L5 — 3.5 GHz Subordinate Spectrum Licences issued after the 2014 Renewal Process

This licence is subordinate to the primary licence listed under "licence conditions", and as such is conditional on the primary licence remaining in effect. This licence would normally be subject to any non-renewal, suspension, or revocation of the primary licence. However, in the event of suspension, non renewal or revocation of the primary licence, the subordinate licensee could make representations to the Minister, consistent with the Radiocommunication Act, as to why they should be permitted to continue operating.

1. Licence Term

This licence will expire on the date indicated above. The process for issuing licences after this term and any issues relating to renewal will be determined by the Minister of Industry following a public consultation.

2. Licence Transferability and Divisibility

This licence is not transferable or divisible.

3. Eligibility

The licensee must comply on an ongoing basis with the applicable eligibility criteria of the Radiocommunication Regulations. The licensee must notify the Minister of Industry of any change that would have a material effect on its eligibility. Such notification must be made in advance for any proposed transactions within its knowledge. Where information is required related to reviewing eligibility, licensees should refer to Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-015, Canadian Ownership and Control, as amended from time to time

4. Displacement of Incumbents

The licensee must comply with the transition policy outlined in Appendix 3 of the Policy and Licensing Procedures for the Auction of Spectrum Licences in the 2300 MHz and 3500 MHz Frequency Bands (Revised July 2004).

5. Radio Station Installations

The licensee must comply with Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-03, Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Antenna Systems, as amended from time to time.

6. Provision of Technical Information

When Industry Canada requests technical information on a particular station or network, the licensee must provide the information in accordance with the definitions, criteria, frequency and timelines specified in the request. For further information, refer to Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-1-23, Licensing Procedure for Spectrum Licences for Terrestrial Services, as amended from time to time

7. Compliance with Legislation, Regulations and Other Obligations

The licensee is subject to, and must comply with, the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations, as amended from time to time. The licensee must use the assigned spectrum in accordance with the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations and the spectrum policies applicable to this band, as amended from time to time. The licence is issued on condition that all representations made in relation to obtaining this licence are all true and complete in every respect.

8. Technical Considerations, and International and Domestic Coordination

The licensee must comply on an ongoing basis with the technical aspects of the appropriate Radio Standards Specifications (RSS) and Standard Radio System Plans (SRSP), as amended from time to time. Where applicable, the licensee must use its best efforts to enter into mutually acceptable agreements with other parties for facilitating the reasonable and timely development of their respective systems, and to coordinate with other licensed users in Canada and internationally.

The licensee must comply with the obligations arising from current and future frequency coordination agreements established between Canada and other countries and shall be required to provide information or take actions to implement these obligations as indicated in the applicable SRSP. Although frequency assignments are not subject to site licensing, the licensee may be required through the appropriate SRSP to furnish all necessary technical data for each relevant site.

9. Lawful Intercept

The licensee operating as telecommunication common carrier using the spectrum for voice telephony systems must, from the inception of service, provide for and maintain lawful interception capabilities as authorized by law. The requirements for lawful interception capabilities are provided in the Solicitor General's Enforcement Standards for Lawful Interception of Telecommunications (Rev. Nov. 95). These standards may be amended from time to time.

The licensee may request the Minister of Industry to forbear from enforcing certain assistance capability requirements for a limited period of time. The Minister, following consultation with Public Safety Canada, may exercise the power to forbear from enforcing a requirement or requirements where, in the opinion of the Minister, the requirement is not reasonably achievable. Requests for forbearance must include specific details and dates indicating when compliance to the requirement can be expected.

10. Mandatory Antenna Tower and Site Sharing

The licensee must comply with the mandatory antenna tower and site sharing requirements set out in Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-17, Conditions of Licence for Mandatory Roaming and Antenna Tower and Site Sharing and to Prohibit Exclusive Site Arrangements, as amended from time to time.

11. Annual Reporting

The licensee must submit an annual report for each year of the licence term, which includes the following information:

  • a statement indicating continued compliance with all conditions of licence;
  • an update on The implementation and spectrum usage within The area covered by the licence;
  • existing audited financial statements with an accompanying auditor's report;
  • a copy of any existing corporate annual report for the licensee's fiscal year with respect to the authorization; and
  • other information related to The licence as specified in any notice updating The reporting requirements as issued by Industry Canada.

All reports and statements are to be certified by an officer of the company and submitted, in writing, within 120 days of the licensee's fiscal year-end. Confidential information provided will be treated in accordance with subsection 20(1) of the Access to Information Act.

Reports are to be submitted to Industry Canada at the following address:

Manager, Emerging Networks
Spectrum Management Operations Branch
Industry Canada
235 Queen Street (15th Floor, JETN)
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0H5

Last revision date: Feb 4, 2014.

Date modified:

L5 — Licences de spectre subordonnées 3,5 GHz délivrées après le processus de renouvellement de 2014

La présente licence étant subordonnée à la licence principale telle qu'indiquée dans les « conditions de licence », elle n'est valide qu'à condition que cette licence demeure en vigueur. La présente licence serait normalement assujettie à tout non-renouvellement, à toute suspension ou à toute annulation de la licence principale. Toutefois, en cas de suspension, de non-renouvellement ou d'annulation de la licence principale, le titulaire de la licence subordonnée pourrait faire des représentations auprès du ministre, conformément à la Loi sur la radiocommunication, concernant les raisons pour lesquelles on devrait lui permettre de poursuivre l'exploitation

1. Période de validité des licences

Cette licence expirera à la date indiquée ci-dessus. Le processus de délivrance des licences après cette période et toutes questions liées au renouvellement seront déterminées par le ministre de l'Industrie suite à une consultation publique.

2. Transférabilité et divisibilité de la licence

Cette licence n'est ni transférable ni divisible

3. Admissibilité

Le titulaire doit respecter de façon continue les critères d'admissibilité applicables du Règlement sur la radiocommunication. Il doit informer le ministre de l'Industrie de toute modification qui aurait une incidence importante sur son admissibilité. Cette notification doit être faite à l'avance de toute transaction proposée dont il a connaissance. Si des renseignements sont requis afin d'étudier l'admissibilité, les titulaires devraient consulter Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients, la CPC-2-0-15, intitulée Propriété et contrôle canadiens, et ses modifications successives.

4. Déplacement des titulaires

Le titulaire doit se conformer à la politique de déplacement qui figure à l'annexe 3 de la Politique et des procédures pour la délivrance de licences de spectre par enchère dans les bandes de fréquences de 2 300 MHz et de 3 500 MHz (révisée en juillet 2004).

5. Installations de stations radio

Le titulaire de licence doit se conformer aux dispositions de la CPC-2-0-03, intitulée Systèmes d'antennes de radiocommunications et de radiodiffusion et ses modifications successives.

6. Communication de données techniques

Si Industrie Canada demande des données techniques au sujet d'une station ou un réseau en particulier, le titulaire doit fournir ces données conformément aux définitions, aux critères à la fréquence et aux délais qui figurent dans la demande. De plus amples renseignements sont donnés dans la CPC-2-1-23, intitulée Procédure de délivrance de licences de spectre pour les services de Terre et ses modifications successives.

7. Conformité aux lois, aux règlements et d'autres obligations

Le titulaire doit se conformer à la Loi sur la radiocommunication et au Règlement sur la radiocommunication, ainsi qu'à leurs modifications successives. Le titulaire doit utiliser les fréquences attribuées conformément au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences et aux politiques du spectre applicable à cette bande, de même qu'à leurs modifications successives. La licence est délivrée à la condition que les attestations fournies en vue d'obtenir la licence soient toutes vraies et complètes à tous les égards.

8. Considérations techniques et coordination internationale et nationale

Le titulaire de licence doit se conformer en tout temps aux aspects techniques des Cahiers des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR) et des Plans normalisés de réseaux hertziens (PNRH), et à leurs modifications successives. S'il y a lieu, le titulaire de licence doit s'efforcer le plus possible, d'une part, de conclure avec d'autres parties des accords mutuellement acceptables, et ce, pour faciliter le développement raisonnable, dans un délai acceptable, de leurs systèmes respectifs et, d'autre part, d'assurer la coordination avec d'autres utilisateurs titulaires de licence au Canada et à l'étranger.

Le titulaire de licence doit se conformer aux obligations découlant des accords actuels et futurs conclus avec d'autres pays concernant la coordination, et il est tenu de fournir l'information ou de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour mettre en oeuvre ces obligations conformément au PNRH applicable. Bien que les attributions ne soient pas assujetties à la délivrance de licences à l'égard des emplacements, le titulaire de licence peut être tenu, selon le PNRH applicable, de fournir toutes les données techniques nécessaires à l'égard de chaque emplacement pertinent.

9. Interception licite

Le titulaire agissant à titre d'entreprise de télécommunication et utilisant le spectre aux fins de systèmes de téléphonie vocale doit assurer des capacités d'interception licite autorisée par la loi, dès la conception du service. Les exigences relatives aux capacités d'interception licite sont établies dans les Normes d'application du Solliciteur général sur l'interception licite des télécommunications (révisées en novembre 1995). Ces normes peuvent être modifiées de temps à autre.

Le titulaire de licence peut demander au ministre de l'Industrie de s'abstenir d'appliquer, pendant une période limitée, certaines prescriptions applicables aux capacités d'assistance. À la suite de consultations auprès de Sécurité publique Canada, le ministre peut exercer son pouvoir de s'abstenir d'appliquer une ou plusieurs prescriptions lorsqu'à son avis, s'y conformer n'est raisonnablement pas possible. Les demandes d'abstention doivent comprendre des renseignements précis, et les dates auxquelles on prévoit se conformer aux prescriptions.

10. Partage obligatoire de pylônes d'antennes et d'emplacements

Le titulaire de licence doit se conformer aux exigences de partage obligatoire des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements établies dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients 2-0-17 (CPC-2-0-17), intitulée Conditions de licence concernant l'itinérance obligatoire, le partage des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements, ainsi que l'interdiction des emplacements exclusifs et ses modifications successives.

11. Rapports annuels

Chaque année de la période de validité de la licence, le titulaire de licence doit présenter un rapport annuel contenant notamment les renseignements suivants :

  • une déclaration indiquant la conformité continue à toutes les conditions de licence;
  • une mise à jour sur la mise en oeuvre de l'utilisation du spectre dans toute la zone visée par la licence;
  • les états financiers vérifiés existants, accompagnés du rapport d'un vérificateur;
  • tout autre renseignement connexe à la licence, conformément à tout avis émis par Industrie Canada et visant la mise à jour des exigences applicables à l'établissement de rapports.

Les rapports et états financiers doivent tous être certifiés par un dirigeant de l'entreprise soumis, par écrit, dans les 120 jours suivant la fin de l'exercice financier du titulaire de licence. Les renseignements confidentiels fournis seront traités conformément au paragraphe 20(1) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Les rapports doivent être soumis auprès d'Industrie Canada à l'adresse ci-dessous :

Industrie Canada
Gestionnaire, Réseaux émergents
Direction générale des opérations de la gestion du spectre
235, rue Queen (TJEN, 15e étage)
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H5

Date de la dernière révision: le 4 février 2014

Date de modification :