Archived — 2017–18 Departmental Plan

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Consolidated Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (Unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31
(in thousands of dollars)
2016–17
Forecast Results
2017–18
Planned Results
Expenses
The Canadian marketplace is efficient and competitive
500,658 494,260
Advancements in science and technology, knowledge and innovation strengthen the Canadian economy
1,271,559 1,616,434
Canadian businesses and communities are competitive
311,040 340,147
Internal Services
201,739 213,994
Expenses incurred on behalf of government
(2,165) (2,447)
Total expenses 2,282,831 2,662,388
Revenues
Radio spectrum licences
1,137,784 1,137,398
Sales of services
308,684 313,286
Revenue from fines
28,723 29,146
Amortization of discounts
8,536 5,077
Other revenue
840 847
Revenues earned on behalf of Government
(1,231,838) (1,228,067)
Total revenues 252,729 257,687
Net cost of operations 2,030,102 2,404,701
The accompanying notes form an integral part of these financial statements.

Notes to the Consolidated Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (Unaudited)

1. Authority and Objectives

The authorities for the programs for which Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) is responsible are derived from the Department of Industry Act. Many other acts are under the responsibility of the Minister of ISED, and Treasury Board also defines other specific ISED authorities.

ISED aims to help make Canadian industry more productive and competitive in the global economy, thus improving the economic and social well-being of Canadians through its three interdependent and mutually reinforcing strategic outcomes. Fostering competitiveness by developing and administering economic framework policies that: promote competition and innovation; support investment and entrepreneurial activity; and instill consumer, investor and business confidence in the marketplace. Investing in science and technology to generate knowledge and equip Canadians with the skills and training they need to compete and prosper in the global, knowledge-based economy helps ensure that discoveries and breakthroughs happen here in Canada, and that Canadians can realize the social and economic benefits. Promoting economic development in communities encourages the development of skills, ideas and opportunities across the country. Taken together, ISED's strategic outcomes support growth in employment, income, productivity and sustainable development in Canada.

Internal Services are groups of activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of ISED. Internal Services include only those activities and resources that apply across ISED, not those provided specifically to a program.

ISED's activities are delivered at its headquarters in Ottawa as well as in the regions. There are five regional offices with service points located across Canada and an office for FedNor.

ISED has a number of transfer payment programs through which it provides grants and contributions to recipients in targeted groups and sectors. Each transfer payment program has specific objectives and expected results that support the achievement of ISED's strategic outcomes.

2. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The Future-Oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and the departmental plans as described in the Departmental Plan.

The information in the forecast results for fiscal year 2016–17 is based on actual results as at December 31, 2016 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2017–18 fiscal year.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

These assumptions are valid as at January 16, 2017.

3. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2016–17 and for 2017–18, actual results achieved for both years are likely to differ from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this Future-Oriented Statement of Operations, ISED has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are based on past experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances, and continually evaluated.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations and the historical statement of operations include the following:

After the Departmental Plan is tabled in Parliament, ISED will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Results Report.

4. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The Future-Oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared using the Government of Canada's accounting policies in effect for the 2016–17 fiscal year, and is based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

  1. Parliamentary authorities

    ISED is financed by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to ISED do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles since authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Consequently, items recognized in the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations are not necessarily the same as those provided through authorities from Parliament. Note 5 provides a reconciliation between these bases of reporting.

  2. Consolidation

    The Consolidated Future-Oriented Statement of Operations includes the accounts of ISED and the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) Revolving Fund. The accounts of this sub-entity have been consolidated with those of ISED and all inter-organizational balances and transactions have been eliminated.

  3. Revenues

    Revenues from regulatory fees are recognized in the accounts based on the services provided in the year.

    Funds received from external parties for specified purposes are recorded upon receipt as deferred revenue. These revenues are recognized in the period in which the related expenses are incurred.

    Funds that have been received are recorded as deferred revenue, provided that ISED has an obligation to other parties for the provision of goods, services or the use of assets in the future.

    Other revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event that gave rise to the revenue takes place.

    Revenues that are non-respendable are not available to discharge ISED's liabilities. While the Deputy Head is expected to maintain accounting control, he has no authority regarding the disposition of non-respendable revenues. As a result, non-respendable revenues are considered to be earned on behalf of the Government of Canada and are therefore presented in reduction of the entity's gross revenues.

  4. Expenses

    Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for ISED's operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered including services provided without charges for accommodation, employee contributions to health and dental insurance plans, legal services and worker's compensation which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave as well as severance benefits are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.

    Transfer payments are recorded as expenses when authorization for the payment exists and the recipient has met the eligibility criteria or the entitlements established for the transfer payment program. In situations where payments do not form part of an existing program, transfer payments are recorded as expenses when the Government announces a decision to make a non-recurring transfer, provided the enabling legislation or authorization for payment receives parliamentary approval prior to the completion of the financial statement. Transfer payments that become repayable as a result of conditions specified in the contribution agreement that have come into being are recorded as a reduction to transfer payment expense and as a receivable.

    Expenses also include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including provisions for bad debt on accounts receivable, provision for valuation on loans, investments and advances, to the extent the future event is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

    Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset.

     

5. Parliamentary Authorities

ISED is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to ISED differs from financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles because authorities are based mainly on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, ISED has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

(a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to current year authorities used
(in thousands of dollars)
Forecast Results
2016–17
Planned Results
2017–18
Net cost of operations 2,030,102 2,404,701
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Repayment of conditionally repayable contributions
59,600 80,200
Services provided without charge by other government departments
(80,044) (78,942)
Bad debts/write-offs/write-down
2,165 2,447
Amortization of tangible capital assets
(16,063) (12,461)
Increase in employee future benefits
(5,739) (8,969)
Salary expense recorded at Treasury Board Secretariat
- (9,017)
Transfer payment accruals
61,900 33,100
Decrease in vacation pay and compensatory leave
69 68
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities
21,888 6,426
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:
Increase in loans and advances
96,084 168,544
Acquisitions of tangible capital assets
20,358 11,235
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities
116,442 179,779
Forecast authorities available 2,168,432 2,590,906
(b) Authorities requested
(in thousands of dollars)
Forecast Results
2016–17
Planned Results
2017–18
Authorities requested: 
Vote 1 – Operating expenditures
372,008 356,423
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures
20,358 11,235
Vote 10 – Grants and contributions
1,531,342 2,038,305
Statutory amounts
244,724 184,943
Requested authorities 2,168,432 2,590,906

Authorities presented reflect current forecasts of statutory items, approved initiatives included and expected to be included in Estimates documents and, when reasonable estimates can be made, estimates of amounts to be allocated from Treasury Board central votes.

Date modified:

Archivé — Plan ministériel 2017-2018

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
État des résultats prospectifs consolidé (non audité)
pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars
(en milliers de dollars)
Résultats attendus
2016-2017
Résultats prévus
2017-2018
Charges
Le marché canadien est efficace et concurrentiel
500 658 494 260
Les progrès réalisés dans les domaines des sciences et de la technologie, des connaissances et de l'innovation renforcent l'économie canadienne
1 271 559 1 616 434
Les entreprises et les collectivités canadiennes sont compétitives
311 040 340 147
Services internes
201 739 213 994
Charges engagées pour le compte du gouvernement
(2 165) (2 447)
Total des charges 2 282 831 2 662 388
Revenus
Licences de spectre radio
1 137 784 1 137 398
Ventes de services
308 684 313 286
Revenus provenant des amendes
28 723 29 146
Amortissement des escomptes
8 536 5 077
Autres revenus
840 847
Revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement
(1 231 838) (1 228 067)
Total des revenus 252 729 257 687
Coût de fonctionnement net 2 030 102 2 404 701
Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers

Notes à l'état des résultats prospectifs (non audités)

1. Pouvoirs et objectifs

Les pouvoirs exercés sur les programmes dont Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) est responsable sont issus de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie. Beaucoup d'autres lois sont sous la responsabilité du ministre de l'ISDE, et le Conseil du Trésor a également la compétence de préciser d'autres pouvoirs particuliers du ministère de l'ISDE.

ISDE a pour objectif de contribuer à rendre l'industrie du pays plus productive et plus concurrentielle dans l'économie mondiale, et d'améliorer ainsi le bien-être social et économique des Canadiens grâce à ses trois résultats stratégiques qui sont interdépendants et qui se renforcent mutuellement. Favoriser la compétitivité en élaborant et en administrant des politiques-cadres économiques qui sont propices à la concurrence, à l'innovation, à l'investissement et à l'entrepreneuriat et qui suscitent la confiance des consommateurs, des investisseurs et des entreprises. En investissant dans les sciences et la technologie pour créer des connaissances et permettre aux Canadiens d'acquérir les compétences et la formation dont ils ont besoin pour être concurrentiels et prospères dans une économie mondiale axée sur le savoir, on s'assure que les découvertes et les percées décisives ont lieu ici, au Canada, et que les Canadiens profitent des avantages sociaux et économiques qu'elles entraînent. Favoriser le développement économique dans les collectivités stimule le développement des compétences et permet d'approfondir les idées et de saisir les occasions dans tout le pays. Collectivement, les résultats stratégiques d'ISDE appuient la croissance de l'emploi, du revenu et de la productivité et favorisent le développement durable au Canada.

Les Services internes représentent des activités et des ressources administrées à l'appui des besoins des programmes et d'autres obligations d'ISDE. Les Services internes regroupent seulement les activités et les ressources qui s'adressent à l'ensemble d'ISDE, et non celles destinées à un programme en particulier.

Les activités d'ISDE se déroulent à son administration centrale à Ottawa ainsi qu'en région. ISDE compte cinq bureaux régionaux, des points de services locaux au Canada et un bureau pour FedNor.

ISDE compte un certain nombre de programmes de paiements de transfert par l'entremise desquels il fournit des subventions et des contributions à des bénéficiaires appartenant à des groupes et des secteurs ciblés. Chaque programme de paiements de transfert a des résultats spécifiques et des résultats prévus qui appuient la réalisation des objectifs stratégiques d'ISDE.

2. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

L'état des résultats prospectifs a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans ministériels qui sont décrits dans le Plan ministériel.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats attendus de l'exercice 2016-2017 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 31 décembre 2016 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l'exercice. Des prévisions des résultats prévus ont été faites pour l'exercice 2017-2018.

Les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions sont les suivantes :

Ces hypothèses sont valides en date du 16 janvier 2017.

3. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l'exercice 2016-2017 et pour 2017-2018, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de différer des prévisions financières présentées, et cet écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation de cet état des résultats prospectifs, ISDE a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l'égard d'événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Les estimations et les hypothèses sont fondées sur l'expérience acquise et d'autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérés comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances, et sont évaluées de façon continue.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l'état des résultats prospectifs et l'état des résultats historique sont notamment :

Une fois que le plan ministériel est déposé au Parlement, ISDE ne mettra pas à jour les prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le rapport ministériel sur les résultats.

4. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L'état des résultats prospectifs a été préparé conformément aux conventions comptables du gouvernement du Canada en vigueur dans le cadre de l'exercice 2016-2017 et s'appuie sur les normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l'utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence importante par rapport aux normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

  1. Autorisations parlementaires

    ISDE est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires. La présentation des autorisations consenties à ISDE ne correspond pas à la présentation des rapports financiers selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, puisque les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Par conséquent, les postes comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats prospectifs ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes que ceux qui sont prévus par les autorisations parlementaires. La note 5 présente un rapprochement entre les deux méthodes de présentation des rapports financiers.

  2. Consolidation

    L'état des résultats prospectifs consolidé inclue les comptes d'ISDE, y compris le fonds renouvelable de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada (OPIC). Les comptes de cette sous-entité ont été consolidés avec ceux d'ISDE, et toutes les opérations et tous les soldes interorganisationnels ont été éliminés.

  3. Revenus

    Les revenus provenant de droits réglementaires sont constatés dans les comptes en fonction des services fournis au cours de l'exercice.

    Les fonds reçus de tiers de l'extérieur à des fins précises sont comptabilisés à leur réception comme revenus reportés. Ils sont constatés dans l'exercice au cours duquel les charges connexes sont engagées.

    Les fonds qui ont été reçus sont comptabilisés comme revenus reportés dans la mesure où ISDE a une obligation envers d'autres parties de fournir des biens, des services ou des actifs qui seront utilisés à une date future.

    Les autres revenus sont comptabilisés dans l'exercice pendant lequel les opérations ou les faits sous-jacents surviennent.

    Les revenus non disponibles à être dépensé à nouveau ne peuvent servir à acquitter les passifs d'ISDE. Bien que l'on s'attende à ce que l'administrateur général maintienne le contrôle comptable, il n'a pas l'autorité sur la disposition des revenus non disponibles à dépenser à nouveau. Par conséquent, les revenus non disponibles à dépenser à nouveau sont considérés comme étant gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada et sont donc présentés en réduction du montant brut des revenus de l'entité.

  4. Charges

    Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice. Les charges de fonctionnement d'ISDE sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les services juridiques et les indemnités d'accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d'emploi sont comptabilisées au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d'emploi.

    Les paiements de transfert sont passés en charges lorsque les autorisations de paiement existent et que le bénéficiaire a satisfait aux critères d'admissibilité ou a rempli les conditions d'admissibilité établies dans le cadre du programme. En ce qui concerne les paiements de transfert ne faisant pas partie d'un programme existant, la charge est constatée lorsque le gouvernement annonce la décision d'effectuer un transfert ponctuel, dans la mesure où le Parlement a approuvé la loi habilitante ou l'autorisation de paiement avant que l'état financier ne soit achevé. Les paiements de transfert, qui deviennent remboursables lorsque les conditions spécifiées entrent en vigueur, sont comptabilisés en réduction des charges de transfert et comme montant à recevoir.

    Les charges incluent également des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur d'actifs. Cela comprend des provisions pour créances douteuses et des provisions pour moins-value de prêts, de placements et d'avances, dans la mesure où l'événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable des répercussions peut être établie.

    Les charges incluent également l'amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d'acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l'amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l'actif.

5. Autorisations parlementaires

ISDE est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties à ISDE ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont principalement fondées sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les éléments comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats prospectif d'un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires approuvées au cours de l'exercice précédent, de l'exercice en cours ou d'exercices futurs. Par conséquent, le coût de fonctionnement net d'ISDE pour l'exercice diffère suivant qu'il est calculé selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

(a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées :
(en milliers de dollars)
Résultats attendus
2016-2017
Résultats prévus
2017-2018
Coût de fonctonnement net 2 030 102 2 404 701
Rajustement pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations :
Remboursement des contributions remboursables avec conditions
59 600 80 200
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères
(80 044) (78 942)
Mauvaises créances / radiation/ moins-values
2 165 2 447
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles
(16 063) (12 461)
Augmentation des avantages sociaux futurs
(5 739) (8 969)
Dépenses salariales enregistrées au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor
- (9 017)
Charges courues liées aux paiements de transferts
61 900 33 100
Diminution des indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires
69 68
Total des éléments qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur les autorisations
21 888 6 426
Rajustement pour les postes qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :
Augmentation des prêts et avances
96 084 168 544
Acquisition d'immobilisations corporelles
20 358 11 235
Total des éléments sans incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement, mais ayant une incidence sur les autorisations
116 442 179 779
Autorisations demandées 2 168 432 2 590 906
(b) Autorisations demandées
(en milliers de dollars)
Résultats attendus
2016-2017
Résultats prévus
2017-2018
Autorisations demandées :
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de fonctionnement
372 008 356 423
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital
20 358 11 235
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions
1 531 342 2 038 305
Montants législatifs
244 724 184 943
Autorisations demandées :  2 168 432 2 590 906

Les autorisations présentées représentent les résultats prévus en ce qui concerne les postes législatifs, les initiatives approuvées qui sont incluses et qui devraient être incluses dans les documents de budget des dépenses et, lorsque des estimations raisonnables peuvent être effectuées, les montants estimatifs des affectations des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor.

Date de modification :