Memorandum of understanding between Industry Canada and Telesat Canada

Industry Canada (commonly known and hereinafter referred to as “Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada or “ISED”) and Telesat Canada (“Telesat”), hereinafter referred to as the “Participants”,

RECOGNIZING that high-speed Internet connectivity at affordable prices is critical for ensuring all Canadians benefit from access to growth in the digital economy,

SEEKING to leverage advancements in low Earth orbit (“LEO”) satellite technologies with potential to serve the most rural and remote regions of Canada with high-speed, low-latency Internet,

BUILDING on Canada’s investment of $85 million through the Strategic Innovation Fund (“SIF”) to develop and test pre-commercial technologies for Telesat’s planned LEO satellite constellation,

WORKING to achieve objectives of Canada’s Innovation and Skills Plan and new space strategy, Exploration, Imagination, Innovation,

AIMING to leverage Telesat’s recognized capabilities in advanced LEO satellite technologies and service delivery for the benefit of all Canadians,

HAVE COME to the following understanding:

  1. Introduction

    Broadband networks are a foundational platform of the digital economy. Improved broadband access benefits economic, productivity, and employment growth. High-speed Internet connectivity enables Canadian consumers, businesses, and public institutions, such as schools and medical facilities, to take advantage of online tools and data-rich applications that require faster speeds and higher quality of service.

    In Budget 2019, the Government of Canada committed to setting a national target, in which 95 percent of Canadian homes and businesses will have access to Internet speeds of at least 50 Megabits per second (“Mbps”) download and 10 Mbps upload (“50/10 Mbps”) by 2026 and 100 percent by 2030.  Achieving this target requires collaboration with partners across Canada, including provincial and territorial jurisdictions, Indigenous partners, and the private sector.

    In many regions of Canada underserved by existing broadband Internet services, where geographic and market challenges exist, government support is required to achieve public policy objectives related to Internet connectivity. Budget 2019 commitments help address these market failures and ensure that Canadian consumers, businesses, and public institutions in the most underserved communities across Canada have access to the affordable, high-speed Internet services they need to succeed in the digital economy.

    Given Canada’s large and varied geography, the government recognizes that advanced satellite technologies will play an important role in addressing connectivity needs in the hardest to reach rural and remote areas. Budget 2019 included a commitment to secure advanced LEO satellite capacity to help bring reliable high-speed Internet access to even the most challenging rural and remote homes and communities in Canada.

    To address growing demand for broadband Internet, Telesat plans to launch and operate “Telesat LEO”, a constellation of satellites to provide reliable and economical high-speed, high-capacity broadband with global coverage. Telesat expects to begin offering broadband coverage to Canada’s far North in 2022 and all of Canada from a constellation in mid-2023.

    Securing broadband capacity on Telesat LEO would position Canada to leverage a private sector led opportunity to reach rural and remote Canadians with broadband coverage, thereby helping to achieve the broadband objectives established in Budget 2019. Canada’s commitment to Telesat LEO – a new flagship program for Canada in space – would also help further position Telesat and its planned constellation for global success.

  2. Purpose

    The purpose of this Memorandum of Understanding ("MOU”) is for the Participants to define a common set of objectives and establish the basis of a partnership to realise the Government of Canada’s Budget 2019 commitment to secure LEO satellite capacity over Canada to address connectivity gaps in the most challenging rural and remote communities across the country within the next decade.

    The Participants will seek to reach a definitive agreement on the terms of a contribution agreement under which the Government of Canada would secure capacity on Telesat’s LEO constellation to provide high-speed, reliable broadband access to challenging rural and remote communities throughout Canada and secure high economic benefits for Canada and Canadian industry. This proposed agreement, including the Government of Canada’s contribution (the “Canada Contribution”), is expected to result in up to $1.2 billion in revenue for Telesat over 10 years and ensure affordable access to broadband for Canadians living in rural and remote communities.

  3. Objectives

    The objectives of the Canada Contribution will be to:

    1. Maximize and optimize rural and remote broadband coverage to reach target Internet speeds of at least 50/10 Mbps for all Canadians.
    2. Position Canada as the global leader of LEO technologies.
    3. Secure sufficient, high-speed, reliable broadband capacity to serve challenging rural and remote communities in Canada.
    4. Maximize the potential for high-quality job creation in Canada stemming from this investment.
    5. Open a platform for development of other applications using Telesat LEO.
  4. Process

    The Participants will undertake negotiations and work to develop a binding commitment for the Canada Contribution as defined by the Purpose and Objectives of this MOU.

    The Participants will work in collaboration to achieve the Purpose and Objectives of this MOU in a timely manner.

    Telesat will covenant certain provisions and obligations related to price, capacity, and geographic coverage in sub-agreements between Telesat and its Internet Service Provider (“ISP”) customers in order to achieve the Government of Canada’s goals with respect to broadband coverage.

    Achieving the Purpose and Objectives of this MOU is subject to the launch and successful operation of Telesat LEO and the provision from that system of sufficient satellite capacity and geographic coverage to rural and remote regions of Canada, including the far North.

  5. Status

    The Participants hereby acknowledge and agree that this MOU does not create any legally binding obligations as between them. Any binding agreement is subject to negotiation to agree on terms mutually satisfactory to both Participants and the securing of approvals as required by either Participant.

  6. Final Dispositions

    1. This MOU will come into effect on the date of its last signature by the Participants (“Effective Date”) and will remain valid for a period from the earlier of one (1) year from the Effective Date or the date of signing a binding Canada Contribution.
    2. The Participants may renew this MOU for a period to be determined upon their mutual written consent.
    3. The Participants may amend or terminate this MOU upon their mutual written consent.
    4. A Participant may terminate this MOU by giving three (3) months written notice to the other Participant.

Signed in duplicate at Ottawa, Ontario, Canada on this 23rd day of July 2019, in the English and French languages, each version being equally valid.

For Innovation, science and economic development Canada

For Telesat

Date modified:

Protocole d’entente entre Industrie Canada et Télésat Canada

Industrie Canada (communément, et ci-après, appelé « Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada » ou « ISDE ») et Télésat Canada (« Télésat »), ci-après appelés les « participants »,

RECONNAISSANT que la connectivité Internet haute vitesse à prix abordable est essentielle pour s’assurer que tous les Canadiens profitent de la croissance de l’économie numérique,

CHERCHANT à tirer parti des progrès de la technologie des satellites en orbite terrestre basse (« LEO ») qui pourraient desservir les régions les plus rurales et les plus éloignées du Canada grâce à l’Internet haute vitesse et à faible latence,

S’APPUYANT sur l’investissement de 85 millions de dollars du Canada par l’entremise du Fonds stratégique pour l’innovation (« FSI ») afin de développer et de tester des technologies précommerciales pour la constellation de satellites LEO prévue de Télésat,

CHERCHANT à atteindre des objectifs du Plan pour l’innovation et les compétences du Canada et de la nouvelle stratégie spatiale, Exploration, imagination, innovation,

VISANT à tirer parti des capacités reconnues de Télésat dans le domaine des technologies de pointe des satellites LEO et de la prestation de services dans l’intérêt de tous les Canadiens,

ONT CONVENU de ce qui suit :

  1. Introduction

    Les réseaux à large bande constituent une plateforme fondamentale de l’économie numérique. L’amélioration de l’accès à la large bande favorise la croissance de l’économie, de la productivité et de l’emploi. La connectivité Internet haute vitesse permet aux consommateurs, aux entreprises et aux institutions publiques canadiennes, comme les écoles et les établissements médicaux, de profiter d’outils en ligne et d’applications riches en données qui exigent des vitesses plus rapides et une meilleure qualité de service.

    Dans le budget de 2019, le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à établir un objectif national selon lequel 95 % des foyers et des entreprises du Canada auront accès à des débits Internet d’au moins 50 mégabits par seconde (« Mbps ») pour le téléchargement et 10 Mbps pour le téléversement (« 50/10 Mbps ») d’ici 2026 et 100 % d’ici 2030. Pour atteindre cet objectif, il faut collaborer avec des partenaires partout au Canada, y compris les administrations provinciales et territoriales, les partenaires autochtones et le secteur privé.

    Dans de nombreuses régions du Canada mal desservies par les services Internet à large bande existants, où il existe des défis géographiques et commerciaux, le soutien du gouvernement est nécessaire pour atteindre les objectifs des politiques publiques en matière de connectivité Internet. Les engagements pris dans le budget de 2019 aident à remédier à ces défaillances du marché et à s’assurer que les consommateurs, les entreprises et les institutions publiques des collectivités les moins bien servies du Canada ont accès aux services Internet haute vitesse abordables dont ils ont besoin pour réussir dans l’économie numérique.

    Étant donné l’étendue et la diversité de la géographie du Canada, le gouvernement reconnaît que les technologies satellitaires de pointe joueront un rôle important pour répondre aux besoins de connectivité dans les régions rurales et éloignées les plus difficiles d’accès. Le budget de 2019 comprenait l’engagement d’assurer une capacité satellitaire de pointe en orbite basse en vue d’offrir un accès fiable au service Internet haute vitesse, même dans les foyers et les collectivités rurales et éloignées les plus difficiles à atteindre au Canada.

    Pour répondre à la demande croissante de services Internet à large bande, Télésat prévoit lancer et exploiter « Télésat LEO », une constellation de satellites visant à fournir des services à large bande fiables et économiques à haute vitesse et à haute capacité, avec une couverture mondiale. Télésat envisage de commencer à offrir une couverture à large bande dans le Grand Nord canadien en 2022 et dans tout le Canada à partir d’une constellation au milieu de l’année 2023.

    L’obtention d’une capacité à large bande sur l’orbite terrestre basse de Télésat permettrait au Canada de profiter d’une occasion offerte par le secteur privé d’atteindre les Canadiens des régions rurales et éloignées grâce à une couverture à large bande, contribuant ainsi à l’atteinte des objectifs établis dans le budget de 2019. L’engagement du Canada à l’égard de Télésat LEO – un nouveau programme phare pour le Canada dans l’espace – contribuerait également à positionner davantage Télésat et sa constellation prévue pour réussir à l’échelle mondiale.

  2. But

    Le présent protocole d’entente (« PE ») a pour but de permettre aux participants de définir un ensemble commun d’objectifs et d’établir les bases d’un partenariat visant à concrétiser l’engagement pris par le gouvernement du Canada dans le budget de 2019, qui consiste à assurer une capacité satellitaire en orbite terrestre basse au-dessus du Canada pour combler les lacunes de connectivité dans les collectivités rurales et éloignées les plus difficiles à atteindre au pays dans la prochaine décennie.

    Les participants tenteront de parvenir à une entente définitive sur les modalités d’une entente de contribution dans le cadre de laquelle le gouvernement du Canada obtiendrait de Télésat la capacité nécessaire pour fournir un accès à des services à large bande fiables et haute vitesse aux collectivités rurales et éloignées difficiles à atteindre au Canada et obtiendrait également de nombreux avantages économiques pour le Canada et l’industrie canadienne. L’entente proposée, y compris la contribution du gouvernement du Canada (la « contribution du Canada »), devrait générer des revenus allant jusqu’à 1,2 milliard de dollars pour Télésat sur dix ans et assurer un accès abordable aux services à large bande pour les Canadiens vivant dans les collectivités rurales et éloignées.

  3. Objectifs

    La contribution du Canada visera à :

    1. Maximiser et à optimiser la couverture à large bande dans les régions rurales et éloignées pour atteindre des vitesses Internet cibles d’au moins 50/10 Mbps pour tous les Canadiens.
    2. Positionner le Canada comme chef de file mondial en matière de technologies LEO.
    3. Obtenir une capacité à large bande suffisante, fiable et à haute vitesse pour desservir les collectivités rurales et éloignées difficiles à atteindre au Canada.
    4. Maximiser le potentiel de création d’emplois de haute qualité au Canada découlant de cet investissement.
    5. Ouvrir une plateforme pour le développement d’autres applications utilisant la constellation Télésat LEO.
  4. Processus

    Les participants entreprendront des négociations et travailleront à l’élaboration d’un engagement exécutoire pour la contribution du Canada telle qu’elle est définie dans le but et les objectifs du présent protocole d’entente.

    Les participants collaboreront afin d’atteindre le but et les objectifs du présent protocole d’entente en temps opportun.

    Télésat s’engagera à respecter certaines dispositions et obligations relatives aux prix, à la capacité et à la couverture géographique dans les ententes auxiliaires conclues entre Télésat et ses clients fournisseurs de services Internet (« FSI ») afin d’atteindre les objectifs du gouvernement du Canada en matière de couverture de la large bande.

    L’atteinte du but et des objectifs du présent protocole d’entente est assujettie au lancement et à l’exploitation réussie de la constellation Télésat LEO et à la fourniture, à partir de ce système, d’une capacité satellitaire et d’une couverture géographique suffisantes aux régions rurales et éloignées du Canada, dont le Grand Nord.

  5. État

    Les participants reconnaissent et conviennent par les présentes que le présent protocole d’entente ne crée aucune obligation juridiquement contraignante entre eux. Toute entente exécutoire est assujettie à la négociation d’un accord sur des conditions mutuellement satisfaisantes pour les deux participants et à l’obtention des approbations requises par l’un ou l’autre des participants.

  6. Dispositions finales

    1. Le présent protocole d’entente entrera en vigueur à la date de sa dernière signature par les participants (« date d’entrée en vigueur ») et demeurera valide pour une période d’un (1) an à compter de la date d’entrée en vigueur ou de la date de signature d’une contribution du Canada juridiquement contraignante, selon la première de ces dates.
    2. Les participants peuvent renouveler le présent protocole d’entente pour une période à déterminer par consentement mutuel écrit.
    3. Les participants peuvent modifier ou résilier ce protocole d’entente par consentement mutuel écrit.
    4. L’un ou l’autre des participants peut résilier le présent protocole d’entente en remettant un préavis écrit de trois (3) mois à l’autre participant.

Signé en double exemplaire à Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, en ce 23e jour de juillet 2019, en anglais et en français, chaque version faisant également foi.

Pour Innovation, sciences et développement économique Canada

Pour Télésat

Date de modification :