ECCC Scientists Analyze Long-term Climate Trends

With the release of Canada’s Changing Climate Report (CCCR) earlier this month, climate change is on the minds of many Canadians. Among the CCCR’s many findings, it noted both past and future warming in Canada is, on average, about double the magnitude of global warming.

To outline important ways that our climate has changed to date, ECCC scientists had an article published in Atmosphere-Ocean. Entitled Changes in Canada's Climate: Trends in Indices Based on Daily Temperature and Precipitation Data, their work provides an in-depth look at trends across the country when it comes to daily temperature and precipitation.

Climate trends

The scientists looked at long-term trends, in some areas dating back as far as 1900. Among their many findings, they noted:

  • Summer days (daily maximum >25°C) increased at most locations south of 65°N;
  • Very warm temperatures (95th percentile) have increased across the country, with stronger trends in winter;
  • There are stronger warming trends at the lower end of the daily temperature distribution than at the higher end (the 5th percentile has increased more than the 95th percentile);
  • The frost-free season has become longer; and
  • The growing season has become longer but there were less consistent trends when it came to precipitation.

The findings of this study are consistent with reporting on both temperature and precipitation in previous studies as well as with work at a global level by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.

“This study improves our knowledge of trends in climate conditions affecting Canadians. The results are consistent with expectations based on a warming climate, and Canada has warmed substantially over the past century,” the paper states.

What does it mean for Canadians?

The increase in hot days and nights across the country could negatively affect human health and well-being. When it comes to agriculture, while a longer growing season could allow crops to grow further north, it could also introduce “new pests and diseases, as well as other challenges that could negatively affect agricultural sectors” according to the report. With fewer very cold days, energy consumption may decrease in the winter but increase in the summer, as the number of very warm days increase. The loss of freeze-thaw days in the spring could also have an impact on the production of one of Canada’s most famous exports: maple syrup.

The next step for researchers is to delve deeper into how these temperature and precipitation changes may affect Canada’s economy, ecology, and the daily lives of Canadians.

You can find a link to the full paper here.


Date modified:

Les scientifiques d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada analysent les tendances climatiques à long terme

Avec la publication du rapport sur le climat changeant du Canada plus tôt ce mois-ci, les changements climatiques sont dans l’esprit de nombreux Canadiens. Parmi les nombreuses constatations du rapport, on indique que le réchauffement passé et futur au Canada est, en moyenne, environ le double de l’ampleur du réchauffement mondial.

Pour mettre en lumière les diverses façons dont notre climat a changé jusqu’à aujourd’hui, les scientifiques d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ont publié un article dans Atmosphere-Ocean intitulé « Changes in Canada's Climate: Trends in Indices Based on Daily Temperature and Precipitation Data » (anglais seulement). Leur travail offre une analyse détaillée des tendances quotidiennes de température et de précipitations à l’échelle du pays.

Tendances climatiques

Les scientifiques étudient les tendances à long terme, qui remontent parfois jusqu’à l’année 1900. Parmi leurs nombreuses conclusions, ils ont noté ce qui suit :

  • Les journées d’été (maximum quotidien >25 °C) ont augmenté dans la plupart des régions au sud de la latitude 65°N;
  • Les températures très chaudes (95e percentile) ont augmenté partout au pays, avec des tendances supérieures en hiver;
  • Les tendances de réchauffement sont plus marquées à la limite inférieure de la répartition des températures quotidiennes qu’à la limite supérieure (le 5e percentile a augmenté davantage que le 95e percentile);
  • La saison sans gel est plus longue;
  • La durée de la saison de croissance a augmenté, mais les tendances des précipitations sont moins constantes.

Les conclusions de cette étude corroborent les résultats des études précédentes, tant pour la température que les précipitations, ainsi que le travail d’ensemble mené par le Groupe d'experts intergouvernemental sur l'évolution du climat.

Dans l’article, les chercheurs indiquent que « cette étude nous permet de mieux connaître les tendances observées dans les conditions climatiques et qui se répercutent sur les Canadiens. Les résultats confirment également les prévisions fondées sur le réchauffement du climat indiquant que le Canada s’est considérablement réchauffé au cours du siècle dernier. »

Que signifient ces résultats pour la population du Canada?

L’augmentation des journées et des nuits chaudes partout au pays pourrait avoir des effets négatifs sur la santé et le bien-être de la population. Dans le domaine de l’agriculture, le rapport indique que la saison de croissance plus longue permettrait aux cultures de pousser plus au nord, toutefois, de « nouveaux ravageurs, de nouvelles maladies et d’autres problèmes pourraient faire leur apparition et nuire aux secteurs agricoles ». Avec la réduction du nombre de journées très froides, la consommation d’énergie pourrait diminuer en hiver, mais augmenter en été en raison de l’augmentation du nombre de journées très chaudes. La perte de journées de gel-dégel au printemps pourrait avoir un impact sur l’un des produits d’exportation du Canada les plus connus : le sirop d’érable.

Les chercheurs devront maintenant se pencher davantage sur les effets potentiels de ces changements dans la température et les précipitations sur l’économie et l’écologie du Canada et la vie quotidienne des Canadiens.

Vous trouverez le document complet en cliquant sur ce lien (anglais seulement).


Date de modification :