Mandate

The Chief Science Advisor's key functions are as follows:

  • Provide advice on the development and implementation of guidelines to ensure that government science is fully available to the public and that federal scientists are able to speak freely about their work
  • Provide advice on creating and implementing processes to ensure that scientific analyses are considered when the Government makes decisions
  • Assess and recommend ways to improve the existing science advisory function within the federal government
  • Assess and recommend ways for the Government to better support quality scientific research within the federal system

Furthermore, the Chief Science Advisor will:

  • Deliver an annual report to the Prime Minister and the Minister of Science on the activities of the Office of the Chief Science Advisor and the state of federal government science, including the federal science workforce and federal scientific infrastructure
  • Provide and coordinate expert advice to the Minister of Science and members of Cabinet, as appropriate and requested, on key scientific issues, including the preparation of research and foresight papers for public dissemination
  • Promote a positive and productive dialogue between federal scientists and academia, both in Canada and abroad, and raise awareness of scientific issues relevant to the Canadian public
Date modified:

Mandat

Les principales fonctions de la conseillère scientifique en chef sont les suivantes :

  • donner son avis sur l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre de lignes directrices visant à ce que les travaux scientifiques du gouvernement soient entièrement accessibles au public et à ce que les scientifiques fédéraux puissent librement parler de leurs travaux;
  • donner son avis sur la création et la mise en œuvre de procédures visant à ce que des analyses scientifiques soient prises en compte lorsque le gouvernement prend des décisions;
  • évaluer et recommander des moyens d'améliorer la fonction de consultation scientifique au sein du gouvernement fédéral;
  • évaluer et recommander des moyens qui permettraient au gouvernement de favoriser davantage la qualité des travaux de recherche scientifique au sein du système fédéral.

De plus, la conseillère sera chargée des fonctions suivantes :

  • fournir un rapport annuel au premier ministre et à la ministre des Sciences au sujet des activités du Bureau de la conseillère en chef et de la situation des travaux scientifiques du gouvernement fédéral, y compris en ce qui concerne les scientifiques fédéraux et l'infrastructure scientifique fédérale;
  • fournir et coordonner les avis formulés par les experts à l'intention de la ministre des Sciences et des membres du Cabinet, le cas échéant et à leur demande, sur d'importantes questions d'ordre scientifique, y compris en préparant des documents de recherche et des documents prospectifs à diffuser au public;
  • favoriser un dialogue positif et productif entre les scientifiques fédéraux et le milieu universitaire; faire de la sensibilisation au sujet des dossiers scientifiques qui concernent le public canadien.
Date de modification :