Innovation Roundtable

August 18, 2016—Montreal, QC
Across all Action Areas
Hosted by Austin Hill and Janie Béïque

Area of Focus

1) Entrepreneurial and creative society; 2) Global Science Excellence; 3) World Leading clusters and partnerships; 4) Grow Companies & Accelerate Clean Growth; 5) Compete in a digital world; 6) Ease of Doing Business.


Opportunities exist for the government to develop a vision, promote Canada's brand and lead by example.

Clusters are strong and well-structured in a number of sectors across Quebec's economy and we need to build on this. The geographic cluster remains important, and the government should continue facilitating collaboration among the various players as well as collaborative research with other jurisdictions and countries. Although collaboration between industry and universities has significantly improved, universities' processes are too long for SMEs.

The implementation of projects that call on the participation of a number of different groups in Quebec, such as the development of a big data hub, could create major opportunities for inclusive innovation. We also need to create incentives to improve commercialization.

Summary of Discussion

The government should consider efforts to de-risk projects in order to attract foreign capital.;. Review tax incentives, regulations, and programs to encourage increased export opportunities and collective investment in innovation activities. Through a well-articulated and supported innovation strategy, the Government can demonstrate that innovation is a Canadian priority.

Key Implementation Considerations/Challenges

Skilled workers: Quebec attracts a large number of talented foreign students. Although 50% of them wish to stay after they have finished school, only 20% are able to do so, primarily due to immigration issues. The focus should be on measures to facilitate the process for people who wish to stay in Quebec. There is also a need to involve the entire population, including Aboriginal workers, to promote innovation.

Assets: Montreal is well positioned at the global level for big data and other sectors, with its skilled workers, internationally renowned researchers and a conducive environment (inexpensive energy for storing big data). Canada also has a unique health care system that presents major opportunities through the application of big data relating to the management patient files to supporting the development of new and innovative solutions to fight disease.

Digital Internet: Funding the development of IT infrastructure for the digital highway is essential to keeping the economy running smoothly and facilitating public participation. Since Canada has some of the most expensive bandwidth in the world, we should encourage more competition to bring prices down.

Training: Implement a national policy to get youth interested in entrepreneurship and careers in science and technology, starting in grade school. Encourage corporations to engage young people through programs such as Bombardier's Passion pour l'aviation. Encourage continuous training for individuals.

Commercialization: The challenges of business growth are common at this stage. The Industrial Research Assistance Program is still needed and it works well for SMEs, but we have to come up with ways of finding clients and testing markets for new innovative technologies.

Red tape: Tax credits for scientific research and experimental development are too complex for SMEs, and the eligibility criteria do not necessarily encourage innovation. The Small Business Innovation Research program in the United States is a good example of government support program that supports innovation activities among SME's.

International standards: In Canada, Health Canada's product approval process takes over a year, while the Food and Drug Administration's processing time is only a month. To increase our competitiveness, the government should play a more active role by amending, harmonizing and developing regulations, for disruptive technologies in particular.

Top Ideas/Outcomes

Brand image: With a clear vision, the government should support the major mobilization projects that have the potential to stand out internationally and that ensure partnerships between universities, large companies and SMEs. One example in Quebec is SAGE—the mobilization project for the most eco-friendly airplane.

Talent and succession: Attract highly qualified workers or researchers with a new class of visa for people coming to work in start-ups. The digital skills gap within companies may also need to be filled, by supporting the digital shift. Provide entrepreneurship training to youth at an early age.

Lines of business: In Quebec, some sectors and technologies perform well on the global scale, including aeronautics, artificial intelligence, photonics, advanced manufacturing, internet of things and transportation electrification. Projects that integrate several technologies are needed to foster innovation.

Partnership: Foster collaboration between universities and industry with co-op placements. The University of Waterloo model is an example worth following. Promoters that facilitate the coaching and selection of start-ups at university, such as Accélérateur de création d'entreprises technologiques in Sherbrooke, which strives to transform student projects into commercial enterprises, have good success. Give SMEs access to equipment funded by the government and located at the universities.

Intellectual property: To improve university-industry collaboration, two avenues are worth considering: a pilot project that offers a tax incentive to researchers so they work with businesses; and projects like the C2MI collaborative centre, which implemented a royalty agreement between the partners to ensure that the intellectual property stays with the person who takes the business risk. After a success, the professor and university receive money for another project.

Clusters: To be viable, originators that can identify the sector's main issues and find solutions must be mobilized. For sectors where there are no large companies, like clean technologies, companies must be rally behind a common issue to resolve. Increased efforts to promote awareness around Canadian capability during foreign economic missions may lead to increased export opportunities for Canadian companies.

Attraction of companies: Fund joint projects with other countries in Europe and the United States, similar to Tech DemoFunding for foreign companies that form partnerships with Canadian SMEs should be encouraged.

Procurement: To boost SME business activity in Canada, inspiration could be drawn from the United Kingdom, whereby Crown procurements, require bidders to incorporate a percentage of their purchases with local SME's.

Date modified:

Table ronde sur l'innovation

19 août 2016 —Montréal (QC)
Tous les domaines d'action
Présenté par Austin Hill et Janie Béïque

Domaine d'intérêt

1) Société entrepreneuriale et créatrice; 2) Excellence scientifique à l'échelle mondiale; 3) Grappes et partenariats de calibre mondial; 4) Croissance des entreprises et croissance propre; 5) concurrence dans un monde numérique; 6) Conduite des affaires.

Faits saillants

Le gouvernement doit élaborer une vision, promouvoir l'image de marque du Canada et prêcher par l'exemple.

Les grappes sont fortes et bien structurées dans plusieurs secteurs de l'économie du Québec et on doit bâtir sur cela. La grappe géographique demeure importante et le gouvernement devrait continuer à faciliter la collaboration entre les joueurs et la recherche collaborative avec d'autres juridictions et pays. Même si la collaboration entre l'industrie et les universités s'est significativement améliorée, les processus des universités sont trop longs pour les PMEs.

La mise en œuvre de projets mobilisateurs transversaux au Québec pourrait susciter des opportunités majeures d'innovation inclusive, par exemple le développement d'un pôle en big data. Pour innover, développer des projets qui traversent les cycles politiques. On doit également créer des incitatifs pour améliorer la commercialisation.

Résumé de la discussion

Le gouvernement doit dérisquer les projets afin d'attirer, entre autres, des capitaux étrangers. Il doit également via des mesures fiscales incitatives ou des règlements et programmes faciliter l'exportation et encourager l'investissement collectif à l'innovation. Le gouvernement doit donner l'exemple en démontrant que l'innovation est une priorité au Canada et en trouvant de nouvelles façons de la financer. Par exemple, l'émission d'obligations d'épargne pour stimuler l'innovation dans les secteurs ou technologies clés.

Principales considérations et principaux défis à la mise en œuvre

Travailleurs qualifiés :Le Québec attire beaucoup d'étudiants talentueux étrangers. Bien que 50 % d'entre eux veulent rester après leurs études, seulement 20 % peuvent le faire, notamment à cause, des enjeux d'immigration. Des mesures pour faciliter le processus aux personnes qui souhaitent rester au Québec seraient à privilégier. Il faut également mettre toute la population à contribution pour favoriser les innovations, incluant les travailleurs autochtones.

Atouts : Montréal est bien positionné à l'internationale pour certains secteurs d'activités, dont le big data avec la présence de travailleurs qualifiés, des chercheurs de renommée mondiale et un environnement propice (énergie peu couteuse pour entreposer les données massives). Le Canada possède également un système de santé unique au monde qui présente des opportunités majeures avec l'application du big data aux dossiers des patients pour trouver des cures.

Internet numérique : Le gouvernement devrait financer les infrastructures nécessaires pour développer l'autoroute numérique essentielle au bon fonctionnement de l'économie et à la participation des citoyens. Comme le Canada est l'un des pays où la bande passante est l'une des plus dispendieuses au monde, nous devrions favoriser plus de compétition pour faire baisser les prix.
Formation : Mettre en œuvre une politique nationale pour intéresser les jeunes dès le primaire à l'entrepreneuriat et aux métiers scientifiques et technologiques. Inciter les grandes entreprises à mobiliser les jeunes, avec des programmes comme Passion pour l'aviation de Bombardier. Encourager la formation continue des gens.

Commercialisation : Le défi de la croissance des entreprises se trouve à ce stade. Le Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle est toujours pertinent et fonctionne bien pour les PMEs, mais il faut des mesures pour trouver des clients et tester les marchés et les technologies.

Paperasserie : Les crédits d'impôt pour la recherche scientifique et le développement expérimental sont trop complexes pour les PMEs et les critères d'éligibilité n'encouragent pas nécessairement l'innovation. Le gouvernement pourrait s'inspirer du programme Small Business Innovation Research aux États-Unis.

Normes internationales : Au Canada, le processus d'approbation de produits de Santé Canada est de plus d'un an, tandis que le délai de traitement est de seulement un mois par la Food and Drug Administration.Pour favoriser notre compétitivité, le gouvernement devrait être plus actif pour modifier, arrimer et développer les règlements, notamment pour les technologies de ruptures.

Principales idées et principaux résultats

Image de marque : Avec une vision claire, le gouvernement devrait appuyer les grands projets mobilisateurs qui ont le potentiel de se démarquer à l'internationale et qui assurent le partenariat entre les universités, les grandes entreprises et les PMEs. Un exemple au Québec est SAGE — le projet mobilisateur de l'avion le plus écologique.

Talent et relève : Attirer des travailleurs ou des chercheurs hautement qualifiés avec une nouvelle classe de visa pour les personnes qui viennent travailler dans les start-ups. Il serait aussi nécessaire de répondre aux lacunes en terme de compétentes numérique au sein des entreprises, en appuyant le virage numérique et la formation de la relève dans celles-ci. Former les jeunes à l'entrepreneuriat en bas âge.

Secteurs d'activités :Au Québec, certains secteurs et technologies se positionnent bien à l'échelle mondiale dont l'aéronautique, l'intelligence artificielle, la photonique, la fabrication de pointe, l'internet des objets et l'électrification des transports. Il faut des projets intégrateurs de plusieurs technologies pour favoriser l'innovation.

Partenariat : Favoriser la collaboration entre les universités et l'industrie avec des stages coopératifs. Le modèle de l'université de Waterloo est un exemple à suivre. Les accélérateurs qui facilitent l'encadrement et la sélection des start-ups à l'université, comme l'accélérateur de création d'entreprises technologiques de Sherbrooke visant à transformer des projets étudiants en entreprises commerciales ont un bon succès. Permettre aux PMEs l'accès aux équipements financés par le gouvernement et situés dans les universités.

Propriété intellectuelle : Pour améliorer la collaboration université-industrie, deux pistes à considérer : un projet pilote qui offre un incitatif fiscal aux chercheurs pour qu'ils travaillent avec les entreprises; et des projets comme le centre de collaboration du C2MI qui a mis en place une entente entre les partenaires sur la royauté et assure que la propriété intellectuelle demeure à la personne qui prend le risque commercial. Suite à un succès, le professeur et l'université obtiennent de l'argent pour un prochain projet.

Grappes : Pour être viable, il faut mobiliser les donneurs d'ordre qui peuvent identifier les principaux enjeux du secteur et trouver les solutions. Pour les secteurs où il n'y a pas de grandes entreprises, comme les technologies propres, il faut mobiliser les entreprises avec un enjeu commun à résoudre. Le gouvernement doit également multiplier les missions économiques à l'étranger pour faire rayonner les entreprises.

Attraction des entreprises : Financer les projets conjoints avec les autres pays, de style Tech Demo, particulièrement avec les États-Unis et l'Europe. Le financement pour les entreprises étrangères qui font des partenariats avec les PMEs canadiennes devrait être encouragé. Les participants ont aussi discuté des 17 zones universitaires et industrielles aux États-Unis où les corporations qui s'y installent, et également les employés, ne paient aucun impôt pendant une durée déterminée.

PMEs : Pour augmenter leur nombre, il serait possible de s'inspirer du Royaume-Uni qui oblige les soumissionnaires à intégrer un pourcentage de leur achat provenant des PMEs locales dans leurs appels d'offres auprès du gouvernement.

Date de modification :