Performance Measurement Framework

Venture Capital Action Plan


1. Introduction

In January 2013, the Prime Minister announced the Venture Capital Action Plan (VCAP) which included resources for establishing and recapitalizing large, private sector-led funds-of-funds. A fund-of-funds pools capital for investments in a portfolio of venture capital (VC) funds. VCAP also included resources to invest directly in up to five high-performing VC funds.

VCAP is a new market-oriented approach to put Canada's VC industry on the path to sustainability and increase the availability of financing for innovative Canadian firms. It aims to make Canada's VC industry more globally competitive, while helping ensure that Canada's innovative high-potential firms have the resources they need to grow and create jobs.

Under VCAP, the Government announced up to $400 million in new capital. This capital was expected to further attract significant private sector investments in VC in Canada. In particular, VCAP has committed:

  • Up to $350 million to establish or recapitalize up to four large scale private sector-led funds-of-funds in partnership with institutional and corporate strategic investors, as well as interested provinces; and,
  • An aggregate investment of up to $50 million in a few existing high-performing VC funds in Canada.

This document presents the performance measurement framework (PMF) proposed by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) and Finance Canada, in consultation with the Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC), to measure the performance of VCAP. It consists of three components: expected VCAP outcomes, inputs required to achieve these outcomes, and the measurable outputs that will form the basis of the program evaluation.

2. Roles and Responsibilities

Finance Canada, ISED and the BDC each play complementary but different roles with respect to the VCAP performance measurement framework. The organizations and their respective roles and responsibilities in the design, implementation and the monitoring of VCAP are provided in Table 1

Table 1: Roles and Responsibilities

Table 1: Roles and Responsibilities
Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC)

Acting as a Limited Partner (LP): The BDC, as an agent of Government, fulfills the duties typically associated with those of an LP. These duties include: signing letters of intent; memorandum and LP agreements; holding the rights, obligations and interests in the LP agreements; serving on LP advisory committees; and attending all required meetings.

Administrative Duties: Given the scope and significance of VCAP, BDC will dedicate appropriate resources to ensure it is positioned to act in a timely and effective manner in fulfilling its responsibilities. Within the well-established practices in place at BDC for making VC investments, BDC flows the funds it receives from the Government for VCAP into selected investment vehicles, including providing capital to general partners (GPs) according to the Limited Partners Agreements negotiated with the investors, and eventually receives proceeds from those investments.

Accountabilities: BDC is responsible for monitoring VCAP, including keeping officials from the departments of Finance Canada and ISED informed on developments related to the initiative. This includes reporting on the outcomes of annual general meetings with GPs, LPs and recipient companies. BDC will provide VCAP-related financial data at regular intervals.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED)

ISED was responsible for providing analytical support and advice to the Department of Finance on VC, particularly during the early stages of the design of VCAP.

Since BDC is part of the ISED portfolio, ISED is responsible for working with BDC to monitor VCAP's progress towards delivering on its objectives.

Finance Canada

Finance Canada was the lead department in the design and implementation of the VCAP;

Finance Canada provided research and supported the consultations on VC which were led by the Special Advisor on VC appointed by the Minister of Finance;

It supported the VC Expert Panel, appointed by the Minister of Finance, that provided advice and recommendations on VCAP's selection processes, including those used to select the high-performing funds and the GPs to manage the funds-of-funds;

It worked in collaboration with ISED officials on BDC's role as the Government's agent in the implementation of VCAP;

Finance Canada engaged external legal counsel, as required, through the Department of Justice to represent it in negotiations with General Partners (GPs) and other entities, and to generate the legal documentation to establish the funds under VCAP; and,

It engaged with private sector investors and provincial governments to invest in the funds-of-funds that were established under VCAP.

3. Performance Measurement Framework

The purpose of this performance management framework (PMF) document is to outline the metrics that will be used to evaluate the performance of VCAP in delivering on its objectives and outcomes.

3.1 Program Objectives

In implementing VCAP, the Government aims to:

  • Act as a catalyst in the development of a sustainable VC eco-system led by private sector investments that includes:
    • Participation by domestic and international private investors; and,
    • Large-scale venture capital funds managed by the private sector;
  • Increase the number of successful Canadian companies by encouraging private sector investments in early-stage risk capital and helping to ensure high-potential innovative firms have access to financing; and,
  • Contribute to the development of a deeper pool of experienced fund managers in Canada, including by attracting foreign expertise and capital to Canada's VC market.

3.2 Measurement Model

The measurement model illustrates VCAP's policy rationale, the activities planned under VCAP, and the expected outputs and outcomes from those activities.

3.2.1. Policy Rationale

When VCAP was developed, a number of challenges were identified in Canada's VC industry. Concerns were raised by various stakeholders, including by the Expert Panel on Federal Support to Research and Development led by Mr. Tom Jenkins. That Expert Panel argued that weaknesses in the VC industry made it difficult for young firms to grow and reduced the benefits of public investments in research, development and innovation. Specifically, concerns were raised about the low financial returns that VC investors earned in Canada; an over-reliance on Government-backed funds; the reluctance on the part of institutional investors to invest in innovative early-stage firms; and the shortage of experienced fund managers that could lead successful VC funds in Canada.

To help address some of these issues, and acting on private sector and stakeholders recommendations, the Government launched VCAP.

3.2.2. Activities

VCAP consists of the following two sets of activities.

  • The creation of four large private-sector led fund-of-funds. To establish public-private partnership, the Government will match private sector investments in these fund-of-funds on a one-to-two basis.  It will provide matching investments totaling up to $350 million in these fund-of-fundsFootnote 1. The fund-of-funds will use the majority of the capital that they raise to invest in Canadian private sector VC funds.
  • Investment in four high-performing Canadian VC funds. The Government has invested a total of $50 million in these funds. This has allowed those funds to close and start investing in companies while the funds-of-funds are being established.

3.2.3. Outputs

The VCAP program will result in

  • Improved fundraising by Canadian private VC funds;
  • Improved access to risk capital by high-potential Canadian firms,
  • A larger pool of quality VC fund managers;
  • Improved returns to investors; and,
  • Increased participation by private sector investors in VC funds.

3.2.4. Outcomes

The major outcome expected from the program is to demonstrate to the private sector that investing in the VC asset class has the potential of positive returns, thereby increasing ongoing investment activity in Canadian VC funds. This entails investing in high-potential Canadian firms and the realization of profitable returns from these investments.

Ultimately, successful investments made by VCAP supported funds that result in positive returns could lead to renewed investor confidence in the VC asset class and help the Canadian VC industry become self-sustaining.

3.3 Performance Measurement Framework

The set of metrics that will be used to measure the performance of VCAP is listed in Table 2.

4. Next steps

ISED will continue to work with the BDC to monitor the performance of the program, in accordance with the PMF outlined in this document. ISED and the BDC will collaborate on a public release on the performance of VCAP in 2016.

Table 2: Performance Measurement Framework
Expected Results Indicators Source Baseline Target Frequency
Act as a catalyst in the development of a sustainable venture capital ecosystem led by private sector investment that includes: Participation by domestic and international private investors; and Large scale venture capital funds managed by the private sector. Financial return of the VCAP funds-of-funds (pooled gross internal rate of return of the entire funds-of-funds). BDC n/a 7% Annual starting in 2021
The total amount of investment in funds-of-funds supported by VCAP. BDC n/a $1.2B Annual until target met
The number of venture capital funds-of-funds and high performing funds supported by VCAP. BDC n/a 4 of each Annual until target met
The number of large institutional investors (banks, pension funds, corporate investors etc.) investing as Limited Partners (LPs) in VCAP Fund-of-Funds. BDC n/a 10 Annual until target met
Increase the number of successful Canadian companies by encouraging private sector investments in early-stage risk capital and helping to ensure high potential innovative firms have access to financing. The long-term economic and financial performance of the Canadian companies backed by the Venture Capital Action Plan in terms of employment growth and growth in revenue/sales including exports ISED and Statistics Canada, using the list company names from the BDC Similar non-VCAP-backed companies in Canada Out-perform baseline firms In 2021, 2025 and 2030
The long-term innovation performance of the Canadian companies backed by the Venture Capital Action Plan in terms of number of employees and R&D spending. ISED and Statistics Canada, using the list company names from the BDC Similar non-VCAP-backed companies in Canada Out-perform baseline firms In 2021, 2025 and 2030
Contribute to the development of a deeper pool of experienced fund managers in Canada by attracting foreign expertise and capital to Canada's venture capital market. Proportion of underlying Canadian VC fund managers supported under VCAP that raise follow-on funds. BDC n/a 40% in 2020
50% in 2025
In 2020 and in 2025
The number of VCAP Fund-of-Fund managers new to the Canadian VC industry. BDC n/a 1 Annual until target met
The quality of key investment personnel, as measured by the financial performance of the majority of the investment professionals in funds backed by VCAP. BDC Total Value of Paid in Capital (TVPI) of 1.1x Majority of key personnel are in funds that out-perform baseline In 2021 and in 2025
The proportion of Canadian companies supported by VCAP that achieve an exit event of being merged or acquired (M&A) or having an initial public offering (IPO). DC 50% of investments of liquidated VC funds have an exit by IPO or M&A Note * 25% in 2022
50% in 2030
In 2022 and in 2030
Date modified:

Cadre de mesure du rendement

Plan d'action sur le capital de risque


1. Introduction

En janvier 2013, le premier ministre a annoncé la mise en place du Plan d'action sur le capital de risque (PACR), qui comprenait des ressources pour l'établissement et la recapitalisation d'importants fonds de fonds dirigés par le secteur privé. Un fonds de fonds regroupe des éléments de fonds propres dans un portefeuille de fonds de capital de risque (CR). Le PACR comprenait également des ressources pour investir directement dans un maximum de cinq fonds de CR à performance élevée.

Le PACR est une nouvelle approche axée sur le marché visant à mettre le secteur canadien du CR sur la voie de la viabilité et à rendre le financement plus accessible aux sociétés innovatrices canadiennes. Il vise à rendre le secteur canadien du CR plus concurrentiel à l'échelle internationale, tout en veillant à ce que les sociétés innovatrices à potentiel élevé du Canada aient les ressources dont elles ont besoin pour croître et créer des emplois.

En vertu du PACR, le gouvernement a annoncé plus de 400 millions de dollars en capital nouveau. On prévoyait que ce capital attire d'importants investissements du secteur privé dans le CR au Canada. Plus particulièrement, le PACR a engagé :

  • un maximum de 350 millions de dollars pour établir ou recapitaliser jusqu'à quatre grands fonds de fonds dirigés par le secteur privé, en partenariat avec des investisseurs stratégiques institutionnels et d'entreprises, ainsi que les provinces intéressées;
  • un investissement global d'un maximum de 50 millions de dollars dans quelques fonds de CR à performance élevée du Canada.

Ce document présente le cadre de mesure du rendement (CMR) proposé par Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) et le ministère des Finances Canada, en consultation avec la Banque de développement du Canada (BDC), afin de mesurer le rendement du PACR. Il est composé de trois éléments : les résultats attendus du PACR, les mesures à prendre pour atteindre ces résultats et les extrants mesurables qui formeront la base de l'évaluation du programme.

2. Rôles et responsabilités

Le ministère des Finances Canada, ISDE et la BDC joueront chacun un rôle complémentaire, mais différent en ce qui a trait au cadre de mesure du rendement du PACR. Le tableau 1 présente les organisations et leurs rôles et responsabilités respectifs dans l'élaboration, la mise en œuvre et la surveillance du PACR.

Tableau 1 : Rôles et responsabilités

Tableau 1 : Rôles et responsabilités
Banque de développement du Canada (BDC)

Commanditaire : En tant que mandataire du gouvernement, la BDC s'acquitte des fonctions généralement associées à celles d'un commanditaire, à savoir signer les lettres d'intention, les protocoles d'entente et les conventions de société en commandite; détenir les droits, les obligations et les intérêts dans les conventions; siéger à des comités consultatifs de commanditaires et assister à toutes les réunions obligatoires.

Administration : Étant donné l'étendue et l'importance du PACS, la BDC consacrera les ressources nécessaires pour être en mesure de s'acquitter de ses responsabilités rapidement et efficacement. Grâce à des pratiques bien établies en matière d'investissements de CR, la BDC fait transiter les fonds qu'elle reçoit du gouvernement pour le PACR dans des instruments d'investissement sélectionnés, ce qui comprend fournir le capital aux commandités conformément aux conventions de commandite négociées avec les investisseurs, et reçoit éventuellement les produits de ces investissements.

Responsabilité : La BDC est responsable de surveiller le PACR, y compris tenir informés le ministère des Finances Canada et ISDE à propos des développements relatifs à l'initiative, à savoir rendre compte des résultats des assemblées générales annuelles avec les commandités, les commanditaires et les entreprises bénéficiaires. La BDC produira des données financières relatives au PACR à des intervalles réguliers.

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE)

ISDE était responsable de fournir un appui et des conseils en matière d'analyse au ministère des Finances Canada, plus particulièrement lors des premières étapes de l'élaboration du PACR.

Étant donné que la BDC figure dans le portefeuille d'ISDE, ISDE est responsable de collaborer avec la BDC en vue de surveiller le progrès du PACR relativement à l'atteinte de ses objectifs.

Ministère des Finances Canada

Le ministère des Finances Canada était le ministère responsable de l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre du PACR.

Le ministère des Finances Canada a fourni des données de recherche et soutenu les consultations sur le CR qui étaient dirigées par le conseiller spécial en CR nommé par le ministre des Finances.

Il a appuyé le groupe d'experts en CR nommé par le ministre des Finances qui a fourni des conseils et des recommandations sur les processus de sélection du PACR, y compris ceux utilisés pour choisir les fonds à rendement élevé et les commandités qui gèrent les fonds de fonds.

Il a collaboré avec les représentants d'ISDE quant au rôle que joue la BDC à titre de mandataire du gouvernement dans la mise en œuvre du PACR.

Tel qu'exigé, le ministère des Finances Canada s'est adjoint les services d'un conseiller juridique externe par l'intermédiaire du ministère de la Justice pour le représenter dans les négociations avec les commandités et d'autres entités et pour produire la documentation légale pour établir le fonds en vertu du PACR.

Il s'est adjoint les services d'investisseurs du secteur privé et des gouvernements provinciaux pour investir dans les fonds de fonds établis en vertu du PACR.

3. Cadre de mesure du rendement

Le présent document du cadre de mesure du rendement (CMR) a pour objectif d'énumérer les mesures qui seront utilisées pour évaluer le rendement du PACR en ce qui a trait à l'atteinte des objectifs et des résultats.

3.1 Objectifs du PACR

Par la mise en œuvre du PACR, le gouvernement vise les objectifs suivants :

  • Agir à titre de catalyseur du développement d'un écosystème du CR viable dirigé par des investissements du secteur privé comprenant :
    • la participation d'investisseurs privés canadiens et étrangers;
    • des grands fonds de capital de risque gérés par le secteur privé.
  • Augmenter le nombre d'entreprises canadiennes prospères en encourageant les investissements du secteur privé dans le capital de risque de démarrage et en aidant les entreprises innovatrices offrant un potentiel élevé à avoir accès à du financement.
  • Contribuer au développement d'un plus grand bassin de gestionnaires de fonds expérimentés au Canada, notamment en attirant le savoir-faire et le capital étrangers sur le marché canadien du CR.

3.2 Modèle de mesure

Le modèle de mesure illustre la justification de la politique, les activités prévues en vertu du PACR, de même que les extrants et les résultats de ces activités.

3.2.1. Justification de la politique

Lorsque le PACR a été élaboré, un certain nombre d'obstacles ont été cernés dans le secteur canadien du CR. Divers intervenants, notamment le groupe d'experts sur le financement fédéral pour la recherche et le développement dirigé par M. Tom Jenkins, ont exprimé des préoccupations. Le groupe d'experts a fait valoir que des faiblesses dans le secteur du CR ont fait en sorte qu'il est difficile pour les jeunes sociétés de croître et ont réduit les avantages des investissements publics dans la recherche, le développement et l'innovation. Plus précisément, des préoccupations ont été soulevées à propos des faibles rendements financiers qu'obtiennent les investisseurs en CR au Canada, d'une confiance excessive à l'égard des fonds soutenus par le gouvernement, de la réticence d'une partie des investisseurs institutionnels à investir dans des sociétés innovatrices en démarrage et du manque de gestionnaires de fonds expérimentés pouvant diriger des fonds de CR prospères au Canada.

Suivant les recommandations formulées par le secteur privé et les intervenants, le gouvernement a mis en œuvre le Plan d'action sur le capital de risque (PACR) en vue d'aider à régler certains de ces problèmes.

3.2.2. Activités

Les deux ensembles d'activités suivants seront menés dans le cadre du PACR :

  • La création de quatre fonds de fonds de grande taille dirigés par le secteur privé. Pour établir un partenariat public privé, le gouvernement investira des sommes équivalentes à la moitié des investissements dans les fonds de fonds provenant du secteur privé.  Les fonds de contrepartie investis par le gouvernement dans le cadre de ces fonds de fonds totaliseront jusqu'à 350 millions de dollarsNote de bas de page 1. La majorité des fonds amassés dans le cadre des fonds de fonds seront investis dans les fonds de capital-risque (CR) du secteur privé au Canada.
  • L'investissement de fonds dans quatre fonds de CR à haut rendement au Canada. Au total, le gouvernement a investi 50 millions de dollars dans ces fonds. Cela a permis la clôture de ces fonds et l'investissement dans les sociétés pendant la mise en place des fonds de fonds.

3.2.3. Extrants

Le programme PACR aura les répercussions suivantes :

  • Amélioration des collectes de fonds par les fonds de CR du secteur privé au Canada;
  • Amélioration de l'accès au capital-risque pour les sociétés canadiennes à fort potentiel;
  • Élargissement du bassin de candidats de qualité pour les postes de gestionnaires de fonds de capital-risque;
  • Amélioration du rendement de l'investissement;
  • Participation accrue des investisseurs du secteur privé dans les fonds de CR.

3.2.4. Résultats

Le principal résultat prévu dans le cadre du programme est la démonstration au secteur privé que l'investissement en capital-risque offre un fort potentiel en ce qui a trait au rendement, ce qui augmenterait les investissements continus dans les fonds de CR au Canada. Pour obtenir un tel résultat, il faudra investir dans les sociétés à potentiel élevé au Canada et afficher une rentabilité pour ces investissements.

Enfin, les investissements fructueux qui génèrent des rendements positifs, réalisés à partir de fonds mobilisés dans le cadre du PACR, pourraient renforcer la confiance des investisseurs envers la catégorie d'actifs de capital de risque et favoriser la viabilité de l'industrie canadienne du capital de risque.

3.3 Cadre de mesure du rendement

Le tableau 2 présente l'ensemble des mesures utilisées pour mesurer le rendement du PACR.

4. Prochaines étapes

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada continuera à travailler avec la BDC pour surveiller le rendement du programme, conformément au cadre de gestion du rendement (CGR) décrit dans le présent document. Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada et la BDC collaborerons à rendre public le rendement du PACR en 2016.

Tableau 2 : Cadre de mesure du rendement
Résultats prévus Indicateurs Source Critère de référence Cible Fréquence

Agir comme catalyseur du développement d'un écosystème viable du capital de risque reposant sur des investissements du secteur privé, comportant les éléments suivants : participation d'investisseurs du secteur privé canadien ou étranger et grands fonds de capital de risque gérés par le secteur privé.

Rentabilité financière des fonds de fonds du PACR (taux de rentabilité interne brut de l'ensemble des fonds de fonds). BDC s.o. 7 % Annuellement à partir de 2021
Le montant total des investissements dans les fonds de fonds réalisés dans le cadre du PACR. BDC s.o. 1,2 G$ Annuellement jusqu'à l'atteinte de la cible
Le nombre de fonds de fonds de capital-risque et de fonds à haut rendement faisant l'objet d'investissements réalisés dans le cadre du PACR. BDC s.o. 4 de chacun Annuellement jusqu'à l'atteinte de la cible

Le nombre d'investisseurs institutionnels de grande taille (banques, caisses de retraite, sociétés d'investissement, etc.) qui investissent dans les fonds de fonds du PACR à titre de commanditaires.

BDC

s.o.

10

Annuellement jusqu'à l'atteinte de la cible

Augmenter le nombre d'entreprises canadiennes prospères en encourageant les investissements du secteur privé dans le capital de risque de démarrage et en aidant les entreprises innovatrices à potentiel élevé à avoir accès à du financement.

Le rendement économique et financier à long terme des entreprises canadiennes visées par le Plan d'action sur le capital de risque en ce qui a trait à la croissance de l'emploi et à l'augmentation des recettes et des ventes, incluant les exportations. ISDE et Statistiques Canada, à l'aide de la liste d'entreprises fournie par la BDC. Entreprises canadiennes similaires non visées par le PACR Rendement supérieur aux sociétés de référence En 2021, 2025 et 2030

Le rendement en innovation à long terme des entreprises canadiennes visées par le Plan d'action sur le capital de risque en ce qui a trait au nombre d'employés et aux dépenses liées à la recherche et au développement.

ISDE et Statistiques Canada, à l'aide de la liste d'entreprises fournie par la BDC.

Entreprises canadiennes similaires non visées par le PACR

Rendement supérieur aux sociétés de référence

En 2021, 2025 et 2030

Contribuer au développement d'un plus grand bassin de gestionnaires de fonds chevronnés au Canada en attirant le savoir-faire et le capital étrangers sur le marché canadien du capital de risque.

Proportion de gestionnaires de fonds de CR visés par le PACR qui amassent des fonds subséquents. BDC s.o. 40 % en 2020
50 % en 2025
En 2020 et en 2025
Le nombre de gestionnaires de fonds de fonds du PACR qui font leur entrée dans l'industrie du capital-risque au Canada. BDC s.o 1 Annuellement jusqu'à l'atteinte de la cible
La qualité du personnel responsable des investissements, selon le rendement financier de la majorité des professionnels responsables des investissements dans les fonds visés dans le cadre du PACR. BDC Rapport valeur totale-capital utilisé de 1.1x La majorité du personnel de base travaille avec les fonds dont le rendement surpasse le niveau de référence. En 2021 et en 2025

La proportion d'entreprises canadiennes visées par le PACR ayant abouti à une sortie par fusion-acquisition ou par premier appel public à l'épargne (PAPE).

BDC

50 % des investissements des fonds de CR liquidés ont employé une stratégie de sortie par PAPE ou par fusion-acquisitionNote *

25 % en 2022
50 % en 2030

En 2022 et en 2030

Date de modification :