Frequently asked questions

Restricted Operator Certificate-Aeronautical (ROC-A)

  1. I am interested in obtaining a Restricted Operator Certificate-Aeronautical (ROC-A). How can I prepare myself for the exam and where can it be administered? Also, is there an associated cost for the examination?
  2. I urgently require a copy of a certificate after writing my examination; can I be issued a temporary certificate?
  3. I would like to apply to become an accredited Restricted Operator Certificate-Aeronautical (ROC-A) examiner in order to administer and mark exams on behalf of my employer. What procedure must I follow?
  4. I lost my Restricted Operator Certificate-Aeronautical (ROC-A) and would like a new copy. How do I go about getting a copy mailed to me? Is there a fee?

General Operator Certificate (GOC)

  1. My General Operator Certificate (GOC) is about to expire, how do I renew it?
  2. I have lost my General Operator Certificate (GOC), what do I do?
  3. I am interested in obtaining my General Operator Certificate (GOC). Where can I find a list of accredited institutions that offer this training?

Restricted Operator Certificate-Maritime Commercial (ROC-MC)

  1. I have an ROC-MC and now own a pleasure craft. Do I require a Restricted Operator Certificate-Maritime (ROC-M) to operate the marine radio aboard my pleasure craft?
  2. I am interested in obtaining the Restricted Operator Certificate-Maritime Commercial (ROC-MC). Where can I find a list of accredited institutions that offer this training?
  3. I lost my Restricted Operator Certificate-Maritime Commercial (ROC-MC) and would like a new copy. How do I go about getting a copy mailed to me? Is there a fee?

Marine Radio Service: General information

  1. Does the Radio Operator Certificate Service Centre (ROCSC) issue the Restricted Operator Certificate-Maritime (ROC-M)?
  2. I have a marine radio installed on my pleasure craft; do I require a Radio Operator’s Certificate in order to use it?

Answers:

Restricted Operator Certificate-Aeronautical (ROC-A)

  1. I am interested in taking the Restricted Operator Certificate-Aeronautical (ROC-A) examination?  How can I prepare myself for the exam and where can it be administered?  Also, is there an associated cost for the examination?

    In order to prepare for the ROC-A examination, it is recommended that you study the document RIC-21: Study guide for the restricted operator certificate with aeronautical qualification (ROC-A). You can locate an examiner in your area from the Examiner search page. The ROC-A examination may consist of written, practical, and oral exercises. No fees will be levied by Accredited Examiners on behalf of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada for administering the ROC-A examination. However, examiners may charge a fee in order to recover their cost of administering an examination.

  2. I urgently require a copy of a certificate after writing my examination, can I be issued a temporary certificate?

    Accredited Examiners are not authorized to issue temporary certificates. Candidates with an urgent requirement for the issuance of a certificate may ask the Accredited Examiner to Contact the Radio Operator Certificate Service Centre (ROCSC) and request that the issuance of their certificate be expedited. Provided there is a legitimate reason for this urgent request and that it is operationally feasible, the certificate will be produced expediently.

  3. I would like to apply to become an accredited Restricted Operator Certificate-Aeronautical (ROC-A) examiner in order to administer and mark exams on behalf of my employer. What procedure must I follow?

    To become an Accredited Examiner you must hold an ROC-A. The document RIC-20: Guide for examiners conducting examinations for the radiotelephone operator's restricted certificate (Aeronautical) provides the information required to prepare and submit an application. Candidates must complete and submit the application form provided in the document, or the online service "Apply for examiner accreditation" on the Accredited Examiners page.

    You will then be contacted by a Spectrum Management Officer to schedule a briefing session. Please review the document, RIC-20 as well as RIC-21: Study Guide for the Restricted Operator Certificate With Aeronautical Qualification (ROC-A) before your briefing. Once your briefing session is completed and the officer has approved you as an Accredited Examiner, you will receive an examiner package and authorization letter from the Radio Operator Certificate Service Centre (ROCSC).

  4. I lost my Restricted Operator Certificate - Aeronautical (ROC-A) and would like a new copy. How do I go about getting a copy mailed to me? Is there a fee?

    You may submit a request to have your certificate reprinted to the Radio Operator Certificate Service Centre (ROCSC) via email, telephone or the web service "Request a Certificate Reprint" on the Professional Radio Operators Services page (If you have not already created a user account you can do so from the My Account page). There is no fee for replacing your certificate.

top of page



General Operator Certificate (GOC)

  1. My General Operator Certificate (GOC) is about to expire, how do I renew it?

    A GOC may be renewed within subsequent 5 year periods. For information regarding the renewal of your certificate, please refer to section 4.3.6 of the document RIC-16: Professional Radio Operator Certificates.

  2. I have lost my GOC, what do I do?

    Please contact the Radio Operator Certificate Service Centre (ROCSC). To obtain a replacement GOC, we will require a copy of Government issued, photo ID with name, date of birth and mailing address. There is no fee for the replacement of a certificate.

  3. I am interested in obtaining my General Operator Certificate (GOC).  Where can I find a list of accredited institutions that offer this training?

    A list of accredited institutions for the training and examination of candidates for the GOC is provided in Annex A of the document RIC-26 : Syllabus for the General Operator Certificate (GOC).

top of page



Restricted Operator Certificate-Maritime Commercial (ROC-MC)

  1. I have an ROC-MC and now own a pleasure craft. Do I require a Restricted Operator Certificate-Maritime (ROC-M) to operate the marine radio aboard my pleasure craft?

    An ROC-MC is also a valid certificate for the operation of a marine radio installed on a pleasure craft.

  2. I am interested in obtaining the Restricted Operator Certificate-Maritime Commercial (ROC-MC). Where can I find a list of accredited institutions that offer this training?

    A list of accredited institutions for the training and examination of candidates for the ROC-MC is provided in Annex A of the document RIC-25: Syllabus for the Restricted Operator's Certificate-Maritime Commercial (ROC-MC).

  3. I lost my Restricted Operator Certificate-Maritime Commercial (ROC-MC) and would like a new copy. How do I go about getting a copy mailed to me? Is there a fee?

    Please contact the Radio Operator Certificate Service Centre (ROCSC) via email, telephone or through the Professional Radio Operators Services page (If you have not already created a user account to use this page, you can do so from the My Account page). We will require a copy of Government issued, photo ID with name, date of birth and mailing address. There is no fee for the replacement of a certificate.

top of page



Marine Radio Service: General information

  1. Does the Radio Operator Certificate Service Centre (ROCSC) issue the Restricted Operator Certificate-Maritime (ROC-M)?

    The ROCSC does not issue or replace the ROC-M. The Minister has delegated the authority to issue or to amend the ROC-M to the Canadian Power and Sail Squadron (CPS). You may contact CPS via their website Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons (CPS).

  2. I have a marine radio installed on my pleasure craft; do I require a Radio Operator’s Certificate in order to use it?

    The operation of a marine radio in Canada requires the possession of at least a Restricted Operator Certificate-Maritime (ROC-M).

top of page

Date modified:

Foire aux questions

Certificat restreint d'opérateur - aéronautique (CRO-A)

  1. Je suis intéressé à obtenir un Certificat restreint d’opérateur - aéronautique (CRO-A). Comment puis-je me préparer pour l'examen et où peut-il être administré? En outre, y at-il un coût associé à l'examen?
  2. J'ai besoin d'urgence d'une copie d'un certificat après avoir écrit mon examen; puis-je obtenir un certificat temporaire?
  3. Je désire postuler pour devenir un examinateur accrédité pour le Certificat restreint d'opérateur (qualification aéronautique) CRO-A afin d'administrer et de corriger des examens pour le compte de mon employeur. Quelle procédure dois-je suivre?
  4. J'ai perdu mon Certificat restreint d'opérateur - aéronautique (CRO-A) et je voudrais une nouvelle copie. Comment puis-je obtenir une copie par la poste? Y a-t-il des frais?

Certificat général d'opérateur radio (CGO)

  1. Mon CGO est sur le point d'expirer, comment le renouveler?
  2. J'ai perdu mon Certificat général d'opérateur radio (CGO), que dois-je faire?
  3. Je suis intéressé à obtenir mon Certificat général d'opérateur radio (CGO). Où puis-je trouver une liste des établissements agréés qui offrent cette formation?

Certificat restreint d’opérateur  - commercial maritime (CRO-CM)

  1. J'ai un CRO-CM et maintenant possède une embarcation de plaisance. Ai-je besoin d'un Certificat restreint d’opérateur - maritime (CRO-M) pour exploiter la radio marine à bord de mon embarcation de plaisance?
  2. Je suis intéressé à obtenir le Certificat restreint d’opérateur - commercial maritime (CRO-CM). Où puis-je trouver une liste des établissements agréés qui offrent cette formation?
  3. J'ai perdu mon Certificat restreint d’opérateur - commercial maritime (CRO-CM) et j'aimerais obtenir une nouvelle copie. Comment puis-je obtenir une copie par la poste? Y a-t-il des frais?

Service Radio Maritime : Informations générales

  1. Est-ce que le Centre de service pour les certificats d'opérateur radio (CSCOR) émet le Certificat restreint d’opérateur - maritime (CRO-M)?
  2. J'ai une radio maritime installée sur mon embarcation de plaisance; ai-je besoin d'un certificat d'opérateur radio pour l'utiliser?

Les réponses :

Certificat restreint d'opérateur - aéronautique (CRO-A)

  1. Je suis intéressé à obtenir un Certificat restreint d’opérateur - aéronautique (CRO-A). Comment puis-je me préparer pour l'examen et où peut-il être administré? En outre, y at-il un coût associé à l'examen?

    Afin de se préparer pour l'examen CRO-A, il est recommandé d'étudier le document CIR-21 : Guide d'étude du certificat restreint d’opérateur radio (compétence aéronautique). Vous pouvez localiser un examinateur dans votre région en utilisant le lien fourni sur la page «  Recherche d’examinateur accrédité ». L'examen CRO-A peut consister en exercices écrits, pratiques et oraux. Aucun frais ne sera prélevé par les examinateurs accrédités au nom d'Innovation, Science et Développement économique Canada pour l'administration de l'examen CRO-A. Toutefois, les examinateurs peuvent facturer des frais afin de récupérer leur coût d'administration d'un examen.

  2. J’ai besoin d'urgence une copie d'un certificat après avoir écrit mon examen, puis-je recevoir un certificat temporaire?

    Les examinateurs accrédités ne sont pas autorisés à délivrer des certificats temporaires. Les candidats ayant une exigence urgente pour la délivrance d'un certificat peuvent demander à l'examinateur accrédité de communiquer avec le Centre de service pour les certificats d'opérateur radio (CSCOR) et de demander que la délivrance de leur certificat soit accélérée. Pourvu qu'il y ait une raison légitime pour cette demande urgente et que cela soit réalisable sur le plan opérationnel, le certificat sera produit convenablement.

  3. Je désire postuler pour devenir un examinateur accrédité pour le Certificat d’opérateur restreint (qualification aéronautique) CRO-A afin d'administrer et de corriger des examens pour le compte de mon employeur. Quelle procédure dois-je suivre?

    Pour devenir un examinateur accrédité vous devez posséder un CRO-A. Le document CIR-20 : Guide à l’intention des examinateurs autorisés à administrer des examens en vue de la délivrance du certificat restreints d’opérateur radio (compétence aéronautique) fournit les renseignements nécessaires pour préparer et soumettre une demande. Les candidats doivent remplir et soumettre le formulaire de demande fourni dans le document, ou sur la page « Examinateurs accrédités ».

    Après réception de la demande, un agent de la Gestion du spectre vous contactera pour organiser une séance d'information. Veuillez consulter le document CIR-20 ainsi que CIR-21 : Guide d'étude du certificat restreint d’opérateur radio (compétence aéronautique) avant votre briefing. Une fois que votre séance d'information est terminée et que l'agent vous a approuvé en tant qu'examinateur accrédité, vous recevrez une trousse d'examinateurs et une lettre d'autorisation du Centre de service pour les certificats d'opérateur radio (CSCOR).

  4. J'ai perdu mon Certificat restreint d'opérateur - aéronautique (CRO-A) et je voudrais une nouvelle copie. Comment puis-je obtenir une copie par la poste? Y a-t-il des frais?

    Vous pouvez soumettre une demande pour que votre certificat soit réimprimé au Centre de service pour les certificats d’opérateur radio (CSCOR) par courrier électronique, par téléphone ou par l'intermédiaire de la page « Certificats professionnels d'opérateur radio » (Si vous n'avez pas encore créé de compte d'utilisateur d'utiliser cette page, vous pouvez le faire à partir de la page « Mon compte »). Il n'y a aucun frais pour le remplacement de votre certificat.

haut de la page



Certificat général d'opérateur radio (CGO)

  1. Mon Certificat général d'opérateur radio CGO est sur le point d'expirer, comment le renouveler?

    Les CGO peuvent être renouvelés au cours des cinq prochaines années. Pour plus d'informations sur le renouvellement de votre certificat, veuillez consulter la section 4.3.6 du document CIR-16 : Certificats professionnels d'opérateur radio.

  2. J'ai perdu mon Certificat général d'opérateur (CGO), que dois-je faire?

    Veuillez contacter le Centre de service pour les certificats d’opérateur radio (CSCOR). Pour obtenir un remplaçant du CGO, nous aurons besoin d'une copie d’une pièce d’identité délivrée par le gouvernement, comportant photo d'identité avec le nom, la date de naissance et l'adresse postale. Il n'y a pas de frais pour le remplacement d'un certificat.

  3. Je suis intéressé à obtenir mon Certificat général d'opérateur radio (CGO). Où puis-je trouver une liste des établissements agréés qui offrent cette formation?

    Une liste des institutions accréditées pour la formation et l'examen des candidats à l’obtention du CGO figure à l'Annexe A du document CIR-26 : Information relative au certificat général d'opérateur radio (CGO).

haut de la page



Certificat restreint d’opérateur - commercial maritime (CRO-CM)

  1. J'ai un Certificat restreint d’opérateur - commercial maritime (CRO-CM) et maintenant possède une embarcation de plaisance. Ai-je besoin d'un Certificat restreint d’opérateur - maritime (CRO-M) pour exploiter la radio marine à bord de mon embarcation de plaisance?

    Un CRO-CM est également un certificat valable pour l'exploitation d'une radio marine installée sur une embarcation de plaisance.

  2. Je suis intéressé à obtenir le Certificat restreint d’opérateur - commercial maritime (CRO-CM). Où puis-je trouver une liste des établissements agréés qui offrent cette formation?

    Une liste des institutions accréditées pour la formation et l'examen des candidats au CRO-CM est fournie à l'Annexe A du document CIR-25 : Programme menant à l'obtention du certificat restreint d'opérateur radio - commercial maritime (CRO-CM).

  3. J'ai perdu mon Certificat restreint d’opérateur - commercial maritime (CRO-CM) et j'aimerais obtenir une nouvelle copie. Comment puis-je obtenir une copie par la poste? Y a-t-il des frais?

    Veuillez contacter le Centre de service pour les certificats d'opérateur radio (CSCOR) par courrier électronique, par téléphone ou par la page « Certificats professionnels d'opérateur radio » (Si vous n'avez pas encore créé de compte d'utilisateur d'utiliser cette page, vous pouvez le faire à partir de la page « Mon compte »). Nous aurons besoin d'une copie d'une pièce d'identité délivrée par le gouvernement avec photo, avec nom, date de naissance et adresse postale. Il n'y a aucun frais pour le remplacement de votre certificat.

haut de la page



Service Radio Maritime : Informations générales

  1. Est-ce que le Centre de service pour les certificats d'opérateur radio (CSCOR) émet le Certificat restreint d’opérateur - maritime (CRO-M)?

    Le CSCOR n'émet pas ou ne remplace pas les CRO-M. Le ministre a délégué le pouvoir de délivrer ou de modifier les CRO-M à l'Escadrille canadienne de plaisance (ECP). Vous pouvez communiquer avec la ECP par l'intermédiaire de son site Web l'Escadrille canadienne de plaisance (ECP).

  2. J'ai une radio maritime installée sur mon embarcation de plaisance; ai-je besoin d'un certificat d'opérateur radio pour l'utiliser?

    L'exploitation d'une radio maritime au Canada exige la possession d'au moins un Certificat restreint d’opérateur - maritime (CRO-M).

haut de la page

Date de modification :