N2 — Space station licences

1. Eligibility

The licensee must comply with the eligibility criteria as set out in the Radiocommunication Regulations.

2. Licence Transferability

Licences may not be transferred or assigned without a full review of the request by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, (the Department) and are subject to the authorization of the Minister. For clarification and without limiting the generality of the foregoing, “transfer” includes any leasing, sub-leasing or other disposition of the rights and obligations of the licence, and also includes any change that would have a material effect on the ownership or control in fact of the licensee.

3. Laws and Regulations

The licensee and its use of the spectrum assigned in this authorization are subject to and must comply with the ITU Radio Regulations, the Canadian Radiocommunication Act, the Canadian Radiocommunication Regulations, and Canada’s spectrum utilization policies pertaining to the licensed radio frequency bands.

4. Canadian Direction and Control

The licensee must maintain direction and control of the satellites at all times. If primary control is located outside of Canada, the licensee must maintain a secondary facility located in Canada that is capable of the functions listed in Client Procedures Circular 2-6-02 (CPC 2-6-02) – Licensing of Space Stations.

5. Relocation of Satellites

Satellites may not be relocated without a full review of the request by the Department and the authorization of the Minister.

6. Milestones

Licensees must ensure that all implementation milestones and related requirements, as set out in the list below, are met.

Milestones, Due Dates, and Submission Requirements
Milestone Number Milestone Due Date (Fixed From Date of Approval) Requirement
1 Submit ITU coordination package 6 months ITU coordination package, if required to complete the ITU process.
2 (a) Satellite design that meets the technical requirements, as set out in Section 3.2.4 of CPC-2-6-02


(b) Executed construction contract
2 years (a) Demonstrate that the satellite design is compliant with the requirements for serving Canada and that it meets the minimum technical requirements as outlined in Section 3.2.4* of CPC-2-6-02

(b) Demonstrate that a contract has been awarded for the construction of the new satellite(s) in a manner that is consistent with:
- The existing ITU filing;
- Placing the satellite(s) into the assigned orbital position or orbits; and
- Bringing the spectrum into use by the date established for Milestone 5.
3 Construction has commenced 30 months Evidence, such as invoices or payments demonstrating the purchase of long-lead items, to prove that the licensee has commenced physical construction of the satellite.
4 Executed launch contract 4 years Copy of launch contract to place the satellite(s) into the assigned orbital position or orbits and to bring the spectrum into use by the date established for Milestone 5.
5 Satellite in operation 5 years for GSO and first NGSO satellite

6 years for launch of all additional NGSO satellites
Licensees must certify that:
- The space station has been launched and placed in its authorized orbital location or non-geostationary orbit; and
- Its in-orbit operation has been tested and found to be consistent with the terms of the authorization.

* If the technical parameters (as outlined in Section 3.2.4 of CPC-2-6-02) are different from those that were approved, the new parameters must be filed with the Department.

7. International Coordination

  1. It is the responsibility of the licensee to participate, on an ongoing basis, in coordination activities with a view to protecting its network and fulfilling ITU obligations.  To this end, the licensee must undertake the following: participate, at its own expense, in the coordination of the satellite network with the satellite and terrestrial networks of other countries; provide Industry Canada, in a manner acceptable to the ITU, with the satellite coordination, notification and administrative due diligence information required by the ITU; pay the applicable ITU cost recovery charges for satellite network filings; and ensure that the operation of the satellite complies with any arrangements and agreements undertaken by Canada with respect to the coordination of the satellite.
  2. The licensee must maintain a valid ITU filing associated with the satellite system or network at all times.

8. Domestic Coordination

  1. In order to avoid harmful interference, the licensee will be required to coordinate its satellite system or network with other potentially affected Canadian satellite and terrestrial services, and the satellite system or network must be operated in a manner consistent with any arrangements made to facilitate domestic satellite coordination.
  2. In the event that coordination cannot be completed between licensees, the Department may impose the implementation of mitigation techniques, taking into account all relevant factors including, without limitation, the order of domestic authorization. The licensee must ensure that the operation of its satellite system or network complies with all measures imposed by the Department.

9. Information Requirements

At the Department’s request, the licensee must provide all necessary information to a licence applicant to facilitate the coexistence analysis for the Department’s consideration, as part of that applicant’s licence application. Such information must be provided within a reasonable time frame. 

10. Provision of Service

Satellites must be in-service within 6 months of reaching its authorized orbit, and must maintain operations in accordance with the International Radio Regulations, its associated ITU filings and domestic authorizations.

11. Service in Canada and Canadian Coverage

  1. Service providers must make the facilities and capacity for lease, resale and sharing available to other service providers on an unrestricted, non-discriminatory basis.
  2. For any FSS or BSS GSO satellite to be positioned between, and including, 70°W and 130°W, operators will be required to cover the entire Canadian territory visible from the satellite. Operators must reserve 50 percent of the satellite capacity for use by Canadians for a minimum period of six months from approval, during which time a reasonable effort must be made to market the capacity to Canadian users.
  3. For any NGSO BSS or FSS satellite, operators will be required to cover the entire Canadian territory visible from the satellite, to the extent possible from the satellite’s position in orbit. NGSO satellite operators must reserve an amount of satellite capacity for use by Canadians that is proportional to the Canadian territory covered vis-à-vis the entire territory covered from the position in orbit. This capacity must be reserved for a minimum period of six months from approval, during which time a reasonable effort must be made to market the capacity to Canadian users.

12.       Public Benefit or Research and Development

Public Benefit - For FSS and BSS satellites, licensees shall direct a minimum of 0.5 percent of adjusted gross annual revenues resulting from the operation of the new satellite, or, subject to the prior approval of Industry Canada, satellite capacity or services of an equivalent value to the foregoing, toward special initiatives aimed at improving connectivity in underserved areas of Canada. The initiative must be approved by the Department prior to the launch of authorized satellites. The condition can be fulfilled at any time during the life of the satellite.

Or

Research and Development - The licensee must invest, at a minimum, two percent of its adjusted gross revenues resulting from the use of this licence, averaged over the term of the licence, in eligible research and development activities related to telecommunications. Eligible research and development activities are those which meet the definition of scientific research and experimental development adopted in the Income Tax Act, as amended from time to time. Adjusted gross revenues are defined as total service revenues, less inter-carrier payments, bad debts, third party commissions, and provincial goods and services taxes collected. The licensee is exempt from research and development expenditure requirements if it, together with all affiliated licensees that are subject to the research and development condition of licence, has less than $1 billion in annual gross operating revenues from the provision of wireless services in Canada, averaged over the term of the licence. For this condition of licence, an affiliate is defined as a person who controls the carrier, or who is controlled by the carrier or by any person who controls the carrier, as per subsection 35(3) of the Telecommunications Act.

13. Space Debris Mitigation

  1. For geostationary satellites: The satellite, at the end of its life, shall be removed from the geostationary satellite orbit region in a manner consistent with Recommendation ITU–RS.1003-2, Environmental Protection of the Geostationary Satellite Orbit. Licensees must provide the Department with the information requested in Section 5.4.
  2. For non-geostationary satellites: The licensee, at the end-of-life of the satellite, must implement space debris mitigation measures in accordance with best industry practices so as to minimize adverse effects on the orbital environment.

14. Lawful Intercept of Communications

For MSS systems: The licensee shall provide and maintain lawful interception capabilities as set out in the Solicitor General’s publication entitled Enforcement Standards for Lawful Interception of Telecommunications.

15. Earth Station Licensing

All earth stations in Canada communicating with the satellite, except those exempted from the licensing requirement pursuant to the Radiocommunication Act and Radiocommunication Regulations, shall be licensed prior to operation pursuant to Client Procedure Circular, CPC-2-6-01, Procedure for the Submission of Applications to License Fixed Earth Stations and to Approve the Use of Foreign Satellites in Canada.

16. Space Station Licensing

For radio licences, licensees must submit the administrative licensing information, set out in Annex C of CPC-2-6-02, at least 60 days in advance of the anticipated launch date of the satellite(s).

17. Reporting Requirements

  1. Licensees are required to immediately inform the Department of any changes to their contact information or to information concerning satellite development, operations and/or control, including a change in control facilities. Licensees are also required to report any suspension of service to the Department.
  2. The licensee shall submit an annual report for each year of operation, indicating continued compliance with these conditions. This report is due by March 31 of each year.
  3. The licensee shall notify the Department when a satellite is decommissioned or de-orbited, and certify that the decommissioning will not result in any unplanned disruption of service to customers. At the end-of-life of the satellites, the licensee shall submit a final report to the Department detailing the space debris mitigation measures undertaken. This report shall be submitted within 60 business days of the end-of-life of the satellites.
  4. The licensee shall provide any information requested by the Department within the timeframe established in the request.
  5. All reports are to be submitted to the Manager, Satellite Authorization Policy at ic.satelliteauthorization-autorisationsatellite.ic@canada.ca.

18. Payment of Fees

Licence fees are paid on an annual basis in advance, and are due by March 31 of each year.

Date modified:

N2 — Licences accordées aux stations spatiales

1. Admissibilité

Le titulaire de licence doit respecter en tout temps les critères d’admissibilité prescrits au Règlement sur la radiocommunication.

2. Transférabilité de la licence

La présente licence ne peut être ni transférée, ni cédée sans un examen complet de la demande par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique (le Ministère) et sans l'autorisation du ministre. Aux fins de clarification et sans limiter la portée générale de ce qui précède, on entend par transfert toute location, sous-location ou toute autre disposition des droits et des obligations de la licence, y compris tout changement susceptible d'avoir un effet important sur la propriété ou le contrôle de fait de la licence.

3. Lois et règlements

Le titulaire de licence et l’utilisation qu’il fait des fréquences assignées par cette autorisation sont assujetties et doivent être conformes au Règlement des radiocommunications de l’UIT, à la Loi sur la radiocommunicationdu Canada, au Règlement sur la radiocommunication du Canada et aux politiques d’utilisation du spectre du Canada qui s’appliquent aux bandes de fréquences radioélectriques visées par cette licence.

4. Direction et contrôle canadiens

Le titulaire de licence doit maintenir la direction et le contrôle des satellites en tout temps.  Si le contrôle primaire est situé à l’extérieur du Canada, le titulaire doit maintenir un établissement secondaire situé au Canada et capable d’effectuer les fonctions énumérées dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients 2-6-02 (CPC-2-6-02), Délivrance de licence aux stations spatiales.

5. Déplacement de satellites

Les satellites ne peuvent être déplacés sans un examen exhaustif de la demande par le Ministère et sans l’autorisation du ministre.

6. Jalons de mise en œuvre

Le titulaire de licence doit s’assurer de respecter tous les jalons de mise en œuvre qui suivent et les exigences connexes.

Jalons, dates d'échéance et exigences de présentation
No du jalon Jalon Date d’échéance (fixée à partir de la date d'approbation) Exigence
1 Soumission des documents de coordination pour l’UIT 6 mois Documents de coordination pour l’UIT, si nécessaire, de compléter le processus de l’UIT.
2 a) Conception des satellites conforme aux exigences techniques qui figurent à la Section 3.2.4 de la CPC-2-6-02


b) Contrat de construction exécuté
2 ans a) Démontrer la conformité de la conception du satellite aux exigences d’exploitation au Canada et aux exigences techniques de base qui figurent à la Section 3.2.4* de la CPC 2-6-02.

b) Démontrer l’octroi d’un contrat visant la construction du ou des nouveaux satellites en accord avec les éléments suivants :
- Dépôt d’une fiche de notification existante à l’UIT;
- Mise en place du ou des satellites selon la position orbitale ou les orbites attribuées;
- Mise en service du spectre à la date indiquée au 5e jalon.
3 Construction entamée 30 mois Preuve que le titulaire a débuté la construction matérielle du satellite, telle que factures ou paiements démontrant l’achat d’articles à long délai de livraison.
4 Lancement de contrat exécuté 4 ans Exemplaire du contrat de lancement qui vise la mise en place du ou des satellites sur leur position orbitale assignée ou leur orbite non géostationnaire ainsi que la mise en service du spectre à la date prévue au 5,e jalon de mise en œuvre.
5 Satellite exploité 5 ans pour un satellite GEO et un 1er satellite non GEO.

6 ans pour le lancement de tous les satellites non GEO supplémentaires.
Le titulaire doit attester :
- le lancement de la station spatiale et la mise en place de celle-ci sur sa position orbitale ou son orbite non géostationnaire autorisée;
- la mise à l’essai de l’exploitation en orbite de la station et la conformité de l’exploitation aux modalités de l’autorisation.

* Si les paramètres techniques (énoncés dans la section 3.2.4 de la CPC 2-6-02) diffèrent de ceux approuvés, les nouveaux paramètres doivent être soumis au Ministère.

7. Coordination internationale

  1. Il appartient au titulaire de licence de participer de façon continue aux activités de coordination en vue de protéger son réseau et d’assumer les obligations relatives à l’UIT. À cette fin, le titulaire de licence doit participer, à ses frais, à la coordination du réseau à satellite avec les réseaux à satellite et de Terre d’autres pays; fournir au Ministère, sous une forme jugée acceptable par l’UIT, les données requises par l’UIT en ce qui a trait à la coordination, à la notification du satellite, et à toute information administrative de diligence raisonnable requise par l’UIT; payer les frais de recouvrement des coûts exigés par l’UIT pour le processus de notification d’un réseau à satellite; et veiller à ce que l’exploitation du satellite soit conforme aux arrangements et aux ententes auxquels le Canada a souscrit en matière de coordination du satellite.
  2. Le titulaire de licence doit maintenir une fiche de notification valide auprès de l’UIT, associée au système ou réseau de satellites en tout temps.

8. Coordination nationale

  1. En vue d’éviter le brouillage préjudiciable, le titulaire de licence doit coordonner le système ou le réseau à satellites avec les autres réseaux à satellites et les services de Terre canadiens qui pourraient être touchés; le système ou le réseau à satellites doit être exploité conformément aux ententes conclues pour faciliter la coordination des satellites au pays.
  2. Si les titulaires de licence ne parviennent pas à conclure une entente de coordination, le Ministère peut imposer la mise en place de techniques d’atténuation, en tenant compte de tous les facteurs pertinents, y compris, sans s’y limiter, l’ordre des autorisations nationales. Télésat doit s’assurer que l’exploitation de son système à satellites répond à toutes les mesures imposées par le Ministère.

9. Exigences relatives aux renseignements

À la demande du Ministère, le titulaire de licence doit fournir les renseignements nécessaires à un requérant de licence pour faciliter l’analyse de coexistence dont le Ministère doit tenir compte dans le cadre d’une demande de licence. Ces renseignements doivent être fournis dans un délai raisonnable.

10. Prestation de service

Le ou les satellites doivent être en service dans les six mois après avoir atteint leur orbite autorisée, et doivent maintenir les opérations en conformité avec le Règlement des radiocommunications international, leurs fiches de notification présentées à l’UIT et leur autorisation nationale.

11. Service au Canada et couverture canadienne

  1. Les fournisseurs de service doivent fournir les installations et les ressources nécessaires pour la location, la revente ainsi que le partage de ces installations avec les autres fournisseurs de services, et ce, sans restrictions et sans discrimination.
  2. Pour chaque satellite géostationnaire (GEO) SFS ou SRS situé entre (y compris) 70° O et 130° O inclusivement, les exploitants devront couvrir l’ensemble du territoire canadien visible à partir du satellite en fonction. Les exploitants doivent réserver 50 % de la capacité de transmission par satellite en vue d'une utilisation par les Canadiens pour une période d'au moins six mois à partir de la date de l’approbation; pendant cette période, le Ministère s'attend à ce que des mesures raisonnables soient prises pour commercialiser la capacité auprès des utilisateurs canadiens.
  3. Pour chaque satellite non géostationnaire (OSNG) SRS ou SFS, les exploitants devront, dans la mesure du possible à partir de la position du satellite en orbite, couvrir l’ensemble du territoire canadien visible à partir du satellite. Les exploitants de satellites non géostationnaires doivent réserver une partie de la capacité de transmission par satellite en vue d’une utilisation par les Canadiens; cette partie doit être proportionnelle au territoire canadien couvert par rapport à l’ensemble du territoire couvert à partir de la position en orbite. Cette capacité doit être réservée pour une période minimum de six mois depuis l’approbation; pendant cette période, le Ministère s'attend à ce que des mesures raisonnables soient prises pour commercialiser la capacité auprès des utilisateurs canadiens.

12. Intérêt public ou activités de recherche et développement

Intérêt public – Les titulaires de licences permettant d’exploiter les satellites servant au SFS et au SRS devront investir au moins 0,5 % de leurs revenus annuels bruts rajustés découlant de l'exploitation du nouveau satellite ou, sous réserve de l'approbation préalable du Ministère, de la capacité du satellite ou de services d'une valeur équivalente à ce qui précède, à des initiatives particulières qui visent à rehausser la connectivité des régions mal desservies du Canada. L’initiative doit être approuvée par le Ministère avant le lancement du ou des satellites autorisés. La condition peut être remplie en tout temps pendant la durée de vie du satellite.

Ou

Activités de recherche et développement (R-D) – Le titulaire de licence doit investir au moins 2 % de ses revenus bruts rajustés provenant de l’exploitation de cette licence, échelonné sur la durée de la licence, dans des activités de R-D admissibles se rattachant aux télécommunications. Les activités de R-D admissibles sont celles qui répondent à la définition de la recherche scientifique et du développement expérimental adoptée dans la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu et ses modifications successives. Les revenus bruts rajustés sont définis comme étant les recettes totales provenant du service, moins les paiements entre les entreprises, les créances irrécouvrables, les commissions payées à des tiers, et les taxes provinciales et les taxes sur les biens et services perçues. Le titulaire de licence est exempt des exigences applicables aux dépenses consacrées à la R-D si, lui-même, ainsi que tous les titulaires de licence affiliés et assujettis à la condition de licence ayant trait à la R-D, font moins d’un milliard de dollars de revenus d’exploitation bruts annuels provenant de leurs services sans-fil au Canada, et ce, échelonné sur la durée de la licence. Dans le cadre de cette condition de licence, conformément au paragraphe 35(3) de la Loi sur les télécommunications,un affilié s’entend de toute personne qui, soit contrôle l’entreprise, soit est contrôlée par celle-ci ou par la personne qui la contrôle.

13. Réduction des débris spatiaux

  1. À la fin de leur vie utile, les satellites géostationnaires doivent être retirés de la région orbitale géostationnaire d'une façon conforme à la Recommandation UIT-R S.1003 2, intitulée Protection de l'environnement de l'orbite des satellites géostationnaires. Les titulaires de licence doivent en aviser le Ministère en présentant les informations demandées à la section 5.4.
  2. Pour les satellites non géostationnaires, le titulaire de licence, à la fin de la vie utile du satellite, doit mettre en œuvre des mesures de réduction des débris spatiaux conformes aux pratiques exemplaires de l'industrie afin de restreindre le plus possible les effets négatifs sur l'environnement orbital.

14. Interception légale de communications

Systèmes SMS : Le titulaire de licence doit fournir et maintenir des capacités d'interception légales selon les prescriptions établies dans la publication du Solliciteur général intitulée Normes d'application pour l'interception légale des télécommunications.

15. Délivrance de licence aux stations terriennes

Toutes les stations terriennes situées au Canada et communiquant avec le satellite, à l’exception de celles qui sont exemptes de l’exigence d’obtenir une licence conformément à la Loi sur la radiocommunication et au Règlement sur la radiocommunication, doivent obtenir une licence avant le début de leur exploitation en vertu de la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients, CPC-2-6-01, Procédure de présentation de demandes de licences de stations terriennes fixes et de présentation d’information en vue de l’approbation de l’exploitation de satellites étrangers au Canada.

16. Renseignements sur la délivrance de licence pour l’exploitation d’un satellite

Pour les licences radio, le titulaire de licence doit présenter les renseignements administratifs en matière de délivrance de licence précisés à l’annexe C de la CPC-2-6-02, au moins 60 jours avant la date prévue du lancement des satellites.

17. Obligations de déclaration

  1. Les titulaires de licence doivent immédiatement signaler au Ministère toute modification à leurs coordonnées ou à l’information concernant le développement des satellites, l’exploitation et/ou le contrôle, y compris un changement aux postes de commande. Les titulaires de licence sont également tenus de signaler toute suspension de service au Ministère.
  2. Le titulaire de licence doit soumettre un rapport annuel correspondant à chaque année d’exploitation et indiquant sa conformité continue aux conditions de licence. Ce rapport est dû au plus tard le 31 mars de chaque année.
  3. Le titulaire de licence doit aviser le Ministère lorsqu’un satellite est mis hors service ou désorbité, et certifier que la mise hors service ne causera aucune interruption de service imprévue aux clients. À la fin de la vie utile du ou des satellites, le titulaire de licence doit présenter un rapport final au Ministère, détaillant les mesures de réduction des débris spatiaux qui ont été prises. Ce rapport doit être présenté dans les 60 jours ouvrables après la fin de la durée de vie utile des satellites.
  4. Le titulaire de licence doit fournir les renseignements demandés par le Ministère dans les délais fixés dans la demande.
  5. Tous les rapports doivent être soumis au gestionnaire, Politiques d’autorisation des satellites en écrivant à l’adresse suivante : IC.satelliteauthorization-autorisationsatellite.IC@canada.ca.

18. Paiement de droits

Les droits de licence doivent être payés annuellement et à l’avance; de plus, ils sont exigibles au plus tard le 31 mars de chaque année.

Date de modification :