SAB-002-17 – Lifting of the Moratorium on TV Broadcasting Certificate Applications

April 2017

In December 2014, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED, formerly Industry Canada) held a public consultation (SLPB-005-14, Consultation on Repurposing the 600 MHz Band) to invite comments on repurposing spectrum in the 600 MHz band. Noting the considerations and potential changes raised in that consultation, and the possible significant reorganization of the services in the TV broadcasting bands, the Department placed a moratorium on new applications for licensing or issuing broadcasting certificates in the TV broadcasting bands. This included, amongst others:

  • new applications for TV broadcasting certificates for all classes of TV stations;
  • applications for modification of an existing TV broadcasting certificate resulting in increasing the coverage in any direction or changing the operating channel.

The moratorium pertaining to the above noted applications was expected to remain in place until the revised TV allotment plan and technical and regulatory rules for the TV broadcasting bands became available.

Pursuant to the August 2015 decision (SLPB-004-15, Decision on Repurposing the 600 MHz Band) to repurpose the 600 MHz band and jointly establish a new digital TV (DTV) allotment plan with the United States, the Department has now finalized and released the new Digital Television (DTV) Allotment Plan and Digital Television (DTV) Transition Schedule.

Furthermore, ISED has also released Broadcasting Procedures and Rules BPR-11, Broadcasting Television Application Procedures During the 600 MHz Transition, which outlines the technical and regulatory rules in effect for TV applications during this period.

In view of the above, the Department is now lifting the moratorium with respect to applications for new or amended TV broadcasting certificates referred to in the December 2014 Consultation. The limitations with respect to applications for analog TV (Industry Canada Advisory Letter — The Use of Unplanned Over-the-Air (OTA) Broadcasting Television Spectrum and the Manufacturing and Importation for the Sale of Digital Capable Television Receiving Apparatus) in place prior to the moratorium imposed in December 2014 continue to remain in effect.

Although the Department is now accepting TV applications, please note that the treatment of these applications will be prioritized according to the general principles outlined in section 6 of BPR-11. Please consult BPR-11 for additional details concerning the rules and procedures for TV broadcasting certification applications during the transition.

Issued under the authority of the Radiocommunication Act.


Peter Hill
Director General
Spectrum Management Operations Branch

Date modified:

BCS-002-17 – Levée du moratoire sur les demandes de certificats de télédiffusion

En décembre 2014, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE), anciennement Industrie Canada, a tenu une consultation publique, SLPB-005-14, Consultation sur la réattribution de la bande de 600 MHz,en vue de solliciter des commentaires sur la réattribution du spectre de la bande de 600 MHz. Compte tenu des éléments à considérer et des changements potentiels soulevés lors de la consultation, de même que de l’importante réorganisation des services offerts dans les bandes de télédiffusion qui pourrait en découler, le Ministère a imposé un moratoire sur les nouvelles demandes de délivrance de licence ou de certificats de radiodiffusion dans les bandes de télédiffusion. Le moratoire touche, entre autres :

  • les nouvelles demandes de certificats de télédiffusion pour toutes les classes de stations;
  • les demandes de modification de certificats de télédiffusion existants en vue d’augmenter la couverture dans n’importe quelle direction ou de modifier le canal utilisé.

Le moratoire concernant les demandes susmentionnées devait être maintenu jusqu’à la mise en place de la version révisée du plan d’allotissement des canaux de télévision et des règles relatives aux exigences techniques et réglementaires visant les bandes de télédiffusion.

Conformément à la décision d’août 2015, SLPB-004-15, Décisions sur la réattribution de la bande de 600 MHz, relativement à la réattribution du spectre de la bande de 600 MHz et de la mise en place d’un nouveau plan mixte d’allotissement de la télévision numérique avec les États-Unis, le Ministère a achevé et publié le nouveau Plan d’allotissement pour la télévision numérique (TVN) et le Calendrier de transition à la télévision numérique (TVN).

De plus, ISDE a également publié les Règles et procédures sur la radiodiffusion RPR-11, Procédures de demandes de télédiffusion pendant la transition visant la bande de 600 MHz, qui décrit les règles relatives aux exigences techniques et réglementaires en vigueur pour les demandes de télédiffusion pendant cette période.

À la lumière de ce qui précède, le Ministère met un terme au moratoire touchant les nouvelles demandes de certificats de télédiffusion ou les demandes de certification de télédiffusion existantes visées par la consultation de décembre 2014. Les restrictions touchant les demandes de télévision analogique, Lettre d'avis d'Industrie Canada — Utilisation des fréquences de télédiffusion en direct non planifiées et fabrication et importation pour la vente de récepteurs de télévision compatibles avec le service numérique, qui étaient en place avant le moratoire imposé en décembre 2014, sont toujours en vigueur.

Même si le Ministère accepte maintenant les demandes de télédiffusion, veuillez prendre note que la priorité de traitement de ces demandes sera accordée en fonction des principes généraux établis à la section 6 des RPR-11. Veuillez consulter les RPR-11 pour en savoir plus sur les règles et les procédures touchant les demandes de certification de télédiffusion pendant la transition.

Publié en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.

Peter Hill
Directeur général
Direction générale des opérations de gestion du spectre

Date de modification :