Gazette Notice SMSE-005-17

Publication Date in Canada Gazette: August 26, 2017

Notice No. SMSE-005-17—Proposed Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations

This notice invites comments on proposals for the revision of the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations (the Canadian Table), as outlined in the consultation paper entitled:

Proposed Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations [2017] Edition.

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) adopts the International Table of Frequency Allocations (the International Table) as part of the ITU Radio Regulations. This International Table allocates radio frequency spectrum to various combinations of radio services and is revised on a periodic basis, along with other parts of the ITU Radio Regulations.

The Canadian Table is derived from the International Table adopted by the ITU. The Canadian Table identifies those radio services required to meet Canadian needs and specifies, by Canadian footnote, any additional provisions for use of those services in Canada. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) revises the Canadian Table on a periodic basis, normally following an ITU World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC). WRC-15, which was held from November 2 to November 27, 2015, adopted a number of changes to the frequency allocations in the International Table. WRC-15 dealt with issues concerning fixed, amateur, mobile, radiolocation, navigation, science, mobile-satellite and fixed satellite services. The resulting changes to the International Table require the consideration of several domestic issues. The above-mentioned consultation paper presents these issues and proposals for revisions to the Canadian Table. In addition, domestic requirements for other changes to the Canadian Table have emerged, and will also be addressed. This document discusses these issues and makes proposals for revisions to the Canadian Table.

Submitting comments

Interested parties are requested to submit their comments electronically (Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF) within 60 days of the date of publication of this notice using the following email address: ic.spectrumengineering-genieduspectre.ic@canada.ca. Soon after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, the title and notice reference number (SMSE-005-17).

Obtaining copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to herein are available electronically on ISED's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official versions of Canada Gazette notices can be viewed on the Canada Gazette website at www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html.

August 17, 2017

MARTIN PROULX
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

Date modified:

Avis de la Gazette SMSE-005-17

Date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada : le 26 août 2017

Avis No SMSE-005-17—Révisions proposées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences, édition [2017]

Le présent avis constitue une invitation à faire part d'observations sur les propositions en vue de la révision du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences (le Tableau canadien), telles que décrites dans le document de consultation intitulé :

Révisions proposées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences, édition [2017]

L'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT) adopte un Tableau d'attribution des bandes de fréquences (le Tableau international) dans le cadre de son Règlement des radiocommunications (RR). Le Tableau international attribue les fréquences à diverses combinaisons de services radio et fait l'objet de révisions périodiques, tout comme d'autres parties du RR international.

Le Tableau canadien s'inspire du Tableau international adopté par l'UIT. Il inclut les services radioélectriques nécessaires pour répondre aux besoins du Canada et précise, au moyen d'un renvoi canadien, toute nouvelle disposition relative à l'utilisation de ces services au Canada. Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) révise périodiquement le Tableau canadien, habituellement dans la foulée d'une Conférence mondiale des radiocommunications (CMR) de l'UIT. Ainsi, à l'occasion de la Conférence CMR-15, tenue du 2 au 27 novembre 2015, diverses modifications ont été apportées aux attributions des bandes de fréquences du Tableau international. La Conférence a traité de questions concernant les services suivants : amateur, fixe, mobile, radiolocalisation, navigation, scientifiques, mobile par satellite et fixe par satellite. Les modifications apportées au Tableau international à la suite de ces travaux ont entraîné la prise en compte de plusieurs enjeux liés à l'attribution de fréquences au Canada. Le document de consultation mentionné ci haut répertorie ces enjeux et les propositions de révision du Tableau canadien. De plus, de nouveaux besoins domestiques nécessitant d'autres modifications au Tableau canadien sont apparus et il en sera aussi tenu compte. Le présent document aborde ces enjeux et formule des propositions de révision au Tableau canadien.

Présentation des commentaires

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à envoyer leurs commentaires sous forme électronique (Microsoft Word ou Adobe PDF) par courriel à l'adresse suivante : ic.spectrumengineering-genieduspectre.ic@canada.ca, dans un délai de 60 jours à compter de la date de publication du présent avis. Peu après la clôture de la période de leur présentation, les observations reçues seront affichées sur le site Web de Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, à l'adresse www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Toutes les soumissions doivent citer la Gazette du Canada, partie I, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (SMSE-005-17).

Obtention des copies

Le présent avis ainsi que les documents cités sont affichés sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications à l'adresse www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut obtenir la version officielle des avis de la Gazette du Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-fra.html.

Le 17 août 2017

Directeur général,
Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes

MARTIN PROULX

Date de modification :