Access to real-time forecasts

Operational daily forecast for the global oceans by the Global Ice Ocean Prediction System (GIOPS) and regional ice and ocean operational forecasts from the Regional Ice Ocean Prediction System (RIOPS) covering the Arctic and North Atlantic Oceans are available online. Forecasts from fully-coupled atmosphere-ice-ocean prediction systems for the Gulf of St. Lawrence is also available on the public server (http://dd.meteo.gc.ca/model_gem_regional/coupled/gulf_st-lawrence/ ). Additional information can also be found on the Meteorological Service of Canada website. See the other applications listed below:

Geospatial Web Services
Allows users to utilize visualization applications (e.g. Google Earth) to explore forecasts of oceanographic data. Use the GeoMet service for CONCEPTS data.

Third-party websites
Third-party websites have been developed that allow user-defined or predefined geographic areas displaying layers of forecast oceanographic and sea ice data, including, sea temperature, current and ice (e.g. concentration, thickness and drift). These data can be displayed together with other data sources.

Forecast Images
The static images and animations are produced from daily analyses and forecasts from GIOPS and are available for the Pacific, Arctic and Atlantic Regions. Images are produced for temperature, salinity, currents and sea ice concentration.

Note: Through this website you are able to link to other websites which are not under the control of this GoC website. We have no control over the nature, content and availability of those sites.

Date modified:

Accès aux prévisions en temps réel

Les prévisions quotidiennes pour les océans de la planète sont produites par le Système global de prévision océan-glace (SGPOG). Des prévisions régionales de la glace et de l'océan couvrant les océans Arctique et Atlantique Nord, produites par le Système régional de prévision océan-glace (SRPOG), sont également disponibles. Des prévisions tirées des systèmes de prévision intégralement couplés atmosphère-glace-océan pour le golfe du Saint-Laurent et les Grands Lacs sont également disponibles. Les utilisateurs peuvent consulter les prévisions quotidiennes sur ce site de deux manières différentes. De plus amples renseignements se trouvent également sur le site Web du Service météorologique du Canada.

Services Web géospatiaux
Ils permettent aux utilisateurs de recourir aux applications de visualisation (p. ex. Google Earth) pour explorer les prévisions des données océanographiques.

Sites Web tiers
Des sites Web tiers ont été développés pour permettre de visualiser des zones géographiques prédéfinies ou définies par l'utilisateur qui affichent des couches de données prévisionnelles relatives aux océans et à la glace de mer, incluant la température de la mer, les courants et la glace (p. ex., concentration, épaisseur et dérive). Ces données peuvent être affichées conjointement avec des données provenant d'autres sources.

Images prévisionnelles
Des prévisions quotidiennes du SGPOG sont fournies pour les régions du Pacifique, de l'Arctique et de l'Atlantique concernant la température, la salinité, les courants ainsi que la concentration et l'épaisseur de la glace de mer sous forme d'images statiques et d'animations.

Remarque : Grâce à ce site Web, vous pouvez établir un lien avec d'autres sites Web qui ne dépendent pas du gouvernement du Canada. Nous n'avons aucun contrôle sur la nature, le contenu et la disponibilité de ces sites.

Date de modification :