Venture Capital Catalyst Initiative

Investing in great ideas

Overview

The government of Canada is helping Canadian small and medium-sized businesses start up, scale up and access new markets. A strong venture capital ecosystem is critical to achieving this goal and to creating middle class jobs.

Venture capital (VC) is a specialized type of private equity financing that takes educated risks on high growth-potential companies.

Venture capital is often an essential element in helping Canadian companies scale.

Canada's VC ecosystem has nearly doubled in size since 2010. In fact, in 2018, Canada saw a total of $3.7 billion of VC investment in Canadian start-ups.

Canada is now ranked third for VC investment according to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). The Canadian Venture Capital and Private Equity Association (CVCA) attributes much of this growth to the Government of Canada's support for VC, including through the Venture Capital Action Plan (VCAP).

To build on this success, the Government made available $450 million through the Venture Capital Catalyst Initiative (VCCI). VCCI Stream 1 invested in large funds-of-funds that will support Canadian VC fund managers, while VCCI Stream 2 invested in emerging and diverse managers, underserved regions and sectors, and alternative fund structures. VCCI Stream 3 invested in VC funds investing primarily in clean technology firms.

One of the objectives of VCCI is to improve gender balance among Canadian VC fund managers and companies. As part of their submissions, applicants under all streams were required to submit gender balance strategies demonstrating how they will enhance diversity and increase the participation of women across the VC ecosystem. All recipients will be required to report on statistics relating to the number of women fund managers and entrepreneurs supported.

VCCI will leverage private sector and other capital to inject a total of over $1.5 billion into the VC marketplace, growing Canadian companies and supporting thousands of middle class jobs.

Selected Recipients under Stream 1

VCCI Stream 1 aimed to establish a portfolio of new private sector-led large funds-of-funds that could inject significant capital into the Canadian VC ecosystem. This stream aimed to maximize returns through diversified investments, support skilled VC fund managers, and attract substantial private sector capital.

The five large funds-of-funds selected under Stream 1 were announced on June 26, 2018. Each of these managers have since made significant progress. Notably, Hamilton Lane opened its Toronto office in early 2019.

The remaining recipient funds-of-funds have raised more than $868 million and are now investing into VC funds and companies.

The five managers selected under Stream 1 were:

Selected Recipients under Stream 2

VCCI Stream 2 aimed to provide a financial return to investors while prioritizing areas not otherwise addressed by Stream 1. The fund managers selected under this stream had strategies focused on supporting underrepresented groups such as women or diverse fund management teams and entrepreneurs, or emerging regions and sectors.

The seven VC fund managers selected under Stream 2 were announced on November 5, 2018.

To date, Build Ventures, Garage Capital and TandemLaunch have had closes of over 50% of their target fund size and are beginning to invest in companies as they continue fundraising. Negotiations continue with the other recipients, with additional closes expected soon.

The seven managers selected under Stream 2 were:

Stream 3: Investing in Clean Technology

The global transition towards the adoption of clean technologies that are designed to enhance productivity, increase resource efficiency, and reduce waste and pollution, presents an economic opportunity for Canadian companies. In fact, the clean technology sector is expected to be a $26 trillion industry by 2030 and Canada currently ranks fourth in a global clean technology leader index.

To continue on this momentum, the following three VC fund managers selected under Stream 3 were announced on June 5, 2019:

VCCI Fund Selection

All selection of VCCI recipients were subject to a competitive process informed by the recommendations of an impartial selection committee.

Performance Measurement

The purpose of this performance measurement framework (PMF) is to outline the metrics that will be used to evaluate the performance of VCCI in delivering on its objectives and outcomes. The Department of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada is committed to releasing annual reports based on the performance metrics.

Related links

Contact

If your organization is interested in learning more about the VCCI program, please contact the VCCI Secretariat at capital@canada.ca.

Date modified:

Initiative de catalyse du capital de risque

Investir dans de grandes idées

Aperçu

Le gouvernement du Canada aide les petites et moyennes entreprises canadiennes à démarrer, à prendre de l'expansion et à accéder à de nouveaux marchés. Un écosystème de capital de risque robuste est essentiel pour atteindre cet objectif et créer des emplois pour la classe moyenne.

Le capital de risque (CR) est un type spécialisé de financement par capitaux propres privés qui se caractérise par la prise de risques éclairés dans des entreprises présentant un potentiel de croissance élevé.

Le capital de risque est souvent un élément essentiel pour aider les entreprises canadiennes à croître.

L'écosystème canadien de CR a presque doublé en taille depuis 2010. En effet, en 2018, le Canada a investi 3,7 milliards de dollars en CR dans des entreprises canadiennes en démarrage.

Selon l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE), le Canada se classe maintenant au troisième rang pour les investissements en CR. L'Association canadienne du capital de risque et d'investissement (ACCRI) attribue une grande partie de cette croissance à l'appui du gouvernement du Canada au CR, notamment dans le cadre du Plan d'action sur le capital de risque (PACR).

Pour tirer parti de ce succès, le gouvernement a débloqué 450 millions de dollars dans le cadre de l'Initiative de catalyse du capital de risque (ICCR). Le volet 1 de l'ICCR a facilité l'octroi de fonds de fonds importants qui appuieront les gestionnaires de fonds de CR canadiens, tandis que le volet 2 de l'ICCR a permis d'investir dans des équipes de gestion émergentes et diversifiées, dans des régions et des secteurs mal desservis et dans des structures alternatives de fonds. Le volet 3 de l'ICCR a rendu possible des investissements dans des fonds de CR principalement dans le secteur des technologies propres.

L'un des objectifs de l'ICCR vise à améliorer l'équilibre entre les sexes chez les gestionnaires de fonds de CR et au sein des entreprises canadiennes. Dans leurs soumissions, les candidats de tous les volets devaient présenter des stratégies pour améliorer l'équilibre entre les sexes démontrant comment elles amélioreront la diversité et accroîtront la participation des femmes dans l'écosystème du CR. Tous les bénéficiaires seront tenus de fournir des statistiques sur le nombre de femmes gestionnaires de fonds et d'entrepreneures soutenues.

L'ICCR mobilisera le secteur privé et d'autres capitaux pour injecter au total plus de 1,5 milliard de dollars dans le marché du CR, ce qui favorisera la croissance des entreprises canadiennes et appuiera des milliers d'emplois pour la classe moyenne.

Bénéficiaires sélectionnés dans le cadre du volet 1

Le volet 1 de l'ICCR avait pour but d'établir un portefeuille de nouveau fonds de fonds à grandes envergure dirigés par le secteur privé afin d'injecter des capitaux importants dans l'écosystème du CR canadien. Ce volet visait à maximiser les rendements grâce à des placements diversifiés, à appuyer les gestionnaires de fonds de CR qualifiés et à attirer des capitaux considérables du secteur privé.

Les 5 gestionnaires de fonds de fonds importants, sélectionnés dans le cadre du premier volet, ont été annoncés le 26 juin 2018. Chacun de ces gestionnaires a depuis fait des progrès importants. Hamilton Lane a notamment ouvert son bureau de Toronto au début de 2019.

Les autres gestionnaires de fonds de fonds ont recueilli plus de 868 millions de dollars et investissent maintenant dans des fonds de CR et des entreprises.

Les 5 gestionnaires sélectionnés dans le cadre du volet 1 étaient :

Bénéficiaires sélectionnés dans le cadre du volet 2

Le volet 2 de l'ICCR visait à offrir un rendement financier aux investisseurs tout en priorisant des éléments qui ne seraient pas considérés sous le volet 1. Les gestionnaires de fonds sélectionnés dans ce volet avaient des stratégies axées sur le soutien des groupes sous-représentés, tels que les femmes, ou sur des équipes de gestion de fonds et des entrepreneurs divers, ou sur les régions et les secteurs émergents.

Les sept gestionnaires de fonds de CR sélectionnés dans le cadre du volet 2 ont été annoncés le 5 novembre 2018.

À ce jour, Build Ventures, Garage Capital et TandemLaunch ont confirmé la fermeture de leur fonds, car ils ont atteint plus de 50 % de la taille de fonds ciblée. Par ailleurs, ils ont commencé à investir dans des entreprises au fur et à mesure qu'ils poursuivent leurs activités de financement. Les négociations se poursuivent avec les autres bénéficiaires et d'autres fermetures de fonds sont à prévoir bientôt.

Les 7 gestionnaires sélectionnées dans le cadre du volet 2 étaient :

Volet 3 : Investir dans les technologies propres

La transition mondiale vers l'adoption de technologies propres conçues pour améliorer la productivité, accroître l'efficacité des ressources et réduire le gaspillage et la pollution, offre des possibilités économiques aux entreprises canadiennes. En effet, il est prévu que le secteur des technologies propres deviendra une industrie de 26 billions de dollars d'ici 2030. Le Canada occupe présentement le quatrième rang selon un indice mondial des leaders en technologies propres.

Pour poursuivre sur cette lancée, les 3 gestionnaires de fonds de CR suivants, sélectionnés dans le cadre du volet 3, ont été annoncés le 5 juin 2019 :

Sélection de fonds dans le cadre de l'ICCR

Tous les bénéficiaires de l'ICCR ont été sélectionnés grâce à un processus transparent éclairé par les recommandations d'un comité de sélection impartial.

Mesure du rendement

Ce cadre de mesure du rendement (CMR) vise à présenter les paramètres qui serviront à mesurer le rendement de l'ICCR par rapport à ses objectifs et résultats. Le ministère de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique s'est engagé à publier des rapports annuels basés sur les mesures du rendement.

Liens connexes

Personne-ressource

Pour en savoir plus sur le programme de l'ICCR, veuillez contacter le Secrétariat de l'ICCR à capital@canada.ca.

Date de modification :