Archived — Summary of the Survey on Financing and Growth of Small and Medium Enterprises, 2011

February 2013

The Survey on Financing and Growth of Small and Medium Enterprises was designed to determine the types of financing that small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) are using, and to collect information on recent attempts by those SMEs to obtain new financing. In addition, the survey gathers information on firm growth, engagement in international business activities, innovation and intellectual property, as well as owner characteristics. The questionnaire was adapted from the Survey on Financing of Small and Medium Enterprises conducted by Statistics Canada in 2000, 2001, 2004 and 2007, and the Credit Conditions Survey conducted by Leger Marketing in 2009 and 2010.

Summary of the results

Below are the key results from the 2011 survey. For further descriptive statistics by business size, industry, region, census metropolitan area, age of business, export status, innovation activity and owner age, gender and education see the data tables. Comparable statistics are also available for the years 2000, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2009 and 2010.

Financing characteristics

In 2011, 36 percent of SMEs requested some type of external financing, with 26 percent requesting debt, 7 percent requesting leasing, 8 percent requesting trade credit, 4 percent requesting government financing and 2 percent requesting equity financing.

Chartered banks were the main suppliers of financing to SMEs in 2011, serving 55 percent of financing requests, followed by credit unions or Caisses populaires (16 percent), government institutions (7 percent), leasing companies (4 percent), family and friends (2 percent), venture capital funds or angel investors (1 percent) and foreign banks (0.4 percent).

In 2011, 90 percent of debt financing requests were approved. Both request and approval rates for debt financing increase with business size (see Table 1), suggesting that the larger the business, the more likely they are to require debt financing and the more likely they are to obtain debt financing.

Table 1: Debt Request and Approval Rate by Size of Business, 2011
Request Rate Approval Rate Note * referrer of Table 1 Amount Authorized/ Amount Requested Ratio
Note * of Table 1: A request that was fully or partially approved was considered "approved".
All SMEs 1–499 employees 25.5 89.9 94.0
Size of Business 1–4 employees 19.9 88.4 90.4
5–19 employees 29.9 88.5 88.6
20–99 employees 36.9 97.1 97.2
100–499 employees 47.6 97.7 99.0

SMEs paid an average interest rate of 6.7 percent for their debt financing in 2011. Sixty-five percent of SMEs were required to provide collateral to obtain their loan: 48 percent pledged businesses assets, 26 percent pledged personal assets and 1.3 percent pledged intellectual property.

Owner characteristics

  • In 2011, 60 percent of SME owners were 50 years of age or older, 28 percent were between 40 and 49 and 12 percent were younger than 40.
  • Seventy-seven percent of SME owners had over 10 years of management or owner experience.
  • Most SME owners were male: 66 percent of SMEs were majority male-owned, 16 percent were majority female-owned and 18 percent were owned equally by men and women.
  • Seventy-eight percent of SME owners were born in Canada while 22 percent were born elsewhere.
  • The majority of SME owners possessed some form of post-secondary education with 32 percent having a college, cegep or trade school education, 22 percent having received a bachelor's degree and 13 percent a master's degree or above. For 24 percent of SME owners, high school was the highest level of education obtained and 10 percent of owners had not completed high school.

International business activity

In 2011, 10 percent of SMEs exported goods and/or services outside of Canada. Of these exporters, 49 percent exported goods only, 40 percent exported services only and 12 percent exported both. On average, 33 percent of an exporter's revenue came from export sales. United States is the most popular export destination among Canadian SMEs, with 89 percent of exporters selling to this market. Europe is the second, with 32 percent of SMEs exporting there, followed by Latin America (12 percent), China (10 percent) and other Asian countries (12 percent).

In addition to exporting, other international activities were important to SMEs. Twenty-six percent of SMEs imported goods and/or services, and 3 percent outsourced or contracted out work to a business in another country.

Growth characteristics

Almost two thirds of SMEs reported an increase in sales over the 2009-2011 period (44 percent grew between 1 and 10 percent per year, 11 percent grew between 11 and 20 percent and 8 percent were considered high-growth firms, growing more than 20 percent per year). Only 22 percent indicated that their sales had not grown at all and 16 percent experienced declining sales.

Most SMEs have positive expectations for their future sales growth over the next three years (2012-2014). The majority of SMEs expect their sales to grow either moderately (56 percent expect growth between 1 and 10 percent) or significantly (12 percent expect to grow between 11 and 20 percent and 8 percent expect to be high-growth firms, growing more than 20 percent). Only 18 percent of firms are expecting no growth and 7 percent expect a decline in sales.

The most commonly cited obstacles to growth include cost of inputs (63 percent), fluctuations in sales (52 percent) and increasing competition (48 percent).

Innovation activity and intellectual property

The data revealed that 38 percent of SMEs introduced at least one type of innovative activity over the 2009-2011 period. The most common type of innovation was product innovation (24 percent), followed by marketing innovation (17 percent), organizational innovation (15 percent) and process innovation (15 percent). For many SMEs, introducing these innovations resulted in increased sales (70 percent) and increased market share (61 percent).

In addition, 16 percent of SMEs held some type of intellectual property protection. Non-disclosure agreements were the most common (9 percent), followed by trademarks (8 percent), trade secrets (4 percent), patents (1.5 percent) and industrial designs (1 percent).

Methodology

The target population for the survey was private sector, for-profit, SMEs employing between one and 499 employees and generating between $30 000 and $50 million in annual revenues in 2011. The sample was stratified by region, industry, size (as measured by the number of employees), age of business, and participation in the Canadian Small Business Financing Program. The survey was conducted by Statistics Canada from February 13 to June 10, 2012. The sample size was 25 007 businesses and the completion rate was 39.8% (or 9977 respondents). For more information on methodology see the methodology report.

Notes

For more information, or to enquire about the concepts, methods or data quality of the survey results, contact Statistics Canada (toll-fee 1-800-263-1136; infostats@statcan.gc.ca).

For additional information on related research topics and data sets, consult the SME Research and Statistics website or contact Richard Archambault (343-291-1798) at the Small Business Branch.

Acknowledgements

This survey would not have been possible without the financial contributions and valuable comments from our many partners. Special thanks to Business Development Canada and Canadian Intellectual Property Office for their significant financial support and many thanks to the Canadian Small Business Financing Program, Canadian Economic Development for Quebec Regions, Quebec Institute of Statistics, Export Development Canada, Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario, Ontario Ministry of Economic Development and Innovation, Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency, Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario, Industry Canada Atlantic Regional Office and Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada for their funding towards this project.

The Small Business Branch would also like to thank the Centre for Special Business Projects Team at Statistics Canada for its work in developing and conducting the survey.

Date modified:

Archivé — Résumé de l'Enquête sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises, 2011

Février 2013

L'Enquête sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises vise à déterminer les types de financement qu'utilisent les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) et à recueillir des renseignements concernant les tentatives récentes des PME pour obtenir du nouveau financement. En outre, l'enquête permet de recueillir de l'information touchant la croissance des entreprises, leur participation à des activités commerciales internationales, l'innovation et la propriété intellectuelle, de même que les caractéristiques des propriétaires. Le questionnaire a été adapté à partir de l'Enquête sur le financement des petites et moyennes entreprises réalisée par Statistique Canada en 2000, 2001, 2004 et 2007, et l'Enquête sur les conditions de crédit par Leger Marketing en 2009 et 2010.

Résumé des résultats

Les principaux résultats de l'enquête de 2011 sont décrits ci-dessous. Pour des statistiques descriptives selon la taille de l'entreprise, l'industrie, la région, la région métropolitaine de recensement, l'âge de l'entreprise, le statut en matière d'exportation, les activités novatrices ainsi que l'âge, le sexe et le niveau d'instruction du propriétaire, voir les tableaux de données. Des statistiques comparables sont aussi disponibles pour les années 2000, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2009 et 2010.

Caractéristiques du financement

En 2011, 36 % des PME ont demandé un type de financement externe : 26 % ont notamment demandé du financement par emprunt, 7 % ont demandé du crédit-bail, 8 % du crédit commercial, 4 % du financement gouvernemental et 2 % du financement par capitaux propres.

En 2011, les banques à charte représentaient les principaux bailleurs de fonds des PME, ayant répondu à 55 % des demandes de financement; elles étaient suivies des coopératives de crédit ou Caisses populaires (16 %), des institutions gouvernementales (7 %), des sociétés de crédit bail (4 %), des familles et amis (2 %), des sociétés de capital risque ou investisseurs providentiels (1 %) et des banques étrangères (0,4 %).

En 2011, 90 % des demandes de financement par emprunt ont été approuvées. Les taux de demande et d'approbation de financement par emprunt augmentent avec la taille de l'entreprise (voir le tableau 1), ce qui donne à croire que plus une entreprise est grande, plus elle est susceptible d'avoir besoin de financement par emprunt, et d'obtenir ce financement.

Tableau 1 : Taux de demande et d'approbation de financement par emprunt selon la taille de l'entreprise, 2011
Taux de demande Taux d'approbation Référence de la note * du tableau 1 Ratio entre le montant autorisé et le montant demandé
Note * du tableau 1 : Une demande entièrement ou partiellement approuvée était considérée comme « approuvée ».
Ensemble des PME 1-499 employées 25,5 89,9 94,0
Taille de l'entreprise 1-4 employées 19,9 88,4 90,4
5-19 employées 29,9 88,5 88,6
20-99 employées 36,9 97,1 97,2
100-499 employées 47,6 97,7 99,0

Les PME ont payé un taux d'intérêt moyen de 6,7 % pour leur financement par emprunt en 2011. Soixante-cinq pour cent des PME ont dû fournir une garantie pour obtenir un prêt : 48 % ont donné en garantie des actifs de l'entreprise, 26 % des biens personnels et 1,3 % de la propriété intellectuelle.

Caractéristiques des propriétaires

  • En 2011, 60 % des propriétaires de PME était âgé de 50 ans et plus, 28 % étaient âgés entre 40 et 49 ans et 12 % étaient âgés de moins de 40 ans.
  • Soixante-dix pourcent des propriétaires de PME avant plus de 10 ans d'expérience à titre de gérant ou de propriétaire.
  • La plupart des propriétaires de PME étaient des hommes : 66 % des PME appartenaient en majorité à des hommes, 16 % appartenaient en majorité à des femmes et 18 % appartenaient à part égale à des hommes et à des femmes.
  • Soixante-dix-huit pour cent des propriétaires de PME étaient nés au Canada, tandis que 22 % étaient nés ailleurs.
  • La plupart des propriétaires de PME avaient atteint un niveau d'éducation postsecondaire : 32 % possédaient une éducation de niveau collégial, de cégep ou d'école de métiers, 22 % étaient titulaires d'un baccalauréat et 13 % étaient titulaires d'une maîtrise ou d'un diplôme supérieur. Pour 24 % des propriétaires de PME, le secondaire constituait le niveau de scolarité le plus élevé atteint et 10 % des propriétaires n'avaient pas terminé leurs études secondaires.

Activités commerciales internationales

En 2011, 10 % des PME exportaient des produits ou des services hors du Canada. Parmi ces exportateurs, 49 % exportaient des produits seulement, 40 % exportaient des services seulement et 12 % exportaient les deux. En moyenne, 33 % des revenus d'un exportateur provenaient de ventes à l'exportation. Les États-Unis constituent la destination d'exportation la plus populaire parmi les PME canadiennes, et 89 % des exportateurs vendent leurs produits ou services sur le marché américain. L'Europe arrive au deuxième rang et représente 32 % des exportations des PME; elle est suivie de l'Amérique latine (12 %), de la Chine (10 %) et d'autres pays d'Asie (12 %).

Mis à part les exportations, d'autres activités internationales étaient importantes pour les PME. Vingt-six pour cent des PME importaient des produits ou des services et 3 % impartissaient ou sous-traitaient du travail à une entreprise d'un pays étranger.

Caractéristiques de la croissance

Près des deux tiers des PME ont rapporté une augmentation de leurs ventes entre 2009 et 2011 (44 % ont connu une augmentation de 1 % à 10 % par année, 11 % une augmentation annuelle de 11 % à 20 % et 8 % ont été considérées comme des entreprises à forte croissance, avec une augmentation supérieure à 20 % par année). Seulement 22 % des PME ont indiqué que leurs ventes n'avaient pas du tout augmenté, et 16 % ont connu une baisse de leurs ventes.

La plupart des PME ont des attentes positives en ce qui concerne la croissance de leurs ventes au cours des trois prochaines années (2012-2014). La majorité des PME s'attendent à ce que leurs ventes augmentent modérément (56 % prévoient une augmentation de 1 % à 10 %) ou de manière significative (12 % prévoient une augmentation de 11 % à 20 % et 8 % sont considérées comme des entreprises à forte croissance, avec une augmentation supérieure à 20 %). Seulement 18 % des entreprises ne prévoient aucune augmentation, et 7 % s'attendent à une baisse de leurs ventes.

Parmi les obstacles à la croissance les plus couramment cités, mentionnons le coût des intrants (63 %), la fluctuation des ventes (52 %) et la concurrence croissante (48 %).

Activités novatrices et propriété intellectuelle

Les données ont révélé que 38 % des PME ont lancé au moins un type d'activité novatrice pendant la période de 2009 à 2011. Le type le plus courant d'innovation était la création de nouveaux produits (24 %), suivie de l'innovation en matière de marketing (17 %), de l'innovation organisationnelle (15 %) et de l'innovation en matière de processus (15 %). Pour bon nombre de PME, la mise en œuvre de ces innovations a entraîné une augmentation des ventes (70 %) et un accroissement de la part de marché (61 %).

De plus, 16 % des PME détenaient un type quelconque de protection de la propriété intellectuelle. Les ententes de non-divulgation constituaient la forme la plus courante (9 %), suivies des marques de commerce (8 %), des secrets commerciaux (4 %), des brevets (1,5 %) et des dessins industriels (1 %).

Méthodologie

La population ciblée par l'enquête était composée des PME à but lucratif du secteur privé comptant entre un et 499 employés et qui ont réalisé un chiffre d'affaires annuel de 30 000 dollars à 50 millions de dollars en 2011. L'échantillon était stratifié selon la région, l'industrie, la taille de l'entreprise (déterminée par le nombre d'employés), l'âge de l'entreprise et la participation au Programme de financement des petites entreprises du Canada. L'enquête a été menée par Statistique Canada du 13 février au 10 juin 2012. L'échantillon comptait 25 007 entreprises et le taux de réponse s'est établi à 39,8 % (ou 9 977 répondants). Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet de la méthodologie, consultez le rapport sur la méthodologie.

Notes

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, ou pour en savoir davantage sur les concepts, les méthodes ou la qualité des données liées aux résultats de l'enquête, communiquez avec Statistique Canada (sans frais au 1-800-263-1136 ou à l'adresse infostats@statcan.gc.ca).

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur des sujets de recherche et des ensembles de données connexes, consultez le site Web Recherche et statistique sur la PME, ou communiquez avec Richard Archambault (343-291-1798) à la Direction générale de la petite entreprise.

Remerciements

L'enquête n'aurait pas été possible sans la contribution financière et les précieux commentaires de nos nombreux partenaires. Nous remercions tout particulièrement la Banque de développement du Canada et l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada de leur appui financier important, et nous remercions vivement le Programme de financement des petites entreprises du Canada, Développement économique Canada pour les régions du Québec, l'Institut de la statistique du Québec, Exportation et développement Canada, l'Initiative fédérale de développement économique pour le Nord de l'Ontario, le ministère du Développement économique et de l'Innovation de l'Ontario, l'Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique, l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario, le bureau régional de l'Atlantique d'Industrie Canada et Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada pour leur contribution financière à ce projet.

La Direction générale de la petite entreprise souhaite également remercier l'équipe du Centre des projets spéciaux sur les entreprises de Statistique Canada pour son travail dans le cadre de l'élaboration et de la mise en œuvre de l'enquête.

Date de modification :