Entrepreneurial and Creative Society Roundtable

August 22, 2016—Calgary, AB
Entrepreneurial and Creative Society
Hosted by Mark Podlasly

Area of Focus

Foster a culture of innovation and entrepreneurship, build skills to embrace global changes, leverage Canada's diversity and attract top global talent:

  • How can Canada become the best country in attracting and developing talent?
  • How do we work together to equip youth with the right skills for the future economy?
  • What more can be done to cement Canada's place in social entrepreneurship

Highlights

Addressed various issues across Canada's innovation ecosystem including the need for a world-class education system, the need to develop and attract highly skilled talent, the importance of engaging youth in meaningful work and the role a strong social enterprise sector plays investing in areas of R&D and inclusive innovation.

Summary of Discussion

The Government could promote a definition of "social entrepreneurship" that would appeal to interested entrepreneurs.

There is a need for a world-class education system (K-12 through post-secondary) is a key driver for attracting and developing talent. Canada may be seen as having a limited market for highly qualified and highly skilled personnel owing to its limited market size. Need to develop creative, design-thinking individuals.

Funding and supports are in place in Canada to support creating and testing new innovation, but that there are challenges between developing a new technology and its commercialization/mass production. De-risking the adoption of innovation will be important, in particular for large operations based organizations operating in traditionally sectors such as the gas and oil sector. Companies would sometimes rather be the first second-adopter of new technologies than take expensive risks on new technologies.

Key Implementation Considerations/Challenges

Education: It is important to align education curricula with the workforce of tomorrow by encouraging creativity, problem solving and "design thinking" while still ensuring that core skills of reading, writing and mathematics are taught in relevant, applicable ways. The role of private-public partnerships in ensuring that skills match employer needs, creating greater linkages between the K-12 system and post-secondary researchers to inspire the pursuit of education and the need for cohesion between provinces in developing a coherent education strategy.

Skills: Need to develop creative, design-thinking individuals. Need for improved recognition of immigrant qualifications, attracting foreign students and talent, and supporting centres of research excellence that push the boundaries of research disciplines.

Social Entrepreneurship: It was noted that there are some regulatory gaps in Canada's social enterprise sector, in particular the need for a federal hybrid incorporation structure that considers both the financial and social missions of social enterprises as is found in British Columbia and the United Kingdom. It was suggested that Government promote approaches to social enterprises that fundamentally seek to alter social conditions for Canadians.

Education: Citing the complexity of navigating Canada's distinct provincial and territorial education systems, the Government could look at a Canadian Education strategy in consultation with provinces. Participants emphasized that education should promote creativity and problem-solving, examples of which included the novel approaches to pedagogy offered at youth summer camps organized by the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology.

Innovation Funding Platforms: There was recognition for the Government and organizations to better identify and fund research and development into grand challenges requiring step-change innovations. Examples of this included EVOK Innovations and the COSIA Carbon X-Prize.

Top Ideas/Outcomes

De-risking Innovation Adoption: There should be incentives created in Canada to help de-risk both R&D and the adoption of new technologies. Companies in Canada believe there is too much risk in being first adopters and thus are opting to be first at second-adoption.

Education: In order to compete for international students Canada requires a holistic, country-wide education strategy developed in consultation with the provinces. Three examples were noted: Australia engages international students via the Ministry of Tourism and International Education; Sheridan College 'connect with a trades person' program to give young people an opportunity to see what a trade is like at an early stage; and the credit for learning program at Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT) which allows grade school students to earn credits for trades at SAIT 'summer camp'.

Skills: Create centres of excellence or promote clusters in Canada that exploit the country's competitive advantages and pursues research at the cutting edge of science. Additionally, encourage greater collaboration and open innovation among Canadian companies and academia.

Social Entrepreneurship: Three specific recommendations were made to better grow and support Canada's social enterprise sector: 1) Government could encourage market development opportunities for social enterprises by doing more social screening in the procurement process; 2) Government could stimulate investment in Canada's social finance sector by providing matching funds to social enterprises receiving investment or by supplementing the supply of social finance capital available; and, 3) Government could enhance business offerings available to social enterprises. There needs to be a hybrid form of business that bridges the limitations that currently exist for not-for-profit organizations and publicly traded companies.

Date modified:

Table ronde visant à instaurer une société entrepreneuriale et créatice

22 août 2016 —Calgary (AB)
Assurer la croissance des entreprises et accélérer la croissance propre
Présenté par Mark Podlasly

Domaine d'intérêt

Favoriser une culture de l'innovation et de l'entrepreneuriat, accroître les compétences pour s'adapter aux changements mondiaux, tirer profit de la diversité du Canada et attirer la main-d'œuvre la plus qualifiée au monde :

  • Comment le Canada peut-il devenir le meilleur pays au monde pour ce qui est d'attirer la main d'œuvre et développer ses compétences?
  • Comment pouvons-nous collaborer afin de doter les jeunes des bonnes compétences pour réussir dans l'économie de l'avenir?
  • Que peut-on faire de plus pour solidifier la place du Canada en matière d'entrepreneuriat social?

Faits saillants

Diverses questions ont été soulevées touchant l'étendue de l'écosystème de l'innovation au Canada, notamment le besoin de nous doter d'un système d'éducation de niveau mondial et de développer et d'attirer une main-d'œuvre hautement qualifiée, l'importance de mobiliser les jeunes autour d'emplois significatifs et le rôle joué par un secteur robuste de l'économie sociale en investissant dans les domaines de la R et D et de l'innovation inclusive.

Résumé de la discussion

Le gouvernement pourrait mettre de l'avant une définition « d'entrepreneuriat social » qui plairait aux entrepreneurs intéressés.

On a besoin d'un système d'éducation de niveau mondial (de la maternelle à la 12e année et jusqu'au niveau postsecondaire). C'est un facteur clé pour attirer la main-d'œuvre et développer ses compétences. Le Canada pourrait être perçu comme ayant un marché limité pour le personnel hautement qualifié et spécialisé en raison de la taille limitée de son marché. Besoin de former des personnes créatives axées sur la conception.

Le financement et le soutien sont en place au Canada pour soutenir la création et la mise à l'essai d'innovations, mais des difficultés surviennent entre l'étape du développement de nouvelles technologies et leur commercialisation ou production de masse. Il sera important d'atténuer le risque d'adopter l'innovation, en particulier pour les organisations axées sur les grandes opérations dans des secteurs traditionnels tels que les secteurs gazier et pétrolier. Les entreprises préfèrent parfois ne pas être les premières à adopter de nouvelles technologies et attendent au second tour pour ainsi éviter des risques coûteux.

Principales considérations et principaux défis à la mise en œuvre

Éducation : Il importe d'harmoniser les programmes scolaires avec la main-d'œuvre de demain en encourageant la créativité, la résolution de problèmes et la « pensée axée sur la conception » tout en assurant que les habiletés essentielles que sont la lecture, l'écriture et les mathématiques sont enseignées de façon pertinente et applicable. Il faut considérer le rôle des partenariats public-privé pour assurer que les habiletés concordent avec les besoins des employeurs, en créant de meilleurs arrimages entre le système scolaire de la maternelle à la 12e année et les chercheurs postsecondaires afin d'inspirer la poursuite des études et assurer la cohésion entre les provinces dans l'élaboration d'une stratégie cohérente en matière d'éducation.

Habiletés : Besoin de former des personnes créatives axées sur la conception. Il faut assurer une meilleure reconnaissance des qualifications des immigrants, attirer des étudiants et des travailleurs étrangers et soutenir l'excellence des centres de recherche qui font reculer les limites des disciplines de recherche.

Entrepreneuriat social : On a noté qu'il y a des lacunes sur le plan de la réglementation dans le secteur de l'économie sociale au Canada. En particulier, nous avons besoin d'une structure fédérale hybride de constitution en société qui tient compte des missions financière et sociale des entreprises à caractère social, comme cela se fait en Colombie-Britannique et au Royaume-Uni. On a proposé que le gouvernement fasse la promotion d'approches aux entreprises à caractère social qui cherchent fondamentalement à changer les conditions sociales offertes aux Canadiens.

Éducation : Évoquant la complexité de naviguer dans les systèmes d'éducation distincts des provinces et des territoires du Canada, le gouvernement pourrait envisager une stratégie d'éducation canadienne en consultation avec les provinces. Les participants ont souligné que l'éducation devrait promouvoir la créativité et la résolution de problèmes. Les approches pédagogiques inédites offertes aux camps d'été pour jeunes organisés par le Southern Alberta Institute of Technology en sont des exemples.

Plateformes de financement de l'innovation : On a reconnu que le gouvernement et les organisations doivent mieux cerner et financer la recherche et développement autour de grandes questions nécessitant des innovations fondamentales. À titre d'exemple, citons EVOK Innovations et le prix Carbon X de l'Alliance canadienne pour l'innovation dans les sables bitumineux (COSIA).

Principales idées et principaux résultats

Atténuer les risques d'adopter l'innovation : Il devrait y avoir des incitatifs créés au Canada pour aider à atténuer les risques associés à la R et D et à l'adoption de nouvelles technologies. Les entreprises canadiennes croient qu'il y a trop de risque à être les premières à adopter de nouvelles technologies choisissent donc d'attendre au second tour.

Éducation : Pour être concurrentiel et attirer des étudiants étrangers, le Canada doit mettre en place une stratégie d'éducation pancanadienne holistique élaborée en consultation avec les provinces. On a cité trois exemples : l'Australie mobilise les étudiants étrangers au moyen du ministère du Tourisme et de l'Éducation internationale, le programme « rencontrez une personne de métier » du Sheridan College donne l'occasion aux étudiants de voir à quoi ressemble un métier à un stade précoce de leurs études et, enfin, le « camp d'été » du Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT) permet aux écoliers du primaire d'accumuler des crédits en apprenant un métier.

Habiletés : Créer des centres d'excellence ou faire la promotion de grappes au Canada qui exploitent les avantages concurrentiels du pays et effectuent des recherches à la fine pointe de la science. De plus, encourager une plus grande collaboration et l'innovation ouverte parmi les entreprises et universités canadiennes.

Entrepreneuriat à caractère social : Trois recommandations spécifiques ont été formulées pour mieux faire prospérer et soutenir le secteur de l'économie sociale du Canada : 1) Le gouvernement pourrait favoriser des occasions de développement de marchés pour les entreprises à caractère social en effectuant davantage de filtrage socialement responsable dans le processus d'approvisionnement, 2) Le gouvernement pourrait stimuler l'investissement dans le secteur de la finance sociale en fournissant des fonds de contrepartie aux entreprises à caractère social qui reçoivent l'investissement ou en complétant l'offre de capitaux de finance sociale disponibles et 3) Le gouvernement pourrait améliorer l'offre commerciale disponible aux entreprises à caractère social. Nous avons besoin d'une forme hybride d'entreprise pour surmonter les limites actuelles imposées aux organismes à but non lucratif et aux entreprises cotées en bourse.

Date de modification :