SAB-001-14 — Requirements for Licensing of Space Stations

Posted on Industry Canada website: March 6, 2014

Contents

  1. Background
  2. Canadian Coverage Contour and Variation Requirements
  3. Canadian Coverage and Elevation Angle Requirements
  4. Minimum Spectrum Efficiency Requirement
  5. Revisions to CPC-2-6-02

1. Background

1.         This spectrum advisory bulletin is addressed to fixed-satellite and broadcast-satellite service operators. In November 2013, Industry Canada published the document Decisions on the Licensing Framework for Fixed-Satellite Service (FSS) and Broadcasting-Satellite Service (BSS), Implications for Other Satellite Services in Canada, and Revised Fee Proposal, which announced the Department's decisions related to changes in its satellite licensing framework. Soon thereafter, Industry Canada released a new issue of Radio Systems Policy RP-008, Policy Framework for Fixed-Satellite Service (FSS) and Broadcasting-Satellite Service (BSS), and a new issue of Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-6-02, Licensing of Space Stations, Issue 3 (Provisional) through Canada Gazette notice SMSE-024-13.

2.         During the Department's briefing to satellite operators regarding the implementation of the new first-come, first-served (FCFS) satellite licensing process, held on November 29, 2013, concerns were expressed regarding the requirements for Canadian coverage and spectrum efficiency at the edge of coverage. Applicants should note that Industry Canada's purpose in establishing these requirements is to ensure that satellite services provided in Canada are of comparable quality and reliability throughout the entire coverage area.

3.         Subsequent to the industry briefing, Industry Canada has reviewed the requirements and is hereby announcing modifications to CPC-2-6-02. Until CPC-2-6-02 is updated, the requirements outlined in this spectrum advisory bulletin will be used to assess FSS and BSS applications.

2. Canadian Coverage Contour and Variation Requirements

4.         Section 3.2.4.2 (I) of CPC-2-6-02 outlines the technical requirements to address Canadian coverage for FSS and BSS satellites operating in the geostationary arc from 70°W to 130°W inclusive. The coverage requirements for different frequency bands are defined in terms of angle of arrival of signals; a maximum variation of 5 dB of equivalent isotropically radiated power (e.i.r.p.) over the coverage area; and a requirement to provide contour maps of e.i.r.p. and G/T in 1 dB increments.

5.         Some operators suggested changing the requirement to show the e.i.r.p. and G/T contours at 2 dB increments, which would align with the data requirements of Appendix 4 of the ITU's Radio Regulations and reduce the burden on applicants. Accordingly, Industry Canada has changed the requirement. Applicants should note that they are now also required to submit the e.i.r.p. and G/T contour diagrams using the .gxt software file format that is required as part of the ITU Appendix 4 data submission. This will allow the Department to review the details of the contours.

6.         Some operators also expressed concern about the requirement to maintain the e.i.r.p. variation to 5 dB or less over the Canadian coverage area. These concerns related to difficulties in maintaining comparable service availability throughout Canada due to higher rain attenuation rates in coastal regions. Issues were also raised with respect to satellites that implement large numbers of spot beams, where the variation from the bore sight to the edge of a spot beam is often more than 5 dB.

7.         The intent of the maximum e.i.r.p. variation limit is to ensure comparable service to all Canadian customers by maintaining an acceptable level of availability and spectrum utilization efficiency while limiting the variation in the diameter of earth station antennas required. In this context, the maximum e.i.r.p. variation limit has been increased from 5 to 6 dB to address operators’ concerns. As an alternative to meeting this e.i.r.p. variation limit requirement, applicants can demonstrate through link budgets that a similar level of performance can be maintained over the Canadian coverage area using earth stations whose antenna diameters vary by a factor of two or less when compared to the earth station antenna diameter required to serve the majority of the Canadian population.

3. Canadian Coverage and Elevation Angle Requirements

8.         With regard to the frequency ranges associated with the angles of arrival shown in the table in Section 3.2.4.2 (I), the delimiting frequency between the Ku-band and Ka-band will be changed to 15 GHz from 18 GHz. This has the effect of including the downlink of the 17/24 GHz broadcast satellite service (BSS) in the Ka-band, rather than the Ku-band range. Setting the delimiter at 15 GHz better reflects the BSS operational environment because rain fades become far more significant at frequencies above 15 GHz. It should be noted that there are currently no Canadian FSS/BSS allocations in the frequency band 14.5-17.3 GHz that are subject to the Canadian coverage requirement.

9.         The Department recognizes that a uniform coverage requirement for direct-to-home (DTH) satellite broadcasting services is difficult to achieve for earth stations with an elevation angle of less than 20°, as receiving antennas often do not have clear line of sight to the transmitting satellite. Although some difficulties could be encountered in attempting to provide service to locations where the earth stations have a low elevation angle to the transmitting satellite, this is not a sufficiently compelling reason for not providing service to such areas. As a result, the earth station elevation angles defining the Canadian coverage requirement will be maintained as established in the current version of CPC-2-6-02.

4. Minimum Spectrum Efficiency Requirement

10.       Section 3.2.4.2 (III) of CPC-2-6-02 outlines the technical requirements concerning minimum spectrum efficiency. In particular, for each band requested, the proposed satellites must meet a minimum spectrum efficiency of 1 bps/Hz at the edge of coverage. Some operators sought clarification as to how this requirement will be evaluated. To comply with this requirement, the link budgets in each beam providing service at the edge of coverage must have a sufficient carrier-to-noise ratio to allow the use of modulation and coding techniques that yield a spectrum efficiency of 1 bps/Hz or better for each polarization employed.

5. Revisions to CPC-2-6-02

11.       Considering the above, applicants are hereby advised that the text of Section 3.2.4.2 (I) of CPC-2-6-02 has been replaced by the following text, effective immediately:

12.       “FSS and BSS satellites operating in the geostationary arc from 70°W to 130°W inclusive are required to cover the entire Canadian territory visible from the satellites. More precisely, the area of Canada where the angle of arrival of signals from the satellite above the horizontal plane is equal to or greater than the limit shown in the table below shall: (1) have an equivalent isotropically radiated power (e.i.r.p.) variation of no more than 6 dB; or alternatively, (2) have a similar satellite link performance over the Canadian coverage area, using earth stations whose antenna diameters vary by no more than a factor of two when compared with the earth station antenna diameter required to serve the majority of the Canadian population. In the second case, applicants must provide link budgets which demonstrate that the requirement is met for an availability of 99.7%.

Coverage Requirement: Frequency and Angle of Arrival of Signals
Frequencies Angle of Arrival
Below 10 GHz
Between 10 GHz and 15 GHz 7.5°
Above 15 GHz 10°

13.       For non-geostationary satellites, the area of Canada where the angle of arrival of signals from the satellite above the horizontal plane is equal to or greater than the limit shown in the above table shall: (1) have an e.i.r.p. variation of no more than 6 dB; or alternatively, (2) have a similar satellite link performance over the Canadian coverage area, using earth stations whose antenna diameters vary by no more than a factor of two when compared with the earth station antenna diameter required to serve the majority of the Canadian population. In the second case, applicants must provide link budgets which demonstrate that the requirement is met for an availability of 99.7%.

14.       This coverage requirement does not apply to the use of FSS spectrum that provides only feeder links to support other satellite services, such as for direct-to-home satellite broadcasting, MSS and broadband satellite services.

15.       Applicants for FSS and BSS satellites must submit diagrams of the projected contours on the Earth of e.i.r.p. (in dBW) transmitted from the satellite, and the G/T levels (in dB/K) received at the satellite. The contours should be shown in 2 dB increments from the maximum level until the edge of Canadian coverage. Beyond the edge of Canadian coverage, the contours may be shown in 5 dB increments. Contour diagrams must be submitted using the .gxt software file format that is required as part of the ITU Appendix 4 data submission.”

16.       As well, the text of Section 3.2.4.2 (III) of CPC-2-6-02 is hereby replaced by the following text, effective immediately:

17.       “Proposed FSS and BSS satellites must employ state-of-the-art modulation and coding techniques, as well as frequency reuse techniques (either through the use of orthogonal polarizations within the same beam or through the use of spatially independent beams). For each band requested, these proposed satellites must meet a minimum spectrum efficiency of 1 bps/Hz for each polarization employed in each beam providing service at the edge of coverage.

18.       Applicants must provide a channel and polarization plan for each band that the satellite will use, showing the representative modulation scheme and loading, in bps/Hz, for each channel. If spatially independent beams are to be used, applicants must provide a map showing the beam pattern and the frequency reuse and indicate the frequency reuse factor. Applicants must also provide a sample link budget, demonstrating minimum efficiency at the edge of coverage.”

Issued under the authority
of the Radiocommunication Act

____________________________________
MARC DUPUIS
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

Date modified:

BCS-001-14 — Exigences visant la délivrance de licence aux stations spatiales

Affiché sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada : le 6 mars 2014

Table des matières

  1. Contexte
  2. Exigences de variation et de la limite de couverture au Canada
  3. Exigences de couverture canadienne et de l’angle d’élévation
  4. Exigence d’efficacité spectrale minimale
  5. Révisions de la CPC-2-6-02

1. Contexte

1.       Le présent Bulletin consultatif (BCS) sur le spectre s'adresse aux exploitants de services fixes et  de radiodiffusion par satellite. En novembre 2013, Industrie Canada a publié le document intitulé Décisions sur le cadre de délivrance de licences pour le service fixe par satellite (SFS) et le service de radiodiffusion par satellite (SRS); répercussions sur d'autres services par satellite au Canada, et proposition révisée portant sur la perception de droits, dans lequel il annonçait les décisions sur les changements au cadre de délivrance des licences pour les services par satellite. Industrie Canada a, par la suite, diffusé une nouvelle édition de la Politique des systèmes radio (PR-008), intitulée Cadre de politique pour le service fixe par satellite (SFS) et le service de radiodiffusion par satellite (SRS), et de la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients (CPC-2-6-02), intitulée Délivrance de licence aux stations spatiales (3e édition — provisoire), par le biais de l'Avis de la Gazette du Canada SMSE-024-13.

2.       Le 29 novembre 2013, le Ministère donnait une séance d'information à l'intention des exploitants de services satellite. Cet exercice portait sur la mise en œuvre d'un nouveau processus de délivrance de licences pour les satellites, selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi. Les participants avaient alors soulevé certaines préoccupations quant aux exigences de couverture au Canada et à l'efficacité du spectre à la limite de la couverture. Les demandeurs sont priés de noter que le but visé par Industrie Canada en instaurant ces exigences est d'assurer l'uniformité de la qualité et la fiabilité des services dans toute la zone de couverture.

3.       À la suite de la séance d'information, Industrie Canada a examiné les exigences mentionnées ci-haut, et par la présente, souhaite annoncer les modifications apportées à la CPC-2-6-02. Les exigences soulignées dans le présent Bulletin consultatif sur le spectre serviront à évaluer les demandes de SFS et de SRS, jusqu'à la mise à jour de la CPC-2-6-02.

2. Exigences de variation et de la limite de couverture au Canada

4.       La section 3.2.4.2 (I) de la CPC-2-6-02 précise les exigences techniques liées à la couverture canadienne des satellites SFS et SRS œuvrant dans l’arc géostationnaire de 70° O à 130° O inclusivement. Elle mentionne également les exigences relatives à la couverture des différentes bandes selon l’angle d’arrivée des signaux, à une puissance isotrope rayonnée équivalente (p.i.r.e.) ne dépassant pas 5 dB dans la zone de couverture et à la soumission de cartes montrant les contours de la p.i.r.e. et des niveaux G/T en incréments de 1 dB.

5.       Certains exploitants ont indiqué qu’il serait approprié de montrer les contours de la p.i.r.e. et des niveaux G/T en incréments de 2 dB. Cela permettrait une harmonisation avec les exigences de données établies à l’appendice 4 du Règlement des radiocommunications de l’UIT et allégerait la charge des demandeurs. Industrie Canada a donc modifié l’exigence en conséquence. Les demandeurs sont priés de noter qu’ils doivent désormais soumettre les diagrammes montrant les contours de la p.i.r.e. et des niveaux G/T dans un format .gxt, conformément à l’exigence de soumission de données de l’appendice 4 du Règlement de l’UIT. Le Ministère pourra ainsi examiner les détails des contours.

6.       Certains exploitants se sont également inquiété de l’exigence visant le maintien d’une variation de p.i.r.e. ne dépassant pas 5 dB dans la zone de couverture canadienne. Leurs préoccupations étaient liées au maintien difficile d’une disponibilité de service uniforme à travers le pays, en raison des taux d’affaiblissement par la pluie plus élevés dans les régions côtières. On a également cerné des problèmes par rapport aux satellites exploitant un grand nombre de faisceaux étroits, puisque la variation entre la visibilité et la limite d’un faisceau étroit est souvent supérieure à 5 dB.

7.       La limite de variation de la p.i.r.e. maximale vise à assurer un service uniforme pour tous les consommateurs canadiens en maintenant un niveau acceptable de disponibilité et une utilisation efficace du spectre, tout en restreignant la variation du diamètre requis des antennes des stations terrestres. La variation permise est passée de 5 à 6 dB, afin de répondre aux préoccupations des exploitants sans nuire à l’objectif du Ministère. De plus, au lieu du respect de l’exigence de variation de la p.i.r.e., les demandeurs peuvent également démontrer, au moyen de bilans de liaison, qu’un niveau de rendement similaire peut être maintenu dans la zone de couverture canadienne par l’exploitation de stations terrestres dont le diamètre d’antenne varie d’un facteur de deux ou moins, par rapport au diamètre requis pour desservir la plus grande partie de la population canadienne.

3. Exigences de couverture canadienne et de l’angle d’élévation

8.       En ce qui a trait aux gammes de fréquences liées aux angles d’arrivée figurant au tableau de la section 3.2.4.2 (I), la fréquence de délimitation entre les bandes Ku et Ka passera de 18 à 15 GHz. La liaison descendante du SRS 17-24 GHz fera ainsi partie de la bande Ka, plutôt que de la bande Ku. La fréquence de délimitation de 15 GHz reflète davantage l’environnement opérationnel du SRS, puisque les affaiblissements causés par la pluie augmentent considérablement dans les fréquences supérieures à 15 GHz. Il faut noter il n’existe actuellement aucune attribution canadienne assujettie à l’exigence de couverture canadienne pour les services SRS-SFS dans la bande de 14,5 à 17,3 GHz.

9.       Le Ministère est conscient qu’il est difficile de maintenir une couverture uniforme pour les services de radiodiffusion directe (SRD) fournis par les stations terrestres dont l’angle d’élévation est inférieur à 20°, car souvent les antennes réceptrices n’ont pas de visibilité directe avec le satellite de transmission. Bien que des difficultés puissent survenir lors de la prestation de services à des zones où l’angle d’élévation des stations terrestres est peu prononcé par rapport au satellite de transmission, ces contraintes ne constituent pas une raison suffisante pour ne pas desservir ces zones. Les angles d’élévation des stations terrestres qui définissent l’exigence de couverture canadienne demeurent ceux établis dans la version actuelle de la CPC-2-6-02.

4. Exigence d’efficacité spectrale minimale

10.       La section 3.2.4.2 (III) de la CPC-2-6-02 expose les exigences techniques relatives à l’efficacité spectrale minimale. Dans chaque bande demandée, tout particulièrement, les satellites proposés doivent posséder une efficacité spectrale minimale de 1 bps/Hz à la limite de la couverture. Certains exploitants ont demandé des clarifications sur l’évaluation de cette exigence. Pour être conformes à cette exigence, les bilans de liaison (dans chaque faisceau fournissant un service à la limite de la couverture), doivent présenter un rapport porteuse-bruit qui permet l’utilisation de techniques de modulation et de codage assurant une efficacité spectrale minimale de 1 bit/s/Hz pour chaque polarisation utilisée.

5. Révisions de la CPC-2-6-02

11.       À la lumière de ce qui précède, le Ministère informe les demandeurs que le texte de la section 3.2.4.2 (I) de la CPC-2-6-02 est donc remplacé par celui ci‑dessous (entrée en vigueur immédiate) :

12.       « Les satellites SFS et SRS œuvrant dans l'arc géostationnaire de 70° O à 130° O inclusivement, devront couvrir l'ensemble du territoire canadien visible depuis les satellites. La zone du Canada, plus particulièrement, où l'angle d'arrivée des signaux du satellite par rapport au plan horizontal est égal ou supérieur à la limite figurant au tableau ci‑dessous doit : (1) présenter une variation de p.i.r.e. d'au plus 6 dB ou (2) assurer un rendement de liaison satellite similaire dans la zone de couverture canadienne au moyen de stations terrestres dont le diamètre d'antennes varie d'un facteur de deux ou moins par rapport au diamètre requis pour desservir la plus grande partie de la population canadienne. Dans le second cas, les demandeurs doivent fournir des bilans de liaison démontrant le respect de l'exigence de disponibilité de 99,7 %.

Exigence de couverture : fréquences et angle d'arrivée des signaux
Fréquences Angle d'arrivée
Moins de 10 GHz
Entre 10 et 15 GHz 7,5°
Plus de 15 GHz 10°

13.       Dans le cas des satellites non géostationnaires, la zone du Canada où l'angle d'arrivée des signaux du satellite par rapport au plan horizontal est égal ou supérieur à la limite figurant au tableau ci-dessus doit : (1) présenter une variation de p.i.r.e. ne dépassant pas 6 dB ou (2) assurer un rendement de liaison satellite similaire dans la zone de couverture canadienne au moyen de stations terrestres dont le diamètre d'antennes varie d'un facteur de deux ou moins par rapport au diamètre requis pour desservir la plus grande partie de la population canadienne. Dans le second cas, les demandeurs doivent fournir des bilans de liaison démontrant le respect de l'exigence de disponibilité de 99,7 %.

14.       Cette exigence en matière de couverture ne s'applique pas au spectre SFS. Celui-ci ne fournit que des liaisons de connexion à l'appui d'autres services satellites, tels la radiodiffusion directe par satellite, les SMS et les services à large bande par satellite.

15.       Les demandeurs de satellites SFS et SRS doivent soumettre des diagrammes des contours prévus de la p.i.r.e.(en dBW) transmise du satellite sur la surface de la Terre et des niveaux G/T (en dB/K) reçus au satellite.Les contours devraient être montrés en incréments de 2 dB, depuis le niveau maximal jusqu'à la limite de la couverture canadienne. Au-delà de la limite de la couverture canadienne, les contours peuvent être montrés en incréments de 5 dB. Les diagrammes de contour doivent être soumis en format .gxt, conformément à l'exigence de soumission de données figurant à l'appendice 4 du Règlement de l'UIT. »

16.       Le texte de la section 3.2.4.2. (III) de la CPC-2-6-02 est remplacé par le texte suivant (entrée en vigueur immédiate) :

17.       « Les satellites SFS et SRS proposés doivent utiliser des techniques de modulation et de codage de pointe et des techniques de réutilisation de fréquences (soit par polarisations octogonales à l'intérieur du même faisceau ou par faisceaux spatialement indépendants). Dans chaque bande demandée, les satellites proposés doivent respecter une efficacité minimale de 1 bit/s/Hz pour chaque polarisation utilisée dans chaque faisceau assurant un service à la limite de la couverture.

18.       Les demandeurs doivent fournir un plan de répartition des canaux et de la polarisation pour chaque bande exploitée par le satellite. Ce plan doit montrer le système représentatif de modulation et de chargement en bit/s/Hz pour chaque canal.Si des faisceaux spatialement indépendants sont utilisés, les demandeurs doivent inclure une carte illustrant le diagramme de faisceaux et la réutilisation des fréquences et indiquant le facteur de réutilisation de fréquences. Les demandeurs doivent aussi présenter un exemple de bilan de liaison démontrant le rendement minimal à la limite de la couverture. »

Publié en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication

Directeur général
Direction générale du génie,
de la planification et des normes

____________________________________
MARC DUPUIS

Date de modification :