Deemed Transfer of Spectrum Licences Held by Public Mobile Inc. to TELUS Communications Inc.

October 23, 2013

Application:

1. On October 2, 2013, Public Mobile and TELUS submitted a joint application to Industry Canada, for the approval of a Deemed Transfer of Public Mobile’s four (4) spectrum licences in Ontario and Quebec, as set out in Annex A.

2. The proposed transaction triggers an assessment under the Framework Relating to Transfers, Divisions and Subordinate Licensing of Spectrum Licences for Commercial Mobile Spectrum (Transfers Framework).

Decision:

3. The Deemed Transfer of the spectrum licences from Public Mobile to TELUS, as set out in Annex A, is approved.

Rationale:

4. The Deemed Transfer was assessed against the policy objectives and the criteria set out in the Transfers Framework.

5. Industry Canada notes that the transaction will result in a modest increase in spectrum concentration by the incumbents. However, considering current technological incompatibilities related to the available equipment ecosystems for the Personal Communications Service (PCS) G Block, the Department has determined that the Deemed Transfer of these spectrum licences would not significantly impact the ability of existing and future competitors to provide service.

Annex A

Spectrum Licences to be Transferred from Public Mobile Inc. to TELUS Communications Inc.
TierService Area NamePersonal Communications Service (PCS) BlockLicence Number
2-004Eastern QuebecG5080659
2-005Southern QuebecG5080660
2-006Eastern Ontario & OutaouaisG5080661
2-008Southern OntarioG5080662
Date modified:

Transfert réputé de licences de spectre appartenant à Public Mobile Inc. à TELUS Communications Inc.

Le 23 octobre 2013

Demande :

1. Le 2 octobre 2013, Public Mobile et TELUS ont présenté une demande conjointe à Industrie Canada, afin de demander l’approbation du transfert réputé de quatre (4) licences de spectre appartenant à Public Mobile pour l’Ontario et le Québec, dont il est question à l’annexe A.

2. La transaction proposée exige qu’une évaluation soit effectuée conformément au Cadre portant sur le transfert, la division et la subordination des licences de spectre mobile (ci-après le Cadre de transfert).

Décision :

3. Le transfert réputé des licences de spectre de Public Mobile à TELUS, dont il est question à l’annexe A, est approuvé.

Justification :

4. Le transfert réputé a été évalué en fonction des objectifs stratégiques et des critères énoncés dans le Cadre de transfert.

5. Industrie Canada souligne que la transaction donnera lieu à une légère augmentation de la concentration du spectre pour les titulaires établis. Cependant, compte tenu des incompatibilités technologiques qui existent à l’heure actuelle en ce qui concerne l’ensemble du matériel disponible pour le Bloc G de la bande des Services de communications personnelles (SCP), le Ministère a déterminé que le transfert réputé de ces licences de spectre n’aurait pas d’incidence importante sur la capacité des concurrents (nouveaux ou existants) à offrir des services.

Annexe A

Licences de spectre devant être transférées de Public Mobile Inc. à TELUS Communications Inc.
NiveauZone de serviceBloc du service de communications personnelles (SCP)Numéro de licence
2-004Est du QuébecG5080659
2-005Sud du QuébecG5080660
2-006Est de l’Ontario et OutaouaisG5080661
2-008Sud de l’OntarioG5080662
Date de modification :