Candice Didychuk

Intro
My name is Candice Didychuk I am a research scientist at CNL. I work in the area of internal dosimetry research. I am looking at the solubility of biokinetics of different contamination hazards that our workers could be exposed to. Second, is preclinical studies towards some of the targeted alpha therapy research that is being performed at CNL, where I am basically evaluating those entities in the body and determining the dosimetry and the efficiency at targeting tumor sites and treatment of the disease.

Okay, so what would you say to aspiring young women considering a career in the STEM fields? I think I'd say the same thing as I would to anybody else. To me, I feel there's a bit of a misconception that there is less women than men in the field of science. Just based on my experience, I feel like there are way more women especially in my area of work than there are men. So, to me there's a bit of a disconnect there. So I would say just follow what you are interested in and if you do not know exactly what that might be yet, if you don't have an end idea in site it will come. It wasn't until I was into my University years that I kind of started to narrow in on what I truly wanted to do.

What is your favorite part of working at CNL? The first is my team. I work with a lot of great research scientists as well as technologists. The second thing is location and then the third thing would be the opportunities. So, I am a research scientist and there's specific things that I do daily, but there's also endless opportunities to branch out to do different things here. If someone choose to do that, as well.

Date modified:

Candice Didychuk

Présentation
Je m’appelle Candice Didychuk et je suis chercheuse scientifique aux Laboratoires Nucléaires Canadiens. Je travaille dans le domaine de la recherche sur la dosimétrie; j’analyse la solubilité de la biocinétique des différents risques de contamination auxquels pourraient devoir faire face nos travailleurs. Ensuite, mes études précliniques sont orientées vers les recherches faites aux LNC sur l’alpha-immunothérapie et évaluent essentiellement la présence de ces entités dans le corps pour déterminer la dosimétrie et l’efficacité du ciblage des sites tumoraux et du traitement d’autres maladies.

Que diriez-vous aux jeunes femmes qui aspirent à une carrière dans les champs des STIM? Je crois que je leur dirais la même chose qu’à n’importe qui d’autre. Je pense qu’il est faux de dire qu’il y a moins de femmes que d’hommes dans le domaine de la science. Selon mon expérience, il y a beaucoup plus de femmes que d’hommes, surtout dans mon champ de travail. Les perceptions doivent être corrigées. Je leur dirais donc de suivre leurs intérêts et que si elles ne les connaissent pas encore, cela viendra. Ce n’est pas avant l’université que j’ai découvert ce que je voulais vraiment faire.

Que préférez-vous de votre travail aux LNC? D’abord, il y a mon équipe. Je travaille avec de fabuleux chercheurs scientifiques et technologues. Ensuite, il y a l’emplacement et, finalement, les occasions que cela m’apporte. Je suis une chercheuse scientifique et, bien que je fasse certaines choses précises tous les jours, je peux expérimenter toutes sortes d’autres choses. Si quelqu’un choisit de le faire également.

Date de modification :