Subordinate Spectrum Licence from Fido Solutions Inc. (Rogers) to Bell Canada

August 3, 2017

Decision regarding the subordinate licence

Application

1. On April 24, 2017, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) received an application for the issuance of a subordinate licence from Fido Solutions Inc. a subsidiary of Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers) to Bell Canada (Bell) in the Personal Communication Services Band (PCS), within Manitoba.

2. The request to issue a subordinate licence from Rogers to Bell is further to the current Rogers/Bell Network Sharing Agreement within Manitoba. The subordinate licence is for the 20 MHz (10 + 10 MHz) portion of Block A that was not part of the original Agreement, and is described in annex A. The application was reviewed under the relevant provisions of Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-1-23, Licensing Procedure for Spectrum Licences for Terrestrial Services.

3. Terms not defined in this decision have the meaning set out in CPC-2-1-23.

Decision

4. The subordinate commercial mobile spectrum licence from Rogers to Bell is approved.

Rationale

5. The application was assessed against the policy objectives and criteria set out in section 5.6 of CPC-2-1-23.

6. ISED approved subordinate licences between Bell and Rogers in March 2017 (https://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf11267.html) and notes that the nature of the Agreement between Bell and Rogers remains unchanged.

7. ISED notes that for the subordinate licence requested, the primary licensee retains control of its spectrum licence.

8. Approving the subordinate licence application will have no impact on the overall spectrum holdings or distribution, but will enable Rogers and Bell to enhance the services delivered to customers through the joint network in Manitoba.

9. ISED has determined that the subordinate licence will not impact the ability of existing and future competitors to provide services.

Annex A

Subordinate licence to be issued from Fido Solutions Inc. (Rogers) to Bell Canada
Licence number Expiry date Frequency range (MHz) Geographic area
10284397-001 March 31, 2031 1850-1855 / 1930-1935
1860-1865 / 1940-1945
Tier 2-010
Manitoba
Date modified:

Licence de spectre subordonnée détenue par Fido Solutions Inc. (Rogers) et accordée à Bell Canada

le 3 août 2017

Décision concernant la licence subordonnée

Demande

1. Le 24 avril 2017, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) a reçu une demande pour la délivrance d'une licence subordonnée de Fido Solutions Inc. (Fido), une filiale de Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers), à Bell Canada (Bell) dans la bande du service de communications personnelles (SCP) au Manitoba.

2. La demande de délivrance d'une licence subordonnée de Rogers à Bell est un ajout à l'entente actuelle de partage de réseau Rogers/Bell au Manitoba. La licence subordonnée est pour la portion de 20 MHz (10 + 10 MHz) du bloc A qui ne faisait pas partie de l'entente initiale. Elle est décrite à l'annexe A. La demande a été examinée selon les dispositions pertinentes du Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients, CPC-2-1-23, Procédure de délivrance de licences de spectre pour les services terrestres.

3. La signification des termes qui ne sont pas définis dans la présente décision se trouve dans la CPC-2-1-23.

Décision

4. La demande de licence subordonnée de spectre de Rogers à Bell dans le service mobile commercial est approuvée.

Justification

5. La demande a été évaluée par rapport aux objectifs stratégiques et aux critères énoncés à la section 5.6 de la CPC-2-1-23.

6. ISDE a approuvé les licences subordonnées exploitées par Bell et Rogers en mars 2017 (https://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf11267.html) et note que la nature de l'entente entre Bell et Rogers reste la même.

7. ISDE note que, pour la licence subordonnée demandée, le titulaire principal conserve le contrôle de sa licence de spectre.

8. L'approbation de la demande de licence subordonnée n'aura aucun effet sur l'ensemble des avoirs ou la distribution du spectre, mais permettra à Rogers et à Bell d'améliorer les services aux clients grâce au réseau commun au Manitoba.

9. ISDE a déterminé que l'approbation de cette licence subordonnée n'aura pas d'incidence sur la capacité des concurrents actuels et futurs de fournir des services.

Annexe A

Licence subordonnée détenue par Fido Solutions Inc. (Rogers) et accordée à Bell Canada
Numéro de licence Date d'expiration Gamme de fréquences (MHz) Zone géographique
10284397-001 31 mars 2031 1 850-1 855 à 1 930-1 935
1 860-1 865 à 1 940-1 945
2-010
Manitoba
Date de modification :