Compete in a Digital World Roundtable

August 19, 2016—Montreal, QC
Compete in a Digital World and Entrepreneurial and Creative Society
Hosted by Austin Hill

Area of Focus

Generate new and creative ideas to allow Canada to compete in a digital world and become an entrepreneurial and creative society:

  • How can the Government support and engender an entrepreneurial society?
  • How can Canada attract, retain and develop high-end talent?
  • How can the government ensure that Canada, its students and companies can compete in a digital world?
  • Is there a role for Government to help encourage investment in specific sectors of the digital economy?

Highlights

Canada has a strong research base but must do more to retain and attract back its most talented researchers, entrepreneurs and international talent. Support for Research and Development must be supplemented by resources for commercialization to achieve results. We must invest in the national digital infrastructure, facilitate data sharing, and foster more competition in the wireless communications industries to allow Canadian entrepreneurs, businesses and universities to work together, be more creative and achieve a global reach.

Summary of Discussion

Entrepreneurship: We need to ensure that youth and researchers are ready to be entrepreneurs. Entrepreneurship skills should be an integral part of the curriculum, as early as high school, and throughout university. Canada can learn from other countries how to foster an entrepreneurial society—Sweden successfully did so by creating and investing in entrepreneurship/innovation district, attracting talent from all over Europe and convincing major companies with global reach to work with smaller companies.

Commercialization: A cultural change is required so that applied research is valued as much as fundamental research within the university system. Expertise must be shared between business and academia.

Digital infrastructure: Investments are required to improve the national digital infrastructure. Canadian providers of wireless services could offer more bandwidth (100 Mb/s). Connectivity is the building block of the future. Maker facilities (3D printers, robotics, etc.) are abundant but not sufficiently known by potential users.

Digital skills: Young Canadians are great users and adopters of new technologies but they are not taught or enabled to create. Canadian businesses must adopt more of the existing technologies.

Key Implementation Considerations/Challenges

Commercialization: Commercialization efforts, such as the objectives of the Computer Research Institute of Montreal need increased support to scale up. In attracting multinationals, Canada must foster collaboration that will engage Canadian businesses, especially small and medium sized enterprises (SME). This will contribute to growing the national entrepreneurial ecosystem and create spillovers in the rest of the market which will help scale up and accelerate the commercialization of research results.

Culture: A cultural shift is required so Canada can build an environment where researchers and entrepreneurs can achieve their dreams without having to leave the country. We must create a sense of belonging and offer financial incentives to attract Canadian researchers back to Canada and help start-ups to achieve global reach and succeed.

Funding mechanisms: Investment funds and Government funding organisms could take advantage of the changes in the digital society and to allow small and medium sized enterprises to invest in digital technologies. Extra tax incentives should be offered to companies that invest in Innovation Zones. Canada could look at capital gains transfer mechanisms similar to those of the United States.

Top Ideas/Outcomes

Innovation Zones: The Government should create and invest in innovation zones or districts in major urban areas (Montréal, Vancouver, Toronto, Calgary, etc.) to allow businesses and universities to work together, to test discoveries and to improve the commercialization of research results. These zones would promote collaboration around common objectives and would include working groups comprised of small and medium sized enterprises, start-ups, universities and other stakeholders.

Knowledge sharing: A mechanism is necessary to allow SMEs and others to share knowledge to spark information technology (IT) adoption and generate ideas on how to deal with technological changes and survive them. The Government could initiate a forum (like Singularity University) that brings CEOs together to understand long-term global trends, discuss "disaster plans" and develop innovation strategies for the future.

Talent/Education: Entrepreneurship skills and digital literacy must be taught early and be an integral part of the education system. Continuing education is essential to allow entrepreneurs, researchers and businesses to keep up with rapid technological advancements. Creating linkages between students and small and medium sized enterprises would help disseminate digital skills and knowledge. Cultural changes, financial incentives, and more flexible immigration policies are needed to retain and attract highly talented individuals.

Digital Infrastructure: The national digital infrastructure must be improved to allow businesses and universities to innovate, share data and compete internationally. We need to create the conditions that allow people and businesses to be creative—build high-speed highway, make high speeds widely available, build infrastructure, facilitate data sharing and management.

Regulations: Telecommunications foreign ownership rules could be relaxed to increase the funding available to improve our digital infrastructures. Data sharing regulations should be similar to copyright regulations. The Government should be at the forefront in updating regulations on IT technologies to ensure competitiveness and fairness in their application across industries.

Data sharing: Open data and data sharing are essential for innovation but Canadian regulations might be a deterrent for foreign parties bringing their data here. Companies need to have interoperability capabilities and smart cities must be interconnected and have a strong and reliable infrastructure. Universities could act as "open labs" to allow companies and start-ups to test new technologies. There is an opportunity for the Government to finance such initiatives.

Date modified:

Table ronde visant à livrer concurrence dans un monde numérique

19 août 2016 —Montréal (QC)
Livrer concurrence dans un monde numérique et instaurer une société entrepreneuriale et créatrice
Présenté par Austin Hill

Domaine d'intérêt

Générer des idées nouvelles et créatrices pour permettre au Canada de livrer concurrence dans un monde numérique et devenir une société entrepreneuriale et créatrice :

  • Comment le gouvernement peut-il appuyer et engendrer une société entrepreneuriale?
  • Comment le Canada peut-il attirer, maintenir en poste et développer une main-d'œuvre qualifiée?
  • Comment le gouvernement peut-il s'assurer que le Canada, ses étudiants et ses entreprises peuvent livrer concurrence dans un monde numérique?
  • Le gouvernement peut-il s'investir d'un rôle pour aider à favoriser les investissements dans des secteurs précis de l'économie numérique?

Faits saillants

Le Canada a une excellente assise de recherche mais il doit faire davantage pour maintenir en poste et faire revenir ses chercheurs, ses entrepreneurs et sa main-d'œuvre internationale les plus talentueux. Le financement de la recherche et du développement doit être complété par des ressources visant la commercialisation afin d'obtenir des résultats. Nous devons investir dans l'infrastructure numérique nationale, faciliter l'échange de données et favoriser une plus grande concurrence dans les industries des communications sans fil afin de permettre aux entrepreneurs, aux entreprises et aux universités du Canada de travailler ensemble, d'être plus créatifs et d'atteindre une portée internationale.

Résumé de la discussion

Entrepreneuriat : Nous devons nous assurer queles jeunes et les chercheurs sont prêts à devenir des entrepreneurs. Les compétences en entrepreneuriat devraient faire partie intégrante du cursus, dès l'école secondaire et tout au long de l'université. Le Canada peut s'inspirer d'autre pays pour favoriser une société entrepreneuriale. La Suède a réussi en créant un district d'entrepreneuriat et d'innovation et en y investissant, en attirant une main-d'œuvre de partout en Europe et en persuadant de grandes entreprises d'envergure internationale à travailler avec des entreprises de plus petite taille.

Commercialisation : Un changement culturel est exigé afin que la recherche appliquée soit valorisée autant que la recherche fondamentale au sein du système universitaire. L'expertise doit être partagée entre les entreprises et les universités.

Infrastructure numérique : Des investissements sont requis afin d'améliorer l'infrastructure numérique nationale. Les fournisseurs canadiens de services sans fil pourraient offrir une plus grande largeur de bande (100 Mo/s). La connectivité est l'élément fondamental de l'avenir. Les installations de fabricant (imprimantes 3D, robotique, etc.) sont très nombreuses mais insuffisamment connues des utilisateurs potentiels.

Compétences numériques : Les jeunes Canadiens sont de grands utilisateurs et adeptes des nouvelles technologies mais on ne leur enseigne pas à créer et ils n'ont pas la capacité de le faire. Les entreprises canadiennes doivent adopter un plus grand nombre de technologies existantes.

Principales considérations et principaux défis à la mise en œuvre

Commercialisation : Les efforts de commercialisation, tels que les objectifs du Centre de recherche informatique de Montréal, doivent recevoir un financement accru pour évoluer. Afin d'attirer les multinationales, le Canada doit favoriser la collaboration qui fera participer les entreprises canadiennes, en particulier les petites et moyennes entreprises. Cela contribuera à la croissance de l'écosystème entrepreneurial national et créera des retombées dans le reste du marché, ce qui aidera à évoluer et accélérer la commercialisation des résultats de la recherche.

Culture : Un changement culturel est exigé afin que le Canada puisse bâtir un environnement où les chercheurs et les entrepreneurs peuvent réaliser leurs rêves sans avoir à quitter le pays. Nous devons créer un sentiment d'appartenance et offrir des incitatifs financiers pour faire revenir les chercheurs canadiens au Canada et aider les entreprises en démarrage à atteindre une portée internationale et réussir.

Mécanismes de financement : Les fonds d'investissement et les organismes de financement du gouvernement pourraient profiter des changements dans la société numérique et permettre aux petites et moyennes entreprises d'investir dans les technologies numériques. Des incitatifs fiscaux supplémentaires devraient être offerts aux entreprises qui investissent dans les zones d'innovation. Le Canada pourrait examiner des mécanismes de transfert des gains en capital semblables à ceux des États-Unis.

Principales idées et principaux résultats

Zones d'innovation : Le gouvernement devrait créer des zones ou des districts d'innovations dans les grands centres urbains (Montréal, Vancouver, Toronto, Calgary, etc.) et y investir afin de permettre aux entreprises et aux universités de travailler ensemble pour mettre les découvertes à l'essai et améliorer la commercialisation des résultats de la recherche. Ces zones favoriseraient la collaboration autour d'objectifs communs et comprendraient des groupes de travail composés de petites et moyennes entreprises, d'entreprises en démarrage, d'universités et d'autres parties intéressées.

Partage des connaissances : Un mécanisme est nécessaire pour permettre aux petites et moyennes entreprises et à d'autres de partager les connaissances afin de susciter l'adoption des technologies de l'information et de générer des idées sur la façon de composer avec les changements technologiques et d'y survivre. Le gouvernement pourrait lancer un forum (comme la Singularity University) qui rassemble des directeurs généraux afin de comprendre les tendances mondiales à long terme, de discuter des « plans d'intervention en cas de catastrophe » et d'élaborer des stratégies d'innovation pour l'avenir.

Personnel compétent et éducation : Les compétences en entrepreneuriat et les connaissances numériques doivent être enseignées tôt et faire partie intégrante du système d'éducation. L'éducation permanente est essentielle pour permettre aux entrepreneurs, aux chercheurs et aux entreprises de suivre le rythme de l'évolution rapide des technologiques. La création de liens entre les étudiants et les petites et moyennes entreprises aiderait à diffuser les compétences et les connaissances numériques. Des changements culturels, des incitatifs financiers et des politiques d'immigration plus souples sont nécessaires pour maintenir en poste et attirer des personnes hautement qualifiées.

Infrastructure numérique : L'infrastructure numérique nationale doit être améliorée pour permettre aux entreprises et aux universités d'innover, d'échanger des données et de livrer concurrence sur la scène internationale. Nous devons créer les conditions qui permettent aux personnes et aux entreprises d'être créatives : construire une autoroute à haute vitesse, rendre les vitesses élevées largement accessibles et faciliter l'échange et la gestion des données.

Règlements : Les règles de propriété étrangère en télécommunications pourraient être assouplies afin d'accroître le financement disponible pour améliorer nos infrastructures numériques. Les règlements relatifs à l'échange des données devraient être comparables au Règlement sur le droit d'auteur. Le gouvernement devrait être à l'avant-garde de la mise à jour des règlements sur les technologies informatiques afin d'assurer la compétitivité et l'équité dans leur application à l'échelle des industries.

Échange de données : Les données ouvertes et l'échange de données sont essentiels pour l'innovation, mais les règlements canadiens pourraient être dissuasifs pour les parties étrangères qui transfèrent leurs données ici. Les entreprises doivent disposer de capacités d'interopérabilité et les villes intelligentes doivent être interconnectées et dotées d'une infrastructure solide et fiable. Les universités pourraient agir en tant que « laboratoires ouverts » pour permettre aux entreprises et aux entreprises en démarrage de tester les nouvelles technologies. Le gouvernement a la possibilité de financer de telles initiatives.

Date de modification :