz (soit, la gamme de fréquence 758-768 MHz appariée à la gamme 788-798 MHz).

Retour à la Figure 5.2

Description détaillée de la Figure 5.3 : Problèmes de brouillage potentiel dans les services adjacents

Description : Cette figure illustre les différents problèmes de brouillage possibles qui peuvent survenir entre les services adjacents. Les transmissions de TVN (télévision numérique) grande puissance sur le canal télé 51 pourraient provoquer un brouillage des transmissions futures du service commercial du canal télé 52. Étant donné qu'aucune bande de garde n'est prévue entre les exploitations de blocs appariés et non appariés dans la partie inférieure de la bande de 700 MHz, il peut y avoir un brouillage mutuel préjudiciable entre les services adjacents aux fréquences 716 MHz ou 728 MHz. Dans la partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz, il y a risque de brouillage par surcharge des récepteurs de base à large bande fonctionnant à une fréquence supérieure à 776 MHz provenant des émissions bande étroite grande puissance de sécurité publique immédiatement sous les 775 MHz.

Retour à la Figure 5.3

Description détaillée de la Figure 5.4 : Configuration de bande suivant l’option 2a

Description : Cette figure illustre les différentes largeurs de bande disponibles dans la bande de 700 MHz. Dans la partie inférieure de la bande de 700 MHz, il y a deux bandes appariées disponibles, 8+8 MHz (698-706/728-736 MHz) et 10+10 MHz (706-716/736-746 MHz), en plus d’une licence unique de 12 MHz (716-728 MHz). Dans la partie supérieure de la bande de 700  MHz, il y a une licence appariée 11+11 MHz (746-757/776-787 MHz) et une licence 10+10 MHz (758-768/788-798 MHz), 5+5 MHz (758-763/788-793 MHz) ou 0+0 MHz disponible (en attente d’une décision sur l’utilisation du spectre pour les services de sécurité publique à large bande). Par conséquent, un total de 78 MHz, de 68 MHz ou de 58 MHz sera disponible pour un usage commercial.

Pour les services de sécurité publique, les choix sont de 0+0 MHz, 5+5 MHz (763-768/793-798 MHz) ou 10+10 MHz (758-768/788-798 MHz) disponibles pour un usage à large bande, en plus de la bande étroite et de la fréquence 8+8 MHz déjà utilisées. Ainsi, les services de sécurité publique pourraient être transmis sur les bandes de 16 MHz, 26 MHz ou 36 MHz.

Il y aura également deux licences de 1 MHz (757-758 MHz, 787-788 MHz) disponibles pour servir de bande de garde dans la partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz.

Retour à la Figure 5.4

Description détaillée de la Figure 5.5 : Configuration de bande suivant l’option 2b

Description : Cette figure illustre les différentes largeurs de bande disponibles dans la bande de 700 MHz. Il y a cinq (701-706/731-736 MHz, 706-711/736-741 MHz, 711-716 MHz/741-746 MHz, 746-751/777-782 MHz, 751-756/782-787 MHz), six (comme auparavant, plus 759-763/788-793 MHz), ou sept (y compris 763-768/793-798 MHz) bandes appariées de 5+5 MHz chacune disponible pour un usage commercial, en plus d’une bande appariée de 3+3 MHz (698-701/728-731 MHz). Par conséquent, un total de 76 MHz, 66 MHz ou 56 MHz est disponible pour un usage commercial. Il y a également deux licences non appariées de 6+6 MHz chacune.

Pour les services de sécurité publique, les choix sont de 0+0 MHz, 5+5 MHz (763-768/793-798 MHz) ou 10+10 MHz (758-768/788-798 MHz) disponibles pour un usage à large bande, en plus de la bande étroite et de la fréquence 8+8 MHz déjà utilisées. Ainsi, les services de sécurité publique pourraient être transmis sur les bandes de 16 MHz, 26 MHz ou 36 MHz.

Dans la partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz, il y aura également quatre bandes de garde de 1 MHz de largeur, chacune.

Retour à la Figure 5.5

Description détaillée de la Figure 5.6 : Plan de répartition de l’APT pour l’exploitation en mode DRF dans la gamme 698-806 MHz

Description : Cette figure décrit le plan de répartition de l’APT où la réception base transmet dans la gamme 703-748 MHz et l’émission base transmet dans la gamme 758-803 MHz. Cela permet de réserver 90 MHz à un usage commercial. Il y a deux bandes de garde : une dans la gamme 698 703 MHz et l’autre dans la gamme 803-806 MHz (pour un total de 18 MHz). Il y a également un espacement central entre la réception base et l’émission base dans la gamme 748-758 MHz.

Retour à la Figure 5.6

Description détaillée de la Figure 5.7 : Plan de répartition canadien et américain pour la sécurité publique

Description : Ces tableaux illustrent les plans de répartition canadien et américain pour la sécurité publique dans la partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz, soit la bande 746-806 MHz.

La figure a) illustre le plan de répartition canadien existant pour la bande 746-806 MHz. La partie supérieure de la bande 700 MHz comprend les canaux télé analogique 60, 61 et 62, correspondant à la bande 746-764 MHz, appariés aux canaux télé analogique 65, 66 et 67, correspondant à la bande 776-794 MHz. Ces bandes appariées ont été désignées pour le futur spectre mobile commercial. La partie supérieure de la bande de 700 MHz comprend également les canaux télé analogique 63 et 64, correspondant à la bande 764-776 MHz, appariés aux canaux télé analogique 68 et 69, correspondant à la bande 794-806 MHz, désignée pour les services de sécurité publique. Dans ce spectre, le bloc 8+8 MHz, correspondant aux bandes appariées 768-776 MHz et 798-806 MHz, est désigné pour les services de sécurité publique à bande étroite et à large bande, alors que le plan de répartition adopté en 2009 indique que le bloc 4+4 MHz de ce spectre, correspondant aux bandes appariées 764-768 MHz et 794-798 MHz, fera l’objet de futures consultations.

La figure b) illustre le plan de répartition américain pour la bande 746-806 MHz, comprenant les canaux télé analogique 60 à 64, correspondant à la bande 746-776 MHz, appariés aux canaux télé analogique 65 à 69, correspondant à la bande 776-806 MHz. Cela comprend le bloc C apparié 11+11 MHz, comprenant les bandes 746-757 MHz et 776-787 MHz, le bloc D apparié 5+5 MHz, comprenant les bandes 758-763 MHz et 788-793 MHz, le bloc apparié 5+5 MHz pour les services de sécurité publique à large bande, comprenant les bandes 763-768 MHz et 793-798 MHz, le bloc 6+6 MHz apparié pour les services de sécurité publique à bande étroite, comprenant les bandes 769-775 MHz et 799-805 MHz ainsi que six bandes de garde de 1 MHz aux fréquences 757-758 MHz, 768-769 MHz, 775-776 MHz, 787-788 MHz, 798-799 MHz et 805-806 MHz.

Retour à la Figure 5.7

Description détaillée de la Figure 5.8 : Fréquences de sécurité publique dans la bande de 700 MHz – Option 1

Description : Ce graphique illustre le plan de répartition pour les services de sécurité publique dans la bande de 700 MHz pour l'option 1. La bande comprend les canaux télé analogique 60 à 64, correspondant à la bande 746-776 MHz, appariés aux canaux télé analogique 65 à 69, correspondant à la bande 776-806 MHz. Cela comprend le bloc apparié 12+12 MHz formé des bandes 746-758 MHz et 776-788 MHz qui sera vendu aux enchères pour usage mobile commercial, le bloc apparié 5+5 MHz formé des bandes 758-763 MHz et 788-793 MHz, appelé le bloc D, qui sera vendu aux enchères pour un usage mobile commercial en vertu de l'option 1, le bloc apparié 5+5 MHz pour les services de sécurité publique à large bande, comprenant les bandes 763-768 MHz et 793-798 MHz, désigné pour les services publics à large bande en vertu de l'option 1, ainsi que le bloc apparié 8+8 MHz pour les services de sécurité publique à bande étroite, comprenant les bandes 768-776 MHz et 798-806 MHz.

Retour à la Figure 5.8

Description détaillée de la Figure 5.9 – Fréquences de sécurité publique dans la bande de 700 MHz – Option 2

Description : Ce graphique illustre le plan de répartition pour les services de sécurité publique dans la bande de 700 MHz pour l’option 2. La bande comprend les canaux télé analogique 60 à 64, correspondant à la bande 746-776 MHz, appariés aux canaux télé analogique 65 à 69, correspondant à la bande 776-806 MHz. Cela comprend le bloc apparié 12+12 MHz formé des bandes 746-758 MHz et 776-788 MHz qui sera vendu aux enchères pour usage mobile commercial, le bloc apparié 10+10 MHz, comprenant le bloc D, formé des bandes 758-768 MHz et 788-798 MHz, qui sera vendu aux enchères pour un usage mobile commercial en vertu de l’option 2, ainsi que le bloc apparié 8+8 MHz pour les services de sécurité publique à bande étroite, comprenant les bandes 768-776 MHz et 798-806 MHz.

Retour à la Figure 5.9

Description détaillée de la Figure 5.10 – Fréquences de sécurité publique dans la bande de 700 MHz – Option 3

Description : Ce graphique illustre le plan de répartition pour les services de sécurité publique dans la bande de 700 MHz pour l’option 3. La bande comprend les canaux télé analogique 60 à 64, correspondant à la bande 746-776 MHz, appariés aux canaux télé analogique 65 à 69, correspondant à la bande 776-806 MHz. Cela comprend le bloc apparié 12+12 MHz formé des bandes 746-758 MHz et 776-788 MHz qui sera vendu aux enchères pour usage mobile commercial, le bloc apparié 10+10 MHz, formé des bandes 758-768 MHz et 788-798 MHz, désigné pour les services de sécurité publique à large bande en vertu de l’option 3, ainsi que le bloc apparié 8+8 MHz pour les services de sécurité publique à bande étroite, comprenant les bandes 768-776 MHz et 798-806 MHz.

Retour à la Figure 5.10

Date de modification :