Responses to clarification questions on ISED’s 600 MHz — Proposed TV Transition Objectives and Methodology

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED), in collaboration with the United States, is repurposing the 600 MHz band to include commercial mobile use by repacking over‑the‑air (OTA) TV broadcasting stations more tightly in lower frequencies. As part of this initiative, ISED will develop a Canada‑U.S. transition plan and schedule for broadcast stations. ISED published its transition proposals in its 600 MHz — Proposed TV Transition Objectives and Methodology on October 31, 2016.

The following are responses to clarification questions received regarding the 600 MHz transition. For ease of reference, the transition clarification questions and responses have been grouped under the following themes, noting that ISED has not responded to questions regarding broadcaster compensation:

Note: Minor edits were made to the original questions so that they comply with accessibility and other standards including, but not limited to, punctuation, grammar and readability.

ISED's 600 MHz — Proposed TV Transition Objectives and Methodology: overview

Q1. Slide 4 refers to the draft certificate application process. Will stakeholders have an opportunity to review and comment on the proposed application process? When will a draft be ready?

A1. ISED is reviewing the current certificate application process in an effort to streamline the process during the transition.

Q2. Slide 4 refers to the draft post‑transition rules and framework. What changes are being considered to the current digital television (DTV) rules and framework and when will a draft be available for stakeholders to review and comment?

A2. While ISED does not currently anticipate significant changes to the current DTV rules and framework as a result of the 600 MHz repacking, some technical parameters will be updated to reflect the repurposing results, including the frequency range for the TV broadcasting service.

Q3. Slide 5 refers to timelines. How much time is expected from the time the U.S. incentive auction closes to the publication of the following documents by ISED:
  1. joint allotment plan
  2. joint transition plan
  3. daisy chains
  4. TV transition Statement of Interest (SOI)
  5. post‑transition SOI

A3. ISED intends to release the joint allotment plan and the joint transition plan, and identify daisy chains / station dependencies shortly after the U.S. incentive auction concludes. It is important to note that this will also mark the beginning of the transition. The two SOI documents are expected to be released within 30 days of the allotment plan release.

Q4. Slide 7 refers to prioritizing stations. Is the priority for U.S. stations the same as the proposed priority for Canadian stations? Will this impede the ability for Canadian broadcasters to change channels?

A4. Though similar, Canada has proposed slightly different transition priorities and objectives from those proposed by the U.S. (e.g. Canada's priority is to allow additional time for Canadian stations to transition, whereas the U.S. priority is to clear stations in the 600 MHz band). The joint Canada‑U.S. transition plan and schedule will be developed to account for and balance the transition needs and priorities of both countries. Canadian and U.S. stations that have dependencies will be treated equally.

Q4a) Is "dependency" defined as a station that is impeded from moving by another station, or a station which is impeding another station, or both? During the transition, will Canadian stations be subject to interference from U.S. mobile operations in the 600 MHz band?

A4a) Dependency refers to a given station (Station B) that is unable to transition until another station (Station A) has moved to its final channel because the current channel of Station A interferes with the future channel of Station B. These are also referred to as "linked stations".

Although in ISED's Decision on Repurposing the 600 MHz Band, Canadian TV stations in the 600 MHz band will receive one‑year and two‑year displacement notifications prior to mobile deployment, the joint Canada‑U.S. transition plan and schedule has not yet been finalized. Part of Canada‑U.S. negotiations on the transition framework involves the relationship between Canadian TV stations and U.S. mobile service deployment. (See also questions 6 and 15)

Q4b) What are the proposed criteria in determining whether or not a temporary channel is justified?

A4b) The use of temporary channels during the transition would require an additional channel move and may lead to increased temporary interference. ISED proposes not assigning temporary channels to TV stations during the transition process. However, it will consider broadcasters' requests to use a temporary channel during the transition on an exceptional case‑by‑case basis. Among the factors considered for such requests are the impacts on the operation of other stations and their ability to transition on schedule.

Q4c) Will the application process be the same for all stations, or will they differ for stations that propose operating parameters other than those specified in the joint allotment plan?

A4c) As with the DTV transition of 2011, the application process may differ for stations that propose operating parameters which conform to the new DTV allotment plan and those proposing parameters that differ from the plan. ISED is reviewing the certificate application process in an effort to streamline the process during the transition.

Q4d) What variance in operating parameters will be deemed equivalent to the joint allotment plan by the CRTC and by ISED?

A4d) In Broadcasting procedures and rules BPR-10, Application Procedures and Rules for Digital Television (DTV) Undertakings, ISED deems a station's operating parameters equivalent as follows:

  • the application is for the same channel as listed in the allotment plan, and
  • the noise‑limited bounding contour does not exceed the contour as calculated using the relevant parameters and limitations listed in the plan.
Q5. Slide 8 refers to dependencies and daisy chains. What is the maximum time considered for temporary interference?

A5.  The potential for temporary interference occurs when there is a mix of stations operating on their pre‑repacking channel and post‑repacking channel within geographical proximity. In the worst case scenario, temporary interference may be present from the on‑air testing period of phase 1 until the completion of the transition, although this is highly unlikely. Furthermore, in ISED's proposal:

  • temporary interference is limited to 2% pairwise (i.e. station‑to‑station) during the transition; and
  • potential interference exceeding 2% pairwise will be confined to the on‑air testing periods and mitigated by coordination among broadcasters involved in a linked‑station set (i.e. stations that could potentially interfere with others transitioning in the same phase).
Q6. Slide 10 refers to the number of phases. Will the Canadian time extension beyond 39 months include stations in the 600 MHz Band which may cause temporary interference to new U.S. mobile operations?

A6. The joint Canada‑U.S. transition plan and schedule has not yet been finalized. While ISED proposes to extend the transition in Canada beyond 39 months with additional phases, the relationship between TV stations and mobile deployment is part of transition framework negotiations.

Q7 Slide 11 refers to the assignment of stations to phases.

Q7a) Can ISED elaborate on what is meant by stations with "Canadian only dependencies" which would not cause interference to other stations?

A7a)

  • Stations with "Canadian‑only dependencies" include stations that have dependencies only with other Canadian stations.
  • Stations with "no dependencies" include stations that do not have any dependencies with any other Canadian or American station.

Q7b) Will stations with "Canadian‑only dependencies" be treated differently than those with "no dependencies"?

A7b) ISED has proposed to schedule stations within both of these groups in later phases to allow additional time for their transition. Stations with "no dependencies" were proposed to be scheduled later than those stations "with dependencies" as they have less of an effect on the overall transition schedule and do not impact the ability of other stations to change channel and/or convert to digital. The actual station dependencies for individual stations will not be determined until the new channel assignments are known after the conclusion of the U.S. incentive auction.

Q7c) How will the "regions" be selected or defined?

A7c) The intent is to group stations based on the main market they serve, despite the physical location of their transmitter. For example, stations physically located in Gatineau (QC) or Ottawa (ON) whose main market is the National Capital Region would be part of the same region.

Q8. Slide 14 refers to temporary transition rules. How will ISED define 2% additional interference? By population? By geographic area?

A8. Similar to the calculation of additional interference used in the repacking process, the temporary 2% additional interference is calculated with respect to the baseline interference‑free population of the current station. The baseline interference‑free population is defined as the population within the noise‑limited bounding contour (NLBC) predicted to receive service.

Q9. Slide 16 refers to station assignment objectives.

Q9a)  How will ISED ensure that the maximum number of Canadian stations will retain their existing channel assignments in the new joint allotment plan?

A9a) Channel assignments are part of the repacking process. The repacking system will use optimization techniques to determine a final television channel assignment plan. In addition to satisfying the constraints outlined in the SOI, stations will be repacked based on maximizing the number of stations assigned to their current channels instead of being assigned to new channels. The same optimization algorithm will be applied to all Canadian and U.S. stations to ensure that stations in both countries are treated equally.

Q9b) Will moving U.S. stations in the mobile band first increase the extent or duration of temporary interference to Canadian stations?

A9b) The impacts will not be known until the close of the U.S. auction. However, depending on the configuration of the new DTV allotment plan, moving U.S. stations in the mobile band first may increase the extent and duration of temporary interference to some Canadian stations. On the other hand, scheduling Canadian stations in later phases may also increase the extent and duration of temporary interference to some U.S. stations. The transition plan and schedule will be developed to account for and balance the transition needs and priorities of both countries.

Q10. Slide 18 refers to the length of phases. Which milestone is indicated by month "0"? Does it refer to a station for which applications have been approved by ISED and the Commission?

A10. "Month 0" refers to the publication of the new DTV allotment plan.

Q11. How does ISED propose to engage tower rigging companies in discussions regarding transition scenarios and scheduling?

A11. ISED recognizes the broad range of industry personnel necessary to successfully implement the transition plan, including broadcasters, broadcast consultants and engineers, radiofrequency and structural engineers, equipment manufacturers and suppliers, and other support companies.

ISED engaged broadcasting equipment manufacturers, tower rigging companies, as well as structural engineering consultants to better understand their capacity, capabilities and plans for the transition. This information has been used to develop proposed objectives and methodology for the transition plan.

Q12. Slide 21 refers to construction. Can ISED confirm that there are 22 tower crews in Canada that are experienced in high power broadcast antennas on tall towers?

A12. In July and August, ISED engaged several Canadian firms that provide tower-related services. Based on these discussions, we understand that there are at least 22 tower crews in Canada. While all tower crews may not be readily available to work on high power, tall broadcast towers, the majority of broadcast structures in Canada are less than 100 metres high and are low power. We also understand that the skillset could be transferrable over time with experience gained during the transition.

Furthermore, tower crews from the U.S. and other countries may also be interested in working with Canadian broadcasters during the transition, which would further supplement the number of tower crews available to work on the transition in Canada.

Q13. Slide 22 refers to other considerations. What is the basis for the additional time requirements of only 5% and 10% for multiple stations on a shared site?

A13. For stations that share a tower, there may be benefits in using the same tower crew already on site. It can help to efficiently streamline tower tasks associated with multi‑tenant sites, while avoiding multiple crew‑mobilization and demobilization and multiple rigging and de‑rigging of the tower. Through discussions with tower rigging companies, ISED was advised that significant time could be saved in cases where multiple stations on the same tower are modified at the same time.

General transition rules, scheduling and impact

Q14. What opportunity is there for stations to continue operating in the 600 MHz band until after this spectrum is auctioned in Canada? What impact will there be on timing or scheduling to move Canadian stations as a result of U.S. mobile operators utilizing the 600 MHz band?

A14. As per ISED's Decision on Repurposing the 600 MHz Band, regular power TV stations operating in the to‑be‑repurposed 600 MHz band will be permitted to continue using their current channels and modes of operation until the spectrum is required for the deployment of mobile broadband services. Notification will be issued when displacement is required as a result of mobile deployment. Stations located in urban areas will be granted a one‑year minimum notification period and those located in all other areas, a minimum of two years. This one‑year or two‑year displacement notification may overlap with the scheduled transition date, depending on timing (i.e. schedule and mobile service deployment).

The joint Canada‑U.S. transition plan and schedule has not yet been finalized. Part of Canada‑U.S. negotiations on the transition framework involves the relationship between Canadian TV stations and U.S. mobile service deployment.

Q15. What resources will ISED contribute towards schedule coordination?

A15. ISED, in collaboration with the FCC, will develop a joint transition plan and schedule, with defined dates for stations to transition to new channels and/or convert to digital. Furthermore, ISED has dedicated resources to help ensure that the administrative requirements associated with the transition do not impede its implementation.

Q16. If the transition plan ultimately requires some degree of temporary interference, does it imply that stations that are not changing channel would not incur such interference?

A16. Due to the complexity of the transition process, temporary increases in permissible interference levels are required to address sequential dependencies between stations in the same or adjacent markets. The potential for temporary interference occurs when there is a mix of stations operating on their original channel and post‑repacked channel. A temporary additional increase in pairwise interference between stations of up to 2% is proposed during the transition. This would also apply to stations that are not changing channel.

Date modified:

Réponses aux demandes de clarification concernant le document d'ISDE intitulé 600 MHz — Objectifs et méthodologie de la transition proposée pour la télévision

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE), en collaboration avec les États‑Unis, réattribue la bande de 600 MHz pour inclure l'utilisation des services mobiles commerciaux par le réaménagement plus serré des stations de télédiffusion en direct dans les fréquences inférieures. Dans le cadre de cette initiative, ISDE élaborera un plan et un calendrier de transition Canada‑États-Unis pour les stations de télédiffusion. ISDE a publié ses propositions de transition dans son document intitulé 600 MHz — Objectifs et méthodologie de la transition proposée pour la télévision le 31 octobre 2016.

Vous trouverez ci‑dessous les réponses aux demandes de clarification reçues concernant la transition des stations de télédiffusion dans la bande de 600 MHz. Pour plus de commodité, les questions de clarification de la transition et les réponses ont été regroupées sous les thèmes ci‑dessous. À noter qu'ISDE n'a pas répondu aux questions concernant la rémunération des télédiffuseurs.

Note : Des petites modifications à la ponctuation, à la grammaire et à la lisibilité, entre autres, ont été apportées aux questions pour respecter les normes sur l'accessibilité et d'autres normes.

Aperçu du document d'ISDE 600 MHz — Objectifs et méthodologie de la transition proposée pour la télévision :

Q1. La diapositive 4 concerne l'ébauche d'un processus de demande de certificat. Les intervenants auront ils l'occasion d'examiner et de commenter le processus de demande proposé, et à quel moment cette ébauche sera‑t‑elle prête?

R1. ISDE passe en revue le processus actuel de certification afin de le simplifier pendant la transition.

Q2. La diapositive 4 concerne l'ébauche des règles et du cadre post‑transition. Quels changements envisage‑t‑on concernant le cadre et les règles de la TVN, et à quel moment l'ébauche sera‑t‑elle mise à la disposition des intervenants aux fins d'examen et de commentaires?

R2. Bien que pour le moment le Ministère ne prévoit pas apporter des modifications substantielles au cadre et aux règles actuelles de la TVN à la suite du réaménagement de la bande de 600 MHz, il faudra actualiser certains paramètres techniques à la suite de la réattribution, notamment la plage de fréquences pour le service de télédiffusion.

Q3. La diapositive 5 concerne les échéances. Combien de temps prévoit on entre la fin de l'enchère incitative aux É.‑U. et la publication par ISDE des documents suivants :
  1. plan d'allotissement conjoint;
  2. plan de transition conjoint;
  3. liens de dépendance;
  4. déclaration d'intention concernant la transition de la télévision;
  5. déclaration d'intention concernant la période suivant la transition.

R3. ISDE a l'intention de publier le plan d'allotissement conjoint et le plan de transition conjoint, et de déterminer les liens de dépendance des stations peu de temps après la conclusion de l'enchère incitative des États‑Unis. Il est important de prendre note que cette étape marquera également le début de la transition. Dans le cas des deux déclarations d'intention, leur date de diffusion est prévue dans les 30 jours suivant la publication du plan d'allotissement.

Q4. La diapositive 7 concerne la « priorité entre les stations ». La priorité accordée à une station américaine sera‑t‑elle la même que celle proposée pour les stations canadiennes? Est‑ce que la capacité des diffuseurs canadiens à changer de canaux sera affectée?

R4. Bien que les priorités soient semblables, le Canada a proposé des priorités et des objectifs de transition légèrement différents de ceux proposés par les É.‑U. (p. ex. pour le Canada, la priorité consiste à accorder du temps supplémentaire aux stations canadiennes pour effectuer la transition, tandis que la priorité des É.‑U. est de retirer d'abord les stations de la bande de 600 MHz). Le plan de transition conjoint sera préparé en recherchant un juste équilibre entre les priorités et les besoins des deux pays relativement à la transition. Les stations du Canada et des É.‑U. qui ont des liens de dépendance seront traitées de façon égale.

Q4 a) Est‑ce que le terme « dépendance » désigne une station qui ne peut effectuer la transition à cause d'une autre station, une station qui empêche une autre d'effectuer la transition, ou les deux? Au cours de la période de transition, les stations canadiennes seront‑elles affectées par le brouillage causé par le service mobile des É.‑U. dans la bande de 600 MHz?

R4 a) Le terme « dépendance » désigne le fait qu'une station (station B) ne peut effectuer la transition tant qu'une autre station (station A) n'aura pas été déplacée à son canal final parce que le canal actuellement utilisé par la station A cause du brouillage au futur canal de la station B. C'est ce que l'on appelle aussi des « stations reliées ».

Dans la Décision sur la réattribution de la bande de 600 MHz d'ISDE, les stations de télévision canadiennes de la bande de 600 MHz bénéficieront de périodes de préavis de déplacement d'un an et de deux ans avant le déploiement du service mobile. Toutefois, le plan de transition et le calendrier conjoints du Canada et des États‑Unis ne sont pas encore terminés. Une partie des négociations du cadre de transition entre le Canada et les États‑Unis concerne la relation entre les stations de télévisions canadiennes et le déploiement des services mobiles aux États‑Unis. (Voir aussi les questions 6 et 15.)

Q4 b) Quels sont les critères proposés pour déterminer si l'attribution d'un canal temporaire est justifiée?

R4 b) L'utilisation de canaux temporaires pendant la période de transition nécessitera un changement de canal supplémentaire et pourrait entraîner un brouillage temporaire accru. Le Ministère propose de ne pas attribuer de canaux temporaires aux stations de télévision pendant le processus de transition. Toutefois, le Ministère examinera au cas par cas les demandes des télédiffuseurs concernant l'utilisation exceptionnelle d'un canal temporaire pendant la période de transition. Lors de l'examen de ces demandes, on prendra en considération certains facteurs, notamment l'incidence sur l'exploitation d'autres stations et leur capacité d'effectuer la transition au moment prévu.

Q4 c) Le processus de demande sera‑t‑il le même pour toutes les stations ou sera‑t‑il différent si une station propose des paramètres de fonctionnement qui sont différents de ceux indiqués dans le plan d'allotissement conjoint?

R4 c) Comme ce fut le cas lors du passage à la TVN en 2011, le processus de demande peut être différent selon que la station propose des paramètres de fonctionnement identiques ou différents comparativement à ceux du nouveau plan d'allotissement pour la TVN. ISDE passe en revue le processus actuel de certification afin de le rationaliser pendant la transition.

Q4 d) Quelle variation des paramètres de fonctionnement sera jugée équivalente par le CRTC et ISDE aux paramètres du plan d'allotissement conjoint?

R4 d) Dans les procédures et règles de télédiffusion RPR-10, Règles et procédures de demande relatives aux entreprises de télévision numérique (TVN), le Ministère estime que les paramètres de fonctionnement d'une station sont équivalents comme suit :

  • l'application concerne le même canal que celui indiqué dans le plan d'allotissement;
  • le contour limité par le bruit ne dépasse pas le contour calculé à l'aide des paramètres de référence indiqués dans le plan.
Q5. La diapositive 8 porte sur les dépendances et les liens de dépendance. Quelle est la durée maximale envisagée pour le brouillage temporaire?

R5. Le risque de brouillage temporaire se matérialise lorsqu'il y a un mélange de stations fonctionnant sur leur canal avant le réaménagement et sur le canal réattribué se trouvant à proximité les unes des autres. Dans le pire des scénarios, il pourrait y avoir un brouillage temporaire s'étalant depuis le début de la période d'essai de diffusion en direct de la phase 1 jusqu'à la fin de la période de transition, bien qu'une telle situation soit très peu probable. De plus, dans la proposition du Ministère :

  • le brouillage temporaire est limité à 2 % par paire (c.-à-d. entre deux stations) au cours de la période de transition;
  • le brouillage qui pourrait dépasser la limite de 2 % par paire ne sera permis qu'au cours des périodes d'essai de diffusion en direct et atténué en effectuant une coordination entre les télédiffuseurs concernés par deux stations reliées (c.-à-d. les stations pouvant nuire aux autres qui effectuent la transition au cours de la même phase).
Q6. La diapositive 10 porte sur le nombre de phases. Est‑ce‑que la période de prolongation du Canada au‑delà de 39 mois englobera les stations dans la bande de 600 MHz qui peuvent causer un brouillage temporaire au nouveau service mobile des É.‑U.?

R6. Le plan de transition et le calendrier conjoints du Canada et des É.‑U. ne sont pas encore terminés. Bien que le Ministère ait proposé de prolonger la période de transition au Canada au‑delà de 39 mois avec des phases supplémentaires, la relation entre les stations de télévision et le déploiement du service mobile fait encore partie des négociations concernant le cadre de transition.

Q7. La diapositive 11 porte sur l'attribution de phases aux stations.

Q7 a) Le Ministère peut‑il expliquer ce qu'il entend par stations comptant des « dépendances canadiennes » qui ne causent pas de brouillage aux autres stations?

R7 a) 

  • Les stations comptant des « dépendances canadiennes » comprennent celles‑qui ont des liens de dépendance uniquement avec d'autres stations canadiennes.
  • Les stations « sans dépendance » comprennent celles‑qui n'ont aucun lien de dépendance avec une autre station, canadienne ou américaine.

Q7 b) Les stations comptant des « dépendances canadiennes » seront‑elles traitées différemment de celles « sans dépendance »?

R7 b) Le Ministère a proposé de planifier la transition des stations faisant partie de ces deux groupes au cours de phases ultérieures, ce qui leur donnera plus de temps pour effectuer la transition. On a proposé de planifier la transition des stations sans « dépendances » ; plus tard que les stations « avec des dépendances », car elles n'ont pas autant d'incidence sur le calendrier de transition global et n'influencent pas la capacité des autres stations de changer de canal et/ou de passer de l'analogique au numérique.

Les dépendances réelles des différentes stations ne seront pas déterminées avant que ne soient connues les nouvelles attributions de canaux à la fin du processus d'enchère incitative des É.‑U.

Q7 c) Comment les « régions » seront‑elles choisies ou définies?

R7 c) Le but visé est de regrouper les stations en fonction du marché principal qu'elles desservent, peu importe l'emplacement physique de leur émetteur. Par exemple, les stations qui sont physiquement situées à Gatineau (Qc) ou à Ottawa (Ont.), dont le marché principal est la Région de la capitale nationale, feraient partie de la même région.

Q8. La diapositive 14 concerne les règles de transition temporaire. Comment le Ministère propose‑t‑il de définir le taux de 2 % de brouillage supplémentaire? En fonction de la population? En fonction de la région géographique?

R8. Tout comme le calcul du brouillage supplémentaire utilisé dans le processus de réaménagement, le taux de 2 % de brouillage temporaire supplémentaire est calculé par rapport à la population exempte de brouillage de référence de la station en question. La population exempte de brouillage de référence est définie comme étant la population qui se trouve à l'intérieur du contour limité par le bruit (CLB) qui doit recevoir le service.

Q9  La diapositive 16 porte sur les objectifs d'attribution des stations.

Q9 a) Que fera ISDE pour s'assurer qu'un nombre maximum de stations canadiennes conserveront le canal qui leur est actuellement attribué dans le nouveau plan d'allotissement conjoint?

R9 a) L'attribution des canaux fait partie du processus de réaménagement. Le système de réaménagement fera appel à des techniques d'optimisation pour déterminer un plan d'attribution final des canaux de télévision. En plus de respecter les contraintes indiquées dans la déclaration d'intention, les stations seront réaménagées de manière à maximiser le nombre de stations conservant leur canal actuel au lieu de leur attribuer de nouveaux canaux. Le même algorithme d'optimisation sera appliqué à toutes les stations canadiennes et américaines afin d'assurer un traitement égal aux stations des deux pays.

Q9 b)  Est‑ce que le fait de déplacer d'abord les stations des É.‑U. dans la bande mobile aura pour effet d'augmenter la portée ou la durée du brouillage temporaire causé aux stations canadiennes?

R9 b) Les impacts ne seront connus qu'après la fin de l'enchère incitative aux États‑Unis. Cependant, selon la configuration du nouveau plan d'allotissement pour la TVN, le fait de déplacer d'abord les stations américaines dans la bande mobile peut augmenter la portée et la durée du brouillage temporaire causé à certaines stations canadiennes. Par contre, la planification du déplacement des stations canadiennes au cours de phases ultérieures pourrait également accroître la portée et la durée du brouillage temporaire causé à certaines stations américaines. Le plan de transition et le calendrier seront élaborés de manière à trouver un juste équilibre entre les besoins et les priorités des deux pays en ce qui concerne la transition.

Q10. La diapositive 18 illustre la durée des phases. Quel jalon correspond au mois « zéro »? Est‑ce le moment où une station reçoit d'ISDE et de la FCC l'approbation de sa demande?

R10. Le « mois zéro » correspond au moment où le nouveau plan d'allotissement pour la TVN est publié.

Q11. Quelles mesures le Ministère propose‑t‑il pour inciter les entreprises spécialisées dans le montage de tours à participer aux discussions concernant la planification et les scénarios de transition?

R11. Le Ministère est conscient qu'il faut compter sur le large éventail d'employés de l'industrie pour mettre en œuvre avec succès le plan de transition, ce qui comprend les télédiffuseurs, les ingénieurs et les experts conseils en télédiffusion, les ingénieurs en structures et en radiofréquences, les fournisseurs et les fabricants d'équipement, et d'autres entreprises de soutien.

ISDE a amorcé des discussions avec des fabricants d'équipement de télédiffusion, des entreprises spécialisées dans le montage de tours, ainsi que des experts conseils en génie des structures, afin de mieux comprendre leur capacité, leurs compétences et leurs plans pour la transition. Ces renseignements ont été pris en compte pour élaborer la méthodologie et les objectifs proposés pour le plan de transition.

Q12. La diapositive 21 porte sur la construction. Le Ministère possède‑t‑il des renseignements confirmant qu'il y a 22 équipes pour les tours au Canada possédant une expérience d'installation d'antennes de télédiffusion de grande puissance sur de grandes tours?

R12. En juillet et en août, ISDE a tenu des discussions avec plusieurs firmes canadiennes offrant des services concernant les tours. Sur la base de ces discussions, on dénombre au moins 22 équipes pour les tours au Canada. Bien que la totalité d'entre elles ne possèdent peut‑être pas une expérience du travail dans de grandes tours de télédiffusion de grande puissance, la majorité des structures de télédiffusion au Canada ont une hauteur de moins de 100 mètres et sont de faible puissance. Dans nos discussions, certaines entreprises ont également indiqué qu'il serait possible de transférer les compétences à mesure que les employés acquerront de l'expérience pendant la transition.

De plus, il est possible que des membres des équipes pour les tours américaines et d'autres pays soient intéressés à travailler avec des radiodiffuseurs canadiens au cours de la période de transition, ce qui augmentera le nombre d'équipes pour les tours travaillant pendant la période de transition au Canada.

Q13.  La diapositive 22 concerne d'autres éléments pris en compte. Sur quelle base a‑t‑on établi à seulement 5 % et 10 % le temps supplémentaire accordé aux nombreuses stations partageant un même site?

R13. Dans le cas des stations qui utilisent la même tour, il peut y avoir des avantages d'utiliser en même temps la même équipe pour l'exécution des travaux dans la tour. Cela peut simplifier efficacement certaines tâches exécutées sur les sites partagés par plusieurs stations, éviter la mobilisation et la démobilisation de plusieurs équipes, et éviter de nombreux montages et démontages de la tour. Lors des discussions avec des entreprises spécialisées dans le montage de tours, on a indiqué à ISDE qu'on gagnerait beaucoup de temps dans les cas où plusieurs stations utilisant la même tour effectuent simultanément des modifications.

Processus général de transition, planification et impact

Q14. Jusqu'à quel point les stations pourront‑elles continuer de fonctionner dans la bande de 600 MHz jusqu'à ce que le spectre soit mis aux enchères au Canada? Quelle sera l'incidence sur le calendrier ou la planification du déplacement des stations canadiennes lorsque les exploitants de services mobiles des É.‑U. commenceront à utiliser la bande de 600 MHz?

R14. Conformément aux Décisions sur la réattribution de la bande de 600 MHz d'ISDE, les stations de télédiffusion de puissance régulière qui fonctionnent dans la bande de 600 MHz pourront continuer d'utiliser leurs canaux actuels et leurs modes de fonctionnement jusqu'à ce que le spectre soit requis pour le déploiement du service mobile à large bande. Les avis seront émis lorsque des déplacements sont nécessaires pour des déploiements mobiles. Les stations situées dans des régions urbaines bénéficieront d'une période de préavis d'au moins un an, tandis que celles de toutes les autres régions auront une période de préavis d'au moins deux ans. Cet avis de déplacement d'un an ou de deux ans peut chevaucher la date de transition prévue, selon le moment choisi (c.‑à‑d. le calendrier et le déploiement du service mobile).

Le calendrier et le plan de transition conjoints Canada‑États-Unis ne sont pas encore terminés. Une partie des négociations du cadre de transition entre le Canada et les États-Unis concerne la relation entre les stations de télévisions canadiennes et le déploiement des services mobiles aux États-Unis.

Q15. Quelles ressources le Ministère fournira‑t‑il pour assurer la coordination du calendrier?

R15. En collaboration avec la FCC, ISDE élaborera un plan de transition conjoint, de même que le calendrier s'y rapportant, en précisant les dates pour la transition des stations vers les nouveaux canaux et/ou le passage au mode numérique. De plus, ISDE a affecté des ressources pour s'assurer que les exigences administratives liées à la transition ne nuiront pas à sa mise en œuvre.

Q16. Si le plan de transition exige au bout du compte un certain degré de brouillage temporaire, est‑ce que cela signifie que les stations qui ne changeront pas de canal ne seront pas touchées par ce brouillage?

R16. En raison de la complexité du processus de transition, il pourrait être nécessaire de tolérer une augmentation temporaire des niveaux de brouillage afin de tenir compte des liens de dépendance séquentiels entre les stations qui se trouvent dans le même marché ou dans des marchés adjacents. Le risque de brouillage temporaire se matérialise lorsqu'il y a plusieurs stations fonctionnant sur leur canal d'origine et dans le canal réattribué. Une augmentation d'au plus 2 % du brouillage temporaire supplémentaire entre deux stations est proposée durant la transition. Cette augmentation s'appliquerait aussi aux stations qui n'ont pas à changer de canal.

Date de modification :