Arrangement D

Arrangement Between the Department of Transport and the Interdepartment Radio Advisory Committee for the Exchange of Frequency Assignment Information and Engineering Comments on Proposed Assignments Along the Canada-United States Borders in Certain Frequency Bands Above 30 Mc/s

(Adopted Washington, D.C., June 1956; revised Ottawa, March 1962, and Washington, D.C., October 1964)

  1. This arrangement provides for the exchange of frequency assignment information and engineering comments on proposed assignments in the following frequency bands:
    1. Mc/s
      32.00–33.00
      34.00–35.00
      36.00–37.00
      38.00–39.00
      40.00–42.00

      148.00–149.60
      150.05–150.80
      162.00–174.00

      Mc/s
      1710.00–1850.00
      2200.00–2290.00
      4400.00–4990.00
      7125.00–7250.00
      7750.00–7900.00
    2. Mc/s
      2110.00–2120.00
      7250.00–7750.00
      7900.00–8400.00
  2. (a) For the bands below 1000 Mc/s, the areas involved are those bounded by:

    Line A — Begins at Aberdeen, Wash. running by great circle arc to the intersection of 48° N., 120° W., thence along parallel 48°N., to the intersection of 95°W., thence by great circle arc through the southernmost point of Duluth, Minn., thence by great circle arc to 45°N., 85°W., thence southward along meridian 85°W., to its intersection with 41° N., thence along parallel 41° N., to its intersection with meridian 82° W., thence by great circle arc through the southernmost point of Bangor, Me., thence by great circle arc through the southernmost point of Searsport, Me., at which point it terminates; and

    Line B — Begins at Tofino, B.C., running by great circle arc to the intersection of 50°N., 125°W., thence along parallel 50°N., to the intersection of 90°W., thence by great circle arc to the intersection of 45°N., 79° 30' W., thence by great circle arc through the northernmost point of Drummondville, Quebec (Lat: 45°52' N., Long: 72° 30' W.), thence by great circle arc to 48° 30' N., 70° W., thence by great circle arc through the northernmost point of Campbellton, N.B., thence by great circle arc through the northernmost point of Liverpool, N.S., at which point it terminates.

    Line C — Begins at the intersection of 70°N., 144°W., thence by great circle arc to the intersection of 60° N., 143° W., thence by great circle arc so as to include all of the Alaskan Panhandle; and

    Line D — Begins at the intersection of 70°N., 138°W., thence by great circle arc to the intersection of 61° 20' N., 139° W. (Burwash Landing), thence by great circle arc to the intersection of 60° 45' N., 135° W., thence by great circle arc to the intersection of 56°N., 128°W., thence south along 128°W. meridian to Lat. 55° N., thence by great circle arc to the intersection of 54° N., 130° W., thence by great circle arc to Port Clements, thence to the Pacific Ocean where it ends.

    (b) For any station of a terrestrial service using a band above 1000 Mc/s, the areas involved are as follows:
    1. For a station the antenna of which looks within the 200°sector toward the Canada-United States borders, that area in each country within 35 miles of the borders;
    2. For a station the antenna of which looks within the 160° sector away from the Canada-United States borders, that area in each country within 5 miles of the borders; and,
    3. The area in either country within the coordination distance (paragraph 8) of a receiving earth station in the other country which uses the same band.
    (c) For bands above 1000 Mc/s, coordination of an earth station is required if any portion of the Canada-United States borders lies within the coordination distance (paragraph 8) of the earth station.
  3. Current records of frequency assignments in the frequency bands listed in paragraph 1 will be exchanged as required.
  4. (a) Before either Agency takes final action on any proposal for the use of any frequency, other than for military tactical and training operations in the bands listed in paragraph 1(a), in the areas stipulated in paragraph 2:
    1. in the bands below 1000 Mc/s, listed in paragraph 1, involving power in excess of 5 watts; or,
    2. in the bands above 1000 Mc/s, listed in paragraph 1;

      it will refer the pertinent particulars of the proposed assignment (see Appendix 1, 2 or 3, as appropriate) to the other Agency for comment on whether the granting of an authorization will be liable to result in the causing of harmful interference to any existing radio operations of the Agency whose views are sought, or, in the case of a receiving earth station, whether harmful interference would be caused to reception at the earth station by any existing radio operations of the Agency whose views are sought.
    (b) If adverse comment is not received within 30 calendar days from the date of the receipt of the proposal, the initiating Agency may go ahead with the operation after having notified the other Agency. In an emergency, coordination may be effected after the assignment is put into operation.

    (c) Neither the Interdepartment Radio Advisory Committee or the Department of Transport shall be bound to act in accordance with the views of the other. However, to keep such instances to a minimum, each Agency should cooperate to the fullest extent practicable with the other by furnishing such additional data as may be required.
  5. In cases where the information available makes it difficult to determine whether harmful interference would be created by the granting of a particular authorization, arrangements may be made for actual on-the-air tests to be observed by representatives of each Agency and further exchanges of engineering comments following such tests.
  6. In the interest of planned use of the spectrum, information about future expansions and adjustments of the service allocated the use of the bands listed in paragraph 1, in the areas stipulated herein, may be exchanged to the maximum extent practicable.
  7. Where a previously coordinated frequency assignment is in use and an additional assignment is proposed for the same frequency in the same area, the additional assignment must also be coordinated, attention being drawn to the previous coordination. This does not apply to the addition of mobile units to a previously coordinated land mobile system.
  8. Coordination distance shall be the distance, calculated for any station, according to Recommendation 1A of the Final Acts of the EARC, Geneva, 1963.

Appendix 1 to Arrangement D

Basic Data Required for the Coordination of Terrestrial Stations in the Bands Below 1000 Mc/s

  1. Class of station
  2. Number of stations (including, when available, number of mobile stations)
  3. Location and coordinates
  4. Frequency
  5. Power (mean) delivered to the antenna
  6. Class of emission and necessary bandwidth
  7. Antenna gain (dB) and azimuth, when available
  8. Antenna elevation in ft. above mean sea level (MSL), when available

Appendix 2 to Arrangement D

  1. Class of station
  2. Number of stations (including, when available, number of mobile stations)
  3. Location and coordinates
  4. Frequency
  5. Power (mean) delivered to the antenna
  6. Class of emission and necessary bandwidth
  7. Antenna gain (dB) and azimuth, when available
  8. Antenna elevation in ft. above mean sea level (MSL), when available
  9. Polarization of transmitted wave
  10. Topographic map of territory between stations at fixed locations and the Canada-United States borders (required only for stations within the coordination distance of a previously coordinated earth station which uses the same band)

Appendix 3 to Arrangement D

Basic Data Required for the Coordination of Earth Stations in the Space Service

  1. Class of station
  2. Number of stations (including, when available, number of mobile stations)
  3. Location and coordinates
  4. Azimuthal and elevation coverage of celestial hemisphere as defined by main axis of antenna
  5. Class of emission and necessary bandwidth
  6. Power (mean) delivered to the antenna and, where applicable, estimated terminal coupling losses
  7. Maximum gain of antenna in the horizontal plane as a function of azimuth
  8. Maximum gain of antenna (referred to isotropic)
  9. Antenna elevation in ft. above mean sea level (MSL)
  10. Polarization of transmitted wave
  11. Topographic map of territory between earth station and Canada-U.S. borders in the sector wherein the coordination distance exceeds the distance to the border
  12. Numerical values of terrain shielding in the pertinent directions
Date modified:

Arrangement D

Arrangement entre le Ministère des Transports et l'Interdepartment Radio Advisory Committee pour l'échange de renseignements sur les assignations de fréquences et d'observations techniques sur les assignations de fréquences proposées le long de la frontière canado-américaine dans certaines bandes de fréquences supérieures à 30 Mc/s

(Adopté à Washington, D.C., en juin 1956; révisé à Ottawa en mars 1962 et à Washington, D.C., en octobre 1964)

  1. Le présent Arrangement porte sur l'échange de renseignements relatifs à l'assignation des fréquences et sur des observations techniques relatives aux assignations proposées dans les bandes de fréquences suivantes :
    1. Mc/s
      32,00–33,00
      34,00–35,00
      36,00–37,00
      38,00–39,00
      40,00–42,00

      148,00–149,60
      150,05–150,80
      162,00–174,00

      Mc/s
      1 710,00–1 850,00
      2 200,00–2 290,00
      4 400,00–4 990,00
      7 125,00–7 250,00
      7 750,00–7 900,00
    2. Mc/s
      2 110,00– 2 120,00
      7 250,00–7 750,00
      7 900,00–8 400,00
  2. (a) Pour les bandes inférieures à 1 000 Mc/s, les zones visées sont délimitées comme suit :
    Ligne A — Cette ligne part d'Aberdeen (Wash.), suit l'arc de grand cercle jusqu'à l'intersection 48° N. et 120° O., puis le parallèle 48° N. jusqu'à l'intersection 95° O. et de nouveau l'arc de grand cercle jusqu'au point le plus au nord de Duluth (Min.), et de là, l'arc de grand cercle jusqu'au point 48° N. et 85° O., puis longe en direction sud le méridien 85° O., jusqu'à l'intersection avec le parallèle 41° N., et ensuite le parallèle 41° N. jusqu'à son intersection entre le méridien 82° O., puis, suivant de nouveau l'arc de grand cercle, passe par le point le plus au sud de Bangor (Maine), et se termine au point le plus au sud de Searsport (Maine).

    Ligne B — Cette ligne part de Tofino (C.-B.), suit l'arc de grand cercle jusqu'à l'intersection 50° N. et 125° O., puis le parallèle 50° N. jusqu'au méridien 90° O., et de là, l'arc de grand cercle jusqu'à l'intersection 45° N. et 79° 30' O., puis l'arc de grand cercle jusqu'au point le plus au nord de Drummondville (Québec), soit 45° 52' de lat. et 72° 30' de long., puis de nouveau, suit l'arc de grand cercle jusqu'à 48° 30' N. et 70° O., puis, longeant encore une fois l'arc de grand cercle, passe par le point le plus au nord de Campbelton (N.-B.) et se termine au point le plus au nord de Liverpool (N.-É.);

    Ligne C — Cette ligne part de l'intersection 70° N et 144° O., suit l'arc de grand cercle jusqu'à l'intersection 60° N. et 143° O. de façon à s'étendre à toute la côte du Sitka;

    Ligne D — Cette ligne part de l'intersection 70° N. et 138° O., suit l'arc de grand cercle jusqu'à l'intersection 61° 20' N. et 139° O. (Burwash Landing), puis l'arc de grand cercle jusqu'à l'intersection 60° 45' N. et 135° O., puis l'arc de grand cercle jusqu'à l'intersection 56° N. et 128° O., puis vers le sud, le méridien 128° jusqu'à la latitude 55° N., puis l'arc de grand cercle jusqu'à l'intersection 54° N. et 130° O., puis l'arc de grand cercle
    jusqu'à Port Clements, et de là jusqu'à l'océan Pacifique, où elle se termine.

    (b) Pour toute station de service terrestre utilisant une bande supérieure à 1 000 Mc/s, les zones visées sont délimitées comme suit :
    1. Pour une station dont l'antenne est tournée dans le secteur de 200° vers la frontière canado-américaine,
    2. la zone située à moins de 35 milles de part et d'autre de la frontière;
    3. Pour une station dont l'antenne est tournée dans le secteur de 160° à l'opposé de la frontière canado-américaine, la zone située à moins de cinq milles de part et d'autre de la frontière;
    4. La zone de chaque pays qui se trouve dans le rayon de coordination (alinéa 8) d'une station terrienne réceptrice située dans l'autre pays et qui utilise la même bande.
    (c) Pour les bandes supérieures à 1 000 Mc/s, il faut assurer la coordination d'une station terrienne si une partie de la frontière canado-américaine se trouve dans le rayon de coordination (alinéa 8) de cette station.
  3. Les relevés à jour des assignations de fréquences dans les bandes énumérées à l'alinéa 1 seront échangés au besoin.
  4. (a) Avant de prendre une décision définitive au sujet d'une proposition portant sur l'utilisation d'une fréquence, à l'exception des activités tactiques et de formation du secteur militaire dans les bandes énumérées à l'alinéa 1(a), dans les zones stipulées à l'alinéa 2 :
    1. dans les bandes inférieures à 1 000 Mc/s, énumérées à l'alinéa 1 et portant sur une puissance de plus de cinq watts;
    2. dans les bandes supérieures à 1 000 Mc/s, énumérées à l'alinéa 1;

      l'un des deux organismes communiquera les détails pertinents de l'assignation proposée (cf. appendice 1, 2 ou 3, selon le cas) à l'autre pour qu'il exprime son avis quant à savoir si l'autorisation pourrait donner lieu à un brouillage nuisible pour des activités de radiocommunications existantes de l'organisme dont on demande l'avis ou, dans le cas d'une station terrienne réceptrice, si cette autorisation entraînerait un brouillage nuisible pour la réception à la station terrienne en raison des activités de radiocommunications existantes de l'organisme dont on demande l'avis.
    (b) Si aucune observation défavorable n'est déposée dans les trente (30) jours civils à compter de la date de réception de la proposition, l'organisme intéressé pourra entreprendre l'exploitation de la fréquence après avoir averti l'autre organisme. En cas d'urgence, la coordination pourra se faire après la mise en service de la fréquence assignée.

    (c) Ni le ministère des Transports, ni l'Interdepartment Radio Advisory Committee ne seront tenus de se conformer aux avis de l'autre. Toutefois, afin de réduire ces cas au minimum, chaque organisme apportera à l'autre tout le concours possible, en lui fournissant les renseignements complémentaires qui pourraient lui être utiles.
  5. Dans les cas où les renseignements disponibles ne permettraient pas de savoir facilement si une autorisation peut entraîner un brouillage nuisible, on pourra procéder à des essais réels d'émission, auxquels assisteront les représentants de chaque organisme et qui seront suivis de nouveaux échanges d'observations techniques.
  6. Afin de permettre l'utilisation planifiée du spectre, on peut s'échanger, dans toute la mesure du possible, des renseignements sur les projets d'extension et de remaniement des services auxquels sont attribuées les bandes énumérées à l'alinéa 1, dans les zones indiquées dans le présent document.
  7. Si une fréquence assignée et utilisée a déjà fait l'objet d'une coordination et qu'on propose une nouvelle assignation de cette fréquence dans la même région, il faudra procéder à une nouvelle coordination, en attirant l'attention sur la coordination précédente. Ces modalités ne s'appliquent pas à l'adjonction de stations mobiles à un réseau de services terrestres mobiles déjà coordonnés.
  8. Le rayon de coordination s'entendra de la distance calculée, pour toute station, conformément à la recommandation 1A des actes finaux de l'EARC à Genève en 1963.

Appendice 1 de l'Arrangement D

Données de base nécessaires à la coordination des stations de Terre dans les bandes inférieures à 1 000 Mc/s

  1. Classe de station
  2. Nombre de stations (y compris, le cas échéant, le nombre de stations mobiles)
  3. Situation et coordonnées
  4. Fréquence
  5. Puissance (moyenne) débitée à l'antenne
  6. Classe d'émission et largeur de bande nécessaire
  7. Gain d'antenne (dB) et azimut, s'il y a lieu
  8. Hauteur de l'antenne en pieds au-dessus du niveau moyen de la mer (NMM), le cas échéant

Appendice 2 de l'Arrangement D

  1. Classe de station
  2. Nombre de stations (y compris, le cas échéant, le nombre de stations mobiles)
  3. Situation et coordonnées
  4. Fréquence
  5. Puissance (moyenne) débitée à l'antenne
  6. Classe d'émission et largeur de bande nécessaire
  7. Gain d'antenne (dB), azimut et, si possible, angle d'élévation
  8. Hauteur de l'antenne en pieds au-dessus du niveau moyen de la mer (NMM)
  9. Polarisation de l'onde émise
  10. Carte topographique du territoire séparant les stations à endroits fixes et la frontière canado-américaine (nécessaire seulement dans le cas des stations qui se trouvent dans le rayon de coordination d'une station terrienne réceptrice déjà coordonnée et qui utilise la même bande)

Appendice 3 de l'Arrangement D

Données de base nécessaires à la coordination des stations terriennes du service spatial

  1. Classe de station
  2. Fréquences
  3. Situation et coordonnées
  4. Rayonnement, selon l'azimut et la hauteur, de l'hémisphère céleste défini par l'axe principal de l'antenne
  5. Classe d'émission et largeur de bande nécessaire
  6. Puissance (moyenne) débitée à l'antenne et, le cas échéant, pertes estimatives de couplage du matériel terminal
  7. Gain maximum d'antenne dans le plan horizontal en fonction de l'azimut
  8. Gain maximum d'antenne (par rapport à l'antenne isotrope)
  9. Hauteur de l'antenne en pieds au-dessus du niveau moyen de la mer (NMM)
  10. Polarisation de l'onde émise
  11. Plan topographique du territoire séparant la station terrestre et la frontière canado-américaine dans le secteur où le rayon de coordination dépasse la distance par rapport à la frontière
  12. Valeurs numériques des effets d'écran du terrain dans les sens pertinents
Date de modification :