Venture Capital Catalyst Initiative Selection Committee

The selection of recipients under the Venture Capital Catalyst Initiative (VCCI) used a rigorous assessment and selection process informed by the advice and recommendations provided by the VCCI Selection Committee.

To create the VCCI Selection Committee, the Government of Canada sought applications from diverse and talented Canadians through a public application process. A number of highly qualified candidates submitted applications. Further details on the application process and requirements for the Selection Committee can be found at Departmental Appointment Opportunities.

Following the open call for applications, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) established the five-member Selection Committee, comprised of individuals with diverse expertise, backgrounds (venture capital investors and managers, entrepreneurs and start-up support specialists), regions and perspectives.

The selection committee that evaluated submissions under VCCI Streams 1 and 2 was co-chaired by Gilles Duruflé and Serra Erdogmus. The members were:

  • Gilles Duruflé, venture capital investor and researcher
  • Serra Erdogmus, institutional investor
  • Catherine Lacavera, technology acquisition and intellectual property specialist
  • Bill Tam, start-up support specialist
  • Rebecca Yu, start-up support and life sciences specialist

For Stream 3, two of the members were unavailable to participate on the Committee. As such, the Government appointed two new members to the VCCI Selection Committee with expertise in the clean technology sector. The members were:

  • David Bookbinder, growth equity investor and clean technology specialist
  • Gilles Duruflé, venture capital investor and researcher
  • Serra Erdogmus, institutional investor
  • Catherine Lacavera, technology acquisition and intellectual property specialist
  • Mike Walkinshaw, venture capital investor, entrepreneur and clean technology specialist

For each stream, the Selection Committee recommended applications based on the evaluation of the relative scores of their application, the impact they would have on the Canadian venture capital ecosystem, and the role each would have in meeting the objectives of VCCI.

Members of the committee acted on a part-time, volunteer basis.

Date modified:

Comité de sélection de l’Initiative de catalyse du capital de risque

La sélection de récipiendaires au titre de l'Initiative de catalyse du capital de risque (ICCR) est basée sur un processus d'évaluation et de sélection rigoureux éclairé par les avis et les recommandations du Comité de sélection de l'ICCR.

Afin d'établir le Comité de sélection de l'ICCR, le gouvernement du Canada a sollicité des candidatures auprès de divers Canadiens talentueux par l'entremise d'un appel public. Un certain nombre de candidats hautement qualifiés ont présenté leur candidature. De plus amples renseignements sur l'appel de candidatures et les exigences relatives au Comité de sélection sont disponibles sur la page Web Possibilités de nomination ministérielles.

À la suite de l'appel public, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) a formé le Comité de sélection composé de cinq membres ayant des compétences et des antécédents diversifiés (investisseurs et gestionnaires de capital de risque, entrepreneurs et spécialistes du soutien à la création d'entreprises) provenant de différentes régions et ayant diverses façons de faire.

Le Comité de sélection qui a évalué les candidatures dans le cadre des volets 1 et 2 de l'ICCR était coprésidé par Gilles Duruflé et Serra Erdogmus. Les membres étaient les suivants :

  • Gilles Duruflé, chercheur et investisseur de capital de risque
  • Serra Erdogmus, investisseuse institutionnelle
  • Catherine Lacavera, spécialiste en acquisition d'entreprise et de la propriété intellectuelle
  • Bill Tam, spécialiste du soutien aux entreprises en démarrage
  • Rebecca Yu, spécialiste du soutien aux entreprises en démarrage et des sciences de la vie

Pour le volet 3, deux des membres n'étaient pas disponibles pour siéger au Comité. Par conséquent, le gouvernement a nommé deux nouveaux membres au Comité de sélection de l'ICCR qui possèdent une expertise dans le secteur des technologies propres. Les membres étaient les suivants :

  • David Bookbinder, investisseur de capitaux de croissance et spécialiste en technologies propres
  • Gilles Duruflé, chercheur et investisseur de capital de risque
  • Serra Erdogmus, investisseuse institutionnelle
  • Catherine Lacavera, spécialiste en acquisition d'entreprise et de la propriété intellectuelle
  • Mike Walkinshaw, investisseur de capital de risque, entrepreneur et spécialiste en technologies propres

Pour chaque volet, le Comité de sélection a formulé ses recommandations en fonction des notes relatives obtenues par les candidats, l'impact prévu sur l'écosystème canadien du capital de risque et le rôle qu'elles auraient dans l'atteinte des objectifs de l'ICCR.

Les membres du Comité ont agi à titre de bénévole à temps partiel.

Date de modification :