L9 — AWS-4 (Ancillary Terrestrial Component) Spectrum Licences

Conditions of Licence for the Ancillary Terrestrial Component (ATC) Spectrum Licence

The following conditions apply to the initial term for Ancillary Terrestrial Component (ATC) spectrum licences issued through the process outlined in SLPB-008-14 Decision on a Policy, Technical and Licensing Framework for Mobile Satellite Service and Advanced Wireless Service (AWS-4) in the Bands 2000-2020 MHz and 2180-2200 MHz.

It should be noted that this licence is subject to the relevant provisions in the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations. The Minister of Industry has the power to amend the terms and conditions of spectrum licences per paragraph 5(1)(b) of the Radiocommunication Act.

1. Licence Term

The term of this licence is 20 years. At the end of this term, the licensee will have a high expectation that a new licence will be issued for a subsequent term through a renewal process unless a breach of licence condition has occurred, a fundamental reallocation of spectrum to a new service is required, or an overriding policy need arises.

The process for issuing licences after this term and any issues relating to renewal, including the terms and conditions of the new licence, will be determined by the Minister of Industry following a public consultation.

2. Licence Fees

The licensee must pay the applicable annual licence fee on or before March 31 of each year for the subsequent year (April 1 to March 31). Site licence fees will apply until a spectrum licence fee order is in effect and a spectrum licence has been issued.

3. Site Licences and Fees

Until a spectrum licence fee order is established under the Department of Industry Act, the licensee must obtain site-specific radio station licences for each installation prior to deployment. Once an applicable fee order is in effect and a spectrum licence issued, the site-specific radio station licences will be cancelled and the licensee will be required to pay the annual fee in accordance with Condition 2.

The applicable licence fees for each site licence are referred to in section 66 and set out in Schedule III, Part V, item 1(a) of the Radiocommunication Regulations, as amended from time to time.

4. Eligibility

The licensee must conform to eligibility criteria as set out in subsection 9(1) of the Radiocommunication Regulations.

5. Licence Transferability and Divisibility

This licence is transferable in whole or in part (divisibility), in both bandwidth and geographic dimensions, subject to Industry Canada's approval. A Subordinate Licence may also be issued with regard to this licence, subject to Industry Canada's approval.

The licensee must make the Transfer Request in writing to Industry Canada. The Transfer Request will be treated as set out in Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-1-23, Licensing Procedure for Spectrum Licences for Terrestrial Services, as amended from time to time.

The licensee must apply in writing to Industry Canada for approval prior to implementing any Deemed Transfer, which will be treated as set out in CPC-2-1-23. The implementation of a Deemed Transfer without the prior approval of Industry Canada will be considered a breach of this condition of licence.

Should the licensee enter into any Agreement that provides for a Prospective Transfer with another holder of a Licence for commercial mobile spectrum (including any Affiliate, agent or representative of the other licence holder), it must apply in writing to Industry Canada for review of the Prospective Transfer within 15 days of entering into the Agreement, which will be treated as set out in CPC-2-1-23. Should Industry Canada issue a decision indicating that the Prospective Transfer is not approved; it will be a breach of this condition of licence for licensee to remain in an Agreement that provides for the Prospective Transfer for a period of more than 90 days from the date of the decision.

In all cases, the licensee must follow the procedures as outlined in CPC-2-1-23.

All capitalized terms have the meaning ascribed to them in CPC-2-1-23.

6. Radio Station Installations

The licensee must comply with Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-03, Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Antenna Systems, as amended from time to time.

7. Provision of Technical Information

When Industry Canada requests technical information on a particular station or network, the licensee must provide the information in accordance with the definitions, criteria, frequency and timelines specified in the request. For further information, refer to Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-1-23, Licensing Procedure for Spectrum Licences for Terrestrial Services, as amended from time to time.

8. Compliance with Legislation, Regulations and Other Obligations

The licensee is subject to, and must comply with, the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations, as amended from time to time. The licensee must use the assigned spectrum in accordance with the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations and the spectrum policies applicable to this band, as amended from time to time. The licence is issued on condition that all representations made in relation to obtaining this licence are all true and complete in every respect.

9. Technical Considerations and International and Domestic Coordination

The licensee must comply on an ongoing basis with the technical aspects of the appropriate Radio Standards Specifications (RSS) and Standard Radio System Plans (SRSP), as amended from time to time. Where applicable, the licensee must use its best efforts to enter into mutually acceptable agreements with other parties for facilitating the reasonable and timely development of their respective systems, and to coordinate with other licensed users in Canada and internationally.

The licensee must comply with the obligations arising from current and future frequency coordination agreements established between Canada and other countries and shall be required to provide information or take action to implement these obligations as indicated in the applicable SRSP.

The operation must not constrain the deployment of the MSS satellite networks associated with this licence.

The licensee must comply with all applicable technical and operational measures as specified in SLPB-008-14, Decision on a Policy, Technical and Licensing Framework for Mobile Satellite Service and Advanced Wireless Service (AWS-4) in the Bands 2000-2020 MHz and 2180-2200 MHz (2 GHz), as amended from time to time.

10. Lawful Interception

The licensee using the spectrum for voice telephony systems must, from the inception of service, provide for and maintain lawful interception capabilities as authorized by law. The requirements for lawful interception capabilities are provided in the Solicitor General's Enforcement Standards for Lawful Interception of Telecommunications (Rev. Nov. 95). These standards may be amended from time to time.

The licensee may request the Minister of Industry to forbear from enforcing certain assistance capability requirements for a limited period of time. The Minister, following consultation with Public Safety Canada, may exercise the power to forbear from enforcing a requirement or requirements where, in the opinion of the Minister, the requirement(s) is (are) not reasonably achievable. Requests for forbearance must include specific details and dates indicating when compliance with the requirement(s) can be expected.

11. Research and Development

The licensee must invest, as a minimum, two percent of its adjusted gross revenues resulting from the use of this licence, averaged over the term of the licence, in eligible research and development activities related to telecommunications. Eligible research and development activities are those which meet the definition of scientific research and experimental development adopted in the Income Tax Act, as amended from time to time. Adjusted gross revenues are defined as total service revenues, less inter-carrier payments, bad debts, third party commissions and provincial goods and services taxes collected. The licensee is exempt from research and development expenditure requirements if it, together with all affiliated licensees that are subject to the research and development condition of licence, has less than $1 billion in annual gross operating revenues from the provision of wireless services in Canada, averaged over the term of the licence. For this condition of licence, an affiliate is defined as a person who controls the carrier, or who is controlled by the carrier or by any person who controls the carrier, as per subsection 35(3) of the Telecommunications Act.

To facilitate compliance with this condition of licence, the licensee should consult Industry Canada's Guidelines for Compliance with the Radio Authorization Condition of Licence Relating to Research and Development (GL-03).

12. Mandatory Antenna Tower and Site Sharing

The licensee must comply with the mandatory antenna tower and site sharing requirements set out in Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-17, Conditions of Licence for Mandatory Roaming and Antenna Tower and Site Sharing and to Prohibit Exclusive Site Arrangements, as amended from time to time.

13. Mandatory Roaming

The licensee must comply with the mandatory roaming requirements set out in Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-17, Conditions of Licence for Mandatory Roaming and Antenna Tower and Site Sharing and to Prohibit Exclusive Site Arrangements, as amended from time to time.

14. Implementation of Spectrum Usage

The licensee must demonstrate to the Minister of Industry that the licensed spectrum has been put to use, in accordance with the levels set out in Annex C of this Framework, within five to 10 years after the initial date of issuance of the licence.

15. Deployment Related to Provision of MSS

The licensee must demonstrate to the Minister of Industry, within five years of the issuance of this licence, that MSS is being offered in the 2 GHz band across the entire service area indicated on this licence. After MSS is available, the licensee will be required to demonstrate that MSS in the 2 GHz band continues to be offered within the licensed area on an ongoing basis.

With the exception of cases of force majeure resulting in the inability of the MSS licensee to fulfill its obligation to maintain MSS, if the EchoStar T1 or its replacement satellite is not operational or no longer being used to provide MSS in Canada, the licensee must demonstrate to the Department's satisfaction that alternate MSS is being offered across the entire licensed area on an ongoing basis.

16. Annual Reporting

The licensee must submit an annual report for each year of the licence term, including the following information:

  • a statement indicating continued compliance with all licence conditions;
  • an update on the implementation and spectrum usage within the area covered by the licence;
  • existing audited financial statements with an accompanying auditor's report;
  • a statement indicating the annual gross operating revenues from the provision of wireless services in Canada, and, where applicable, the annual adjusted gross revenues resulting from the use of this licence, as defined in these conditions of licence;
  • a report of the research and development expenditures for licensees whose annual gross operating revenues exceed $1 billion (the Department reserves the right to request an audited statement of research and development expenditures with an accompanying auditor's report);
  • supporting financial statements where a licensee is claiming an exemption based on, together with all affiliated licensees that are subject to the Research and Development condition of licence, it having less than $1 billion in annual gross operating revenues from the provision of wireless services in Canada, averaged over the term of the licence;
  • a copy of any existing corporate annual report for the licensee's fiscal year with respect to this authorization;
  • a coverage map (satellite footprint) indicating the MSS service area and a statement indicating the number of subscribers utilizing the service within the licensed area; and
  • other information related to the licence as specified in any notice updating the reporting requirements as issued by Industry Canada.

All reports and statements are to be certified by an officer of the company and submitted in electronic format (Microsoft Word or PDF), within 120 days of the licensee's fiscal year-end, to the Manager, Emerging Networks, Spectrum Management and Operations Branch, at ic.spectrumoperations-operationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca. Where a licensee holds multiple licences, the reports should be broken down by service area. Confidential information provided will be treated in accordance with subsection 20(1) of the Access to Information Act.

17. Amendments

The Minister of Industry retains the discretion to amend these terms and conditions of licence at any time.

Last revision date: Feb 10, 2015

Date modified:

L9 — Licences de spectre SSFE-4 (Composantes auxiliaires de Terre)

Conditions de licence pour les licences de spectre pour la composante auxiliaire terrestre (CAT)

Pour le terme initial, les conditions ci-dessous s'appliquent aux licences de spectre composante auxiliaire terrestre (CAT) délivrées par le biais du processus ayant trait à l'avis SLPB-008-14, Décision sur un cadre politique, technique et de délivrance de licences pour services mobiles par satellite et services sans fil évolués (SSFE-4)dans les bandes 2 000-2 020 MHz et 2 180-2 200 MHz.

Il convient de noter que la licence est assujettie aux dispositions pertinentes de la Loi sur la radiocommunication et du Règlement sur la radiocommunication. Le ministre de l'Industrie détient le pouvoir de modifier les conditions de licence de spectre en vertu de l'alinéa 5(1)b) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.

1. Période de validité de la licence

Cette licence a une durée de 20 ans. À la fin de cette période, le titulaire de licence peut s'attendre à une forte probabilité de renouvellement de sa licence par l'entremise d'un processus de renouvellement, à moins qu'il y ait eu une infraction d'une condition de licence, qu'une réaffectation fondamentale de fréquences à un nouveau service soit nécessaire, ou qu'un besoin prioritaire stratégique ne se présente.

Le ministre de l'Industrie, à l'issue d'une consultation publique, décidera ensuite de toute action à prendre concernant le processus de délivrance de licences, ou leur renouvellement, incluant les termes et conditions de la nouvelle licence.

2. Droits de licence

Le titulaire de licence doit payer les droits de licence annuels applicables au plus tard le 31 mars de chaque année (du 1er avril au 31 mars). Les droits de licence d'emplacement s'appliqueront jusqu'à ce qu'un arrêté de droit à payer soit en vigueur pour les licences de spectre et qu'une licence de spectre soit délivrée.

3. Licences d'emplacement et droits

Jusqu'à ce qu'un arrêté sur les droits de licence de spectre à payer soit établi en vertu de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, le titulaire de licence doit obtenir les licences radio propres à un emplacement pour chaque installation avant le déploiement. Lorsqu'un arrêté de droit à payer est en vigueur et qu'une licence de spectre est délivrée, les licences radio propres à un emplacement seront annulées et le titulaire de licence sera tenu de payer un droit annuel conformément à la Condition 2.

Les droits de licence applicables pour chaque licence propre à un emplacement sont mentionnés à l'article 66 et établis à l'annexe III, Partie V, article 1a) du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, selon les modifications successives.

4. Admissibilité

Le titulaire de licence doit satisfaire aux critères d'admissibilité prescrits au paragraphe 9(1) du Règlement sur la radiocommunication.

5. Transférabilité et divisibilité de licence

Cette licence est transférable, en totalité ou en partie (division), sur le plan de la largeur de bande et sur le plan géographique, sous réserve de l'approbation d'Industrie Canada. Une licence subordonnée peut également être émise en ce qui a trait à cette licence et ce, également sous réserve de l'approbation d'Industrie Canada.

Le titulaire de la licence doit présenter une demande de transfert par écrit à Industrie Canada. La demande de transfert sera traitée selon les modalités établies dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-1-23, Procédure de délivrance de licences de spectre pour les services de Terre, et ses modifications successives.

Le titulaire de la licence doit présenter une demande par écrit à Industrie Canada en vue d'obtenir une approbation avant la mise en œuvre de tout transfert réputé. Sa demande sera traitée conformément aux modalités établies dans la CPC-2-1-23. La mise en œuvre d'un transfert réputé avant l'approbation préalable d'Industrie Canada sera considérée comme un bris de cette condition de licence.

Si le titulaire de la licence conclut un accord en envisageant un transfert potentiel avec un titulaire de licence de spectre mobile (y compris toute entreprise affiliée, mandataire ou représentant de l'autre titulaire de licence), le titulaire de la licence doit présenter une demande écrite d'examen du transfert potentiel auprès d'Industrie Canada, dans les 15 jours suivants la conclusion de l'accord et la demande sera traitée selon les modalités établies dans la CPC-2-1-23. Dans les cas où Industrie Canada rend une décision indiquant que le transfert potentiel est refusé, Industrie Canada considérera que le titulaire de licence enfreint cette condition de licence si l'accord prévoyant le transfert potentiel demeure en vigueur pendant plus de 90 jours après la date de la décision.

Dans tous les cas, le titulaire de la licence doit suivre les procédures décrites dans la CPC-2-1-23.

Les termes « accord »; « demande de transfert »; « entreprise affiliée »; « licence »; « licence subordonnée »; « transfert potentiel »; et « transfert réputé » ont le sens que leur donne la CPC-2-1-23.

6. Installations de stations radio

Le titulaire de licence doit se conformer à la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-0-03, Systèmes d'antennes de radiocommunications et de radiodiffusion, et ses modifications successives.

7. Communication de données techniques

Lorsqu'Industrie Canada demande des données techniques au sujet d'une station particulière ou d'un réseau particulier, les données doivent être fournies par le titulaire de licence conformément aux définitions, aux critères, aux fréquences et aux délais précisés par le Ministère. De plus amples renseignements sont donnés dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients (CPC-2-1-23) intitulée Procédure de délivrance de licences de spectre pour les services de Terre, et ses modifications successives.

8. Conformité aux lois, aux règlements et à d'autres obligations

Le titulaire de licence est assujetti, et doit satisfaire, aux dispositions de la Loi sur la radiocommunication et du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, et ses modifications successives. Le titulaire de licence doit se servir des fréquences qui lui sont assignées conformément au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences et à la politique d'utilisation du spectre applicable à ces bandes de fréquences, et ses modifications successives. La licence est délivrée à la condition que toutes les indications données dans le cadre de l'obtention de la licence soient véridiques et complètes à tous les égards.

9. Considérations techniques et coordination nationale et internationale

Le titulaire de licence doit se conformer en tout temps aux Cahiers des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR) et aux Plans normalisés de réseaux hertziens (PNRH) applicables, et leurs modifications successives. Le cas échéant, le titulaire de licence devrait s'efforcer de conclure des accords mutuellement acceptables avec d'autres parties en vue de faciliter le développement raisonnable et opportun de leurs systèmes respectifs, et d'assurer la coordination avec d'autres utilisateurs titulaires de licence au Canada et à l'étranger.

Le titulaire de licence doit respecter les obligations résultant des accords actuels et futurs de coordination de fréquences conclus par le Canada avec d'autres pays et est tenu de fournir de l'information ou de prendre des mesures pour mettre en œuvre ces obligations, conformément au PNRH applicable.

L'opération ne doit pas contraindre le déploiement de réseaux à satellite SMS associés à cette licence.

Le titulaire de licence doit respecter toutes les mesures techniques et opérationnelles spécifiées dans SLPB-008-14, Décision sur un cadre politique, technique et de délivrance de licences pour services mobiles par satellite et services sans fil évolués (SSFE-4)dans les bandes 2 000-2 020 MHz et 2 180-2 200 MHz, et ses modifications successives.

10. Interception légale

Les titulaires de licence qui se serviront de fréquences pour des systèmes téléphoniques à commutation de circuits doivent, dès la mise au point des services, prévoir et maintenir les capacités d'interception légale autorisées par la loi. Les exigences en matière de capacités d'interception légale sont établies dans les Normes d'application pour l'interception légale des télécommunications du Solliciteur général (Rev. Nov. 95). Ces normes peuvent être modifiées de temps à autre.

Les titulaires de licence peuvent demander au Ministre de s'abstenir d'appliquer, pendant une période limitée, certaines exigences en matière de secours. Le ministre de l'Industrie peut, après consultation auprès du ministre de la Sécurité publique, exercer son pouvoir de s'abstenir d'appliquer des exigences lorsqu'à son avis, les exigences en question ne peuvent pas être respectées par des moyens raisonnables. Les demandes d'abstention de réglementer doivent comporter des détails précis et des dates où l'on peut s'attendre à la conformité aux exigences.

11. Recherche et développement

Le titulaire de licence doit investir au moins 2 % de ses revenus bruts rajustés provenant de l'exploitation de cette licence, échelonné sur la durée de la licence, dans des activités de R-D admissibles se rattachant aux télécommunications. Les activités de R-D admissibles sont celles qui répondent à la définition de la recherche scientifique et du développement expérimental adoptée dans la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, et ses modifications successives. Les revenus bruts rajustés sont définis comme étant les recettes totales provenant du service, moins les paiements entre les entreprises, les créances irrécouvrables, les commissions payées à des tiers, et les taxes provinciales et les taxes sur les biens et services perçues. Le titulaire de licence est exempt des exigences applicables aux dépenses consacrées à la R-D si, lui-même, ainsi que tous les titulaires de licence affiliés et assujettis à la condition de licence ayant trait à la R-D, font moins d'un milliard de dollars de revenus d'exploitation bruts annuels provenant de leurs services sans-fil au Canada, et ce, échelonné sur la durée de la licence. Dans le cadre de cette condition de licence, conformément au paragraphe 35(3) de la Loi sur les télécommunications un affilié s'entend de toute personne qui, soit contrôle l'entreprise, soit est contrôlée par celle-ci ou par la personne qui la contrôle.

Pour faciliter le respect de cette condition de licence, le titulaire de licence devrait consulter les Lignes directrices sur le respect de la condition relative à la recherche-développement (R-D) pour les licences d'autorisation de radiocommunication (LD-03) d'Industrie Canada.

12. Partage obligatoire des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements

Le titulaire de licence doit se conformer aux exigences relatives au partage obligatoire des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements énoncés dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-0-17, Conditions de licence concernant l'itinérance obligatoire, le partage des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements, ainsi que l'interdiction des emplacements exclusifs, et ses modifications successives.

13. Itinérance obligatoire

Le titulaire de licence doit se conformer aux exigences relatives à l'itinérance obligatoire énoncées dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-0-17, Conditions de licence concernant l'itinérance obligatoire, le partage des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements, ainsi que l'interdiction des emplacements exclusifs, et ses modifications successives.

14. Mise en service des fréquences

Le titulaire de licence doit démontrer au ministre de l'Industrie qu'il a utilisé le spectre conformément aux niveaux indiqués à l'annexe C dans les 5 et 10 années suivant la date initiale de délivrance de la licence.

15. Déploiement relatif au service SMS

Le titulaire de licence doit démontrer au ministre de l'Industrie, dans les 5 années suivant la délivrance de cette licence, que le SMS est offert dans la bande de fréquence de 2 GHz dans toute la zone de service indiquée sur cette licence. Lorsque le SMS sera disponible, le titulaire de licence sera tenu de démontrer que le SMS dans la bande de 2 GHz continue d'être offert en permanence dans la zone visée par la licence.

À l'exception des cas de force majeure résultant de l'incapacité du titulaire de licence SMS de remplir son obligation de maintenir le SMS, si l'EchoStar T1, ou son satellite de remplacement n'est pas opérationnel ou n'est plus utilisé pour fournir le SMS au Canada, le titulaire de licence doit démontrer à la satisfaction du Ministère qu'un SMS de remplacement est offert en permanence dans toute la zone visée par la licence.

16. Présentation des rapports annuels

Le titulaire de licence doit soumettre un rapport annuel pour chaque année de la période de validité de la licence comprenant les renseignements suivants :

  1. une déclaration indiquant la conformité continue avec toutes les conditions de licence;
  2. une mise à jour sur la mise en service des fréquences et leur utilisation dans la zone de service visée par la licence;
  3. des états financiers vérifiés accompagnés du rapport du vérificateur;
  4. un énoncé précisant les revenus d'exploitation bruts annuels provenant de la fourniture de services sans fil au Canada et, s'il y a lieu, les revenus bruts ajustés annuels provenant de l'utilisation de la licence, comme il est précisé dans les conditions de licence;
  5. un rapport des dépenses en recherche et développement pour les titulaires de licence dont les recettes d'exploitation brutes annuelles sont supérieures à 1 milliard de dollars (le Ministère se réserve le droit de demander un état vérifié des dépenses en recherche et développement, accompagné d'un rapport de vérificateur);
  6. les états financiers à l'appui - dans le cas où le titulaire de licence, en collaboration avec tous les titulaires de licence affiliés assujettis aux conditions de licence en recherche et développement, demande une exemption en raison d'un revenu brut d'exploitation inférieur à 1 milliard de dollars provenant de la prestation de services sans fil au Canada, échelonné sur la période de validité de la licence;
  7. un exemplaire de tout rapport annuel du titulaire de licence pour l'exercice financier de l'entreprise correspondant à la présente autorisation;
  8. une carte de couverture (périmètre de couverture du satellite) indiquant la zone de service du SMS et un énoncé indiquant le nombre d'abonnés utilisant le service à l'intérieur de la zone visée par une licence;
  9. les autres informations liées à la licence indiquée dans tout avis de mise à jour des exigences en matière de rapport communiqué par Industrie Canada.

Les rapports et les déclarations doivent tous être certifiés par un dirigeant de l'entreprise et soumis électroniquement (Microsoft Word ou PDF) au Gestionnaire, Réseaux émergents à ic.spectrumoperations-operationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca dans les 120 jours suivant la fin de l'exercice financier du titulaire de licence. Lorsqu'un titulaire détient plusieurs licences, les rapports devraient être ventilés par zone de service. Les renseignements confidentiels fournis seront traités conformément au paragraphe 20(1) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

17. Modifications

Le ministre de l'Industrie conserve le pouvoir discrétionnaire de modifier en tout temps les présentes conditions de licence.

Date de la dernière révision: le 10 février 2015

Date de modification :