Gazette Notice SMSE-009-17

Posted on March 2, 2017
Publication Date in Canada Gazette: March 4, 2017

Notice No. SMSE-009-17 — Consultation on the Licensing Framework for Non-Geostationary Satellite Orbit (NGSO) Systems and Clarification of Application Procedures for All Satellite Licence Applications

The intent of this notice is to initiate, through the release of the above-mentioned document, a public consultation on modifications to various elements of Innovation, Science and Economic Development’s (ISED) licensing framework as it applies to non-geostationary satellite orbit (NGSO) systems. In particular, ISED is seeking views on whether to impose a limit on the number of licences issued per frequency band for certain commercial systems; changes to Canadian direction and control, coverage and capacity requirements; the removal of coexistence as an assessment criteria; and possible measures to be used in the event of domestic frequency coordination disputes. Views are also sought on a clarification to the first come, first served licensing rules as they apply to all satellite applications.

Following the comment period, ISED will issue updates to Radio Systems Policy (RP)-008 – Policy Framework for Fixed-Satellite Service and Broadcasting-Satellite Service and Client Procedures Circular (CPC) 2-6-02 – Licensing of Space Stations on ISED’s Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site (www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum). Two weeks following the publication of these updates, the moratorium on licence applications for commercial NGSO systems will be lifted. A Spectrum Advisory Bulletin will be published on the Department’s Web site to provide advance notice, but there will be no accompanying notice in the Canada Gazette.

Submitting comments

Interested parties should submit their comments no later than April 3, 2017. Soon after the close of the comment period, all comments will be posted on ISED’s Spectrum Management and Telecommunications  Web site at www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

The Department will also provide interested parties with the opportunity to reply to comments from other parties. Reply comments will be accepted for fifteen days following the posting of comments. All comments and reply comments will be reviewed and considered by the Department in arriving at a final position on the issues raised in the consultation.

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF), along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used, to the following email address: ic.satelliteauthorization-autorisationsatellite.ic@canada.ca. Written submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, 6th Floor, 235 Queen Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, the title, and the notice reference number (SMSE-009-17).

Obtaining copies

Copies of this notice and of any documents referred to herein are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official versions of Canada Gazette notices can be viewed at http://www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html.

February 22, 2017

 

space to insert signature
MARTIN PROULX
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

Date modified:

Avis de la Gazette SMSE-009-17

Affiché le le 2 mars 2017
Date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada : le 4 mars 2017

Avis no SMSE-009-17 — Consultation sur le cadre de délivrance de licences pour les systèmes à satellites non géostationnaires et clarification des procédures pour toutes les demandes de licence relatives à des satellites

Le but du présent avis est de lancer, par la diffusion du document mentionné ci‑dessus, une consultation publique concernant les modifications apportées à divers éléments du cadre de délivrance de licences d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) pour les systèmes à satellites non géostationnaires. Plus particulièrement, ISDE sollicite des observations sur l’imposition d’un nombre limite de systèmes commerciaux autorisés par bande de fréquences, sur les modifications apportées aux exigences concernant la direction, le contrôle, la couverture et la capacité par le Canada, la suppression de la coexistence à titre de critère d’évaluation, et les mesures qui pourraient être utilisées en cas de conflits lors de la coordination de fréquences au pays. ISDE sollicite également des commentaires sur une clarification des règles de délivrance de licences en vertu du principe du premier arrivé, premier servi pour toutes les demandes relatives à des satellites.

Après la période de commentaires, ISDE diffusera une version à jour de la Politique des systèmes radioPR-008Cadre de politique pour le service fixe par satellite (SFS) et le service de radiodiffusion par satellite (SRS) et de la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-6-02Délivrance de licence aux stations spatiales sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d’ISDE à l’adresse www.ic.gc.ca/spectre. Deux semaines après la publication de ces versions actualisées, le moratoire sur les demandes de licence pour des systèmes satellites non géostationnaires commerciaux sera levé. Un Bulletin consultatif sur le spectre sera publié sur le site Web du Ministère pour donner un préavis, sans aucun avis d’accompagnement dans la Gazette du Canada.

Présentation de commentaires

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à présenter leurs commentaires au plus tard le 3 avril 2017. Peu après la clôture de la période de présentation de commentaires, toutes les observations reçues seront affichées sur le site Web de Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'ISDE à l'adresse www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Le Ministère donnera aussi aux intéressés l'occasion de répondre aux commentaires formulés par d'autres parties. Ces réponses seront acceptées pendant une période de quinze jours après la publication des commentaires. Tous les commentaires et réponses aux commentaires seront examinés et pris en compte par le Ministère lors de la prise de décisions finales concernant les questions soulevées au cours de la consultation.

Les répondants sont invités à soumettre leurs observations en format électronique (Microsoft Word ou Adobe PDF), accompagnés d'une note précisant le logiciel, la version du logiciel et le système d'exploitation, à l'adresse de courriel suivante : ic.satelliteauthorization-autorisationsatellite.ic@canada.ca. Les observations par écrit doivent être envoyées par la poste au Directeur général, Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, 6e étage, 235, rue Queen, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5.

Toutes les présentations doivent citer la Gazette du Canada, partie I, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (SMSE-009-17).

Obtention de copies

Le présent avis et tout document cité sont affichés sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications à l’adresse www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut obtenir la version officielle des avis de la Gazette du Canada à l’adresse suivante : www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-fra.html.

le 22 février 2017

Le directeur général
Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes

 

space to insert signature
MARTIN PROULX

Date de modification :