Apparel industry profile

Definition

The apparel manufacturing industry comprises of establishments primarily engaged in manufacturing clothing and clothing accessories, including establishments that knit clothing from yarn, and manufacture clothing from knit fabrics.

Primary product lines include fashion clothing; occupational clothing; technical outerwear; survival wear; active wear; foundation garments; tourism-related goods; backpacking and camping products; gloves; hats and caps; hosiery; and knitted goods. Technical textile has become an important contributor in the advancement of new apparel products for protection against external influences and for safety in the military, defence and security markets.

The North American Classification System (NAICS) code for this industry is 315—Clothing Manufacturing. This industry includes the following sub-sectors:

  • 3151—Clothing Knitting Mills
  • 3152—Cut and Sew Clothing Manufacturing
  • 3159—Clothing Accessories and Other Clothing Manufacturing

Statistical summary

Apparel Manufacturing—NAICS 315—Major Economic Indicators
(millions of CDN $, employment in thousands)
Economic Indicators 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 % Change
2014-15
CAGR
2011-15

Definitions:

  • Apparent Domestic Market (ADM) = Shipments + Imports - Exports
  • Manufacturing Intensity Ratio = Gross Domestic Product (GDP) / Shipments
  • Import Penetration = Imports / ADM
  • Export Orientation = Exports / Shipments
  • Domestic Market Share = (Shipments – Exports) / ADM
  • Labour Productivity = GDP / Employment (thousands of CDN $)

Notes:

Footnote 1

GDP data are estimates based on internal calculations

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Data uses GDP estimates

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Sources: Trade Data Online; Statistics Canada

Gross Domestic ProductFootnote 1 1,338.2 1,243.2 1,149.0 1,208.5 1,100.1 -9.0% -4.8%
Shipments 2,818.3 2,642.8 2,366.0 2,558.7 2,391.2 -6.5% -4.0%
Total Imports 9,043.5 9,125.7 10,012.8 10,951.0 12,448.0 13.7% 8.3%
Total Exports 1,245.0 1,249.8 1,271.6 1,469.5 1,760.0 19.8% 9.0%
Re-Exports 414.0 392.0 394.0 473.0 609.0 28.8% 10.1%
Apparent Domestic Market 10,616.8 10,518.8 11,107.2 12,040.2 13,079.3 8.6% 5.4%
Domestic Market Share 14.8% 13.2% 9.9% 9.0% 4.8% -4.2% -2.5%
Trade Balance -7,798.5 -7,875.9 -8,741.2 -9,481.5 -10,688.0 -12.7% -8.2%
Import Penetration 85.2% 86.8% 90.1% 91.0% 95.2% 4.2% 2.5%
Export Orientation 44.2% 47.3% 53.7% 57.4% 73.6% 16.2% 7.4%
Manufacturing Intensity RatioFootnote 2 47.5% 47.0% 48.6% 47.2% 46.0% -1.2% -0.4%
Capital Expenditures 24.4 12.4 35.6 26.7 29.4 10.1% 4.8%
EmploymentFootnote 2 23.9 22.6 21.1 19.5 19.8 1.6% -4.6%
Labour ProductivityFootnote 2 55.9 54.9 54.3 62.1 55.6 -10.4% -0.2%

Economic overview

The apparel manufacturing industry exhibited negative growth in GDP and shipments between 2011 and 2015, even though domestic demand for apparel goods has increased. Shipments decreased at an average annual rate of 4.0% or by $427 million since 2011. GDP decreased at an annual average rate of 4.8% or by $238 million since 2011. The total value of apparel made in Canada continues to decrease while apparel imports continue to increase. Since 2011, apparel imports have increased by $3.4 billion or 8.3% annually (average) to total $12.5 billion in 2015. Between 2010 and 2014, the total number of establishments contracted by approximately 12% or 199 establishments. In 2015, approximately 20,000 employees were employed in the sector.

Some large firms that have off-shored their apparel production to control costs are also operating short run and replenishment facilities in Canada in order to respond to fast changing trends in the retail industry (fast fashion), and to produce high-end apparel. Non-manufacturing, high value-added activities such as design, R&D, branding, merchandising, marketing, logistics, and distribution are generally still located in Canada

Canadian apparel manufacturing firms have increasingly moved towards niche markets, designing and producing high-end clothing, as well as speciality and high R&D garments including performance apparel such as sportswear and protective clothing. Lack of skilled labour is a key concern for Canadian apparel manufacturers.

To remain competitive on the global market, leading Canadian apparel manufacturers are adopting new technologies and automation throughout the supply chain. Digital technology adoption is increasing in the sector, which includes the development of an omnichannel or multichannel approach to sales. While still underdeveloped in Canada, Canadian apparel e-commerce sales are increasing.

Associations and other sites

Date modified:

Profil de l'industrie du vêtement

Définition

Ce secteur comprend les établissements dont l'activité principale est la fabrication de vêtements et accessoires vestimentaires, y compris les établissements qui produisent des vêtements tricotés à partir de filés et qui fabriquent des vêtements à partir de tricots.

Les principales gammes de produits sont les vêtements de mode, les vêtements de travail, les vêtements techniques d’extérieur, l’équipement de survie, les vêtements de sport, les sous-vêtements de soutien, des produits touristiques, des produits de randonnée et de camping, les gants, bonnets et chapeaux, les articles chaussants et les articles tricotés. Le textile technique contribue de plus en plus à l’élaboration de vêtements de protection contre des influences externes et de vêtements de sécurité notamment pour des applications militaires et des utilisations à des fins de défense et de sécurité.

Les codes du Système de classification des industries de l'Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) sont : 315 — Fabrication de vêtements    

  • 3151 — Usines de tricotage de vêtements
  • 3152 — Fabrication de vêtements coupés-cousus
  • 3159 — Fabrication d'accessoires vestimentaires et d'autres vêtements

Sommaire statistique

Fabrication de vêtements — SCIAN 315 — Principaux indicateurs économiques
(en millions de $ CAN, en milliers d'emplois)
Indicateurs économiques 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 Variation en
 % 2014-15
TCAC
2011-15

Définitions :

  • Marché intérieur apparent (MIA) = Livraisons + Importations – Exportations
  • Ratio de l’intensité manufacturière = Produit intérieur brut (PIB) / Livraisons
  • Pénétration des importations = Importations / MIA
  • Vocation exportatrice = Exportations / Livraisons
  • Part du marché intérieur = (Livraisons – Exportations) / MIA
  • La productivité du travail = PIB / emploi (en milliers de $ CAN)

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Les données sur le PIB sont des estimations fondées sur des calculs internes

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Les données utilise des estimations du PIB

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Source : Données sur le commerce en direct, Statistique Canada

Produit intérieur brutNote de bas de page 1 1 338,2 1 243,2 1 149,0 1 208,5 1 100,1 -9,0 % -4,8 %
Livraisons 2 818,3 2 642,8 2 366,0 2 558,7 2 391,2 -6,5 % -4,0 %
Total des importations 9 043,5 9 125,7 10 012,8 10 951,0 12 448,0 13,7 % 8,3 %
Total des Exportations 1 245,0 1 249,8 1 271,6 1 469,5 1 760,0 19,8 % 9,0 %
Réexportations 414,0 392,0 394,0 473,0 609,0 28,8 % 10,1 %
Marché intérieur apparent 10 616,8 10 518,8 11 107,2 12 040,2 13 079,3 8,6 % 5,4 %
Part du marché intérieur 14,8 % 13,2 % 9,9 % 9,0 % 4,8 % -4,2 % -2,5 %
Balance commerciale -7 798,5 -7 875,9 -8 741,2 -9 481,5 -10 688,0 -12,7 % -8,2 %
Pénétration des importations 85,2 % 86,8 % 90,1 % 91,0 % 95,2 % 4,2 % 2,5 %
Vocation exportatrice 44,2 % 47,3 % 53,7 % 57,4 % 73,6 % 16,2 % 7,4 %
Ratio de l’intensité manufacturièreNote de bas de page 2 47,5 % 47,0 % 48,6 % 47,2 % 46,0 % -1,2 % -0,4 %
Dépenses d’investissement 24,4 12,4 35,6 26,7 29,4 10,1 % 4,8 %
EmploisNote de bas de page 2 23,9 22,6 21,1 19,5 19,8 1,6 % -4,6 %
Productivité du travailNote de bas de page 2 55,9 54,9 54,3 62,1 55,6 -10,4 % -0,2 %

Aperçu économique

Le secteur canadien de la fabrication de vêtements a connu une croissance négative du PIB et des livraisons entre 2011 et 2015, même si la demande intérieure de vêtements a augmenté. Les livraisons ont diminué à un taux annuel moyen de 4,0 % ou de 427 millions de dollars depuis 2011. Le PIB a diminué à un taux annuel moyen de 4,8 % ou de 238 millions de dollars depuis 2011. La valeur totale des vêtements fabriqués au Canada continue de diminuer alors que les importations de vêtements continuent augmenter. Depuis 2011, les importations de vêtements ont augmenté de 3,4 milliards de dollars ou 8,3 % par an (en moyenne) pour atteindre 12,5 milliards de dollars en 2015. En 2015, environ 20 000 d'employés ont été employés dans le secteur.

Principaux enjeux et tendances

Certaines grandes entreprises de vêtements qui ont délocalisé leur production à l’étranger dans le but de freiner les coûts, exploitent au Canada des usines ayant un court cycle de fabrication et des installations de réapprovisionnement, pour répondre aux tendances qui changent rapidement au sein de l’industrie (mode rapide), ainsi que pour produire des vêtements haut de gamme. Les activités non manufacturières à forte valeur ajoutée comme la conception, la R-D, la valorisation de la marque, le marchandisage, le marketing, la logistique et la distribution sont généralement exercées au Canada.

Les entreprises canadiennes de fabrication de vêtements optent de plus en plus pour des marchés à créneaux, concevant et produisant des vêtements haut de gamme, ainsi que des produits spécialisés et à forte R-D, notamment des vêtements performants comme des vêtements de sport et de protection.

Le manque de main d’œuvre qualifié est une préoccupation majeure pour les fabricants canadiens de vêtements. Pour demeurer concurrentiels sur le marché mondial, les grands fabricants canadiens de vêtements adoptent de nouvelles technologies et optent pour l’automatisation à tous les échelons de la chaîne d’approvisionnement. L’adoption de la technologie numérique est en croissance dans le secteur, ce qui comprend le développement de réseaux omnichannel ou multicanal de ventes. Quoique encore sous-développé au Canada, les ventes de vêtement en ligne augmentent.

Associations et d’autres sites

Date de modification :