Notice of Engagement Regarding the 600 MHz Transition Plan Objectives and Methodology

October 31, 2016

Purpose

The purpose of this notice is to provide additional opportunity for comments on proposals put forth by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) related to the objectives and methodology for establishing the transition plan for over-the-air (OTA) TV broadcasters as part of the 600 MHz repurposing in Canada.

Background

In December 2014, ISED released the Consultation on Repurposing the 600 MHz Band from broadcast to mobile services. The related decision to proceed with a joint repurposing with the U.S. was released in August 2015.

Since April 7, 2016, ISED has engaged Canadian OTA TV broadcasters through participation in discussions organized by the Radio Advisory Board of Canada (RABC) and has undertaken an analysis of technical factors regarding the transitioning of OTA TV stations. All OTA TV broadcasters were invited to participate in these discussions in June 2016.

ISED has developed objectives and methodology proposals for establishing the transition plan based on stakeholder input and views, and has incorporated the concepts discussed during the RABC meetings. ISED presented these proposals at an open RABC meeting on September 30, 2016. The proposed objectives and methodology are designed to provide an orderly and manageable transition, taking into consideration the time required for broadcasters to transition, the potential impact on viewers and the efficient allocation of limited resources. The ISED presentation was posted on the RABC website. An RABC submission based on input received through the RABC process will also be submitted to ISED and posted on its Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website.

Submitting Comments

In order to ensure transparency and adequate opportunity for input regarding transition issues that will significantly impact the OTA TV broadcasting community, ISED has published the 600 MHz – Proposed TV Transition Objectives and Methodology presentation on its website. In addition to the current opportunity for comment underway through the RABC, interested parties may also provide comments directly to ISED regarding the proposals set out in the presentation. Respondents are invited to indicate whether they support or oppose the specific elements of the proposal and the rationale for the position being presented. Parties must submit their comments no later than December 1, 2016 in order to be considered by ISED. Respondents are requested to submit their comments (in Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF) via email. All submissions should cite the publication date and the title of this notice.

At the end of the comment period, comments received by ISED and the submission from the RABC will be posted on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website. Confidential or private information should not be included when submitting comments.

All comments will be reviewed and considered by the Department in order to reach a decision regarding the objectives and methodology used to develop the transition plan and schedule. The decision will be posted on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website.

MARTIN PROULX

Director General, Planning and Standards Branch
Spectrum, Information Technologies and Telecommunications Sector
Innovation, Science and Economic Development / Government of Canada

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Avis d’engagement au sujet de la méthode et des objectifs du Plan de transition à la bande de 600 MHz

Le 31 octobre 2016

Objet

Le présent avis a pour but de donner une autre occasion de commenter les propositions présentées par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) relativement aux objectifs et à la méthode d’établissement du plan de transition pour les télédiffuseurs en direct dans le cadre de la réattribution de la bande de 600 MHz au Canada.

Contexte

En décembre 2014, ISDE a publié la Consultation sur la réattribution de la bande de 600 MHz de la télédiffusion aux services mobiles. La décision de procéder à une réattribution conjointement avec les États-Unis a été publiée en août 2015.

Depuis le 7 avril 2016, ISDE a mobilisé les télédiffuseurs en direct canadiens au travers de discussions organisées par le Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio (CCCR) et a entrepris une analyse des facteurs techniques concernant la transition des stations de télévision en direct. Tous les télédiffuseurs en direct ont été invités à prendre part à ces discussions en juin 2016.

ISDE a formulé des propositions d’objectifs et de méthodes pour le développement du plan de transition; celles-ci tiennent compte des commentaires et des points de vue des intervenants, ainsi que des concepts ayant fait l’objet de discussions lors des réunions du CCCR. ISDE a présenté ces propositions à l’occasion d’une réunion ouverte du CCCR tenue le 30 septembre 2016. Les objectifs et la méthode proposés visent à ce que la transition soit ordonnée et gérable, et prennent en compte le temps qu’il faut aux télédiffuseurs pour effectuer la transition, l’incidence possible de la transition sur les téléspectateurs et l’attribution efficace des ressources limitées. La présentation d’ISDE a été affichée sur le site Web du CCCR. Une soumission du CCCR fondée sur les commentaires qu’il a reçus au travers de son processus sera aussi remise à ISDE, puis affichée sur le site Web de Gestion du spectre et télécommunications du Ministère. 

Présentation des commentaires

Dans un souci de transparence et pour donner l’occasion de présenter des observations sur les enjeux liées à la transition qui auront une incidence importante sur la communauté des télédiffuseurs en direct, ISDE a publié la présentation intitulée Bande de 600 MHz – Objectifs et méthode de la proposition concernant la transition de la télédiffusion sur son site Web. Outre l’occasion actuelle de présenter des observations par l’intermédiaire du CCCR, les parties intéressées peuvent aussi faire part directement de leur opinion à ISDE au sujet des propositions qui figurent dans la présentation. On leur demande de préciser si elles sont pour ou contre les éléments précis de la proposition et de justifier leur position. Elles ont jusqu’au 1er décembre 2016 pour soumettre leurs commentaires  par courriel (en Microsoft Word ou en Adobe PDF) afin qu’ISDE puisse en tenir compte, en n’oubliant pas d’indiquer la date de publication et le titre du présent avis.

À la fin de la période de présentation des commentaires, les commentaires reçus par ISDE et la soumission du CCCR seront affichés sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications. Aucun renseignement confidentiel ou privé ne doit figurer dans les commentaires soumis.

Toutes les observations seront examinées et prises en compte par le Ministère dans le processus décisionnel concernant les objectifs et la méthode à retenir pour le développement du plan et du calendrier de la transition. La décision sera affichée sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications.

 

MARTIN PROULX

Directeur général, Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes
Secteur du spectre, des technologies de l’information et des télécommunications Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada / Gouvernement du Canada

Date de modification :