B2 — Government Mobile Communications Office (GMCO) and Bell Mobility Conditions

1. Consistent with General Spectrum Policy Principles, the Government Mobile Communications Project's provincial radio communications network established pursuant to the Agreement between Her Majesty the Queen in Right of the Province of Ontario as represented by the Ministry of the Solicitor General and the Ministry of Correctional Services and Bell Mobility Radio Inc., dated June 26, 1998 and revised January 21, 2010 (the “Master Agreement”), is intended primarily to meet the needs of public safety and preferred services.

2. There is high expectation that the radio licences will be renewed annually for a period not exceeding the terms of the Master Agreement. Upon termination of the Master Agreement, the radio frequencies licensed jointly to Bell Mobility and the Government of Ontario in relation to the Master Agreement will be re-assigned by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, in accordance with the applicable spectrum allocation policies related to public safety and preferred services. The Department recognizes the following hierarchy with respect to public safety and preferred services for priority access to radio spectrum:

Public Safety:

  1. Category 1 - Police, fire and emergency medical services.

Preferred Services:

  1. Category 2 - Forestry, public works, public transit, dangerous chemical clean-up, customs and other agencies contributing to public safety.
  2. Category 3 - Other government agencies and certain non-government agencies.

3. The licensees, Bell Mobility Inc. and the Government of Ontario, shall notify Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada 12 months prior to contract termination in the event that termination occurs at the end of the 15-year term; or immediately in the event that termination occurs prior to the end of the 15-year term.

In addition to the conditions above, the following standard conditions that apply to all similar radiocommunication service provider licences in Canada will also be included.

4. Eligibility: The licensee, as a radiocommunication service provider, shall use the radio frequencies outlined in this licence in order to operate one or more interconnected radio-based transmission facilities (any radio apparatus that is used for the transmission or reception of intelligence to or from anywhere on a public switched network) that may be used by the licensee or another person to provide radiocommunication services for compensation.

Licensees acting as radiocommunication service providers shall comply on an ongoing basis with the eligibility criteria in subsection 9(1) of the Radiocommunication Regulations.

5. Radio Station Installations: For each radio station, the licensees shall ensure that:

  1. radio stations are installed and operated in a manner that complies with Health Canada's limits of exposure to radiofrequency fields;
  2. where applicable, antenna structures are marked in accordance with recommendations from Transport Canada; and,
  3. prior to installation of significant antenna structures, consultation with the appropriate land use authorities has taken place. Installation of any significant antenna structure shall be delayed for a period of time sufficient for departmental review where, after considering reasonable alternatives and consultation options, land-use consultation negotiations remain at an impasse. Please refer to the Department's document CPC-2-0-03, Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Antenna Systems, as amended from time to time.

Date of last revision: May 6, 2011.

Date modified:

B2 — Conditions concernant le Bureau des communications mobiles du gouvernement (BCMG) et Bell Mobilité

1. Conformément aux principes généraux régissant la politique du spectre, le réseau provincial des communications radio (projet gouvernemental sur les communications mobiles), établi en vertu de l'accord conclu entre Sa Majesté la Reine du chef de la province de l'Ontario, représentée par le ministère du Solliciteur général et le ministère des Services correctionnels, et Bell Mobilité Radio Inc., en date du 26 juin 1998 et révisé le 21 janvier 2010 (« l'accord-cadre »), vise principalement à répondre aux besoins des services de sécurité publique et des services privilégiés.

2. Il y a de fortes chances que les licences radio soient renouvelées annuellement pour une période ne dépassant pas la durée de l'accord-cadre. À l'expiration de l'accord-cadre, les radiofréquences attribuées conjointement à Bell Mobilité et au gouvernement de l'Ontario relativement à l'accord-cadre seront de nouveau assignées par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, conformément aux politiques applicables d'attribution du spectre en matière de sécurité publique et de services privilégiés. Le Ministère reconnaît la hiérarchie suivante en ce qui concerne l'accès prioritaire au spectre des radiofréquences, dans le cas de la sécurité publique et des services privilégiés :

Sécurité publique :

  1. Catégorie 1 — Services de police et d'incendie et services médicaux d'urgence.

Services privilégiés :

  1. Catégorie 2 — Foresterie, travaux publics, transport en commun, élimination des produits chimiques dangereux, douanes et autres organismes qui contribuent à la sécurité publique.
  2. Catégorie 3 — Autres organismes du gouvernement et certaines organisations non gouvernementales.

3. Les titulaires de licence, Bell Mobilité Inc. et le gouvernement de l'Ontario doivent aviser Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada 12 mois avant l'expiration de l'accord-cadre en cas de résiliation de l’accord cadre à la fin de la période de 15 ans, ou immédiatement en cas de résiliation de l'accord-cadre avant la fin de la période de 15 ans.

En plus des conditions énoncées ci-dessus, les conditions générales suivantes qui s'appliquent à toutes les licences similaires des fournisseurs de services radio au Canada seront aussi comprises :

4. Admissibilité : le titulaire de licence utilisera les radiofréquences qui font l'objet de cette licence à titre de fournisseur de services radio afin d'exploiter une ou plusieurs installations de transmission radioélectrique interconnectée (tout équipement radio utilisé pour la transmission ou la réception de l'information, à destination ou en provenance de n'importe quel réseau public commuté) qui pourraient être utilisées par le titulaire de licence ou une autre personne pour la prestation de services de radiocommunication contre rémunération.

Les titulaires de licence agissant à titre de fournisseurs de services radio doivent se conformer régulièrement aux critères d'admissibilité du paragraphe 9(1) du Règlement sur la radiocommunication.

5. Installation de stations radio : Pour chaque station radio, le titulaire de licence doit s'assurer que :

  1. les stations radio sont installées et exploitées d'une façon qui soit conforme aux limites d'exposition aux champs de radiofréquences de Santé Canada;
  2. le cas échéant, le balisage des bâtis d'antennes est conforme aux recommandations de Transports Canada;
  3. les autorités compétentes responsables de l'utilisation du sol ont été consultées avant l'installation de bâtis d'antennes d'envergure. L'installation d'un bâti d'antenne important doit être retardée pour une période suffisante afin de permettre que le Ministère effectue un examen si, après l'étude de solutions de rechange et d'options de consultation raisonnables, les négociations relatives à la consultation sur l'utilisation du sol sont toujours dans une impasse. Veuillez vous reporter à la circulaire CPC-2-0-03 — Systèmes d'antennes de radiocommunications et de radiodiffusion, avec ses modifications successives.

Date de la dernière révision : le 6 mai 2011

Date de modification :