The Government of Canada and STEM

Canada has emerged as a world leader in many science, technology, engineering and math fields, and many new jobs and career opportunities that have emerged in recent years are STEM-related. As more and more businesses and organizations seek to innovate and to modernize and grow their businesses, the demand for people who can fill STEM-related jobs will only continue to increase. We need to ensure that our workforce can meet the challenges of the future.

The Government of Canada and its federal partners have put forward several initiatives aimed at increasing the participation of Canadians in STEM, including under-represented groups such as women.

Government of Canada STEM initiatives

The Government of Canada and its partners have put many initiatives in place to help Canadians become involved with the STEM fields. These useful links provide some excellent resources and materials to get you started on your journey or motivate you to continue:

Networks

PromoScience Program (NSERC)

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada's PromoScience Program offers financial support for organizations working with young Canadians to promote an understanding of science and engineering (including mathematics and technology).

Science and Technology Awareness Network

Canada's Science and Technology Awareness Network enhances the profile and influence of the science and technology education and public awareness sector.

Canadian museums and science centres

An interest in STEM can start with a simple visit to a local museum. The Canadian Museums Association provides a list of Canadian museums, and the Canadian Association of Science Centres lists many of the science-focused learning centres across Canada.

Canada's accredited zoos and aquariums

A key part of the mission of Canada's Accredited Zoos and Aquariums is to encourage science education as a foundation for species preservation and biodiversity.

Career Tools

Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) provides a career tool to help users search for opportunities available to people in the STEM fields.

Student programs

Students can gain invaluable work experience in the STEM fields by participating in one of ESDC's Student Work-Integrated Learning programs.

Her Excellency Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada and former astronaut, has influenced many women to explore STEM. Interested in working with the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) to reach for the stars? Read about the people who work at the CSA!

Interested in working in ocean science and technology? Learn more about science student employment opportunities at Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Mitacs

Mitacs is a national not-for-profit organization that designs and delivers research and training programs in Canada. Working with 60 universities, thousands of companies and federal and provincial governments, Mitacs builds and maintains partnerships that support industrial and social innovation in Canada.

Science fairs and STEM competitions

Canada's science fairs and STEM competitions

The Government of Canada supports the discoveries and the ingenuity of tomorrow's scientists, engineers and inventors. Here are some Canadian science fairs and STEM competitions:

Date modified:

Le gouvernement du Canada et les STIM

Le Canada se démarque comme chef de file mondial dans de nombreux domaines liés aux STIM. Par ailleurs, bon nombre des nouvelles possibilités de carrière et des nouveaux emplois qui sont apparus au cours des dernières années relèvent des STIM. Comme de plus en plus d'entreprises et d'organismes cherchent à innover, à se moderniser et à croître, la demande à l'égard des gens qualifiés pour occuper des postes en STIM ne fera que continuer à augmenter. Nous devons donc nous assurer que notre main-d'œuvre peut relever les défis de l'avenir.

Le gouvernement du Canada et ses partenaires fédéraux ont mis en place plusieurs initiatives visant à accroître la participation des Canadiens en STIM, y compris celle des groupes sous-représentés, comme les femmes.

Initiatives du gouvernement du Canada en STIM

Le gouvernement du Canada et ses partenaires ont mis en œuvre beaucoup d'initiatives pour aider les Canadiens à faire leur entrée dans les domaines liés aux STIM. Les liens qui suivent fournissent du matériel utile et des ressources précieuses pour entamer votre parcours ou vous inciter à le poursuivre :

Réseaux

Programme PromoScience (CRSNG)

Le Programme PromoScience du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) offre de l'aide financière à des organismes qui donnent l'occasion aux jeunes Canadiens d'en apprendre davantage sur les sciences et le génie (y compris les mathématiques et la technologie).

Réseau de sensibilisation aux sciences et à la technologie

Le Réseau de sensibilisation aux sciences et à la technologie permet d'accroître la visibilité et l'influence du secteur de l'éducation et de la sensibilisation du public aux sciences et technologies.

Musées et centres de sciences canadiens

Une simple visite à votre musée local peut piquer votre intérêt envers les STIM. L'Association des musées canadiens offre un répertoire des musées canadiens, et l'Association canadienne des centres de sciences présente une liste de centres de sciences situés partout au Canada.

Aquariums et zoos accrédités du Canada

L'un des éléments clés de la mission d'Aquariums et zoos accrédités du Canada consiste à favoriser l'enseignement des sciences, qui constitue la base de la préservation des espèces et de la biodiversité.

Outils de carrière

Emploi et Développement social Canada (EDSC) propose un outil de carrière qui aide les utilisateurs à trouver les possibilités offertes aux candidats dans les domaines liés aux STIM.

Programmes à l'intention des étudiants

Les étudiants peuvent acquérir une expérience de travail inestimable dans les domaines des STIM en participant au Programme d'apprentissage intégré en milieu de travail d'EDSC.

Son Excellence Julie Payette, gouverneure générale du Canada et ancienne astronaute, a incité beaucoup de femmes à s'intéresser aux STIM. Vous aimeriez travailler à l'Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) et atteindre les étoiles? Apprenez-en plus sur les gens qui travaillent à l'ASC!

Intéressés à travailler dans la science et la technologie océaniques? Découvrez les possibilités d'emploi pour les étudiants en sciences à Pêches et Océans Canada.

Mitacs

Mitacs est un organisme national sans but lucratif qui conçoit et met en œuvre des programmes de recherche et de formation au Canada. De concert avec 60 universités, des milliers de compagnies ainsi que les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, Mitacs construit et maintient des partenariats appuyant l'innovation industrielle et sociale au Canada.

Expo-sciences et concours de STIM

Expo-sciences et concours de STIM au Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada appuie les découvertes et l'ingéniosité des scientifiques, ingénieurs et inventeurs de demain. Voici quelques expo-sciences et concours de STIM se déroulant au Canada :

Date de modification :