Innovation Roundtable

September 9, 2016—Kelowna, B.C.
Across all Action Areas
Hosted by Arvind Gupta

Area of Focus

Entrepreneurial & Creative Society; World Leading Clusters and Partnerships; Grow Companies and Clean Growth

Highlights

Talent: Developing, attracting and retaining it, is central to Canada's success now and in the future.

Culture: Foment more risk tolerance. Need to seed entrepreneurial culture in schools, starting at the primary level and continuing through to post-secondary system.

Capital: Growing companies need access to more debt and risk capital, in particular mid to late-stage financing: examine tax credit system and the Science, Research and Engineering Development (SRED) tax credit program; examine the flow-through share model for applicability to people-intensive sectors (e.g. information communication technologies (ICT)). Be agnostic about capital flow; capital reaping profit is what incents sector growth.

E-commerce, material sciences and clean tech are horizontal technologies that impact all sectors. It is important to encourage energy efficiency across the economy.

Summary of Discussion

Recurrent themes were the need to address talent gaps, the challenge of accessing capital for growing companies and the lack of an entrepreneurial/risk-taking culture in Canada. There was consensus that government move away from trying to be all things to all people, in all regions of Canada. Set up networks that support centres of excellence and strength, and build creative society around that. (Example: agri-food has competitive strength in Kelowna, Prince Edward Island and Guelph. Network these centres and further build up excellence.) Great science excellence resides in Canada. Consider mechanisms to improve knowledge translation, commercialization, and assure connectedness among systems and application to society.

Key Implementation Considerations/Challenges

Every natural resource project in Canada has an Indigenous aspect as Indigenous communities are located where the resources are. Indigenous rights and title need to be recognized and accepted. If First Nations have confidence, their communities will remain healthy and safe, and support resource development. Consider resource development using a holistic model that takes into account environmental integrity; safe and healthy communities; and all values that reflect the web of life. Federal government is in position to affect this. Resource companies can pay for it.

Continue to invest in commercialization systems that look for ways to exploit ideas from universities—better signals to professors, more talent mobilization via students, affiliate programs where companies get inside views. Look carefully at programs that are working before creating new ones. Some cited as effective: CanExport and Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Engage grants. Run programming for longer periods; two year programming is too short-term.

There needs to be significant alignment between the innovation agenda and immigration programming. Wait times, quotas and other administrative barriers need to be eliminated.

To spur greater ICT adoption and enhance company capabilities to reach new markets through tools such as e-commerce, better internet connectivity is an essential requirement in areas beyond CMAs (census metropolitan areas).

Top Ideas/Outcomes

Challenge accelerators to get involved in the K-12 system to promote entrepreneurship and the value of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematical (STEM) skills.

Brand and leverage Canada's reputation of excellence: safe, clean, quality… It is attractive to countries. Some participants cited their success in growing their offshore markets by incorporating these qualities into their business development, marketing and export strategies. It is also important to keep research and development (R&D) connected to core businesses (e.g. University of British Columbia—Okanagan (UBCO) Learning Factory).

Find where excellence and innovation is occurring and reward it, rather than picking winners. Consider federal/provincial programming to empower regional specialities, including a role for government as convener to coalesce consensus around regional strengths. Local champions are key agents of change and are central to a dialogue to build consensus and buy-in.

The vision and strategy of the Innovation Agenda has to be a long-term, a multi-year commitment—and inclusive. Consider innovation in all realms, not just technology and industry: but also health, social sector and civil society, as this will have enduring benefits. Anchor innovation in the resource sector, health care systems and other assets / infrastructure that can't be moved offshore or easily sold.

Create more porous boundaries between universities, public sector delivery systems (e.g. health) and industry. UBCO has attracted a partnership between a Canadian firm, Avcorp, and a multi-national enterprise, Boeing,—to establish a 'learning factory' loaded with a variety of sensing technologies to develop advanced manufacturing, populated with researchers who work on real-world examples.

Put the same amount of effort that has gone into company start-up into scale-up, with a particular focus on support for firms that still need R&D support even if they are revenue-positive. To make it more attractive for capital to come to Canada, look at existing successful models in Canada (digital media and angel tax credits in British Columbia).

Life-long learning is a growing trend. Education institutions need to adapt to both an increasingly older intake cohort and offering education / skills upgrading throughout a working person's life.

Date modified:

Table ronde sur l'innovation

9 septembre 2016 — Kelowna (C.-B.)
Tous les domaines d'action
Présenté par Arvind Gupta

Domaine d'intérêt

Société de libre entreprise et de création; Grappes et partenariats de classe mondiale; Croissance des entreprises et croissance propre

Faits saillants

Talents : Attirer, développer et garder les talents est essentiel pour la réussite du Canada, aujourd'hui et à l'avenir.

Culture : Cultiver une plus grande tolérance au risque; il faut commencer à bâtir une culture entrepreneuriale dans les écoles, du primaire jusqu'au niveau postsecondaire.

Capital : Les entreprises en croissance doivent avoir un accès accru aux emprunts et au capital de risque, particulièrement pour le financement des étapes intermédiaires et finales; examiner le système de crédits d'impôt et le programme de crédits d'impôt en recherche scientifique et développement expérimental (RS-DE); examiner le modèle d'actions accréditives pour vérifier son applicabilité dans les secteurs à forte densité de main-d'œuvre (p. ex. technologies de l'information et des communications); adopter une approche agnostique concernant le flux de capitaux; les profits de capitaux sont ce qui stimule la croissance des secteurs.

Le commerce électronique, les sciences des matériaux et les technologies propres sont des technologies horizontales qui influent sur tous les secteurs. Il est important de soutenir l'efficience énergétique dans toute l'économie.

Résumé de la discussion

Les thèmes récurrents étaient la nécessité de combler les lacunes en matière de talents, les problèmes d'accès au capital pour les entreprises en croissance et l'absence d'une culture entrepreneuriale/de prise de risque au Canada. On s'entend sur le fait que le Canada doit arrêter de tenter de tout faire pour tout le monde dans toutes les régions. Il faut établir des réseaux qui appuient les centres d'excellence et les forces et bâtir une société créative autour de ce concept. (Par exemple, l'agroalimentaire a une bonne capacité concurrentielle à Kelowna, à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et à Guelph. Établir des liens entre ces centres pour renforcer l'excellence.) Nous avons une forte excellence scientifique au Canada. Examiner les mécanismes pouvant améliorer la transmission des connaissances et la commercialisation, et veiller à ce que les systèmes soient connectés et applicables dans la société.

Principales considérations et principaux défis à la mise en œuvre

Tous les projets de ressources naturelles au Canada comportent une composante liée aux autochtones, puisque les collectivités autochtones se trouvent aux mêmes endroits que les ressources convoitées. Les droits et les titres ancestraux des Autochtones doivent être reconnus et acceptés. Si les Premières Nations sont confiantes, leurs collectivités seront saines et sécuritaires, et elles appuieront l'exploitation des ressources. Il faut utiliser un modèle holistique d'exploitation des ressources qui protège l'intégrité environnementale, la santé et la sécurité des collectivités et toutes les valeurs de la toile de la vie. Le gouvernement fédéral est en mesure d'apporter des changements. Les entreprises œuvrant dans le domaine des ressources peuvent le financer.

Continuer d'investir dans des systèmes de commercialisation qui cherchent des moyens d'exploiter les idées provenant des universités — meilleurs signaux pour les professeurs, plus grande mobilisation des talents par l'entremise des étudiants, programmes d'affiliation où les entreprises peuvent avoir des opinions de l'intérieur. Examiner attentivement les programmes qui fonctionnent avant d'en créer de nouveaux. Quelques personnes nomment des programmes efficaces : CanExport et les subventions d'engagement partenarial du Conseil de recherche en sciences naturelles et en génie. Les programmes doivent durer plus longtemps; les programmes de deux ans sont à trop court terme.

Il faut assurer un bon alignement entre le Programme d'innovation et les programmes d'immigration. Les temps d'attente, quotas et autres obstacles administratifs doivent être éliminés.

Pour accroître les taux d'adoption des TIC et la capacité des entreprises à intégrer de nouveaux marchés grâce à des outils comme le commerce en ligne, il est essentiel d'assurer une meilleure connectivité Internet à l'extérieur des régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR).

Principales idées et principaux résultats

Mettre les accélérateurs au défi de participer au système d'éducation de la maternelle à la 12e année pour promouvoir l'entrepreneuriat et la valeur des compétences en science, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques (STIM).

Établir la réputation d'excellence du Canada et la mettre à profit : sécurité, écologie et qualité, des qualités qui attirent les autres pays. Certains participants indiquent qu'ils ont réussi à étendre leur marché à l'étranger en intégrant ces qualités dans leurs stratégies d'expansion, de commercialisation et d'exportation. Il importe aussi de maintenir le lien entre la recherche et le développement (R et D) et les activités fondamentales (p. ex. Université de la Colombie-Britannique — Okanagan (UCBO) Learning Factory).

Trouver les organismes qui font preuve d'excellence et d'innovation et les récompenser, plutôt que de choisir des gagnants. Utiliser les programmes fédéraux/provinciaux pour appuyer les spécialités régionales, p. ex. faire jouer un rôle de rassembleur au gouvernement pour obtenir un consensus quant aux forces des régions. Les champions locaux sont des agents du changement importants et sont au cœur du dialogue visant à atteindre un consensus et l'adhésion.

La vision et la stratégie du Programme d'innovation doivent représenter un engagement pluriannuel à long terme et être inclusives. Il faut voir l'innovation dans tous les domaines, pas seulement dans les technologies et l'industrie — il y a aussi la santé, le secteur social et la société civile, où les avantages se feront sentir longtemps. Ancrer l'innovation dans le secteur des ressources, les systèmes de soins de santé et d'autres biens/infrastructures qui ne peuvent pas être déménagés à l'étranger ou facilement vendus.   

Créer des frontières plus poreuses entre les universités, les systèmes de prestation du secteur public (p. ex. la santé) et l'industrie. L'UCBO a réussi à établir un partenariat entre une entreprise canadienne, Avcorp, et une multinationale, Boeing — pour créer la « Learning Factory », équipée de technologies de détection variées pour développer la fabrication de pointe, où des chercheurs se penchent sur des exemples tirés du vrai monde.

On doit investir autant dans la croissance que dans le démarrage des entreprises, et mettre l'accent sur le soutien aux entreprises qui ont encore besoin d'une aide en R et D, même si elles ont un budget positif. Pour attirer les capitaux au Canada, nous devons examiner les modèles qui ont fait leurs preuves au Canada (médias numériques et crédits d'impôt providentiels en Colombie-Britannique).

L'éducation permanente est une tendance croissante. Les établissements d'enseignement doivent s'adapter à une population étudiante vieillissante et offrir des services d'enseignement/de perfectionnement des compétences tout au long de la vie d'une personne sur le marché du travail.

Date de modification :