M4 — BWA 24 and 38 GHz Auction Licences issued as a result of the renewal process of 2014

Conditions of Licence - Renewed spectrum licences in the auctioned 24 and 38 GHz bands

The following conditions apply to spectrum licences in the 24 and 38 GHz bands issued through the renewal process described in SLPB-006-14, New Licensing Framework for the 24, 28 and 38 GHz Bands and Decision on a Licence Renewal Process for the 24 and 38 GHz Bands.

It should be noted that the licences are subject to the relevant provisions in the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations, as amended from time to time. For example, the Minister continues to have the power to amend the terms and conditions of spectrum licences, under section 5(1)(b) of the Radiocommunication Act.

1. Licence Term

The term of this licence is 10 years. Prior to the end of the licence term, a consultation will be held to determine whether new licences will be issued through a renewal process and if so under what terms and conditions. Therefore, these licences do not have a high expectation of renewal.

2. Licence Fees

The licensee must pay the applicable annual licence fee on or before March 31 of each year for the subsequent year (April 1 to March 31).

3. Eligibility Criteria

The licensee must conform to eligibility criteria as set out in Section 9(1) of the Radiocommunication Regulations.

4. Licence Transferability and Divisibility

This licence is transferable in whole or in part (divisibility), in both bandwidth and geographic dimensions, subject to Industry Canada's approval. A Subordinate Licence may also be issued in regard to this licence, subject to Industry Canada's approval.

In all cases, the licensee must follow the procedures as outlined in Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-1-23, Licensing Procedure for Spectrum Licences for Terrestrial Services.

All capitalized terms have the meaning ascribed to them in CPC-2-1-23.

5. Radio Station Installations

The licensee must comply with Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-03, Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Antenna Systems, as amended from time to time.

6. Provision of Technical Information

The licensee must provide Industry Canada with, and maintain, up-to-date technical information on a particular station or network information in accordance with the definitions, criteria, frequency and timelines specified in Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-1-23 - Licensing Procedure for Spectrum Licences for Terrestrial Services, as amended from time to time.

7. Compliance with Legislation, Regulations and Other Obligations

The licensee is subject to, and must comply with, the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations, as amended from time to time. The licensee must use the assigned spectrum in accordance with the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations and the spectrum policies applicable to this band, as amended from time to time. The licence is issued on condition that all representations made in relation to obtaining this licence are all true and complete in every respect.

8. Technical Considerations and International and Domestic Coordination

The licensee must comply on an ongoing basis with the technical aspects of the appropriate Radio Standards Specifications (RSS) and Standard Radio System Plans (SRSP), as amended from time to time. Where applicable, the licensee must use its best efforts to enter into mutually acceptable agreements with other parties for facilitating the reasonable and timely development of their respective systems, and to coordinate with other licensed users in Canada and internationally.

The licensee must comply with the obligations arising from current and future frequency coordination agreements established between Canada and other countries and shall be required to provide information or take actions to implement these obligations as indicated in the applicable SRSP. Although frequency assignments are not subject to site licensing, the licensee may be required through the appropriate SRSP to furnish all necessary technical data for each relevant site.

9. Lawful Interception

The licensee operating as telecommunication common carrier using the spectrum for voice telephony systems must, from the inception of service, provide for and maintain lawful interception capabilities as authorized by law. The requirements for lawful interception capabilities are provided in the Solicitor General's Enforcement Standards for Lawful Interception of Telecommunications (Rev. Nov. 95) - SGES. These standards may be amended from time to time.

The licensee may request the Minister of Industry to forbear from enforcing certain assistance capability requirements for a limited period of time. The Minister, following consultation with Public Safety Canada, may exercise the power to forbear from enforcing a requirement or requirements where, in the opinion of the Minister, the requirement is not reasonably achievable. Requests for forbearance must include specific details and dates indicating when compliance to the requirement can be expected.

10. Research and Development (R&D)

The licensee must invest, as a minimum, 2 percent of its adjusted gross revenues resulting from the use of this licence, averaged over the term of the licence, in eligible research and development activities related to telecommunications. Eligible research and development activities are those which meet the definition of scientific research and experimental development adopted in the Income Tax Act, as amended from time to time. Adjusted gross revenues are defined as total service revenues, less inter-carrier payments, bad debts, third party commissions, and provincial goods and services taxes collected. The licensee is exempt from research and development expenditure requirements if it, together with all affiliated licensees that are subject to the research and development condition of licence, has less than $1 billion in annual gross operating revenues from the provision of wireless services in Canada, averaged over the term of the licence. For this condition of licence, an affiliate is defined as a person who controls the carrier, or who is controlled by the carrier or by any person who controls the carrier, as per subsection 35(3) of the Telecommunications Act.

To facilitate compliance with this condition of licence, the licensee should consult the Department's Guideline GL-03 - Guidelines for Compliance with the Radio Authorization Condition of Licence Relating to Research and Development.

11. Implementation of Spectrum Usage

The licensee must demonstrate to the Minister of Industry, a maintained level of deployment equal to or greater than eight links per one million population (rounded up to a whole number) within the licensed service area on an ongoing basis.

12. Mandatory Antenna Tower and Site Sharing

The licensee operating as telecommunications common carrier must comply with the mandatory roaming requirements set out in Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-17 - Conditions of Licence for Mandatory Roaming and Antenna Tower and Site Sharing and to Prohibit Exclusive Site Arrangements, as amended from time to time.

13. Annual Reporting

The licensee must submit an annual report for each year of the licence term, which includes the following information:

  • a statement indicating continued compliance with all conditions of licence;
  • an update on the implementation and spectrum usage within the area covered by the licence;
  • a statement indicating the annual gross operating revenues from the provision of wireless services in Canada, and, where applicable, the annual adjusted gross revenues resulting from the use of this licence, as defined in these conditions of licence;
  • a report of the Research and Development Expenditures for licensees whose annual gross operating revenues exceed $1 billion (the Department reserves the right to request an audited Statement of Research and Development expenditures with an accompanying Auditor's Report);
  • supporting financial statements where a licensee is claiming an exemption to the Research and Development condition of licence;
  • a copy of any existing corporate annual report for the licensee's fiscal year; and
  • other information related to the licence as specified in any notice updating the reporting requirements as issued by Industry Canada.

All reports and statements must be certified by an officer of the company and submitted, in writing, within 120 days of the licensee's fiscal year-end. Confidential information provided will be treated in accordance with section 20(1) of the Access to Information Act.

Reports are to be submitted to Industry Canada at the following address:

Industry Canada c/o Manager, Emerging Networks Spectrum Management Operations Branch 235 Queen Street (C.D. Howe 6th East Floor) Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5

Where a licensee holds multiple licences, spectrum implementation reports should be broken down by licence area.

14. Amendments

The Minister of Industry retains the discretion to amend these terms and conditions of licence at any time.

Last revision date: May 14, 2015

Date modified:

M4 — Licences d'enchère BWA 24 et 38 GHz délivrées par l'intermédiaire du processus de renouvellement de 2014

Conditions de licence - Licences de spectre renouvelées dans les bandes de 24 GHz et de 38 GHz mises aux enchères

Les conditions qui suivent s'appliquent aux licences de spectre dans les bandes de 24 GHz et de 38 GHz délivrées selon le processus de renouvellement décrit dans le SLPB-006-14 - Nouveau cadre de délivrance de licences pour les bandes de 24, 28 et 38 GHz et décision au sujet du processus de renouvellement des licences pour les bandes de 24 et de 38 GHz.

Il convient de noter que les licences sont visées par les dispositions pertinentes de la Loi sur la radiocommunication et du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, et les modifications subséquentes. Par exemple, le Ministre continue de détenir le pouvoir de modifier les modalités des licences de spectre, en vertu de l'alinéa 5(1)b) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.

1. Période de licence

La période de la licence est de dix ans. Une consultation aura lieu avant la fin de cette période afin de déterminer si de nouvelles licences seront délivrées par l'entremise d'un processus de renouvellement et, le cas échéant, selon quelles conditions. Par conséquent, ces licences n'auront pas une haute probabilité de renouvellement.

2. Droits de licence

Le titulaire de la licence doit payer les droits annuels de licence au plus tard le 31 mars de chaque année pour l'année qui suit (du 1er avril au 31 mars).

3. Critères d'admissibilité

Le titulaire de la licence doit respecter les critères d'admissibilité établis au paragraphe 9(1) du Règlement sur la radiocommunication.

4. Transférabilité et divisibilité de la licence

Cette licence est transférable, en totalité ou en partie (divisibilité), sur le plan de la bande passante et sur le plan géographique, sous réserve de l'approbation d'Industrie Canada. Une licence subordonnée peut également être délivrée relativement à la licence, sous réserve de l'approbation d'Industrie Canada.

Dans tous les cas, le titulaire de la licence doit respecter les procédures établies dans la circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-1-23, Procédure de délivrance de licences de spectre pour les services de Terre.

Tous les mots en majuscules ont le sens que leur donne la CPC-2-1-23.

5. Installations de stations de radio

Le titulaire de licence doit respecter la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-0-03, Systèmes d'antennes de radiocommunications et de radiodiffusion, modifiée de temps à autre.

6. Communication de renseignements techniques

Le titulaire de la licence doit maintenir et fournir à Industrie Canada des renseignements techniques à jour sur ses différents réseaux ou stations conformément aux définitions, critères, fréquences et délais précisés dans la circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-1-23 - Procédure de délivrance de licences de spectre pour les services de Terre, modifiée de temps à autre.

7. Conformité aux lois, aux règlements et aux autres obligations

Le titulaire doit se conformer à la Loi sur la radiocommunication et au Règlement sur la radiocommunication, ainsi qu'à leurs modifications successives. Le titulaire doit utiliser les fréquences attribuées conformément au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences et aux politiques du spectre applicable à cette bande, de même qu'à leurs modifications. La licence est délivrée à la condition que les attestations fournies en vue d'obtenir la licence soient toutes vraies et complètes à tous les égards.

8. Facteurs techniques et coordination internationale et nationale

Le titulaire de licence doit se conformer en tout temps aux aspects techniques des Cahiers des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR) et des Plans normalisés de réseaux hertziens (PNRH), modifiés de temps à autre. Le titulaire de licence devrait s'efforcer de conclure des accords avec d'autres parties qui sont mutuellement acceptables et qui faciliteront le développement raisonnable et opportun de leurs systèmes respectifs et assurer la coordination avec d'autres utilisateurs titulaires de licence au Canada et à l'étranger, le cas échéant.

Le titulaire de licence doit se conformer aux obligations découlant des accords actuels et futurs conclus avec d'autres pays et concernant la coordination et il est tenu de fournir l'information ou de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour mettre en œuvre ces obligations conformément au PNRH applicable. Bien que les attributions ne soient pas assujetties à la délivrance de licences à l'égard des emplacements, le titulaire de licence peut être tenu, selon le PNRH applicable, de fournir toutes les données techniques nécessaires à l'égard de chaque emplacement pertinent.

9. Interception légale

Le titulaire agissant à titre d'exploitant public de télécommunications et utilisant le spectre aux fins de systèmes de téléphonie vocale doit assurer des capacités d'interception légale autorisée par la loi, dès la conception du service. Les exigences en matière de capacités d'interception légale sont énoncées dans les Normes d'application de la loi relativement à l'interception légale des télécommunications du Solliciteur général du Canada (révisées en novembre 1995). Ces normes peuvent être modifiées périodiquement.

Le titulaire de licence peut demander au ministre de l'Industrie de s'abstenir d'appliquer, pendant une période limitée, certaines prescriptions applicables aux capacités d'assistance. Après avoir consulté Sécurité publique Canada, le Ministère peut exercer son pouvoir de s'abstenir d'appliquer une ou des exigences lorsqu'à son avis, l'exigence n'est pas raisonnable. Les demandes d'abstention doivent inclure des détails précis et des dates auxquelles les titulaires de licences prévoient pouvoir se conformer.

10. Recherche et développement (R et D)

Le titulaire de la licence doit investir au moins deux pourcent de ses revenus bruts rajustés découlant de l'utilisation de la licence, échelonnés sur la période de validité de cette dernière, en activités admissibles de recherche et développement touchant aux télécommunications. Les activités de recherche et développement admissibles sont celles qui correspondent à la définition d'activités de recherche scientifique et de développement expérimental adoptée dans la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, et ses modifications successives. Les revenus bruts rajustés sont définis comme étant les recettes totales provenant du service, moins les paiements entre les entreprises, les créances irrécouvrables, les commissions payées à des tiers et les taxes provinciales sur les biens et services perçues. Le titulaire de la licence est exempté des exigences de dépenses en activités de recherche et développement si lui-même ainsi que tous les créances irrécouvrables, les commissions payées à des tiers et les taxes provinciales sur les biens et services perçues. Le titulaire de la licence est exempté des exigences de dépenses en activités de recherche et développement si lui même ainsi que tous les titulaires de licence affiliés assujettis à la condition de licence concernant la recherche et le développement ont des revenus d'exploitation bruts annuels inférieurs à un milliard de dollars provenant de leurs services sans-fil au Canada, échelonnés sur la période de validité de la licence. En ce qui concerne cette condition de licence, conformément au paragraphe 35(3) de la Loi sur les télécommunications, un affilié s'entend de toute personne qui soit contrôle l'entreprise, soit est contrôlée par celle-ci ou par la personne qui la contrôle.

Pour faciliter la conformité à cette condition de licence, les titulaires de licences devraient consulter les Lignes directrices du Ministère LD-03 - Lignes directrices sur le respect de la condition relative à la recherche-développement (R-D) pour les licences d'autorisation de radiocommunication.

11. Mise en œuvre des fréquences

Le titulaire de licence doit démontrer au ministre de l'Industrie qu'il a maintenu un degré d'utilisation du spectre égal ou supérieur à huit liaisons par million de population (arrondi à un nombre entier) dans la zone de service sur une base continue.

12. Partage obligatoire des pylônes et des emplacements

Le titulaire de la licence agissant à titre d'exploitant public de télécommunications doit se conformer aux exigences concernant l'itinérance obligatoire établies dans la circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-0-17 - Conditions de licence concernant l'itinérance obligatoire, le partage des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements ainsi que zone de service visée par la licence; l'interdiction des emplacements exclusifs, et ses modifications successives.

13. Production d'un rapport annuel

Le titulaire de la licence doit présenter un rapport annuel pour chaque année de la période de validité de la licence qui contient notamment les renseignements suivants :

  • une déclaration indiquant la conformité continue à toutes les conditions de licence;
  • une mise à jour sur la mise en service des fréquences et leur utilisation dans la zone de service visée par la licence;
  • une déclaration indiquant les revenus d'exploitation bruts annuels provenant de ses services sans-fil au Canada, et le cas échéant, les revenus bruts annuels rajustés provenant de l'exploitation de la licence, comme cela est établi dans les conditions de licence;
  • un rapport des dépenses en recherche et développement pour les titulaires de licence dont les recettes d'exploitation brutes annuelles dont supérieures à 1 milliard de dollars (le Ministère se réserve le droit de demander un état vérifié des dépenses en R-D, accompagné d'un rapport de vérificateur);
  • les documents financiers à l'appui en vertu desquels le titulaire de la licence demande une exemption à la condition de licence ayant trait aux activités de recherche et développement;
  • une copie de tout rapport annuel de société existante pour l'exercice financier;
  • tout autre renseignement concernant la licence, conformément à tout avis visant la mise à jour des exigences de rapport émis par Industrie Canada.

Les rapports et états doivent tous être certifiés par un dirigeant de l'entreprise et présentés, par écrit, dans les 120 jours suivant la fin de l'exercice du titulaire de la licence.

L'information confidentielle fournie sera traitée conformément au paragraphe 20(1) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Les rapports doivent être soumis à Industrie Canada à l'adresse suivante :

Industrie Canada
Gestionnaire, Réseaux émergents
Direction générale des opérations de la gestion du spectre
235, rue Queen (TJEN, 15e étage)
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H5

Si le titulaire de la licence détient plusieurs licences, les rapports relatifs à l'utilisation des fréquences doivent être ventilés selon les différentes zones visées par ces licences.

14. Modifications

Le ministre de l'Industrie conserve le pouvoir discrétionnaire de modifier en tout temps les présentes conditions de licence.

Date de la dernière révision: 14 mai 2015

Date de modification :