REC-AB — Procedure for the Recognition of Accreditation Bodies for Non-MRA Countries

Posted on March 15, 2018

Issue 1
March 2018

Foreword

This document describes the criteria and procedure for recognition of accreditation bodies by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) in order for the accreditation bodies to accredit testing laboratories and perform accreditation services in countries where Canada has no Mutual Recognition Agreement/Arrangements (MRA) on Conformity Assessment.

Interested parties are requested to provide their comments within 90 days of the date of publication of this notice using the online General Inquiry form. Comments and suggestions for improving this procedure may be submitted online using the Standard Change Request form.

Copies of this document are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website.

Issued under the authority
of the Minister of Innovation, Science and
Economic Development

Martin Proulx
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

Contents


1.  Purpose

This document describes the criteria and procedure for the recognition of accreditation bodies (AB) by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) to perform accreditation of testing laboratories to ISO/EIC 17025, General requirements for the competence of testing and calibration laboratories in non-Mutual Recognition Agreement/Arrangements (MRA) countries.


2.  Definitions

Accreditation: a procedure by which an authoritative body gives formal recognition that a body or person is competent to carry out specific tasks.

Accreditation body (AB): an authoritative body that performs accreditation to conformity assessment bodies by assessing them against international voluntary standards.

Bureau: ISED's Certification and Engineering Bureau (CEB).

Certification: an attestation by a recognized certification body or the Bureau that a product conforms to specified ISED requirements.

Certification body (CB): a recognized independent organization that conducts certification of radiocommunication equipment to Canadian regulatory requirements.

Conformity assessment body (CAB): a body engaged in the performance of procedures for determining whether the relevant requirements in technical regulations or standards are fulfilled.

Testing laboratory: responsible to determine the applicable test procedures and to properly test to those requirements.


3.  Related documents

The following documents as well as other information can be found on ISED's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website.

DES-LAB — Procedure for Designation and Recognition of Canadian Testing Laboratories

REC-LAB — Procedure for the Recognition of Foreign Testing Laboratories

4.  Introduction

ISED administers the equipment authorization program under authority delegated to it by the Minister. This program is one of the principal ways ISED ensures that telecommunication, radiocommunication and digital devices used in Canada operate effectively without causing harmful interference and otherwise comply with ISED's technical requirements. All telecommunication, radiocommunication and digital devices subject to equipment authorization must comply with ISED's technical requirements prior to its manufacturing, distribution, lease, offer for sale, sell or import.

ISED's radiocommunications equipment regulatory process requires that equipment be authorized in accordance with one of three schemes:

  1. Supplier's Declaration of Conformity (sDoC)
  2. Declaration of Conformity (DoC)
  3. Certification

The specific provisions of the three schemes apply to various types of devices based on their relative likelihood of causing harmful interference, human exposure to radio frequency, protection to the network and the significance of the effects of such interference from the particular device at issue.

To be ISED-recognized, a laboratory must first be accredited by an ISED-recognized accreditation bodyFootnote 1 as meeting applicable international standards and comply with REC-LAB requirements. This document describes the procedures for the recognition of such accreditation bodies to perform accreditation services in non-MRA countries.

5.  Accreditation body recognition procedure for non-MRA countries

The basic criteria that ISED will use to determine the acceptability of new accreditation bodies in non-MRA countries is specified in this procedure. Under this procedure, an applicant must submit information that demonstrates how it satisfies the requirements of each of the four elements listed below. To ensure the continued integrity of the accreditation program, ISED will periodically review the accreditation process and maintain close coordination with each of the organizations that it has recognized to perform accreditations.

The following procedure will be used by an accreditation body seeking to be recognized by ISED as an accreditation body.

  1. Submit request. An applicant must submit a written request for such recognition to ISED and provide the information described below.
  2. General information. The accreditation body provides general information about its organization, including:
    1. contact information
    2. a general description of the organization
    3. description of the scope of work for which it is seeking recognition
    4. the specific country in which the accreditation body is seeking to perform laboratory accreditations for ISED's technical requirements
    5. evidence that the accreditation body is authorized by the government in each country it plans to accredit testing laboratories, to test to the ISED requirements, to operate and perform accreditation services
    6. explain legal constraints, if any, with regards to the accrediting body's authorization to operate in the specific country in which it plans to perform accreditations (i.e. has the required licenses and approvals necessary to operate a business)
    7. evidence of ability to perform assessments in each country it plans to accredit testing laboratories. The accreditation body must describe the process it will use to address laboratory performance issues, including the withdrawal or suspension of the accreditation of a testing laboratory
    8. description of the process the accreditation body will use to designate testing laboratories
  3. Technical qualifications. In order to demonstrate its credentials and qualifications to perform accreditation of laboratories to ISED requirements, an applicant shall provide, at a minimum, evidence of:
    1. Successful completion of an ISO/IEC 17011:2017 or ISO/IEC 17011:2004 (until November 30, 2020), Conformity assessment – General requirements for accreditation bodies accrediting conformity assessment bodies peer review, such as being a signatory to an accreditation agreement that is acceptable to ISED.Footnote 2 The accreditation body must describe the procedures it has in place to ensure the impartiality and objectivity of its activities as required by section 4.3 of ISO/IEC 17011:2004 (for example, the accreditation body shall not offer or provide conformity assessment services that CABs perform, consultancy activities, or any other service that would affect its impartiality).
    2. Expertise and capability to accredit electromagnetic compatibility (EMC), of radio testing laboratories to ISO/IEC 17025:2017 or ISO/IEC 17025:2005 (until November 30, 2020), General requirements for the competence of testing and calibration laboratories.
    3. Accreditation personnel/assessors with specific technical experience to ISED's technical requirements.
  4. Decision. ISED will make a determination of recognition based on the information provided in support of an application. Upon meeting the above requirements, ISED will recognize and maintain a list of recognized accreditation bodies on its webpage.

6.  Disclosure of information

ISED will not disclose the application status for recognition to any third party until the recognition process has been completed.

7.  Disclaimer

The recognition of an accreditation body by ISED does not imply or otherwise suggest approval of a testing laboratory or that the recognized accreditation body is an agent or representative of ISED.

ISED does not accept any responsibility for the effects or consequences of services provided by the recognized accreditation body for users of such services.

8.  Retaining recognition

During operation as a recognized accreditation body, the accreditation body shall continue to meet the requirements of this document and shall maintain its accreditation status. The accreditation body shall provide evidence of its signatory status to an accreditation agreement that is acceptable to ISED and its scope of recognition upon request by ISED. This evidence can consist of signatory listings on accreditation cooperation websites.

The accreditation body will be recognized for a period of four (4) years after which time renewal of recognition using this document must be sought.

Accreditation bodies shall not advertise their recognition status that is outside of the scope of their recognition.

9.  Suspension or withdrawal of recognition

The accreditation body is required to take immediate corrective action to ISED's satisfaction, if required. Where it is found after a review that a recognized accreditation body does not comply with the requirements of this procedure, the recognition may be withdrawn.

An accreditation body whose recognition has been suspended or withdrawn will be removed from the list of recognized accreditation bodies on the ISED website.

An accreditation body whose recognition has been suspended or withdrawn shall stop advertising its recognition. ISED will review all recognized laboratories that have been accredited by the AB. Such laboratories will remain recognized during this review process or until their recognition expires.

An accreditation body whose recognition has been suspended or withdrawn may reapply for recognition once the causes leading to the suspension or withdrawal have been eliminated to ISED's satisfaction.

Date modified:

REC-OA — Procédure de reconnaissance des organismes d’accréditation des pays non visés par un accord de reconnaissance mutuelle

Affiché le 15 mars 2018

1re édition
Mars 2018

Avant propos

Le présent document décrit les critères à respecter ainsi que la procédure à suivre pour obtenir la reconnaissance accordée par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) aux organismes d'accréditation qui accréditent des laboratoires d'essais et fournissent des services d'accréditation dans les pays avec lesquels le Canada n'a conclu aucun accord ni arrangement de reconnaissance mutuelle (ARM) sur l'évaluation de la conformité.

Les parties concernées sont priées d'envoyer leurs commentaires au plus tard 90 jours après la date de publication de cet avis en remplissant le formulaire Demande générale. Les commentaires et les suggestions visant à améliorer la présente procédure peuvent être transmis au moyen du formulaire en ligne intitulé Demande de changement à la norme.

Des copies du présent document sont disponibles par voie électronique sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications.

Publication autorisée sous l'autorité
du ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique

Le directeur général
Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes

Martin Proulx


Table des matières


1.  Objet

Le présent document décrit les critères et la procédure de reconnaissance des organismes d'accréditation (OA) par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) permettant de procéder à l'accréditation des laboratoires d'essais conformément à la norme ISO/IEC 17025, Exigences générales concernant la compétence des laboratoires d'étalonnages et d'essais dans les pays non visés par un arrangement de reconnaissance mutuelle (ARM).


2.  Définitions

Accréditation : procédure par laquelle un organisme qui fait autorité reconnaît officiellement qu'une personne ou un organisme possède la compétence nécessaire pour l'exécution de tâches précises.

Bureau : Bureau d'homologation et de services techniques (BHST) d'ISDE.

Organisme d'accréditation (OA) : organisme faisant autorité qui procède à l'accréditation d'organismes d'évaluation de la conformité en les évaluant en vertu de normes volontaires à l'échelle internationale.

Certification : attestation d'un organisme de certification reconnu indiquant qu'un produit est conforme aux exigences précisées d'ISDE.

Organisme de certification (OC) : organisme indépendant reconnu, chargé d'effectuer la certification du matériel de radiocommunication, conformément aux exigences réglementaires canadiennes.

Organisme d'évaluation de la conformité (OEC) : organisme qui met en œuvre des procédures pour déterminer si les exigences des règlements ou des normes techniques applicables sont respectées.

Laboratoire d'essais : laboratoire chargé d'établir les procédures d'essai applicables et de mener les essais conformément à ces exigences.


3.  Documents connexes

Il est possible de consulter les documents suivants et d'autres renseignements sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'ISDE.

DES-LAB — Procédure de désignation et de reconnaissance des laboratoires d'essais canadiens

REC-LAB — Procédure de reconnaissance des laboratoires d'essais étrangers


4.  Introduction

ISDE administre le programme d'autorisation du matériel en vertu des pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés par le ministre. Ce programme est l'un des principaux outils dont dispose ISDE pour veiller à ce que les appareils de télécommunication et de radiocommunication ainsi que les dispositifs numériques utilisés au Canada fonctionnent de manière efficace sans causer de brouillage et soient conformes aux exigences techniques d'ISDE. Tous les appareils de télécommunication et de radiocommunication ainsi que les dispositifs numériques qui font l'objet d'une autorisation doivent être conformes aux exigences techniques d'ISDE avant leur fabrication, distribution, leur location, leur mise en vente, leur vente ou leur importation.

Le processus réglementaire d'ISDE lié au matériel de radiocommunication stipule que le matériel doit être autorisé conformément à l'un des trois mécanismes suivants :

  1. la déclaration de conformité du fournisseur
  2. la déclaration de conformité
  3. la certification

Les dispositions particulières de ces trois mécanismes s'appliquent à divers types d'appareils, en fonction de la probabilité relative qu'ils causent du brouillage, de l'exposition humaine aux radiofréquences, de la protection du réseau et de l'importance des effets du brouillage causé par l'appareil en question.

Pour être reconnus par ISDE, un laboratoire doit être accrédité avant tout par un organisme d'accréditation reconnu par ISDENote de bas de page 1 comme répondant aux normes internationales en vigueur, ainsi qu'aux exigences de la procédure REC-LAB. Le présent document décrit les procédures à suivre pour reconnaitre ces organismes d'accréditation afin de fournir des services d'accréditation dans les pays non visés par un ARM.


5.  Procédure de reconnaissance des organismes d'accréditation dans les pays non visés par un ARM

Les critères de base d'ISDE pour déterminer l'acceptabilité de nouveaux organismes d'accréditation dans les pays non visés par un ARM sont exposés dans le présent document. Dans le cadre de cette procédure, le requérant doit démontrer de quelle façon il satisfait aux exigences des quatre éléments cités ci dessous. Afin de garantir l'intégrité du programme d'accréditation, ISDE examinera régulièrement le processus d'accréditation et travaillera en collaboration étroite avec tous les organismes reconnus aptes à réaliser les accréditations.

Les organismes d'accréditation qui souhaitent être reconnus par ISDE suivront la procédure suivante :

  1. Soumission d'une demande. Un requérant doit présenter une demande écrite de reconnaissance auprès d'ISDE et fournir l'information décrite ci-dessous.
  2. Renseignements généraux. L'organisme d'accréditation doit donner des renseignements généraux sur son organisation, y compris les données suivantes :
    1. coordonnées
    2. description générale de l'organisation
    3. description de l'étendue des travaux pour lesquels il demande une reconnaissance
    4. pays dans lequel l'organisme d'accréditation souhaite accréditer des laboratoires conformément aux exigences techniques d'ISDE
    5. preuve à l'effet qu'il est autorisé par le gouvernement de chaque pays à fonctionner et offrir des services d'accréditation, incluant l'accréditation des laboratoires d'essais conformément aux exigences d'ISDE
    6. contraintes légales, le cas échéant, portant sur l'habilitation de l'organisme d'accréditation à mener ses activités dans le pays où il prévoit réaliser des accréditations (soit la possession des licences et des autorisations nécessaires pour mener à bien une activité)
    7. document prouvant que l'organisme d'accréditation est capable de mener des évaluations dans chaque pays où il prévoit accréditer des laboratoires d'essais. L'organisme d'accréditation doit décrire le processus qu'il suivra pour régler les problèmes liés aux travaux du laboratoire, y compris le processus de retrait ou de suspension de l'accréditation des laboratoires d'essais
    8. description du processus que l'organisme d'accréditation utilisera pour désigner les laboratoires d'essais
  3. Qualifications techniques. Pour prouver qu'il détient les titres de compétences et les qualifications nécessaires pour accréditer les laboratoires conformément aux exigences d'ISDE, le requérant doit fournir au minimum les justificatifs suivants :
    1. évaluation par les pairs réussie et conforme à la norme ISO/IEC 17011:2017 ou ISO/IEC 17011:2004 (valide jusqu'au 30 novembre 2020), Évaluation de la conformité – Exigences générales pour les organismes d'accréditation procédant à l'accréditation d'organismes d'évaluation de la conformité, p. ex., document prouvant que l'organisme a signé une entente d'accréditation acceptable pour ISDENote de bas de page 2. L'organisme d'accréditation doit décrire les procédures qu'il a mises en place afin de garantir l'impartialité et l'objectivité de ses activités, conformément à la section 4.3 de la norme ISO/IEC 17011:2004 (p. ex., il ne doit pas offrir de services d'évaluation de la conformité fournis par les organismes d'évaluation de la conformité (OEC), mener des activités de consultation ou fournir d'autres services pouvant nuire à son impartialité)
    2. expertise et capacité d'accréditer la compatibilité électromagnétique (CEM) des laboratoires d'essais radio conformément à la norme ISO/IEC 17025:2017 ou ISO/IEC 17025 (valide jusqu'au 30 novembre 2020), Exigences générales concernant la compétence des laboratoires d'étalonnages et d'essais
    3. personnel d'accréditation ou des évaluateurs possédant l'expérience technique aux exigences techniques d'ISDE
  4. Décision. ISDE établira si l'organisme doit être reconnu en fonction des renseignements fournis pour appuyer la demande. Si les exigences susmentionnées sont respectées, ISDE reconnaîtra l'organisme d'accréditation et mettra à jour la liste des organismes d'accréditation reconnus sur son site Web.

6.  Communication de renseignements

ISDE ne divulguera pas l'état des demandes de reconnaissance à un tiers tant que le processus de reconnaissance ne sera pas terminé.


7.  Avis de non-responsabilité

La reconnaissance d'un organisme d'accréditation par ISDE ne suppose ni ne sous entend aucunement la reconnaissance d'un laboratoire d'essais ou le fait que l'organisme d'accréditation reconnu est un agent ou un représentant d'ISDE.

ISDE se dégage de toute responsabilité quant aux effets ou conséquences des services fournis par l'organisme d'accréditation reconnu sur les utilisateurs de ces services.


8.  Maintien de la reconnaissance

En assurant ses fonctions d'organisme d'accréditation reconnu, ce dernier doit continuer de satisfaire aux exigences contenues dans le présent document et maintenir son accréditation. L'organisme d'accréditation doit fournir la preuve, d'une part, de son statut de signataire d'un accord d'accréditation acceptable par ISDE, et d'autre part, de sa portée de reconnaissance, et ce, à la demande d'ISDE. Cette preuve peut consister en une liste de signataires sur les sites Web de la coopération d'accréditation.

L'organisme d'accréditation sera reconnu pendant une période de quatre ans, après laquelle il devra demander un renouvellement de sa reconnaissance à l'aide du présent document.

Les organismes d'accréditation ne doivent pas annoncer qu'ils sont reconnus pour des activités d'accréditation non comprises dans la portée de leur reconnaissance.


9.  Suspension ou retrait de la reconnaissance

L'organisme d'accréditation doit, au besoin, prendre immédiatement des mesures correctives à la satisfaction d'ISDE. S'il s'avère qu'un organisme d'accréditation reconnu ne respecte pas les exigences de la présente procédure, sa reconnaissance pourra lui être retirée.

Un organisme d'accréditation dont la reconnaissance est suspendue ou retirée sera supprimé de la liste des organismes d'accréditation reconnus sur le site Web d'ISDE.

Un organisme d'accréditation dont la reconnaissance a été suspendue ou retirée devra cesser d'annoncer qu'il est un organisme reconnu. ISDE examinera tous les laboratoires reconnus qui ont été accrédités par l'OA. Ces laboratoires resteront reconnus pendant ce processus d'examen ou jusqu'à l'expiration de leur reconnaissance.

Un organisme d'accréditation, dont la reconnaissance a été suspendue ou retirée, peut présenter une nouvelle demande de reconnaissance une fois que les causes de la suspension ou du retrait ont été écartées à la satisfaction d'ISDE.

Date de modification :