Global Navigation Satellite Systems

Global navigation satellite systems (GNSS) such as the United States' Global Positioning System (GPS), Russia's GLONASS, the European Union's Galileo and China's COMPASS (also known as Beidou), provide important positioning, navigation and timing information to military, civilian and commercial users around the world.

Canadians benefit significantly from the use of GNSS, which enable emergency services to respond more quickly, allow transportation services employing air and marine vehicles to travel their routes more safely and provide precise synchronization to the operation of computer networks, wireless communications systems, financial systems and electric power grids.

Disruption of GNSS signals can result in communications degradation, transportation disruption and power failures and can, consequently, have significant adverse effects on human safety and the Canadian economy. GNSS signal disruption can occur because of problems with signal generation (e.g., GNSS system failure) or, more frequently, signal transmission disruption due to solar storms, unintentional interference and signal jamming. Jamming is a serious threat to GNSS signals which, by their nature, are weak due to their long journey through space. Recently, the possibility to spoof GNSS signals by transmitting a fake signal to mimic the GNSS satellite signal and fool the GNSS receiver, has become a concern.

Recognizing the importance of GNSS and its vulnerabilities, Public Safety Canada's Assistant Deputy Ministers' Emergency Management Committee (ADM EMC) established the Federal Global Navigation Satellite Systems Coordination Board (FGCB) in September 2011. The objectives of the FGCB are to collaborate, share information and expertise, provide advice and act as a central point of contact for the coordination of federal GNSS issues.

The FGCB is comprised of federal departments and agencies with an interest in GNSS. Members include Industry Canada, the Canadian Space Agency, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Public Safety Canada, the Department of National Defence and Transport Canada.

There are various working groups under the FGCB to deal with issues such as: detection, reporting and mitigation of interference with GNSS; coordination of approaches to Canadian GNSS infrastructure investment, evolution and renewal; and assessment of opportunities offered by future GNSS systems.

Industry Canada hosts the Canadian GNSS Coordination Office (GCO) which provides support for the day-to-day operations of the FGCB and represents the FGCB on GNSS matters within the government and the private sector, and with representatives of foreign governments and international organizations. The GCO supports the FGCB in carrying out its assigned responsibilities and functions and meeting its objectives.

For further information on the FGCB, the GCO and their activities, please contact Jina.MacEachern@ic.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Systèmes mondiaux de navigation par satellite

Les systèmes mondiaux de navigation par satellite (GNSS), comme le système de localisation GPS américain, le système russe GLONASS, le système européen Galileo et le système chinois COMPASS (également appelé Beidou) fournissent aux utilisateurs militaires, civils et commerciaux partout dans le monde des renseignements importants sur le positionnement, la navigation et la synchronisation.

L'utilisation des GNSS a une incidence positive importante sur la vie des Canadiens. Elle permet une intervention plus rapide dans les situations d'urgence, un service de transport plus sécuritaire en avion et par bateau, et un fonctionnement synchrone de précision des réseaux informatiques, des systèmes de communications sans fil, des systèmes financiers et des réseaux électriques.

L'interruption du signal des GNSS peut entraîner la dégradation des communications, la perturbation des transports et des pannes de courant; par conséquent, elle peut avoir des répercussions négatives considérables sur la sécurité humaine et l'économie canadienne. Une telle interruption peut être due à des problèmes liés à la production de signaux (p. ex. défaillance des GNSS) ou, plus souvent, à une perturbation de la transmission des signaux causée par des tempêtes solaires, à un brouillage involontaire et à un brouillage de signaux. Le brouillage est une menace sérieuse contre les signaux des GNSS qui sont faibles en soi, en raison du long trajet qu'ils doivent parcourir dans l'espace. Récemment, la possibilité de mystifier les signaux des GNSS, en transmettant un faux signal pour imiter celui émis par les satellites GNSS et déjouer le récepteur GNSS est également devenue une source de préoccupation.

Reconnaissant l'importance des GNSS et leurs vulnérabilités, le Comité des sous-ministres adjoints sur la gestion des urgences (CSMAGU) de Sécurité publique Canada a créé le Conseil fédéral de coordination des systèmes mondiaux de navigation par satellite (CFCG) en septembre 2011. Les objectifs du CFCG sont de collaborer, d'échanger de l'information et du savoir-faire, de fournir des avis et d'agir comme point de contact central lors de la coordination des questions fédérales relatives aux GNSS.

Le CFCG est composé de ministères et d'organismes fédéraux s'intéressant aux GNSS. Les membres comprennent Industrie Canada, l'Agence spatiale canadienne, Pêches et Océans Canada, Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada, Ressources naturelles Canada, Sécurité publique Canada, le ministère de la Défense nationale et Transports Canada.

Divers groupes de travail relevant du CFCG sont chargés d'étudier des questions comme la détection, le signalement et l'atténuation du brouillage des GNSS; de coordonner les approches relatives à l'évolution et au renouvellement des investissements dans l'infrastructure canadienne des GNSS; et d'évaluer les possibilités découlant des GNSS futurs.

Industrie Canada abrite le Bureau de coordination des GNSS (BCG) du Canada, qui soutient le CFCG dans ses activités quotidiennes et le représente sur les questions touchant les GNSS au sein du gouvernement et du secteur privé, et auprès des représentants des gouvernements étrangers et des organisations internationales, s'il y a lieu. Le BCG aide le CFCG à s'acquitter de ses responsabilités et de ses fonctions, ainsi qu'à atteindre ses objectifs.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le CFCG, le BCG et leurs activités, veuillez écrire à l'adresse de courriel Jina.MacEachern@ic.gc.ca.

Date de modification :