Language selection

Search

Industry Strategy Council

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Industry Strategy Council

The Industry Strategy Council is a forum where experienced business leaders share perspectives regarding the impact of COVID-19 on key sectors of the Canadian economy, notably:

  • To identify the scope and depth of COVID-19's impact on industries and inform government's understanding of specific sectoral pressures.
  • To serve as a means to coordinate business communities' input on the impact of COVID-19.

Message from the Chair of the Industry Strategy Council

In launching the Industry Strategy Council, the Government of Canada has mobilized the talent and acumen of Canadian business leaders to shape our country's economic competitiveness amidst new pressures from the COVID-19 pandemic. It is both a great honour and a tremendous responsibility to be asked to chair the Council, and I look forward to working with all members to solidify Canada's economic performance in this new global context.

The Council will create a synergy between the private sector and the Government of Canada to address industry challenges. We want to create an environment in Canada that allows the business community to help address our urgent challenges and impediments to growth.

We will be informed by fact-based analysis, capitalizing on our collective expertise. We will foster dialogue between our industry leaders and government experts, who will weigh various economic and health scenarios as part of our discussions. Our members will consult widely, seeking input and validating their own observations.

The Council aims to put forward concrete ideas for the Government to consider not just for the immediate term but for the long term as well. We will be guided by the principles of transparency and inclusion, ensuring that the diverse perspectives of sectors, regions and communities, including SMEs and Indigenous peoples, are part of our discussions and proposals.

Our actions will be swift; our advice will be strategic and innovative. Our desire is to ensure that Canada remains a robust, resilient, innovative and inclusive country—for the benefit of all Canadians—long after the current pandemic has passed.

Monique Leroux
Chair, Industry Strategy Council

Monique Leroux
Chair, Industry Strategy Council

Industry Strategy Council membership

Monique Leroux, C.M., O.Q., FCPA, FCA, Chair, Industry Strategy Council; Vice Chairman, Fiera Holdings; Former Chair and CEO, Desjardins Group

Monique Leroux is a Companion of the Canadian Business Hall of Fame and Vice-Chairman of Fiera Holdings Inc. She serves as an independent director of global companies such as Michelin (ML-France), Bell/BCE, S&P Global (SPGI), Couche-Tard (ATD) and Lallemand Inc. (privately-owned company).

She served as Chair of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Desjardins Group from March 2008 to April 2016 and as Chair of the Board of Investissement Québec from 2016 to 2020.

Prior to those roles, Ms. Leroux served as Chief Financial Officer of Desjardins Group, Senior Vice-President at RBC (Royal Bank), Chief Operating Officer at Quebecor Inc. and Partner at Ernst and Young (EY) in Canada.

Ms. Leroux is a Member of the Order of Canada, an Officer of the Ordre national du Québec, a Chevalier of the Légion d'honneur (France) and a recipient of the Woodrow Wilson Award (United States).

Meetings

September 28, 2020 — Record of Discussion
September 15, 2020 — Record of Discussion
August 31, 2020 — Record of Discussion
August 18, 2020 — Record of Discussion
August 17, 2020 — Record of Discussion
August 7, 2020 — Record of Discussion
August 4, 2020 — Record of Discussion
July 20, 2020 — Record of Discussion
July 7, 2020 — Record of Discussion
June 22, 2020 — Record of Discussion
June 08, 2020 — Record of Discussion

Contact us

ic.est-tsse.ic@canada.ca

Thank you for your interest in the work of the Industry Strategy Council. All feedback received has helped inform the Council’s work. The window for feedback has now closed.


Associated links

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Conseil sur la stratégie industrielle

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Conseil sur la stratégie industrielle

Le Conseil sur la stratégie industrielle est une tribune qui permet à des gens d'affaires chevronnés d'échanger des points de vue sur les conséquences de la COVID-19 sur les principaux secteurs de l'économie canadienne, notamment :

  • Déterminer la portée et la gravité des conséquences de la COVID-19 sur les industries et aider le gouvernement à faire le point sur les pressions qui touchent des secteurs en particulier.
  • Servir de moyen permettant de coordonner les commentaires formulés par le milieu des affaires sur les conséquences de la COVID-19.

Message de la présidente du Conseil sur la stratégie industrielle

En créant le Conseil sur la stratégie industrielle, le gouvernement du Canada a mobilisé le talent et le savoir-faire de dirigeants d'entreprise du Canada afin de renforcer la compétitivité économique de notre pays, et ce, malgré les nouvelles pressions exercées par la pandémie de COVID‑19. Je suis honorée d'avoir été invitée à présider le Conseil. C'est une très grande responsabilité et j'ai bien hâte de travailler avec tous les membres du Conseil au redressement économique du Canada dans un contexte mondial tout à fait nouveau.

Le Conseil favorisera la synergie entre le secteur privé et le gouvernement du Canada dans le but de trouver des solutions aux présents défis rencontrés par l'industrie. Nous voulons instaurer au pays un contexte économique qui permettra au milieu des affaires de proposer des solutions aux défis les plus urgents et aux obstacles à la croissance.

Les avis que nous fournirons seront fondés sur des faits dûment analysés et enrichis de notre expertise collective. Nous favoriserons le dialogue entre les dirigeants de l'industrie et les experts du gouvernement dans le but d'évaluer les divers scénarios en matière de santé et d'économie. Nos membres mèneront de vastes consultations, et ils chercheront à obtenir divers points de vue et à valider leurs propres observations.

Le Conseil entend soumettre au gouvernement des idées concrètes, non seulement pour le court terme, mais aussi pour le long terme. Des principes de transparence et d'inclusion nous guideront, car nous voulons que les différentes perspectives des secteurs, des régions, des communautés, y compris celles des PME et des peuples autochtones, orientent nos discussions et nos propositions.

Nos actions seront décisives, alors que nos conseils seront stratégiques et innovateurs. Notre désir est de faire en sorte que le Canada demeure un pays fort, résilient et inclusif — au profit de tous les Canadiens — bien après la fin de la pandémie actuelle.

La présidente du Conseil sur la stratégie industrielle,
Monique Leroux

La présidente du Conseil sur la stratégie industrielle,
Monique Leroux

Composition du Conseil sur la stratégie industrielle

Monique Leroux, C.M., O.Q., FCPA, FCA, présidente du Conseil sur la stratégie industrielle, vice-présidente du conseil de Gestion Fiera et ex-présidente et chef de la direction du Mouvement Desjardins

Monique Leroux est compagnon du Temple de la renommée de l'entreprise canadienne et du Temple de la renommée de l'industrie des valeurs mobilières. Elle siège comme membre indépendante aux conseils d'administration de Michelin (ML-France), Bell/BCE, S&P Global (SPGI), Couche-Tard (ATD) et Lallemand Inc. (société privée).

Elle a été présidente du conseil et chef de la direction du Mouvement Desjardins de 2008 à 2016 et présidente du conseil d'Investissement Québec de 2016 à 2020.

Avant d'occuper ces fonctions, Mme Leroux a été chef des finances du Mouvement Desjardins, première vice-présidente chez RBC (Banque Royale), chef des opérations de Québecor inc. et associée du cabinet Ernst & Young (EY) au Canada.

Elle est membre de l'Ordre du Canada, officière de l'Ordre national du Québec, chevalier de la Légion d'honneur (France) et récipiendaire du Prix Woodrow-Wilson (États-Unis).

Réunions

Le 28 septembre 2020 — Compte rendu des discussions
Le 15 septembre 2020 — Compte rendu des discussions
Le 31 août 2020 — Compte rendu des discussions
Le 18 août 2020 — Compte rendu des discussions
Le 17 août 2020 — Compte rendu des discussions
Le 7 août 2020 — Compte rendu des discussions
Le 4 août 2020 — Compte rendu des discussions
Le 20 juillet 2020 — Compte rendu des discussions
Le 7 juillet 2020 — Compte rendu des discussions
Le 22 juin 2020 — Compte rendu des discussions
Le 8 juin 2020 — Compte rendu des discussions

Contactez-nous

ic.est-tsse.ic@canada.ca

Merci de l’intérêt que vous portez aux travaux du Conseil sur la stratégie industrielle. Les commentaires reçus ont permis d’orienter les efforts du Conseil. La période de rétroaction a maintenant pris fin.


Liens connexes

Date de modification :