Transparency Reporting Guidelines

Posted on Industry Canada website: June 30, 2015

Canadians expect that when they share personal information with businesses and private organisations that it will be safe, and will only be shared under specific conditions. This expectation is supported in Canadian privacy law, under which private businesses are required to be open and transparent about their policies and practices with respect to their management of personal information.

While organizations have flexibility in how they meet this obligation, depending on the nature of their business, a number of businesses have proactively elected to voluntarily publish "Transparency Reports" to account for how often, and in what circumstances, they provide information about their customers and clients to government authorities.

Canadian law enforcement, national security agencies, and regulatory authorities rely on the collection of information to enforce the law and protect public safety. Information may be collected in the context of a criminal investigation, a regulatory audit or inspection, to find a lost or injured child, or to protect an individual from an imminent threat to their well-being, among other lawful duties.

In this context, Transparency Reporting Guidelines (the Guidelines) have been prepared to help private organizations be open with their customers, regarding the management and sharing of their personal information with government, while respecting the work of law enforcement, national security agencies, and regulatory authorities.

Specifically, the Guidelines cover categories of disclosures for reporting purposes and limitations to consider when reporting statistics. Multinational companies may be subject to different standards and requirements for reporting in different jurisdictions, which may result in differences in reporting.

A. Categories of Disclosures

Subject to the limitations set out in Part B, organizations may choose to report the number of disclosures made to government authorities by the following categories. For each category, organizations may choose to report any of the following statistics:  the number of requests received from government authorities, the number of requests fulfilled, the number of requests rejected or contested; and the number of persons or accounts whose information was disclosed.

1. Voluntary disclosures at the request of a government organization: refers to the voluntary disclosure of personal information at the request of law enforcement or other government organizations. These requests deal with circumstances where a warrant or court order is not required to obtain information, including but not limited to criminal investigations, information needed to locate and notify the next-of-kin of an injured, ill or deceased individual, return stolen property, or assist in the search for missing or lost persons.

2. Voluntary disclosures on the initiative of the organization: refers to the voluntary disclosure of personal information to government authorities, for the purpose of reporting a crime. In these circumstances, there is no request from government authorities.

3. Disclosures in emergency or exigent circumstances: refers to requests made to assist law enforcement agencies in situations involving serious or imminent harm to any person or property without application to a judge. Requests made in emergency or exigent circumstances include but are not limited to requests for basic identifying information (referring to personal identifiers such as customer name, telephone number, mailing address and the local service provider identifier associated with a telecommunications or other service), intercepted communications, and tracking data (governed by relevant provisions of the Criminal Code including ss. 184.1, 184.4 and 487.11, and other relevant statutes and the common law). Requests counted under this category should not be counted again under other data categories.

4. Disclosures made in compliance with federal or provincial law: refers to compellable requests made by government agencies under the express authority of federal or provincial legislation, such as the Customs Act or Income Tax Act, for regulatory enforcement or other government service purpose. These requests are sometimes referred to as "government requirement letters".

5. Court ordered (warranted) disclosures: refers to production orders, summons, subpoenas, and search warrants issued by a judge or other judicial officer. There are a number of different types of these orders, including but not limited to:

  1. Basic identifying information (court ordered): refers to personal identifiers such as customer name, telephone number, mailing address and the local service provider identifier associated with a telecommunications or other service in circumstances where there is a reasonable expectation of privacy, and disclosed pursuant to a court order.
  2. Tracking data (obtained via tracking warrant; governed by s.492.1 of the Criminal Code and other relevant statutes): refers to data that relates to the location of a transaction, individual or thing.
  3. Transmission data (obtained via transmission data recorder warrant; governed by s.492.2 of the Criminal Code and other relevant statutes): refers to any data obtained by dialling, addressing, routing, or signalling, such as the incoming and outgoing numbers of a phone call, or the time an email was sent and received. Transmission data does not reveal the content of a conversation or message.
  4. Stored communications content and other stored data (obtained via warrant and production orders; governed by ss, 487, 487.01, and 487.014 – 487.018 of the Criminal Code and other relevant statutes): may refer to provision of historical data, including the content of stored communications such as text messages or other data such as photos, and provision of other types of stored data.
  5. Real time interception (obtained via wiretap warrant; governed by Part VI of the Criminal Code and other relevant statutes): refers to private communications intercepted by means of any electro-magnetic, acoustic, mechanical or other device.

To the extent that organizations wish to report separately by the type of court order or warrant received, they should feel free to do so, provided that they respect the limitations set out in Part B of the Guidelines, and are not otherwise prohibited from disclosure.

6. Other: In some cases, organizations may also wish to report on the following categories of requests, should they feel it is relevant and appropriate to do so, given their particular circumstances.

  1. Foreign agency requests (court ordered): Refers to requests received from government agencies outside of Canada regarding criminal matters. The Government of Canada may facilitate such requests pursuant to the Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters Act.
  2. Preservation demands and orders (governed by s.487.012 and s.487.013 of the Criminal Code): Refers to demands (by peace or public officers) or orders (by a justice or judge) requiring a person to preserve computer data for either 21 or 90 days, depending on the circumstances. Preservation demands and orders simply compel a person to not delete data in their possession or control. This allows government agencies time to submit an appropriate request to obtain the preserved information, such as obtaining a court authorized production order to obtain historical text messages. These requests should be counted separately and not contribute to the total number of requests, since no information is actually obtained by government agencies making preservation requests. Where these agencies submit general warrants, production orders, or other applications to obtain information subsequent to preservation requests, the request will be counted under the relevant former category.

B. Limitations

When reporting statistics by each of the categories listed in Part A, organizations should respect the following limitations, in order to protect the work of law enforcement, national security, and regulatory agencies

  1. As presented in the sample chart below, figures between 0 and 100 should be represented in a band of '0-100' when any figure in column A (Number of Requests) or Column B (Number of Disclosures) is less than 100. In such cases the banding of figures should apply to all columns for that data type whose figure is between 0-100. Any figure over 100 may be represented by its actual number. This is to protect the operational activities and capabilities of Canadian government and law enforcement agencies.
  2. Figures should be aggregated to reflect Canada-wide statistics, and should not differentiate between law enforcement, national security, and regulatory agencies (i.e. there should be no breakdown by geography or specific agency). Moreover, these figures should also be aggregated such that service type and its associated network technology are not distinguishable (i.e. cellular voice services should not be subdivided and reported according to 2G, 3G or 4G/LTE network type, etc.). This is to protect the operational activities and capabilities of Canadian government and law enforcement agencies.
  3. There should be a six month delay in reporting timeframe. For example, if a report covers the period January 1 to December 31, 2014, it should not be released before July 1, 2015. This is to ensure that most active investigations have no possibility of being compromised.

The limitation provisions will ensure that transparency reporting does not impair or compromise national security or criminal investigations, and the safety and security of Canada and its citizens.

These provisions are dynamic and may be subject to change based on sensitive Canadian government operations that necessitate additional or other safeguards, or to keep pace with suspected criminal and unlawful activities that use telecommunications services and related technologies.

This template has been provided as an example:

Figures between 0 and 100 should be represented in a band of '0-100' when any figure in column A (Number of Requests) or Column B (Number of Disclosures) is less than 100.

Law Enforcement, National Security, and Regulatory Agency Requests for Customer Data (2014)
A B C D
Data type Number of requests
(0-100 or exact # if over 100)
Number of disclosures (full or partial information disclosed)
(0-100 or exact # if over 100)
Number of requests rejected or contested (see limitation on banding 0-100) Number of persons or accounts with data was disclosed (see limitation on banding 0-100)
* Organizations are encouraged, where and when possible, to provide additional aggregate details on court ordered (warranted) requests, as described above.

** "Total" does not include any figure in which the 0-100 band is applied
Voluntary disclosure at the request of a government agency e.g. 127,754 114,773 9,981 98,824
Voluntary disclosure on the initiative of the organization e.g. N/A 114,733 N/A 98,824
Disclosures in emergency or exigent circumstances e.g. 35,365 35,365 0 Not tracked
Disclosures made in compliance with federal or provincial law e.g. 1,735 e.g. 1,733 2 5,384
Court ordered (warranted) disclosures* e.g. 68,653 67,967 686 56,647
a) Basic identifying information (court ordered) e.g. 47,491 47,106 475 38,629
b) Tracking data e.g. 8,881 8,792 89 6,985
c) Transmission data e.g. 7,539 7,464 75 7,043
d) Stored communications content and other stored data e.g. 4,742 4,695 47 3,990
e) Real time interceptions e.g. 0-100 0-100 0-100 0-100
Other Requests:
a) Foreign Agency Requests (court ordered) e.g. 0-100 0-100 0-100 Not tracked
b) Preservation demands and orders e.g. 52,791 52,791 0 61,839
Total Requests** e.g. 354,951 455,379 11,355 378,165
Date modified:

Lignes directrices concernant la production de rapports sur les mesures de transparence

Affiché sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada : le 30 juin 2015

Les Canadiens s'attendent à ce qu'on assure la sécurité des renseignements personnels qu'ils communiquent aux entreprises et aux organismes privés et à ce qu'on ne les divulgue que sous réserve de conditions précises. Les lois canadiennes sur la protection de la vie privée, en vertu desquelles les entreprises privées sont tenues de faire preuve d'ouverture et de transparence au sujet de leurs politiques et pratiques de gestion des renseignements personnels, leur donnent raison.

Bien que les organismes aient une certaine latitude quant à la façon de s'acquitter de cette obligation selon la nature de leurs activités, un certain nombre d'entreprises ont choisi proactivement de publier volontairement des « rapports sur la transparence » pour rendre compte de la fréquence à laquelle elles fournissent des renseignements au sujet de leurs clients aux autorités gouvernementales et des circonstances dans lesquelles elles le font.

Les organismes d'application de la loi, les organismes de sécurité nationale et les organismes de réglementation du Canada comptent sur la collecte de renseignements pour appliquer la loi et protéger la sécurité publique. Les renseignements peuvent être recueillis dans le cadre d'une enquête criminelle, d'une vérification réglementaire ou d'une inspection afin, entre autres fonctions conférées par la loi, de trouver un enfant perdu ou blessé ou de protéger une personne d'une menace imminente à son bien-être.

Des lignes directrices pour la production de rapports sur la transparence (ligne directrices) ont donc été préparées pour aider les organismes privés à faire preuve de transparence envers leurs clients quant à la façon dont ils gèrent leurs renseignements personnels et les communiquent au gouvernement tout en respectant le travail des organismes d'application de la loi, des organismes de sécurité nationale et des organismes de réglementation.

Plus précisément, les lignes directrices traitent des catégories de divulgation aux fins de la production de rapports et des restrictions à prendre en considération au moment de communiquer des statistiques. Les multinationales peuvent être assujetties à des normes et à des exigences de rapport variant selon le lieu, ce qui peut se traduire par des disparités de déclaration.

A. Catégories de divulgations

Sous réserve des restrictions énoncées à la partie B, les organismes peuvent choisir de faire état du nombre de divulgations faites aux autorités gouvernementales dans les catégories suivantes. Pour chaque catégorie, les organismes peuvent choisir de communiquer n'importe quelles des statistiques suivantes : le nombre de demandes reçues d'autorités gouvernementales; le nombre de demandes satisfaites; le nombre de demandes rejetées ou contestées; et le nombre de personnes ou de comptes dont on a divulgué des renseignements.

1. Divulgations volontaires à la demande d'un organisme public : Fait référence à la divulgation volontaire de renseignements personnels à la demande d'organismes d'application de la loi ou d'autres organismes publics. Ces demandes s'appliquent quand il n'est pas nécessaire d'obtenir un mandat ou une ordonnance de la cour afin d'obtenir les renseignements, y compris, sans s'y restreindre, pour mener des enquêtes criminelles, pour trouver et aviser le plus proche parent d'une personne blessée, malade ou décédée, pour rendre des biens volés ou pour aider à retrouver des personnes disparues.

2. Divulgations volontaires à l'initiative de l'organisme : Fait référence à la divulgation volontaire de renseignements personnels aux autorités gouvernementales pour signaler un crime. Aucune demande n'est alors formulée par une autorité gouvernementale.

3. Demandes de divulgation en cas d'urgence : Fait référence aux demandes formulées en vue d'aider les organismes d'application de la loi en cas de danger grave ou imminent pour une personne ou un bien sans passer par un juge. Les demandes formulées en cas d'urgence comprennent, sans s'y restreindre, les demandes de renseignements d'identification de base (les renseignements d'identification personnelle tels que le nom du client, le numéro de téléphone, l'adresse postale et l'identifiant d'un fournisseur de services locaux associé à un service de télécommunications ou à un autre service), les communications interceptées et les données de localisation (régies par les articles 184.1, 184.4 et 487.11 du Code criminel, d'autres lois applicables et le common law). Il ne faut comptabiliser ces demandes dans aucune autre catégorie.

4. Demandes de divulgation en vertu d'une loi fédérale ou provinciale : Fait référence aux demandes auxquelles les destinataires sont contraints de répondre et qui sont formulées par des organismes publics expressément en vertu d'une loi fédérale ou provinciale telle que la Loi sur les douanes ou la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu aux fins de mise en application de la loi ou d'autres services assurés par le gouvernement. Ces demandes sont parfois appelées des « lettres d'exigence gouvernementale ».

5. Divulgations par ordonnance d'un tribunal (avec mandat) : Fait référence aux ordonnances de communication, aux assignations, aux assignations à témoigner et aux mandats de perquisition émis par un juge ou un autre fonctionnaire judiciaire. De différents types, ces ordonnances comprennent, sans s'y restreindre :

  1. Renseignements d'identification de base (par ordonnance d'un tribunal) : Fait référence aux renseignements d'identification personnelle tels que le nom du client, le numéro de téléphone, l'adresse postale et l'identifiant du fournisseur de services locaux associé à un service de télécommunications ou à un autre service qui sont divulgués à la suite de l'ordonnance d'un tribunal lorsqu'il y a une attente raisonnable en matière de vie privée.
  2. Données de localisation (obtenues par mandat de localisation et régies par l'article 492.1 du Code criminel et d'autres lois applicables) : Fait référence aux données concernent le lieu d'une opération, d'une personne physique ou d'une chose.
  3. Données de transmission (obtenues par mandat autorisant l'enregistrement de données de transmission en vertu de l'article 492.2 du Code criminel et d'autres lois applicables) : Fait référence à toute donnée obtenue par numérotation, adressage, routage ou signalisation, comme les numéros d'origine et de destination d'un appel ou l'heure d'envoi et de réception d'un courriel. Les données de transmission ne révèlent pas le contenu d'une conversation ou d'un message.
  4. Contenu des communications stockées et autres données stockées (obtenus par mandat et ordonnance de communication en vertu des articles 487, 487.01 et 487.014 à 487.018 du Code criminel et d'autres lois applicables) : Peut faire référence à la fourniture de données historiques, y compris le contenu de communications stockées telles que les messages texte ou d'autres données telles que les photos, ainsi qu'à la fourniture d'autres types de données stockées.
  5. Données interceptées en temps réel (obtenues par mandat autorisant l'utilisation d'un dispositif d'écoute clandestine et régies par la partie VI du Code criminel et d'autres lois applicables). Fait référence aux communications privées interceptées par des appareils électromagnétiques, acoustiques, mécaniques ou autres.

Les organismes sont libres de communiquer séparément les renseignements selon le type d'ordonnance de la cour ou de mandat reçu à condition de respecter les restrictions énoncées à la partie B des lignes directrices et qu'il ne leur soit pas autrement interdit de les divulguer.

6. Autres : Dans certains cas, les organismes pourraient aussi vouloir produire des rapports selon les catégories de demandes suivantes s'ils jugent utile et approprié de le faire compte tenu de leurs circonstances :

  1. Demandes d'organismes étrangers (par ordonnance d'un tribunal) : Fait référence aux demandes reçues d'organismes publics extérieurs au Canada concernant des affaires criminelles. Le gouvernement du Canada peut répondre à de telles demandes conformément à la Loi sur l'entraide juridique en matière criminelle.
  2. Demandes et ordonnances de conservation (régies par les articles 487.012 et 487.013 du Code criminel) : Fait référence aux demandes (par des agents de la paix ou des fonctionnaires publics) ou aux ordonnances (par un juge de paix ou un juge) exigeant d'une personne qu'elle conserve des données informatiques pendant 21 ou 90 jours, selon les circonstances. Les demandes et les ordonnances de conservation obligent simplement une personne à ne pas supprimer des données qu'elle a en sa possession ou sur lesquelles elle exerce un contrôle. Les organismes publics ont ainsi le temps de soumettre la demande nécessaire à l'obtention des renseignements ainsi conservés, comme une ordonnance de communication autorisée par un tribunal pour obtenir d'anciens messages texte. Ces demandes doivent être comptabilisées séparément et exclues du nombre total de demandes, car dans les faits, aucun renseignement n'est obtenu par l'organisme public faisant la demande de conservation. Dans les cas où ces organismes présentent des mandats généraux, des ordonnances de communication ou d'autres demandes pour l'obtention de renseignements à la suite de demandes de conservation, la demande est alors comptabilisée dans l'ancienne catégorie concernée.

B. Restrictions

Les organismes doivent respecter les restrictions suivantes lorsqu'ils communiquent des statistiques dans chacune des catégories énumérées à la partie A afin de protéger le travail des organismes d'application de la loi, des organismes de sécurité nationale et des organismes de réglementation.

  1. Ainsi que l'illustre l'exemple de tableau qui suit, les chiffres de 0 à 100 doivent être représentés par la fourchette « 0-100 » quand tout chiffre de la colonne A (nombre de demandes) ou de la colonne B (nombre de divulgations) est inférieur à 100. Le cas échéant, cette fourchette s'applique à toutes les colonnes pour ce type de données dont le chiffre se situe entre 0 et 100. Tout chiffre supérieur à 100 peut être représenté par son chiffre exact. Cette mesure vise à protéger les activités et les capacités opérationnelles des organismes publics et des organismes d'application de la loi canadiens.
  2. Les chiffres doivent être comptabilisés de manière à représenter la situation statistique de l'ensemble du Canada et ne faire aucune distinction entre les organismes d'application de la loi, les organismes de sécurité nationale et les organismes de réglementation (c'est-à-dire qu'il ne doit y avoir aucune ventilation selon la zone géographique ou l'organisme). De plus, ces chiffres doivent être comptabilisés sans égard au service ni à la technologie réseau associée (c'est-à-dire que les services de téléphonie cellulaire ne devraient pas être subdivisés selon que le réseau concerné est de type 2G, 3G ou 4G/LTE, etc.). Cette mesure vise à protéger les activités et les capacités opérationnelles des organismes publics et des organismes d'application de la loi canadiens.
  3. Il devrait y avoir un délai de six mois avant la publication d'un rapport. Par exemple, un rapport couvrant la période du 1er janvier au 31 décembre 2014 ne devrait pas être publié avant le 1er juillet 2015. On veut ainsi éviter le plus possible tout risque de compromettre les enquêtes en cours.

Les restrictions empêcheront de produire des rapports sur la transparence susceptibles de nuire aux enquêtes criminelles ou aux enquêtes de sécurité nationale et permettront d'assurer la sécurité du Canada et de ses citoyens.

Ces restrictions sont dynamiques et peuvent changer parce que les activités de nature délicate du gouvernement du Canada exigent parfois la prise de mesures de protection supplémentaires ou d'autres mesures de sécurité ou pour permettre de suivre l'évolution des activités criminelles ou illégales utilisant les services de télécommunications et les technologies connexes.

Ceci est un exemple de rapport.

Les chiffres de 0 à 100 doivent être représentés par la fourchette « 0-100 » quand tout chiffre de la colonne A (nombre de demandes) ou de la colonne B (nombre de divulgations) est inférieur à 100.

Demandes de données de clients provenant d'organismes d'application de la loi, d'organismes de sécurité nationale et d'organismes de réglementation (2014)
A B C D
Type de données Nombre de demandes
(0-100 ou nombre exact si supérieur à 100)
Nombre de divulgations (renseignements partiellement ou complètement divulgués)
(0-100 ou nombre exact si supérieur à 100)
Nombre de demandes rejetées ou contestées
(voir la restriction sur la fourchette « 0-100 »)
Nombre de personnes ou de comptes dont des renseignements ont été divulgués (voir la restriction sur la fourchette « 0-100 »)
* Les organismes sont encouragés à fournir, dans la mesure du possible, des renseignements agrégés supplémentaires en réponse aux demandes de divulgation par ordonnance de la cour (avec mandat), comme cela est décrit ci-dessus.

** Le « nombre total » n'inclut aucun chiffre auquel s'applique la fourchette 0-100.
Divulgations volontaires à la demande d'un organisme public p.ex. 127 754 114 773 9 981 98 824
Divulgations volontaires à l'initiative de l'organisme p.ex. S.O. 114 733 S.O. 98 824
Divulgations en case d'urgence p.ex. 35 365 35,365 0 Non comptabilisé
Divulgations en vertu d'une loi fédérale ou provinciale p.ex. 1 735 p.ex. 1 733 2 5 384
Divulgations par ordonnance d'un tribunal (avec mandat)* p.ex. 68 653 67 967 686 56 647
a) Renseignements d'identification de base (par ordonnance d'un tribunal) p.ex. 47 491 47 106 475 38 629
b) Données de localisation p.ex. 8 881 8 792 89 6 985
c) Données de transmission p.ex. 7 539 7 464 75 7 043
d) Contenu de communications stockées et autres données stockées p.ex. 4 742 4 695 47 3 990
e) Données interceptées en temps réel p.ex. 0-100 0-100 0-100 0-100
Autres demandes :
a) Demandes d'organismes étrangers (par ordonnance d'un tribunal) p.ex. 0-100 0-100 0-100 Non comptabilisé
b) Demandes et ordonnances de conservation p.ex. 52 791 52 791 0 61 839
Nombre total de demandes** p.ex. 354 951 455 379 11 355 378 165
Date de modification :