Grow Companies and Accelerate Clean Growth Roundtable

August 8, 2016—Toronto, ON
Grow Companies and Accelerate Clean Growth
Hosted by Valerie Fox

Area of Focus

How to put Canada onto a firm path towards long-term growth and a higher quality of life through supporting and entrepreneurial and creative society:

  • What does Canada need to do to build, attract and keep the world's best talent?
  • Reimagine how Canada could support startups and growing companies. What would that look like?
  • What are Canada's strengths and can you suggest ways we can capitalize on them to be a global leader in innovation?

Highlights

Talent development and attraction; increasing funding available to student entrepreneurs; engaging youth and women for tech career development; building linkages with international markets; connecting hubs and investing in infrastructure; digital freedom; supporting exporters; reduction of red tape; 3rd party support for entrepreneurs; leverage Canadian success stories and promote Canadian brand; and, better accommodation of international VC investments.

Summary of Discussion

Social media event at TechTO, followed by a Twitter-Talk to engage with Canadians on Canada's Inclusive Innovation Agenda.

Key Implementation Considerations/Challenges

Talent Attraction: There is difficulty in retaining talent, and Canada is losing highly-skilled individuals to the United States (Silicon Valley/San Francisco/Boston). There is a relative lack of "hardware" expertise in Canada. Career stability is a consideration in the technology innovation ecosystem—many large multi-national firms with operations in Canada offer short-term contracts.

Talent Funding: A big part of supporting talent development will require increasing the eligibility of student-entrepreneur access to academic funding grants/loans/scholarships. This could help decrease prohibitive financial burdens on students looking to launch their first ideas.

Red Tape: Start-ups and SMEs can find the process of navigating regulatory requirements burdensome. Programs like SR&ED are beneficial, but there can be challenges qualifying for this program.

Infrastructure: A lack of infrastructure connecting Canadian tech hubs, especially between the Kitchener/Waterloo–Toronto corridor, creates challenges for establishing local partnerships, and is impacting growth potential in these markets.

Access to Capital: While available funding for start-ups/SMEs is viewed positively, there are areas for improvement related to the pool of private investment in competitor jurisdictions. When companies receive international VC funding, especially from the US, they can encounter eligibility challenges for programs that help make Canada a competitive jurisdiction to start and grow a business. Need to reduce barriers to leveraging US-based VC investors, as well as to encourage Canadian VC's into increased investments.

Top Ideas/Outcomes

Market Leaders: While Canada has produced several global market leaders in the tech and innovation space, we can do more to help build Canada's brand and international profile. We need to champion Canada's success stories to help serve as role models and mentors for the next generation of entrepreneurs to help strengthen the community/ecosystem.

Partnerships: There are opportunities for partnerships among the innovation community in non-US economic regions, such as Latin America, which would increase Canada's diversification of trade relationships and attraction of international talent. Both regions share a number of common variables, most importantly, the structural 'brain drain' to US-based technology hubs, and could benefit from reciprocal exchanges and opportunities to leverage each other as 'low cost' entry points into new markets.

Talent Development: Canada should look to increasing entrepreneurial based learning programs/curricula for youth to help develop local talent. There is a need to increase linkages/partnerships with youth across borders (domestically and internationally) in technology hubs to facilitate the development of entrepreneurially focused communities. Funding opportunities (scholarships, etc) would encourage participation among Canada's youth into innovation based technology areas.

Expanding Education Delivery Models: There is an opportunity to accredit programs like Tech bootcamps (such as Bitmaker) and talent development programs which train participants with valuable technological (coding), and entrepreneurial skills to facilitate careers changes. This would improve participation in these programs, leading to the development of certain skills, such as those needed for technical fields.

Inclusive Engagement: Canada has notable strengths in the diversity of its population. Increasing government and industry engagement with the civil population, whether through educational or participatory campaigns, could help tap Canada's social assets and increase innovation through dialogue.

3rd Party Delivery: There are opportunities to explore third party delivery options to help reduce administrative regulatory compliance requirements on entrepreneurs (such as automated software programs).

Regulatory Review: Government should continue to review business regulations and policies at set intervals (every 5–10 years) to assess how they are working, and ensure they remain relevant and effective.

Date modified:

Table ronde visant à assurer la croissance des entreprises et à accélérer la croissance propre

8 août 2016 — Toronto (ON)
Assurer la croissance des entreprises et accélérer la croissance propre
Présenté par Valerie Fox

Domaine d'intérêt

Comment fermement placer le Canada sur la voie de la croissance à long terme et améliorer la qualité de vie en appuyant une société entrepreneuriale et créatrice :

  • Que doit faire le Canada pour perfectionner, attirer et garder les meilleurs talents du monde?
  • Repensez à la façon dont le Canada pourrait appuyer les entreprises en démarrage et en croissance. De quelle façon s'y prendrait-il?
  • Quelles sont les forces du Canada? Avez-vous des suggestions quant à la manière dont nous pourrions miser sur ces entreprises en vue d'être un chef de file mondial en matière d'innovation?

Faits saillants

Perfectionner et attirer des talents; accroître les fonds offerts aux étudiants entrepreneurs; mobiliser les jeunes et les femmes aux fins de perfectionnement professionnel en technologie; établir des liens avec des marchés internationaux; établir des liens avec les centres et investir dans l'infrastructure; liberté numérique; appuyer les exportateurs; réduire les lourdeurs administratives; soutien aux entrepreneurs par des tiers; tirer parti des réussites canadiennes et faire la promotion de l'image de marque du Canada; et mieux adapter les investissements internationaux de CR.

Résumé de la discussion

Activité sur les médias sociaux lors de TechTO, suivie d'une discussion sur Twitter pour dialoguer avec les Canadiens au sujet du Programme d'innovation inclusif du Canada. 

Principales considérations et principaux défis à la mise en œuvre

Attraction de talents : Il est difficile de conserver les talents, et le Canada perd des personnes hautement spécialisées au bénéfice des États-Unis (Silicon Valley/San Francisco/Boston). Il y a un manque relatif d'expertise en « logiciels » au Canada. La stabilité professionnelle est un élément dont il faut tenir compte dans l'écosystème d'innovation en technologie — de nombreuses grandes multinationales menant des activités au Canada offrent des contrats à court terme.

Financement des talents : Une grande partie du soutien du perfectionnement des talents exigera l'élargissement de l'admissibilité des étudiants-entrepreneurs à des subventions/prêts/bourses universitaires. Cela pourrait contribuer à réduire les fardeaux financiers prohibitifs pour les étudiants qui souhaitent lancer leurs premières idées.

Lourdeurs administratives : Les entreprises en démarrage et les PME peuvent trouver que la navigation à travers les exigences réglementaires est lourde. Les programmes comme le RS&DE sont avantageux, mais il peut être difficile de se qualifier pour ce programme.

Infrastructure : Le manque d'infrastructure reliant les centres technologiques canadiens, particulièrement entre le corridor Kitchener/Waterloo–Toronto, crée des défis pour l'établissement de partenariats locaux, et a des incidences sur la croissance potentielle dans ces marchés.

Accès au capital : Bien que le financement disponible pour les entreprises en démarrage/PME soit vu de manière positive, il y a des points à améliorer en lien avec le bassin d'investissements privés dans les administrations concurrentes. Lorsque les entreprises reçoivent un financement en capital-risque de l'étranger, particulièrement des États-Unis, elles peuvent faire face à des obstacles liés à l'admissibilité aux programmes qui contribuent à faire du Canada un pays concurrentiel pour démarrer et faire croître une entreprise. Il faut réduire les obstacles à la mise à profit des investisseurs en capital-risque établis aux États-Unis, et encourager les sociétés canadiennes de capital-risque à augmenter leurs investissements.

Principales idées et principaux résultats

Chefs de file du marché : Bien que le Canada ait produit plusieurs chefs de file mondiaux dans le marché de la technologie et de l'innovation, nous pouvons en faire plus pour aider à renforcer l'image de marque du Canada et son profil à l'échelle internationale. Nous devons promouvoir les réussites du Canada afin d'être des modèles et des mentors pour la prochaine génération d'entrepreneur en vue de renforcer la collectivité/l'écosystème.

Partenariats : Il existe des possibilités de partenariats au sein de la communauté d'innovation dans les régions économiques non américaines, comme l'Amérique latine, ce qui permettrait d'accroître la diversification des relations commerciales et l'attraction de talents internationaux. Les deux régions ont plusieurs variables en communs, principalement « l'exode des cerveaux » structurel vers les centres technologiques américains, et elles pourraient bénéficier d'échanges et d'occasions réciproques pour tirer profit l'une de l'autre en tant que points d'entrée « à faible coût » dans de nouveaux marchés.

Perfectionnement des talents : Le Canada devrait envisager d'accroître le nombre de programmes d'apprentissage axés sur l'entrepreneuriat pour les jeunes afin d'aider à perfectionner les talents locaux. Il faut accroître les liens/partenariats avec les jeunes au-delà des frontières (au pays et à l'étranger) dans les centres technologiques pour faciliter le développement de collectivités axées sur l'entrepreneuriat. Offrir des possibilités de financement (bourses, etc.) encouragerait les jeunes Canadiens à participer dans des domaines technologiques axés sur l'innovation.

Expansion des modèles de prestation d'éducation :Il est possible d'accréditer des programmes comme des camps de formation en matière de technologie (p. ex. Bitmaker) et des programmes de perfectionnement des talents qui permettent aux participants d'acquérir des compétences précieuses en matière de technologie (codage) et d'entrepreneuriat pour faciliter les changements de carrière. Cela permettrait d'accroître la participation dans ces programmes, menant au développement de certaines compétences, comme celles requises pour les domaines techniques.

Participation inclusive : Le Canada possède des forces notables liées à la diversité de sa population. Un engagement accru de l'industrie et du gouvernement avec la population civile, que ce soit au moyen de campagnes d'éducation ou de participation, pourrait aider à exploiter les actifs sociaux du Canada et à accroître l'innovation grâce au dialogue.

Prestation par des tiers : Il existe des possibilités d'explorer des options de prestation par des tiers pour aider à réduire les exigences administratives relatives au respect de la réglementation imposées aux entrepreneurs (comme les logiciels automatisés).

Examen réglementaire : Le gouvernement devrait continuer d'examiner la réglementation et les politiques commerciales à des intervalles réguliers (tous les 5–10 ans) pour évaluer leur rendement et s'assurer qu'elles demeurent pertinentes et efficaces.

Date de modification :