Online Help

Preparing a Statement of Opposition

Please read the Practice in Trade-mark Opposition Proceedings prior to preparing a Statement of Opposition. You may file a Statement of Opposition on your own, but it is highly recommended that an opponent seek advice from a trade-mark agent. We maintain a list of trade-mark agents for your assistance.

An opposition can only be commenced after a trade-mark application has been advertised in the Trade-marks Journal. Once the application has been advertised, there is a two-month period within which an opponent can either file a Statement of Opposition or request an Extension of Time for the purpose of doing so.

A Statement of Opposition must contain:

  • The grounds of opposition (s. 38(2) of the Trade-marks Act) in sufficient detail to enable the applicant to reply (s. 38(3) of the Trade-marks Act).
  • The name of the opponent and the address of the opponent's principal office or place of business in Canada. If the opponent has no office or place of business in Canada, it must provide its principal office or place of business abroad and the name and address in Canada of a person or firm on who service of documents may be made (representative for service).
  • The prescribed fee of $750.00 (see Payment of prescribed fees).
  • The name and address of the opponent's trade-mark agent, if any.

It is important for the opponent to review all of the details and grounds of opposition very carefully prior to filing because no amendments to a Statement of Opposition are allowed except with leave of the Registrar of Trade-marks, and on such terms as the Registrar determines to be appropriate (s. 40 and s.44 of the Trade-marks Regulations).

Once a Statement of Opposition is filed, the Registrar will review it and, if it is deemed to be sufficient, will serve it on the applicant (s. 38(5) of the Trade-marks Act). The opponent will be notified by the Registrar if the Statement of Opposition is considered sufficient and is served upon the applicant, or if the Statement of Opposition is rejected on the basis that it does not raise a substantial issue for decision (s. 38(4) of the Trade-marks Act).

First Extension of Time to File a Statement of Opposition

The opponent may request an extension of time to file its Statement of Opposition. In compliance with Practice in Trade-mark Opposition Proceedings, an opponent may request:

  1. An extension of time up to a maximum benchmark of three months within which to file a Statement of Opposition. Reasons must be provided and the prescribed fee for an extension of time must be paid. This fee is non-refundable. Consent from the applicant is not required.
  2. One extension of time up to a maximum benchmark of nine months, on consent from the applicant, amounting to a cooling-off period to allow the parties to pursue settlement negotiations either prior to the filing of the Statement of Opposition or the opponent's evidence under s.41(1) of the Trade-marks Regulations. Sufficient reasons must be provided and the prescribed fee for an extension of time must be paid. This fee is non-refundable. Consent from the applicant is required. (See V.1.1 Extensions of Time Amounting to a Cooling-off Period of the Practice in Trade-mark Opposition Proceedings).

A First Extension of Time to File a Statement of Opposition request must contain:

  • the trade-mark, the application serial number, the date of advertisement in the Trade-marks Journal, and the name of the applicant;
  • the name of the opponent, and its Canadian address. If the opponent does not have a Canadian address, then the name and address of its Canadian trade-mark agent or representative for service.
  • the name and address of the opponent's trade-mark agent, if any.

Extensions of Time - Counter Statement

The applicant may request an extension of time to file its Counter Statement. In compliance with Practice in Trade-mark Opposition Proceedings, an applicant may request:

  1. An extension of time up to a maximum benchmark of two months. Sufficient reasons must be provided and the prescribed fee for an extension of time must be paid. This fee is non-refundable. Consent from the opponent is not required.
  2. One extension of time up to a maximum benchmark of nine months, on consent from the opponent, amounting to a cooling-off period to allow the parties to pursue settlement negotiations either prior to the filing of the counter statement or the applicant's evidence under s.42(1) of the Trade-marks Regulations. Sufficient reasons must be provided and the prescribed fee for an extension of time must be paid. This fee is non-refundable. Consent from the opponent is required. (See V.1.1 Extensions of Time amounting to a Cooling-off Period of the Practice in Trade-mark Opposition Proceedings).

Extensions of Time - Evidence (Rules 41/42)

The opponent/applicant may request an extension of time to file its evidence. In compliance with Practice in Trade-mark Opposition Proceedings, an opponent/applicant may request:

  1. In the case of an opposition relating to a trade-mark application advertised in the Trade-marks Journal on or after October 1, 2007:
    • An extension of time up to a maximum benchmark of three months. Sufficient reasons must be provided and the prescribed fee for an extension of time must be paid. This fee is non-refundable. Consent from the other party is required.
  2. In the case of an opposition relating to a trade-mark application advertised in the Trade-marks Journal before October 1, 2007:
    • An extension of time up to a maximum benchmark of six months. Sufficient reasons must be provided and the prescribed fee for an extension of time must be paid. This fee is non-refundable. Consent from the other party is required.
  3. One extension of time up to a maximum benchmark of nine months, on consent, amounting to a cooling-off period to allow the parties to pursue settlement negotiations only in cases where the opponent/applicant, as the case may be, has not already been granted an extension of time up to a maximum benchmark of nine months, amounting to a cooling-off period for filing its Statement of Opposition/Counter Statement. Sufficient reasons must be provided and the prescribed fee for an extension of time must be paid. This fee is non-refundable. Consent from the other party is required (See V.1.1 Extensions of Time amounting to a Cooling-off Period of the Practice in Trade-mark Opposition Proceedings).

Extensions of Time - Evidence (Rule 43)

The opponent may request an extension of time to file its reply evidence. In compliance with Practice in Trade-mark Opposition Proceedings, an opponent may request an extension of time up to a maximum benchmark of four months. Sufficient reasons must be provided and the prescribed fee for an extension of time must be paid. This fee is non-refundable. Consent from the applicant is required.

Extensions of Time - Written Arguments

The opponent/applicant may request an extension of time to file written arguments. In compliance with Practice in Trade-mark Opposition Proceedings, an opponent/applicant may request an extension of time up to a maximum benchmark of four months. Sufficient reasons must be provided and the prescribed fee for an extension of time must be paid. This fee is non-refundable. Consent from the other party is required.

Extensions of Time - Exceptional Circumstances

Before filing a request for an extension of time on the basis of exceptional circumstances, please read Part V.3 Extensions of Time beyond the Benchmark - Exceptional Circumstances in the Practice in Trade-mark Opposition Proceedings.

The opponent/applicant may file a request for an extension of time on the basis of exceptional circumstances. However, once such a request is filed, it will be reviewed by a Member of the Board, acting on behalf of the Registrar, to determine whether or not to grant your extension of time under s.47(1) of the Trade-marks Act. The Registrar may deny your request for this extension of time without providing you any additional time. Following the filing of your request and as soon as administratively possible, the Registrar will notify the parties in writing whether your request for this extension of time has been granted or denied.

In compliance with the Practice in Trade-mark Opposition Proceedings, an opponent/applicant will only be granted an extension of time on the basis of exceptional circumstances on a case-by-case basis, and only if the Registrar is satisfied, on the facts of the particular case, given the stage of the proceeding, that the party requesting the extension of time has demonstrated exceptional circumstances justifying the further extension of time.

In making such a request, the party must provide sufficient reasons, supported by a full and frank disclosure of all of the relevant facts. The prescribed fee for an extension of timemust be paid. This fee is non-refundable. Consent from the other party is not required, except in the case of a request for finalizing settlement (See V.3.6 - Finalizing Settlement in Practice in Trade-mark Opposition Proceedings).

Please note that if your request for an extension of time is denied, this can result in your application being deemed abandoned or your opposition being deemed withdrawn. An application is deemed abandoned under s. 38(7.2) of the Trade-marks Act if the applicant does not file and serve its counter statement or submit either evidence or a statement that the applicant does not wish to file evidence. Similarly, an opposition is deemed to be withdrawn under s. 38(7.1) of the Trade-marks Act if the opponent does not submit either evidence or a statement that the opponent does not wish to file evidence. See Service on the other Party to the Opposition in Practice in Trade-mark Opposition Proceedings.

Texte de l'aide en ligne

Préparer une déclaration d'opposition

Avant de préparer une déclaration d'opposition, veuillez lire l'Énoncé de pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce. Vous pouvez produire vous-même une déclaration d'opposition, mais nous vous recommandons fortement de consulter un agent de marques de commerce. Nous tenons à jour une liste des agents de marques de commerce que vous pouvez consulter.

Une procédure d'opposition peut être entreprise seulement une fois qu'une demande d'enregistrement de marque de commerce a été annoncée dans le Journal des marques de commerce. Une fois la demande annoncée, un opposant dispose de deux mois soit pour produire une déclaration d'opposition, soit pour demander une prolongation de délai en vue de produire une telle déclaration.

La déclaration d'opposition doit indiquer :

  • les motifs de l'opposition (paragr. 38(2) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce), avec des détails suffisants pour permettre au requérant d'y répondre (paragr. 38(3) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce).
  • le nom et l'adresse du principal bureau ou de siège d'affaires de l'opposant au Canada, le cas échéant. Si l'opposant n'en a pas, l'adresse de son principal bureau ou siège d'affaires a l'étranger et les nom et adresse, au Canada, d'une personne ou firme à qui tout document concernant l'opposition peut être signifié (représentant pour signification).
  • Le droit prescrit de 750 $ (voir Paiement des droits réglementaires).
  • Le nom et l'adresse de l'agent de marques de commerce de l'opposant, le cas échéant.

Il est important que l'opposant passe soigneusement en revue tous les renseignements et tous les motifs d'opposition avant de produire sa déclaration d'opposition, car la modification d'une déclaration d'opposition n'est admise qu'avec la permission du registraire aux conditions qu'il estime indiquées (art. 40 et 44 du Règlement sur les marques de commerce).

Une fois qu'une déclaration d'opposition est produite, le registraire l'étudie et, s'il la juge suffisante, il la signifie au requérant (paragr. 38(5) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce). L'opposant recevra un avis du registraire si la déclaration d'opposition est jugée suffisante et est signifiée au requérant, ou si elle est rejetée au motif qu'elle ne soulève pas une question sérieuse pour décision (paragr. 38(4) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce).

Prolongation de délai initiale pour la production d'une déclaration d'opposition

L'opposant peut demander une prolongation de délai pour produire sa déclaration d'opposition. Conformément à l'Énoncé de pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce, un opposant peut demander :

  1. un délai d'au plus trois mois pour produire une déclaration d'opposition. La demande doit contenir des motifs, et le droit prescrit relatif à la prolongation de délai doit être acquitté. Ces frais ne sont pas remboursables. Le requérant n'a pas à donner son consentement.
  2. Une prolongation de délai d'au plus neuf mois, avec le consentement du requérant, à titre de délai de conciliation visant à permettre aux parties de mener des négociations en vue d'un règlement de l'opposition avant la production de la déclaration d'opposition ou de la preuve de l'opposant visée au paragr. 41(1) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce. La demande doit contenir des motifs suffisants, et le droit prescrit doit être acquitté. Ces frais ne sont pas remboursables. Le requérant doit donner son consentement. (Voir V1.1. Prolongations de délai correspondant à un délai de conciliation dans l'Énoncé de pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce).

La demande de prolongation de délai initiale pour produire une déclaration d'opposition doit contenir :

  • la marque de commerce, le numéro de série de la demande, la date de l'annonce dans le Journal des marques de commerce et le nom du requérant;
  • le nom et l'adresse au Canada de l'opposant. Si l'opposant n'a pas d'adresse au Canada, il doit fournir le nom et l'adresse de son agent de marques de commerce ou de son représentant pour signification au Canada;
  • le nom et l'adresse de l'agent de marques de commerce de l'opposant, le cas échéant.

Prolongation de délai - contre-déclaration

Le requérant peut demander une prolongation de délai pour produire sa contre-déclaration. Conformément à l'Énoncé de pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce, le requérant peut demander :

  1. une prolongation d'au plus deux mois. Sa demande doit contenir des motifs suffisants, et il doit acquitter le droit prescrit. Ces frais ne sont pas remboursables. L'opposant n'a pas à donner son consentement.
  2. une prolongation de délai d'au plus neuf mois, avec le consentement de l'opposant, à titre de délai de conciliation visant à permettre aux parties de mener des négociations avant la production de la déclaration d'opposition ou de la preuve visée au paragr. 41(2) du Règlement sur les marques de commerce. La demande doit contenir des motifs suffisants, et le droit prescrit relatif à la demande doit être acquitté. Ces frais ne sont pas remboursables. L'opposant doit donner son consentement (voir V1.1. Prolongations de délai correspondant à un délai de conciliation dans l'Énoncé de pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce).

Prolongation de délai - preuve (articles 41 et 42 du Règlement sur les marques de commerce)

L'opposant ou le requérant peut demander une prolongation de délai pour produire sa preuve. Conformément à l'Énoncé de pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce, l'opposant ou le requérant peut demander :

  1. dans le cas d'une opposition concernant une demande d'enregistrement de marque de commerce annoncée dans le Journal des marques de commerce le ou après le 1er octobre 2007 :
    • une prolongation de délai d'au plus trois mois. La demande doit contenir des motifs suffisants, et le droit prescrit doit être acquitté. Ces frais ne sont pas remboursables. L'autre partie doit donner son consentement.
  2. dans le cas d'une opposition concernant une demande d'enregistrement de marque de commerce annoncée dans le Journal des marques de commerce avant le 1er octobre 2007 :
    • une prolongation de délai d'au plus six mois. La demande doit contenir des motifs suffisants, et le droit prescrit doit être acquitté. Ces frais ne sont pas remboursables. L'autre partie doit donner son consentement.
  3. Une prolongation de délai d'au plus neuf mois, de consentement, à titre de délai de conciliation visant à permettre aux parties de mener des négociations seulement dans les cas où l'opposant ou le requérant n'a pas déjà obtenu une prolongation de délai d'au plus neuf mois à titre de délai de conciliation avant la production de sa déclaration d'opposition ou de sa contre-déclaration. La demande doit contenir des motifs suffisants, et le droit prescrit relatif à la demande de prolongation doit être acquitté. Ces frais ne sont pas remboursables. L'autre partie doit donner son consentement (voir V1.1. Prolongations de délai correspondant à un délai de conciliation dans l'Énoncé de pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce).

Prolongation de délai - preuve (article 43 du Règlement)

L'opposant peut demander une prolongation de délai pour produire sa contre-preuve. Conformément à l'Énoncé de pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce, un opposant peut demander une prolongation de délai d'au plus quatre mois. La demande doit contenir des motifs suffisants, et le droit prescrit relatif à une telle demande doit être acquitté. Ces frais ne sont pas remboursables. Le requérant doit donner son consentement.

Prolongation de délai - plaidoyers écrits

L'opposant ou le requérant peut demander une prolongation de délai pour produire un plaidoyer écrit. Conformément à l'Énoncé de pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce, un opposant ou un requérant peut demander une prolongation de délai d'au plus quatre mois. La demande doit contenir des motifs suffisants, et le droit prescrit relatif à une telle demande doit être acquitté. Ces frais ne sont pas remboursables. L'autre partie doit donner son consentement.

Prolongation de délai - circonstances exceptionnelles

Avant de présenter une demande de prolongation de délai fondée sur des circonstances exceptionnelles, veuillez lire la section V.3 - Prolongations de délai hors des jalons - «Circonstances exceptionnelles» dans l'Énoncé de pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce.

L'opposant ou le requérant peut présenter une demande de prolongation de délai fondée sur des circonstances exceptionnelles. Toutefois, lorsqu'une telle demande est présentée, un membre de la Commission, agissant au nom du registraire, déterminera, après examen, si une prorogation sera accordée en vertu du paragraphe 47(1) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce. Le registraire peut rejeter la demande de prolongation de délai sans accorder une autre prorogation. Après la production d'une demande et compte tenu des contraintes administratives, le registraire avisera les parties de l'acceptation ou du rejet de la demande de prolongation de délai.

Conformément à l'Énoncé de pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce, le registraire consentira dans certains cas à accorder à un opposant ou à un requérant une prolongation de délai fondée sur des circonstances exceptionnelles au cas par cas et uniquement s'il est convaincu, suivant les circonstances du dossier et compte tenu de l'étape à laquelle la procédure est rendue, que la partie qui en fait la demande a démontré l'existence de circonstances exceptionnelles justifiant une prolongation de délai supplémentaire.

La demande de prolongation de délai fondée sur des circonstances exceptionnelles que la partie produit doit contenir des motifs suffisants ainsi qu'un énoncé complet et transparent de tous les faits pertinents. Le droit prescrit pour une demande de prolongation de délai doit être acquitté. Ces frais ne sont pas remboursables. L'autre partie n'a pas à donner son consentement, sauf dans le cas d'une demande en vue de la finalisation d'un règlement (voir la section V.3.6 - Finalisation d'un règlement dans l'Énoncé de pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce).

Veuillez noter que si votre demande de prolongation de délai est rejetée, votre demande d'enregistrement risque d'être réputée abandonnée ou votre opposition risque d'être réputée retirée. Une demande est réputée abandonnée en vertu du paragr. 38(7.2) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce si le requérant ne produit ni ne signifie une contre-déclaration ou qu'il omet de soumettre la preuve ou une déclaration énonçant son désir de ne pas le faire. De même, l'opposition sera réputée retirée en vertu du paragr. 38(7.1) de la Loi sur les marques de commerce si l'opposant omet de soumettre la preuve ou une déclaration énonçant son désir de ne pas le faire. Voir la section Signification à l'autre partie à la procédure d'opposition dans l'Énoncé de pratique concernant la procédure d'opposition en matière de marque de commerce.